We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly Terrific!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Hobart Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Hobart Airport to your Saves list
Travelodge Hobart Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Holyman Avenue, Cambridge, Clarence, Tasmania 7170, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel Hobart Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cambridge
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly Terrific!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Our flight was cancelled at 7pm and so we unexpectedly had an extra night in Hobart. As we were rebooked onto a morning flight it made the most sense to stay by the airport. I'm not a fan of Travelodges usually as in my experience they have been pretty basic. However, this one was excellent. We had an executive room which actually consisted of a separate bedroom, a lounge room with a double sofa bed, a separate bathroom. Perfect for our family.
We were all very surprised to find a restaurant on site, as we were expecting a low quality, fast food type arrangement. It was actually a proper restaurant. My son had fish and chips from the kids menu which were only $10 and tasted delicious, made with fresh fish. We all had salmon with salad and broccolini and carrots as sides. The food was excellent, the service was excellent.
Most impressive was the attitude of the staff, from front desk to the restaurant. Our waiter was called 'David' and was really excellent, great service. The staff on front desk were helpful and friendly to everyone (obviously a whole plane load of people had just descended on them!). I overheard someone asking what time the restaurant closed and the person on front desk said '9pm, but we will keep it open as late as is needed due to the flight cancellations' (it was 8pm). What a great attitude! I know this is an airport hotel, but so often you come across people who simply can't be bothered. What a surprise to have a 'can do' attitude!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    118
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
52
151
28
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed on the second floor of this hotel in Feb. 2014. The hotel is obviously ideally located for taking a morning flight and for those with rental cars: a gas station is literally nextdoor (as is a Subway for self caterers).
The rooms are very nice and provide all required facilities and items.
Upon arrival the, otherwise very friendly, receptionist could not find our booking immediately. It would seem that the hotel changed owners between our booking and our stay. However, it was solved rather quickly, no problem.
Why the split decision ? Well, my girlfriend slept like an angel but I was kept awake by water (?) running all the time during the night. I unplugged the fridge, shut down airco but still there was this noise. No idea what it was but it did 'ruin' the night a fair bit. If I am not the first to note this, it may be something to look into.
By the way: the management should also (have) spot that on Google maps the hotel is reported to have closed down...

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a quiet room if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed one night at the Travelodge Hobart Airport before leaving Tassie after 3 weeks. We had originally planned to stay in nearby Richmond overnight but most places there were booked out and also expensive. We booked the day before on the Central Reservations number and got a great rate. The king-bed room was comfortable and spacious. We ate dinner and breakfast at the restaurant and both were good, especially the dinner of lamb and chicken dishes and a choice of quality Tassie wines.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth,western australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Drove down from Swansea, stopping at Ormond for a coffee (delicious), before checking into the Travelodge. Had some difficulty finding the place as when I booked it wasn't called Travelodge, so a bit of communication from the new management would have helped. Despite this we thoroughly enjoyed the facilities; rooms were spacious, clean and quiet; whilst the bar consisted of only two seats we nevertheless enjoyed the ambience. Thought we'd eat in and what a delight; salmon and accompanying confit potatoes were delicious; wine affordable; service excellent. What a truly pleasant surprise for an 'airport' accommodation. Try it, you'll love it.

Room Tip: Ground floor facing the airport was surprisingly quiet - then again there's not a lot of activit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
341 reviews 341 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

The hotel is very close to the airport. The rooms are large, quiet and comfortable. They include a nice cable tv, a mini fridge and tea/coffee. Check in was fast and easy. They allowed us to check in early without any problems. If you book through booking.com, you get free Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: Book through booking.com for free internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Clean, uncomplicated and near the airport, good for an early flight and they provided a complimentRy shuttle. We asked for a room with a bath and got a suite with a spa which was nice. Friendly helpful staff. Not cheap in comparison to city hotels.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensvale, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

we needed to be near airport to pick up campervan next day. a $3 shuttle dropped us off in minutes. the hotel staff were really nice and check-in was quick and friendly. the restaurant has a monopoly and overpriced with average food-the rice was like it had been microwaved for too long! nevertheless we were grateful for a feed and a cascade beer!
the room was spacious, clean and very peaceful. The staff did not hesitate in helping us when we asked whether we could leave a bike-bag in storage for a few days to be picked up on our return. we were really grateful for this as it would have been a nightmare carrying that around in a campervan all week.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Hobart Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hobart Airport

Address: 1 Holyman Avenue, Cambridge, Clarence, Tasmania 7170, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel Hobart Airport)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Clarence > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hobart Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA 4 Star Spacious, contemporary hotel with oversized rooms and suites all with king size beds. Excellent soundproofing, panoramic floor to ceiling windows, reverse cycle airconditioning. Spacious bathrooms, excellent lighting. Restaurant and bar open for all day dining from 6 am - 9.30pm. The property has excellent free parking, is an easy 15 min drive from Hobart CBD. A free Shuttle is available to and from Hobart Airport and Hobart CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Hobart Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Hobart
Travelodge Hobart Airport Cambridge, Tasmania, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Hobart Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.