We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4* with bedrooms that feel like 3*” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel to your Saves list
Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake 6 | Spine Road East,, South Cerney GL7 5FP , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“4* with bedrooms that feel like 3*”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The facilities make it a 4 star hotel, but the bedroom felt like from a 3+ star hotel. The reception area is lovely and warm with a large foyer where you can have cafe style food and drinks. The food in the brasserie is good, but nothing to write home about. The bedroom we had was modern (Ikea style) and cold looking. The bed was comfortable and it was quiet, which made for a good night sleep. The safe didn't work and the hotel will need a lick of paint and new carpets soon. We used the pool that was a square one of medium size, enough to swim lengths if it were not for all the children playing in it. The hotel seems to be popular with families at the weekend. Good location if you want to enjoy the water sports facilities in the area, but not for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Our 4 Star rating has been awarded to us by the AA whom we are proud to say have also chosen to regularly use the hotel themselves and enjoy the rooms and facilities that we offer at a high standard as quality and good value for money are things that we strive toward providing all our guests.

We offer a range of different room types, the most popular being our recently upgraded connoisseur bedrooms with balcony and water view.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    520
    227
    90
    52
See reviews for
248
583
23
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I visited the Cotswold Water Park Hotel with a friend at the end of October 2013.

The good stuff:
Well maintained hotel in a gorgeous part of the country with all of the facilities you'd expect of a spa hotel. Good range of treatments using Decleor and Jessica products.
Beautiful lakeside view.

The not so good stuff:
There isn't much relaxing about the hydrotherapy pool and sauna/steam room area. You can use it from 3pm on the day of arrival but children area allowed between 3pm and 6pm. There were more children than adults and it certainly wasn't the pampering experience we'd hoped for after reading the website.
The dressing gowns are well worn and quite scraggly. They weren't soft at all.
The menu is more or less the same in the restaurant, bar, pub and room service, so if you would like lunch and dinner on more than one day you'd be best to source a local alternative.
Breakfast was massively disorganised with nowhere near enough staff and they didn't appear to be working in zones. There was no one dedicated to greeting the long queue of guests waiting to be seated.

The really bad stuff:
From our room it took 20 minutes to get through to reception to let them know that the hand towel in our bathroom was stained, as were the two spare pillows (one with a mould stain). We didn't manage to get through to room service at all and had to ask the concierge who swapped our towels and pillows to get someone to call us. We were in a connoisseur room and aside from a bit more space, the only real difference is that you get flannels, additional toiletries and two small plastic bottles of wine and water.

Overall it is a decent hotel, but the service was below the standards we'd expected and although it is marketed as a spa hotel, it isn't the relaxing experience you'd expect versus other spa hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
We are pleased that in October, our guest enjoyed our well maintained hotel, its location and facilities as well as Spa6 with our Decleor and Jessica products. We are sorry that they did not find Spa6 particularly relaxing on this occasion.

In our brasserie, we offer an a la carte menu as well as a daily menu that changes every day. Our Room Service menu and Bar Lounge menu are different and we also offer food at The Old Boathouse pub. The brasserie does have a host so we are sorry if our guest were not immediately greeted on a busy evening.

It is significant that we do not market the hotel as a ‘quiet retreat’ or an ‘exclusive four star’, with over 300 bedrooms leading to 600+ guests staying per night at the weekend, it is a busy resort property and we receive many compliments on what we offer for the fair price that we charge. Our pricing we feel is fair for the standards and atmosphere we offer and we are sorry that these guests perhaps do not feel the same way.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The wedding part of our stay was totally amazing the food was outstanding
The room was appalling there were strange hairs found on the bed that didn't belong to my husband or myself, the bathroom mirror was disgusting thick with dust so was the skirting boards the aircon was a fan in a corner of the room
For the price we paid for our room I must admit we were very disappointed

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRM_2013, Manager at Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
We would like to again congratulate our guests on their happy occasion and we are pleased that the wedding went well and they enjoyed the wedding breakfast.

We are very sorry that the cleanliness in the room was not to the standard that we would have expected and have raised the matter directly with our Housekeeping Manager.

