We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres

Save Saved
You added Excellence Playa Mujeres to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Excellence Playa Mujeres
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon on 24th of June to 9th of July it was amazing. I am one of them people who take a long time trying to find the perfect place to stay and this time it paid of Excellence Playa Mujeres is amazing! There were only a couple things that I could fault so I will start with them first

1- The beds are pretty uncomfortable even with a mattress topper it wasn’t the end of the world but did have a bit of a aching back some mornings.
2- Pool floats some guests insist that the floats are their own and forget they are there to share so if you are not using it leave it in the pool so someone else can!
3- The spice restaurant I wasn’t very impressed with the service we were sat at our table for a long time before we were asked for a drink or food, and between courses instead of taking away my cutlery he placed my dirty ones back on to the table again to use not the end of the world but I thought it was a little bit strange.

Now on to the good bits!
We arrived at about 4pm to be greeted with big smiles a cold towel and drink we were checked in quickly and shown to our room by the bellboy who explained where everything was. On leaving the day before we got a phone call to ask what time we would like our bags picking up which was nice.

The room – Our room 7201 overlooking the revive bar was lovely there was so much room. We could hear the entertainment in the evenings this didn't bother us as by the time we went to sleep about 11pm it had finished anyway. The showers were great very hot and powerful there is a window into the rest of the room it may bother some but not us and yes there only a frosted door with gaps on the bottom and top if this bothers you send your partner onto the balcony to lie on the double day bed and take in the lovely grounds. Our mini bar got refilled every day with all types of soft drinks, water, beer, wine, oreos, snickers and m&ms. There are also full bottles of Smirnoff vodka, tequila and whiskey in the room for free. We also loved the fact that there was free Wi-fi to use throughout the hotel the signal was always good enough to Skype and access Facebook.

Room service- Large choice of food to choose from it was all cooked perfectly and arrived hot within the time frame they specified on the phone.

Restaurants – Buffet restaurant for breakfast was great loads to choose from really enjoyed it, we weren’t that keen on the buffet lunch however the food was lovely but I don’t think there was enough of a variety. The grill for lunch was great food was all cooked perfectly and we could enjoy a view of the sea while we ate.
Our top 3 restaurants are
1- Basmati – we went there 3 times we enjoyed chicken tikka masala and chicken korma
2- Chez Isabelle – Went there 2 times the filet mignon was delicious
3- Grill – Went there twice it was nice to be outdoors it always seemed quiet here too.

Ground/Pools – Everything is very green the gardens are very well looked after we always saw people mowing the grass or tending to the flowers . Our favourite pool was the lazy river around the spa it was always so quiet and relaxing there. There were always available sun beds it seemed like the hotel was empty, a lot of the time we wondered where everyone was. But on walking towards the beach we realised everyone was in the main pool! This does get very busy so if you want sun beds there I would get them in the morning. The beach is beautiful white sand and clear blue water again we struggled to find sun beds during the afternoon so if you want a day on the beach grab them in the morning.

Shows- We enjoyed the Micheal Jackson show thought it was very good I can see how alot of repeat guests would be bored of it though. The comedian and fire show were also good fun to watch.

Staff – Every member of staff from concierge, restaurant staff to gardeners always made a effort to say hi and gave a big smile which is nice to see.

Trips- We went to Xcaret this was a great day out however I wouldn’t recommend doing it if the weather is scorching hot as it is just too hot to enjoy it fully but if you are having some rainy cloudy days and want to do something fun go for it.

All in all we had an amazing honeymoon we wouldn’t return to Excellence playa mujeres as we learnt our lesson on going to the same place twice but I have recommended this hotel to all my friends and family. If you are hesitating on booking don’t! Just go you won’t regret it!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in block 7201 you can hear music at night if this bothers you get a room in block 1-6 it s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Playa Mujeres, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
We thank you for having taken time to post a review about your experience at Excellence Playa Mujeres and for choosing our hotel as your honeymoon destination. We wish you well in this especial step in your lives.

