We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior stay even to this picky guest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Excellence Playa Mujeres to your Saves list
Excellence Playa Mujeres
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam | Lote Terrenos 001 MZ. 001 Sm. 003, Zona Continental, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save Up to 10% !
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superior stay even to this picky guest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I took my daughter for our annual father/daughter trip. Being a CEO, I tend to review in critical detail. We stayed in the Club Level building 8. The room was a "swim up". ground level. Our room was spacious and well designed. Due to all Club level rooms being King beds, the staff created a beautiful and comfortable extra bedding spot for my daughter. The room was meticulously cleaned each day and each evening we received a special treat with turn down service.

Each of the many themed restaurants featured delicious, authentic cuisine served with care in expedient fashion. The many bars were stocked with premium beverages and I was pleased that the draft beer of the resort was Corona. The beach service I found to be much more expedient than similar resorts. The pools were sparkling and roomy even with occupancy at 90%. Each night they had special and unique entertainment that too was up to standards.

The staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly. They sincerely wanted your stay to be memorable.

I recommend this hotel even to the most picky of consumers. You will not be disappointed. In fact, I was very pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: CLUB LEVEL 8 swim up was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,310
    1,082
    268
    104
    58
See reviews for
247
6,514
66
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,821)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed at Excellence Playa Mujeres from May 22 - 30 for 9 wonderful nights. This was our third trip in the past three years. We weren’t sure that they could top themselves after the last two visits but they managed exceed our expectations yet again. When we arrived to the lobby, we were welcomed by the sweet Vilma who let us know that someone would escort us to the Excellence Club in a few minutes. It was just enough time to start sipping our champagne! We arrived to the Excellence Club and were checked in by the lovely Dalel who welcomed us home (such a sweetheart!). We also got to meet Alfonso and Fernanda, who we continued to see throughout our trip and they were absolutely wonderful!

Our room was located in building 8b (8365) and it was perfect! Our building concierge, Carolina, kept an eye on us the entire trip and made sure we had anything and everything we needed. She is a truly special woman and a pleasure to deal with.

We were lucky enough to arrive on a day when the Chocolate Party was happening at the Excellence Club. I am a huge chocoholic so I was extremely happy to be able to go to it and it was awesome. I also got to meet Naikare (Nike), the new guest relations manager. From that moment on, I knew I found another fantastic addition to EPM staff. She came to check on us throughout the day to inquire if there was anything we needed and to make sure we were having a great time.

The resort was just as beautiful as it was the first time we traveled there. We ate at Agave, Spice, Chez Isabelle, and Flavor Market twice each and Toscana once. We had great meals at all of them. Standout waiters were Luis (Flavour Market), Wilbur (Agave), Claudio (Spice) and Eric (Toscana). We ate at the buffet at Toscana for breakfast each morning. The first day we had Alfredo as our waiter. He was great about refilling our coffee and other beverages so we then asked to be seated in his section every day. Gloria, the lovely hostess got to know us after a couple of days and would happily seat us with Alfredo every day he was there. We found the food to be fresh and tasty…my scale agreed when I returned home!

We spent most of our days at the 8b pool and enjoyed the quieter atmosphere as compared to the main pool. We go on vacation to relax, read and enjoy each other. We love that this resort has something for everyone! The concierges who worked at the 8b pool were Paul, Alejandro and Tony and they treated us like king and queen. In the evenings, we went to some of the shows including Michael Jackson, Gustavo (the singer with the guitar - excellent) and some of the others that I just can’t recall. It was nice to sit at Cafe Kafe and enjoy the open air seating. Then we would go see our favorite show called “Cesar” at the Martini Bar. He is just so awesome to watch and the best bartender we’ve ever seen! We met Cesar last year and we really enjoyed catching up with him again this year. He’s a really nice guy and works very hard. He manages to somehow serve a ton of delicious drinks quickly, while still paying attention to guests and smiles the whole time.

On our last day at the pool, Nike sent down a nice surprise…tequila ice cream! It was so yummy and so appreciated. She also set up a very special dinner for us at Flavour Market with our favorite waiter, Luis! What a wonderful way to end an already fabulous trip! We really could not have asked for more while we were there. Thank you Excellence Playa Mujeres for yet another year in paradise. And, thank you, Virginia Amador, for hiring such spectacular employees!!!

