We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now I know why you pay 30% in advance.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Phuket Riviera Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Phuket Riviera Villas to your Saves list
Phuket Riviera Villas
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   95 / 23 -25 Saiyuan Rd., Nai Harn, Phuket 83130, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Now I know why you pay 30% in advance.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We expected more,
-blocked toiled + .... on toilet seat on arrival, that was solved quick dough.
- poor general cleaning
- holes in sheets, no blankets
- loud club next door (icon club) plays very loud till 6:30, no joke, owner said he complained to the club but it did not help.
-we moved appartement but still same problem.
- reception only part-time open
- busy road in front, no side walk
- balcony unsafe for small kids
-

Nice pool is the only positive I could find,

We intended to stay 2 weeks but left after 4 days,

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgio N, Owner at Phuket Riviera Villas, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Usually we have full respect of the reviews and opinions of our guests, also are welcome disapproval because they help us to improve and provide a better service.
But only when they report the truth and not, like this review, only the lies.

Before the arrival of each guest our staff deeply clean the apartment and test all facilities, including, of course, the bathrooms.

The guest in question, travelling with infant, reported the problem after about an hour of his arrival, complaining that, in one of two bathrooms, the toilet bowl was not functional.
Our maintenance manager check the problem and identified the problem in a diaper thrown in the toilet.
At this time the guest said that he had never thrown the diaper in the toilet bowl and also start to complain about the toilet seat, not dirty, but minimally slightly yellowed.
The next day the same guest complained about noise and the, in his view, little clean linen.

Our Front Desk staff has proposed to the customer to change the apartment with another in a quieter area of the residence where the customer has stayed for 3 days, without any problem.

When the client wanted to go away, despite having booked for a further 9 days, were charged only the actual presence without any extra charge or damages refund (to remove the diaper our maintenance service had to work for two days with consequently impossibility to let the apartment).

Thanks to this guest we lost money in this short peak season, our staff had to do a dirty job to repair the damaged bathroom (finding the diaper...) and now ... add insult to injury.

Thai People say "mai pen rai" (never mind) ... this is just a voice out from the crowd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    10
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
17
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I was looking for a place to stay while training at Sinbi Muay Thai, and this place was super close. The owner/manager is a good guy who goes out of his way to make sure you have whatever you need. Full kitchen makes it idea for extended stays.

Very clean (except for the couch, spray that bad boy down first with lysol and bug spray) and I would definitely stay here again.

There is a club out front that plays EDM all night long and it will bother you if you are a light sleeper and you have the first villa by the club. It was only a minor problem for me however and one that I was made aware of by the owner.

Overall great place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose a villa away from the road if you want to avoid the club music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Finally! On our third trip to Karon, we made it up the hill to the Big Buddha.
From the Karon taxi-rank it's 1000THB round trip - which seems a lot considering you can see the hill with Buddha facing away from you from almost any part of Karon Beach. However, the drive is quite long and takes you through Chalong (Buddha overlooks Wat Chalong "Chalong Temple") and up the hill.
It is massive! It is still under construction from marble and the guys are working on it every day. There are beautiful carvings and statues and the ubiquitous souvenir shop.
It is free to enter although I suggest a donation to help the good works continue.
Well worth the visit.


Karon Sea Sands


Karon Sea Sands is across the road from the beach about 300m from the roundabout at the bottom of the main business area of Karon Beach.
It has restaurants and bars only minutes away by foot and, having an internal road for access, is very quiet.
It has hundreds or rooms, massive pools and a good selection at the breakfast buffet.
It is as advertised and I have no complaints whatsoever. It is what you expect. The staff were polite, the rooms were a good size, and the service was fine with one standout – the manager obviously makes a point of welcoming new guests at their first breakfast. He just dropped by to say “hello” and to make sure our room was satisfactory and moved on to let us eat. Nice touch.
We managed to get adjoining rooms for us and our teenage daughter which was nice. The rooms were quite big and had views of the pools couple of floors below.
We finished off our fourth trip to Phuket here after staying in three other hotels (two of which we hadn't stayed in before).
Karon Sea Sands is a quality hotel with all the amenities you’d expect at this price point – good service, good rooms and good food. The website says it all.
All in all, it would be a good, solid choice for those who are unsure where to stay or what to expect. Better than the Best Western we stayed in in 2012 (see review) as it is has far fewer stairs.