Thank you for adding very generous remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us and mentioning the services that made your stay more comfortable. We also appreciate your detailed feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and provide you the memorable and relaxing experience you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,679
    846
    215
    87
    49
See reviews for
163
4929
48
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,034)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This was our 3rd trip to Excellence Playa Mujeres and it was a pleasure to return again. A tip use the hotel's private car service for transportation to and from airport makes it so much easier.
As always property was well maintained, grounds, pool, rooms, everything. Rooms was ready as promised and we where welcomed with a bowl of fresh fruit and champagne. Met some great people and had just a wonderful time, met several who where there for multiple visits like myself, so that in it self should say something. Restaurants along with the wait staff where all outstanding and accommodating.
Again thank you to the staff and all the workers for making our stay memorable again.

**I know the gratuity is included but remember these are hard working people who bend over backwards to make your vacation perfect, leave them something extra. It goes a long way.

Look forward to coming back again.

Room Tip: We had a swim up room again which is great after a long day at the beach to just float around the pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Celebrated our 25th anniversary at Excellence Playa Mujeres from 11 to 19 July 2014. We celebrate big every 5 years and usually stay at all-inclusive resorts. Excellence was by far the best. We had a swim-up spa view suite in building 4. Nice, quiet area but only a short walk from the main pool, beach, and restaurants. Very nice, well-maintained resort. All the staff always had a smile and friendly greeting. Room service was decent and relatively quick (30 minutes). Barcelona and Flavor Market were our favorite restaurants, but all of them were good. Lunch at the beach restaurant was superior. Paella, real tacos, fresh grilled seafood. So much better than the typical beach grill. Highly recommend this resort to anyone looking at a Cancun vacation.
Booked through Travelocity which had the best total price (airfare + hotel) at the time we made our reservation.
Used USA Transfer for our airport transfer. Smooth, no issues. Would use again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I took my daughter for our annual father/daughter trip. Being a CEO, I tend to review in critical detail. We stayed in the Club Level building 8. The room was a "swim up". ground level. Our room was spacious and well designed. Due to all Club level rooms being King beds, the staff created a beautiful and comfortable extra bedding spot for my daughter. The room was meticulously cleaned each day and each evening we received a special treat with turn down service.

Each of the many themed restaurants featured delicious, authentic cuisine served with care in expedient fashion. The many bars were stocked with premium beverages and I was pleased that the draft beer of the resort was Corona. The beach service I found to be much more expedient than similar resorts. The pools were sparkling and roomy even with occupancy at 90%. Each night they had special and unique entertainment that too was up to standards.

The staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly. They sincerely wanted your stay to be memorable.

I recommend this hotel even to the most picky of consumers. You will not be disappointed. In fact, I was very pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: CLUB LEVEL 8 swim up was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed at Excellence Playa Mujeres from May 22 - 30 for 9 wonderful nights. This was our third trip in the past three years. We weren’t sure that they could top themselves after the last two visits but they managed exceed our expectations yet again. When we arrived to the lobby, we were welcomed by the sweet Vilma who let us know that someone would escort us to the Excellence Club in a few minutes. It was just enough time to start sipping our champagne! We arrived to the Excellence Club and were checked in by the lovely Dalel who welcomed us home (such a sweetheart!). We also got to meet Alfonso and Fernanda, who we continued to see throughout our trip and they were absolutely wonderful!

Our room was located in building 8b (8365) and it was perfect! Our building concierge, Carolina, kept an eye on us the entire trip and made sure we had anything and everything we needed. She is a truly special woman and a pleasure to deal with.

We were lucky enough to arrive on a day when the Chocolate Party was happening at the Excellence Club. I am a huge chocoholic so I was extremely happy to be able to go to it and it was awesome. I also got to meet Naikare (Nike), the new guest relations manager. From that moment on, I knew I found another fantastic addition to EPM staff. She came to check on us throughout the day to inquire if there was anything we needed and to make sure we were having a great time.

The resort was just as beautiful as it was the first time we traveled there. We ate at Agave, Spice, Chez Isabelle, and Flavor Market twice each and Toscana once. We had great meals at all of them. Standout waiters were Luis (Flavour Market), Wilbur (Agave), Claudio (Spice) and Eric (Toscana). We ate at the buffet at Toscana for breakfast each morning. The first day we had Alfredo as our waiter. He was great about refilling our coffee and other beverages so we then asked to be seated in his section every day. Gloria, the lovely hostess got to know us after a couple of days and would happily seat us with Alfredo every day he was there. We found the food to be fresh and tasty…my scale agreed when I returned home!