We decided as soon as we got home that we will be heading back next April to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary and already have our reservation made!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed with my partner for 9 nights from 8th July - not long enough!!! However with the daily weight gain may have been for the best. The food was great...some days we ate 4 meals as just couldn't resist! Fave restaurants were Chez Isabelle, Spice, Toscana & Basmati. We decided the only restaurant we would visit twice was Spice as Lorena was fantastic on our 1st visit. The second time we had a different waiter and the experience was not so good, maybe because we decided to eat quite late but they were a little slower (didn't take our starter plates away before bringing out main course etc) minor issues but more noticeable if you are having great service throughout. Breakfast is wonderful, suggest buffet at Toscana if you want quick & endless choice - loved the crepes with strawberry & cream! However lobster house if you want a more relaxed waiter service. Raul at the main pool is a fantastic waiter. He suggested different cocktails based on what he knew we liked, and was very easy to talk to. He wouldn't let your glass be empty, one day we counted we tried 10 different cocktails by the pool without moving (hic!) a real asset to excellence. The beach is not quite as nice as excellence riviera cancun, only because it doesn't have as much depth so felt a little busier, but if you like the pool mainly like us then won't be an issue. The sunbeds on the beach aren't as comfortable as the pool beds either so that could be improved. The bedrooms are great, very spacious. The bed is quite high so we joked about how you almost have to run & jump at it!! I have seen a few comments around the bellboy not turning up to pick up your luggage at the end of the stay, & unfortunately that did happen to us, but no big issue. Overall it's a fantastic hotel, with something for everyone & you won't have to lift a finger if you don't want to. I can't imagine why anyone would be disappointed if they stayed.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We spent a week here in January and absolutely loved it. The staff was amazing from the moment we got out of the car, greeting us and giving us a wet towel and champagne before we even made it inside! The room was spectacular with excellent bedding, bathroom, spacious two person shower, and an awesome jacuzzi tub that sat partly in the room and partly out of the deck. The multitude of food choices made for us gaining quite a few pounds. Each spot had its on theme, whether it was Mexican, Hibachi, French or American, and they even deliver to your room. There was a circus show for entertainment one night and plenty of free activities throughout the day. You can also pay extra to scuba, swim with dolphins. We rented a car (which they brought to us at the resort) and drove to Chichen Itza. Definitely worth taking in if you want to get away for half the day. Overall, this is our favorite resort we've ever been to and can't wait to go back some day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We were back in April 2014 for our fifth trip. We cannot stay away from this place. We absolutely love it and it gets better every single time. We stayed in building 5 in a swim out suite. We loved it! Afternoon sun, and access to the lazy river. We were there with our friends and loved it. The service is top notch. We were called several times to see how we were doing and to ask where we were dining. A couple times they set up a special table with flowers for us. This kind of stuff just makes you want to keep coming back. Our favorite places to eat are Basmati hands down. The food and the service cannot be beat. We went twice. Both times we had Oscar as our waiter. He is amazing. So much fun. We had him pick out our meals both times and he never fails. We also had a delicious dessert that was lit on fire. Delicious. We also really enjoy Spice. Our waitress there was Lorena. She was sweet and so attentive. The second time we went we had a server by the name of Angel. I have to say he was pretty grouchy and we definitely did not have a great experience. Must have been an off night for him. We ate every morning at Toscana. The buffet is truly great. Amazing choices. Nancy who makes the omelettes is the sweetest girl ever. She is constantly busy and still ALWAYS has a smile on her face and is just so sweet to talk to. Her omelettes are amazing. Gloria who sat us at our table every day is so charming and loveable. We enjoyed seeing her beautiful smiling face every morning. She was also at basmati one night we were there. She is just a gem!!! The martini bar is our favorite place to grab a drink on the way to dinner. We met such a nice gentleman one night serving drinks. His name was Rodrigo. He was very attentive and we had a great talk with him. He made sure our drinks were never empty as we sat in one corner with our friends. We really enjoyed him. Edgar at the Agave was very attentive as well. We always go to Agave our first night. He brought us a trio of margarita"s to try. They were all delicious!!! We had fajitis for our meal. I have to say they were not as good as the first few times we were there. They changed something about them. But, the meal was still good and I love the open air atmosphere in there. Before we went I communicated with Vilma. She made sure we had everything we needed when we arrived. We ask for a bed topper before we get there. It was on the bed and the room was where we requested. She is a real pleasure to deal with. Thank you Vilma! There are a few other names I wrote down, and unfortunately I cant place where they worked. But, I wrote them down because I thought they were outstanding. Edgar, Raul, Louise, Hugo, Ceasar, Efrain and Yesinia.I believe Yesinia worked around the pool serving drinks. We are so blessed to be able to go to this resort every year. Our trip for next April is already booked. If you are reading these reviews. Just know that you will NOT be disappointed. Its our home away from home. I have done so much research and visited so many other places and nothing at all compares. Adios until next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

