We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful property, gorgeous views, very thoughtful owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cornwall Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Cornwall Cottage Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cornwall Cottage Bed & Breakfast
368 Richmond Road, Cambridge, Clarence, Tasmania 7170, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful property, gorgeous views, very thoughtful owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is a lovely property set amidst a gorgeous valley. It's run by a couple, Peta and Alec, who seem to have thought of everything.

My 3 kids (ages 9, 8 and 6) fell in love with the place, and didn't want to leave. I didn't either.

We stayed for 2 nights. On our arrival, Peta dropped off an enormous loaf of bread she'd just baked for us - it was still warm. Having gauged our breakfast preferences before we arrived, she had also stocked the fridge with scrumptious local bacon, and near the cooktop sat a half dozen eggs laid by Peta's chooks. There were also a number of breakfast cereals for the kids, and two jars of magnificent jams Peta had made (Peta - do you ship them to Melbourne? I miss them!). Such thoughtfulness and care - I've never experienced anything quite like it.

Have a look at the photos, and don't expect modernist decor. The place is done up in a way that suits its country location - quaint and lovely. Everything was immaculate and comfortable, and so quiet it's hard to believe you're only 15 minutes from downtown Hobart.

I asked Peta for a recommendation for dinner with the kids, and she put me on to Nate's, just 5 minutes' drive away. Warm, lovely service and excellent food at very reasonable prices, set in a nicely informal dining area. They had great options for the kids, and were very accommodating of my picky trio.

The kids and I loved watching the wallabies come out for a wander in the early evenings. My daughter had a wonderful time helping Peta collect eggs from the chooks. We all slept well - very comfortable all round.

As another reviewer noted, the kitchen is extremely small. It has only a hotplate rather than a proper stove. But it's workable, and the barbecue out back is an outstanding alternative.

I would come back in a heartbeat and hope we get the chance to. It's perfect for family or as a romantic getaway. There is only one unit; it's part of a duplex, the other half of which is Peta and Alec's home. So you really feel like you've gotten away from it all.

One last thought: do try a bottle of the pinot produced from Peta and Alec's vines, called Devil of a Red. It's delicious, and worth the $25 asking price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petalec, Owner at Cornwall Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your great comments. We are lucky to have Nates restaurant close by as all my guests come back after a visit there and rave about the food and the service. Our Devil of a Red Pinot is a good drop and has some wine show medals to support that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Lovely "cottage", beautifully presented with every comfort provided and fabulous views over farmland, mountains and the bay. Hostess PETA is warm and welcoming but discreet, allowing you to enjoy your holiday in privacy. All the ingredients for a hearty farm breakfast are provided on arrival including a loaf of warm home baked bread! And a decanter of port on the sideboard for that after dinner tipple. Most comfortable bed we had for the whole trip. Kitchen tiny but serviceable as we did not plan to cook much apart from breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petalec, Owner at Cornwall Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. We did a lot of research to find the "right" beds so we had success there. The kitchen is small but fully equipped to enable guests to prepare meals plus we have a BBQ area available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed at Cornwall Cottage during our recent holiday in Tasmania. Our stay with delightful hosts Peta and Alec was one highlight of our time in Tasmania. The accommodation was tastefully decorated, very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Our children enjoyed picking raspberries and helping with other farm duties. We would wholeheartedly recommend this accommodation to anyone needing accommodation close to Hobart.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petalec, Owner at Cornwall Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
The children not only picked raspberries for your family but also helped me pick as well which was great and moving the sheep was made so much easier with their help - thank you again.
Peta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

This bed and breakfast is such great value and is located in beautiful countryside- close to Hobart as well as historic Richmond. The owner was so helpful and friendly, with lots of wonderful recommendations and suggestions. Highly recommended for a cute, slightly kitch, bed and breakfast cottage stay.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

The gorgeous view from Cornwall Cottage is just the icing on the cake. Peta Elliot thinks of everything to make her guests comfortable, including stocking the kitchenette. The guest rooms are spacious, the living room homey, the laundry convenient. The quiet setting along Richmond Road overlooks her and Alec's grazing thoroughbreds and the beautiful valley to the east. A perfect base for several days in Tasmania's southeast . . . easy day trips around Hobart, out to Port Arthur, etc., and five or ten minutes from the airport. Peta was always attentive . . . even helped with local phone calls during a brief medical emergency. We haven't enjoyed more any stay in Australia. Be sure to try the Devil of a Red wine from their own little vineyard.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petalec, Owner at Cornwall Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Thank you for your review. Hope you are now 100% healthwise. Kind regards

Peta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed one night here, arriving late to be greeted with garden fresh berries and fresh baked bread. The cottage was warm and comfortably furnished and the breakfast provisions were just amazing. Peta is a wonderful host who thinks of everything a travelling family might need. We stayed here on the first night of our trip, and at her other wonderful cottage in Richmond (Cottage on Gunning) the last two nights, and what a wonderful introduction to Tasmania! We won't soon forget her wonderful bread, delicious home-made jams and the fresh berries, or the wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed with Peta for five nights -our first four in Tasmania and our last one - and it was a great way to start and end our trip. The accommodation is spacious (two bedrooms and a large main room) and it was clean and well equipped. The kitchen is also complete, and Peta bakes amazing bread and provides breakfast food and drinks. Peta was incredibly gracious and giving. She let us pick raspberries from her garden and she lent us a stroller and other items for our one year old baby. Cornwall Cottage is a great place for a family or a baby. Our daughter loved saying good morning and good night to the chickens, sheep, horses and dog (and to Peta). Of the three places we stayed in Tasmania, Cornwall Cottages was by far the best. It also is well situated: 10 minutes to historic Richmond, 20 minutes to Hobart, and within a day trip to the Tasman peninsula or Mount Field National Park. You will not find better hospitality or value in Tasmania.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cornwall Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornwall Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Address: 368 Richmond Road, Cambridge, Clarence, Tasmania 7170, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Clarence > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Cornwall Cottage Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornwall Cottage Bed & Breakfast Cambridge, Tasmania, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cornwall Cottage Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.