We spent most of our days at the 8b pool and enjoyed the quieter atmosphere as compared to the main pool. We go on vacation to relax, read and enjoy each other. We love that this resort has something for everyone! The concierges who worked at the 8b pool were Paul, Alejandro and Tony and they treated us like king and queen. In the evenings, we went to some of the shows including Michael Jackson, Gustavo (the singer with the guitar - excellent) and some of the others that I just can’t recall. It was nice to sit at Cafe Kafe and enjoy the open air seating. Then we would go see our favorite show called “Cesar” at the Martini Bar. He is just so awesome to watch and the best bartender we’ve ever seen! We met Cesar last year and we really enjoyed catching up with him again this year. He’s a really nice guy and works very hard. He manages to somehow serve a ton of delicious drinks quickly, while still paying attention to guests and smiles the whole time.

On our last day at the pool, Nike sent down a nice surprise…tequila ice cream! It was so yummy and so appreciated. She also set up a very special dinner for us at Flavour Market with our favorite waiter, Luis! What a wonderful way to end an already fabulous trip! We really could not have asked for more while we were there. Thank you Excellence Playa Mujeres for yet another year in paradise. And, thank you, Virginia Amador, for hiring such spectacular employees!!!

We decided as soon as we got home that we will be heading back next April to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary and already have our reservation made!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed with my partner for 9 nights from 8th July - not long enough!!! However with the daily weight gain may have been for the best. The food was great...some days we ate 4 meals as just couldn't resist! Fave restaurants were Chez Isabelle, Spice, Toscana & Basmati. We decided the only restaurant we would visit twice was Spice as Lorena was fantastic on our 1st visit. The second time we had a different waiter and the experience was not so good, maybe because we decided to eat quite late but they were a little slower (didn't take our starter plates away before bringing out main course etc) minor issues but more noticeable if you are having great service throughout. Breakfast is wonderful, suggest buffet at Toscana if you want quick & endless choice - loved the crepes with strawberry & cream! However lobster house if you want a more relaxed waiter service. Raul at the main pool is a fantastic waiter. He suggested different cocktails based on what he knew we liked, and was very easy to talk to. He wouldn't let your glass be empty, one day we counted we tried 10 different cocktails by the pool without moving (hic!) a real asset to excellence. The beach is not quite as nice as excellence riviera cancun, only because it doesn't have as much depth so felt a little busier, but if you like the pool mainly like us then won't be an issue. The sunbeds on the beach aren't as comfortable as the pool beds either so that could be improved. The bedrooms are great, very spacious. The bed is quite high so we joked about how you almost have to run & jump at it!! I have seen a few comments around the bellboy not turning up to pick up your luggage at the end of the stay, & unfortunately that did happen to us, but no big issue. Overall it's a fantastic hotel, with something for everyone & you won't have to lift a finger if you don't want to. I can't imagine why anyone would be disappointed if they stayed.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We spent a week here in January and absolutely loved it. The staff was amazing from the moment we got out of the car, greeting us and giving us a wet towel and champagne before we even made it inside! The room was spectacular with excellent bedding, bathroom, spacious two person shower, and an awesome jacuzzi tub that sat partly in the room and partly out of the deck. The multitude of food choices made for us gaining quite a few pounds. Each spot had its on theme, whether it was Mexican, Hibachi, French or American, and they even deliver to your room. There was a circus show for entertainment one night and plenty of free activities throughout the day. You can also pay extra to scuba, swim with dolphins. We rented a car (which they brought to us at the resort) and drove to Chichen Itza. Definitely worth taking in if you want to get away for half the day. Overall, this is our favorite resort we've ever been to and can't wait to go back some day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Excellence Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Playa Mujeres

Address: Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Playa Mujeres 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury adults-only resort nestled among seven swimming pools on a powdery white sand beach, in a community that boasts a spectacular Greg Norman signature golf course. This jewel of Cancun sets a new standard of luxury for all-inclusives with finely tuned amenities such as one-of-a-kind accommodations including two-story rooftop terrace suites with a private Hydro-Spa pool, meticulous service, gourmet cuisine, an exquisite spa and the signature Excellence Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Excellence Group LLC, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Excellence Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Playa Mujeres Hotel Playa Mujeres
Excellence Hotel Playa Mujeres
Playa Mujeres Excellence Hotel
Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excellence Playa Mujeres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.