Riviera Villas Nai Harn

On our fourth trip to Thailand, having stayed at Kanchanaburi, Karon, Patong and Ao Nang (Krabi) during our previous visits, and having explored extensively the coastline by car on our previous trips, we asked our local friends where another place on the island would be nice. “Nai Harn” they said, so Nai Harn we stayed and we weren’t disappointed.
We booked this place while actually staying in Karon Beach, only three days in advance.
ACCOMMODATION
The Riviera Villas – on a quite road just outside the town proper - comprise some two dozen rooms on two levels surrounding a good-sized pool on three sides.
Giorgio, an ex-pat Italian runs the place with his wife and provides excellent service and local knowledge.
We had a two bedroom room, well “suite” would be better, which had a king-bed in each room, a living area with tv, a dining area which could seat six, and a small kitchen with cookware, cutlery and crockery (but, strangely, lacking a microwave), a separate bathroom and an en-suite off the master bedroom.
The pricing was more than agreeable at something like $53 per night - ideal for two couple sharing.
Bottled water is supplied daily.
TIP: Stock up on bottled water (or mixer drinks for your duty free) and/or breakfast provisions if you're not going to walk into town for breakfast, lunch and dinner - there is no restaurant on site.
We seemed to be some of the only few short-term guests at the Riviera Villas, the majority were Russian wives and children who lived there while their husbands flew-in/flew-out to the Middle East for work. The family attitude was great and at no time did the long-term guests make us feel like we were intruding in their space. It was great to hear the older children trying to learn Thai from their nannies and the babies learning to swim!

AMENITIES ON SITE
The pool was spotlessly clean; 1.8m at one end and 1m at the other with enough loungers. There is also a communal barbeque area under cover.
Although laundry can be done for you in-house, there are several places both on the way to town and a some of laundrettes in the town itself which will do it for you for about 50-60THB/kilogram. We like injecting cash directly into the local economy so we rarely use in-house *anything*.

LOCAL
About 200m up the road are at least two Muay Thai schools, one on the road (which you can go up to and watch trainers of all ages, sizes and colours train as it is an open-air structure), another one or two up a long driveway.
The walk to the town centre is about 500m down a quiet road and goes past some small bars and restaurants.

NAI HARN VILLAGE
The town centre itself has a couple of mini-marts which stock pretty much anything you’d need when on holiday. There are several ATMs available and a shop which seemed to sell everything from snorkels and masks for swimming to kitchenware. Additionally, there are some great restaurants providing absolutely *superb* meals at local prices, “Kallot’s” being our favourite. Kallot’s is about 300m down the left branch of the main intersection.
The main road can be very busy so care should be taken when crossing with children.
We were there for three nights and just wandered around mostly, including a three-quarter hour walk to Nai Harn Beach.

NAI HARN BEACH:
Lovely beach with great views but spoiled by the 100 or so sun loungers. It is a very crowded beach, catering mostly for the All Seasons Hotel and other accommodation close to the beach.
The little restaurant-bar directly opposite the car park to the beach has great food and cold beer.

CONCLUSION:
Would we stay there again? Probably not, for the simple reason that we’ve seen and done all we wanted to do in Nai Harn. However, I recommend this place highly: the pricing is excellent, it is extremely quiet and relaxing and the walk into town gets you all sorted for sensational local cuisine at very, very good prices.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I spent 3 weeks here and found it ideal for self catering with huge fridge freezer, 2 gas ring stove, microwave and grill. Hot water and daily cleaning and in low season I found this to be the best value resort compared to the other places in Rawai and Nai Harn that I have stayed in. Location wise you are a 5 minute walk to the centre of Nai Harn but if you want to get about you need a motorbike or mountain bike due to the mafia taxi rip off prices in the area (over 1,000 B return to Patong). I did not give service a great rating because apart from checking in, you will rarely see the management, but they are contactable on mobile and will assist you if you get into difficulty.

Overall, a great stay and It is my preferred choice for future visits.

Room Tip: rooms down by the pool will be quieter than those near the road. The disco outside was closed in low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pj
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

we stayed in one of the studio-type units...place was big enough for our family of four with an extra bed...clean...comfortable beds...well equipped kitchen...big ref...clean bathroom...friendly and helpful owners and staff...will definitely come back and recommend this place ....

Room Tip: choose a room away from the bar beside the villas...:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

What can we say? Easy...Giorgio is the best! This is a place that you feel really at home. Everything is perfekt, clean and nice crow. We just love it! We miss the flygt back home,just coze we hase so good time at Riviera Villas.

Room Tip: Room Nr 28 was just great!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Comfortable, spacious and clean aparents at few.steps from our favorites muay thai training camps. A large swimming pool where uou can relax after a day of workouts. A quiet place, but with all amenities at your fingertips.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgio N, Owner at Phuket Riviera Villas, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for your comment.
We are very happy to welcome the athletes who practice the Muay Thai.
They are certainly among our best guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phuket Riviera Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Riviera Villas

Address: 95 / 23 -25 Saiyuan Rd., Nai Harn, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Nai Harn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Nai Harn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phuket Riviera Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phuket Riviera Villas are the perfect all-inclusive retreat for the discerning traveler. The Phuket Riviera Villas captures the essence of tropical living on the island of Phuket with a collection of 17 modern apartments in the heart of Nai Harn. Each luxury apartment has been designed as a private haven amongst a beautiful manicured tropical garden and an infinity salt water pool, all enhancing the tranquility of your vacation environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Phuket Riviera Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phuket Riviera Villas Nai Harn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phuket Riviera Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.