We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic hotel to relax and enjoy Phuket!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Phuket Yacht Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Phuket Yacht Club to your Saves list
The Royal Phuket Yacht Club
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   23/3 Moo 1, Viset Rd. | Rawai, Nai Harn, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Nai Harn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A fantastic hotel to relax and enjoy Phuket!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We had an amazing stay here - the food was first class throughout (even room service), as were the staff in terms of helpfulness and friendliness, the beautiful junior suite room, and the hotel's facilities. The beach was busy but not uncomfortably packed, and a perfect location to escape the mass tourists on the island. We have already recommended this hotel to others, and we would definitely stay here again if/when we come back to the island.

It did not affect us (although one of us does have knee issues), but it would be difficult for wheelchair users and the very elderly to stay here we imagine, as there are a lot of steps throughout.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reto T, General Manager at The Royal Phuket Yacht Club, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review and we are delighted you had a great stay with us, we will certainly pass your kind words to our team and we will continue to strive to deliver the best of services and service on a continued basis. Thank you for your feedback in regards of the many stairs and that it is a challenge for handicap and elderly, maybe in a near future we will be able to improve our facilities to address this challenge as well. We hope to welcoming you soon again to our Hotel and wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    154
    46
    18
    17
See reviews for
87
301
13
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

5 stars but actually not.they act like 5 stars but actually no stars.the room too small,TV so old ( but the sound is not bad) the toilet doesn't work good ( the water don't want to move) the floor so dirty.......………..........................

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reto T, General Manager at The Royal Phuket Yacht Club, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Rachel N,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write to us. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay.
We have been replacing the TVs in our rooms and now almost every room has a modern one. We try our best to maintain the cleanliness of the room and the floor at all times.
I’m sorry you found the room small. Our smallest room, “Ocean Front Superior, is 50 sqm. The size of the rooms increases until it reaches our biggest, “Ocean Front Royal Suites”, which is 244sqm.
Thank you again for your comment and despite this experience we hope you will give us another chance.

Best regards,
Mr.Reto Torriani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Old but gold! This hotel is excellent for it's view and food. Probably the best Thai food I've ever tasted (I've been in Thailand 6 times). The staff could be more effective and helpfull, but the surroundings were so nice that we did'nt care much about the other issues. The rooms are very nice. Large bed, and a huge terrace.. We upgraded to a grand superior room, and it was worth it.

A day before our check out we recieved a letter in our room. It was written in Russian. Not in Thai, not in English, but Russian! It actually pissed me off and I immediately went down to reception to ask why we get a letter in Russian, when they know that we are from Norway. They take it for granted that everyone speaks Russian because there are so many Russians at the hotel. They seem to have very much focus on Russians which I personally don't like. They should not forget all their other guests. A waiter in the La Promenade restaurant could not speak a word English. I tried to order a pad thai without tofu and chilli. I did everything to explain what I wanted. Finally I got a pad thai WITH tofu and WITHOUT chilli. Poor guy, I actually feel sorry for him.

I still choose to give it 5 out of 5 because of the location the view, the food and the lovely beach. We had a great time here!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reto T, General Manager at The Royal Phuket Yacht Club, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
thank you very much for reviewing our Hotel and we take your comments serious and appreciate all your feedback. In regards of Russian letter in your room, I am sure this was an honest mistake, however we apologize. It is true that during this period of time we are host to a majority of Russian travelers. We cater to a broad spectrum of visitors and regardless welcome them as our valued guests. In regards of our server in the Restaurant, we will certainly look into this as we do not tend to put staff at the front that are not able to understand or respond in English language as well as we train to repeat food orders before they are delivered. We thank you very much for bringing this up as we are keen to improve our service at all times. Thank you for your generous rating and we hope to see you soon again and Welcoming you back here in Nai Harn Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

It is so nice coming back to this lovely hotel. The hotel is not new and may need to be frisked a bit. The staff is so clever and well educated and keep up the good smiling thai tradition all tourists love.
The hotel rooms are super and the private terrasse makes your stay even better.
The breakfest is perfect.