None of the hotel bedrooms have air conditioning in them. We do provide fans in all of the bedrooms to assist in keeping the air circulating, particularly on days when the weather is so warm, however we accept this is not air conditioning and we are sorry if this caused our guest discomfort during their stay.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed here in Septemebr with a group of female friends and I could not fault this place ! my room was comfortable had a lovely view, quiet and great bed. The breakfast and evening meal which was included was astouding in quality and value and for the price you would be mad to eat out. We all loved the pool, spa, sauna and steam room, the walks were lovely and I will be back when I next visit the Uk.

Room Tip: Get all included, I had paid the sinlge supplement but it was worth it I had a lovely view over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
We are happy that this group of ladies were able to visit us in September and could not fault the hotel, their rooms, our lovely lake views, comfortable beds, breakfast and evening menu.
We have lots of guests who find that we offer ‘quality and value’ at a good price and enjoy the facilities available in Spa6

We offer several packages, some of which include Spa Treatments alongside Bed & Breakfast Rates, Dinner, Bed & Breakfast Rates, Self Catering and Room Only.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

A huge hotel, sprawling on the side of a lake, it was modern and the entrance area was stylish, but once you got into the room I was underwhelmed - just standard really. Hotel gym was surprisingly small for a place this size, but spa facilities made up for it (used twice during 1 night stay). Food in Brasserie restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
We are pleased that our guest enjoyed the facilities available in Spa6 and that they enjoyed our dining options and the food we offer in our hotels brasserie.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I've only come on here to write about the spa treatment I had today at the Four Pillars Spa that was bought for me for my birthday. I had a full body massage carried out by a young lady called Elise. If you seriously are into decent massages (I have been fortunate to have many all around the world and on a regular basis so I know good ones and rubbish ones) then go to this Spa and get this girl to do your treatment. She was fabulous! None of this inane chatter, just got on with it (firm pressure, as I requested), just over an hour of pure heaven. The actual bed and bedding made a huge difference too. The towels and throw were just luxurious and warm and the whole ambience of the treatment room was superb!

I seriously did not want to leave the room, I was so relaxed and just wanted to nod off!

The Spa itself is one of the cleanest and most relaxing I have been in recently which makes all the difference....can't bear dirty spas. There is a champagne bar there if you want to make it special with guests. The staff are attentive enough and not overpowering. The relaxation room offered cool cranberry juice or water, just enough background music, good choice of magazines, comfortable relaxing chairs and dimmed lighting and again spotlessly clean.

I've had other treatments there in the past i.e. pedicures/manicures as I have a holiday home close by to this hotel but it was lovely just to go on my own today and chill out without watching the clock. The hotel itself has never been the best for customer service, slightly lacking in personality and you always have to wait a long time for meals/reception/to get a drink in the bar so I wasnt sure what I was going to experience in the Spa that is linked next door.......I was very, very pleasantly surprised!!!

Can't wait to book my next treatment with Elise!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
The generous feedback here will be shared directly with Elise and the Spa6 team. We are pleased that our guest enjoyed their birthday treat.

We thank our guest for their appreciation of the stylistic choices that we have made in our treatments rooms, alongside noting our levels of cleanliness and Spa etiquette.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Fantastic walks here around the many various lakes/pools - good for outdoor/water sporta activities. Food exceptional, great location to toir stow on the water and other villages in the cotsawalds....

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
We are grateful to our guest for their review and very pleased that they comment on our menu as ‘Food exceptional’. We agree that we have a great location to and the surrounding area offers those keen on outdoor pursuits lots of different options.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel

Address: Lake 6 | Spine Road East,, South Cerney GL7 5FP , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > South Cerney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary 4 star hotel is superbly located in the heart of the Cotswold Water Park, only three miles from Cirencester and six miles from Swindon. The hotel offers guests a wealth of amenities and outdoor activities.This exclusive resort enjoys an unsurpassed setting of lakes, rivers, wetlands and grassland. Stunning views, open spaces and a wealth of leisure and active pursuits make this the perfect place for a visit or for a break all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Water Park 4 Pillars Hotel
Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel South Cerney, Cotswolds, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.