We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cornwall Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Cornwall Cottage Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cornwall Cottage Bed & Breakfast
368 Richmond Road, Cambridge, Clarence, Tasmania 7170, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Townsville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Lovely "cottage", beautifully presented with every comfort provided and fabulous views over farmland, mountains and the bay. Hostess PETA is warm and welcoming but discreet, allowing you to enjoy your holiday in privacy. All the ingredients for a hearty farm breakfast are provided on arrival including a loaf of warm home baked bread! And a decanter of port on the sideboard for that after dinner tipple. Most comfortable bed we had for the whole trip. Kitchen tiny but serviceable as we did not plan to cook much apart from breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petalec, Owner at Cornwall Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. We did a lot of research to find the "right" beds so we had success there. The kitchen is small but fully equipped to enable guests to prepare meals plus we have a BBQ area available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed at Cornwall Cottage during our recent holiday in Tasmania. Our stay with delightful hosts Peta and Alec was one highlight of our time in Tasmania. The accommodation was tastefully decorated, very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Our children enjoyed picking raspberries and helping with other farm duties. We would wholeheartedly recommend this accommodation to anyone needing accommodation close to Hobart.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petalec, Owner at Cornwall Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
The children not only picked raspberries for your family but also helped me pick as well which was great and moving the sheep was made so much easier with their help - thank you again.
Peta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

This bed and breakfast is such great value and is located in beautiful countryside- close to Hobart as well as historic Richmond. The owner was so helpful and friendly, with lots of wonderful recommendations and suggestions. Highly recommended for a cute, slightly kitch, bed and breakfast cottage stay.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

The gorgeous view from Cornwall Cottage is just the icing on the cake. Peta Elliot thinks of everything to make her guests comfortable, including stocking the kitchenette. The guest rooms are spacious, the living room homey, the laundry convenient. The quiet setting along Richmond Road overlooks her and Alec's grazing thoroughbreds and the beautiful valley to the east. A perfect base for several days in Tasmania's southeast . . . easy day trips around Hobart, out to Port Arthur, etc., and five or ten minutes from the airport. Peta was always attentive . . . even helped with local phone calls during a brief medical emergency. We haven't enjoyed more any stay in Australia. Be sure to try the Devil of a Red wine from their own little vineyard.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petalec, Owner at Cornwall Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Thank you for your review. Hope you are now 100% healthwise. Kind regards

Peta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed one night here, arriving late to be greeted with garden fresh berries and fresh baked bread. The cottage was warm and comfortably furnished and the breakfast provisions were just amazing. Peta is a wonderful host who thinks of everything a travelling family might need. We stayed here on the first night of our trip, and at her other wonderful cottage in Richmond (Cottage on Gunning) the last two nights, and what a wonderful introduction to Tasmania! We won't soon forget her wonderful bread, delicious home-made jams and the fresh berries, or the wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed with Peta for five nights -our first four in Tasmania and our last one - and it was a great way to start and end our trip. The accommodation is spacious (two bedrooms and a large main room) and it was clean and well equipped. The kitchen is also complete, and Peta bakes amazing bread and provides breakfast food and drinks. Peta was incredibly gracious and giving. She let us pick raspberries from her garden and she lent us a stroller and other items for our one year old baby. Cornwall Cottage is a great place for a family or a baby. Our daughter loved saying good morning and good night to the chickens, sheep, horses and dog (and to Peta). Of the three places we stayed in Tasmania, Cornwall Cottages was by far the best. It also is well situated: 10 minutes to historic Richmond, 20 minutes to Hobart, and within a day trip to the Tasman peninsula or Mount Field National Park. You will not find better hospitality or value in Tasmania.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Greetings from Launceston after checking out Cornwall Cottage this morning! And I am very lucky to find internet access to type this review.

Hospitality
Alec and Peta are marvellous host and hostess of Cornwall Cottage. We loved the cottage the moment we drove along the ranch. Every detail was taken care of! Alec baked his delicious multi-grain bread, served free range eggs and freshly-plucked raspberries from his garden. And we met Peta whom arrived home from UK. Despite spending more than 24 hours travelling back home, she still showed her great hospitality. My 6yr old son, Gerald got to feed the chickens, collect eggs from the chicken coop, pluck fresh raspberries and play with Lily, the lovely dog.

Rooms
There are two beautifully decorated bedrooms with heaters. If the heaters aren't enough, the master bedroom's bed has a warmer too. The beds and pillows are soft. The toilets are large, with lots of space to move around. There are heaters in the shower room to keep you warm (very much needed as the night could be very cold. The living room is spacious with a two-seater and a cosy reading chair. The dining table sits 6 and you can look out of the window at the fields where horses (Alec's race horses... hope they become winners soon) and sheep are free to roam. As the cottage is located on higher ground, you can also see the mountain ranges and rivers. The kitchen, though small, is very well-equip. We managed to cook a sumptuous dinner of steak and chicken.

Location
The cottage is surprisingly near to Hobart CBD. It won't take longer than a 20min leisurely drive to Hobart City. It is also quite centrally located for a visit at Sorell Fruit Farm and Bonorong Wildlife reserve. It is about 1hr 15min drive to Port Arthur Historic Site (not that long by Australian standard) Had we known this earlier, we would have booked another night there instead of a hotel in Hobart City on our return journey.

On the whole, the cottage is nice and cosy. This, I think many with sufficient financial resources could easily duplicate. I feel that what really made the difference is the thoughtfulness behind everything that is done at the cottage. The warmth and hospitality shown by Alec and Peta is something that makes a good building in a good location GREAT!

We will definitely make a trip back to Tasmania and stay at Cornwall Cottage again. This is a splendid place to stay... for our family as we are from Singapore. A great get-away!

Well done, Alec and Peta!!! We love you...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cornwall Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornwall Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Address: 368 Richmond Road, Cambridge, Clarence, Tasmania 7170, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Clarence > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Cornwall Cottage Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornwall Cottage Bed & Breakfast Cambridge, Tasmania, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cornwall Cottage Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.