Room Tip: Ocean front grand superior will make your day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reto T, General Manager at The Royal Phuket Yacht Club, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, we are proud you gave us this kind feedback and assure you that we will continue to do all in our power and passion to keep all our valued guests happy and full of good memories of our "grand dame" in Narn Hai beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

our party of 6 adults stayed at the Royal Yacht club for 10 nights following a 3 night stay in Bangkok at the Shangri La Hotel. The standard and quality of the Shangri La was excellent and we didn't think it could be matched but the Royal Yacht club had it all..... the hotel was at the end of Nai Harn beach overlooking the bay. we arrived on the day of my birthday at 2.15pm and was disappointed to be told that the room was not ready and that we would have to wait an hour for it to be ready, although with a little gentle persuasion our room was ready much sooner than expected. The rooms were huge, large queen side comfy beds with crisp white linen, two complimentary bottles of water provided each day, a balcony nearly as big as the room with 2 large quality wooden steamer sunchairs/mattresses, parasol, 3 seater wicker sofa and 2 chairs.... you could practically have a party on there it was so vast. The view from the balcony was amazing,
breakfast in the hotel was very enjoyable and although there wasn't a huge amount of choice the food was of good quality with something to suit all tastes. The service in the dining room, however, was a bit hit and miss for a 5 star hotel, many times we had to call staff to chase up tea/coffee orders. If you asked for tea the tea was served in a large tea pot with one tea bag, if you ordered coffee you only got one cup.... whereas you usually get a coffee pot/caffitiere. Free sunbeds at the beach were provided for hotel guests but no matter how early we went down to the beach, it was almost impossible to get sunbeds nearest to the sea, many of which we spotted were "reserved" with towels but were not occupied until late morning. We realised fairly soon that although there were clearly signs discouraging folks from reserving beds there appeared to be a tipping system going on between some guests and the attendants where the beds were allocated to the same guests each day regardless of what time they decided to turn up, much to our annoyance. That aside though, we didn't let that spoil our otherwise fabulous experience.

Room Tip: ask for a newly refurbished room. Higher floor rooms have good views of the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reto T, General Manager at The Royal Phuket Yacht Club, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind response and the praise you have given to our beautiful Hotel. We are indeed proud to serve valued guests like you on a daily basis. We understand the challenges of the beach beds and will strive to improve, the same goes for our Food and Beverage service which we are keen to better on a continued basis. We hope to seeing you in our premises again in the near future and wish you all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston-Tx
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

My husband and I quit a cruise and picked this wonderful resort. We loved the beach, the pool, the service, the food, the staff, the quit area, the bedroom, the cleanness, the wireless internet (they charge in your room but works very well, and it is free in common areas like lobby, bars, pool, restaurant).
I would go back again and highly recommend. We just stayed three nights. Close to the hotel there are many restaurants, little shopping , little grocery store, very interesting.

I liked everything about this resort, and the yachts stay away far from the beach. They do not bother at all.And they were few. The only problem was the beach had many chairs and no matter how early you try to get a chair in front of the beach, the guys that take care of the chairs and distribute the towers to the guests told me those chairs are only for special guest they knew, people that stay more than four or five months, then, I went to the front desk and they said there was not true ,(they do not have guest that stay so long time) they were amazed that they said such lie, but once I complain , the guys gave me the chairs that they kept for special ones.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reto T, General Manager at The Royal Phuket Yacht Club, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind review. It is great to hear you had a good stay with us and I am happy to share with our team. As a fellow American it gives me great pleasure to hear such nice words all the way from Texas. About the chairs, we apologize and will investigate in this rather strange matter. The chairs are for all our guests and we do not segregate VIP from no VIP as all guests are VIP. We hope to welcoming you back again very soon and in the meantime wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I had a poor stay in this hotel, ending up scratching my spots & fighting during night against bed fleas. Management spray some chemicals but didn't even dare changing room due to high season. Not even a commercial compensation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reto T, General Manager at The Royal Phuket Yacht Club, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write to us and of course we were disappointed to hear that you had this experience with bed bugs. We maintain the highest standards of hygiene and were surprised to hear about this as not similar complain has reached us in the past. However, your input is very important to us and we will further investigate the matter as our guests are the most important to us and we strive to improve anywhere and all the time. Thank you again for your comment and despite this experience we hope you will give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Phuket Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Phuket Yacht Club

Address: 23/3 Moo 1, Viset Rd. | Rawai, Nai Harn, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Nai Harn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Nai Harn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Phuket Yacht Club 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Royal Phuket Yacht Club!! This island treasure, nestled on the hillside beside the crystal waters of Nai Harn beach in Phuket’s golden south, offers a myriad of facilities including first class spa facility, 2 fine dining restaurants, gymnasium, and much more, which ideally compliment the resort romantic and majestic location. All 110 guest rooms & suites have stunning and unobstructed views of Nai Harn Bay and the Andaman sea. The Royal Phuket Yacht Club, is truly the jewel of Phuket ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Splendia, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Royal Phuket Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Phuket Yacht Club Hotel Nai Harn
Royal Phuket Yacht Hotel
Royal Phuket Yacht Resort
The Royal Phuket Yacht Club Nai Harn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Phuket Yacht Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.