After visiting Excellence Punta Cana in 06-09-10-11-12 and 13 we decided to try Excellence Playa Mujeres. We were not disappointed!!! The facilities were very good. Rooms were spacious and clean.Bigger than the ones at Punta Cana. The liquor in the bars was good, top shelf. One problem with the bars though, sometimes are under staffed. The bar at the swimming pool had one bartender and it was hard to get something to drink, same in the main bar, shapesd as a square with a "closet" in the center only two bartenders. They can not see the whole bar and you have to chase them down for a drink, not their fault, beverage manager needs to do better job managing the staff. We went one night to The Grill (Rest) and they had one bartender to take care of the Grill and the Lobster house. Entertainment was very good. La Banda Cubanisimo was outstanding, good mix of oldies and new salsa, same with the other two groups that played at the swimming pool. Special Kudos to Veronica for the Bike Tour and Armando for the entertainment.
Gym is well equipped, liked Punta Cana better, all the sports facilities in one place and has a bar.
Made reservations at the golf course, pricey, $130 and carts did not have GPS, score card did not have pics of course and the holes, rentals were old and beat up but, the course was clean and well kept for the most part. Asked for a1:00 PM pickup and GC personnel showed at 1:35 PM.
Food at the restaurants was good not as good as the D.R in my opinion. Toscana for lunch was good, churrasco was excellent. Breakfast was good, again D.R. has a better selection of food.

Room Tip: Building seven is the best located, close to everything did not have to walk far to enjoy the facili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was our first time at this resort, and at an all-inclusive in general. We loved both. We upgraded to the Excellence Club upon check-in, and because of that we were put in block 9, which is the one nearest construction. Yes, we could see it and heard it occasionally but I was too focused on the gorgeous water to really care. I will say I was impressed? disturbed? by the fact that the construction crews were literally out working at midnight on Friday night, pouring concrete. They worked all weekend, almost around the clock.

The Excellence Club is totally worth the extra money. They have their own private pools, one with a bar right there, and beach area, better toiletries, a private lounge. Admittedly we are hotel snobs so this extra attention and service is what we look for.

We thought the restaurants/food were all fine, but not amazing/out of this world. We ate dinner at Spice, Chez Isabelle and Toscana and all were fine. For breakfast we did room service, and lunch was different every day--The Grill, Toscana buffet, and ordered a burger poolside. One slight disappointment is the house wine selection. Yes, they have an extensive wine collection that you pay extra for but we weren't interested in doing that. House-wise they offer a sauv blanc, chardonnay, merlot and cab. The sauv blanc and cabs were fine--but just fine.

We like to take advantage of the activities so I went to a yoga class one day, we used the fitness center, did a bike tour, and played tennis. Excellence, you need to buy a new fleet of bikes!! The whole group remarked on how poor the bikes were. Pretty good fitness center. Would have liked a couple more group exercise classes offered.

We did a couples massage on the beach. I thought it would be private ...not quite so! The beach hut for the spa is right in the middle of the rest of Excellence Club beach chairs! The spa seemed nice.
Next time I'd book a regular massage.

My last note would be on what type of room to book. Don't waste your money on the rooftop pool suite! There is no shade up there so it was way to hot to spend any amount of time. Next time we'd book a regular room w/in Excellence Club block--still get those perks and the room is still great.

Overall, fantastic stay and we hope to be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.1 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 5 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 stars 712 reviews
8.8 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 178 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 stars 4,267 reviews
9.9 mi away
Live Aqua Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Beloved Hotel
The Beloved Hotel
#2 of 5 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 stars 2,241 reviews
1.6 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Playa Mujeres

Address: Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam | Lote Terrenos 001 MZ. 001 Sm. 003, Zona Continental, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Playa Mujeres 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury adults-only resort nestled among seven swimming pools on a powdery white sand beach, in a community that boasts a spectacular Greg Norman signature golf course. This jewel of Cancun sets a new standard of luxury for all-inclusives with finely tuned amenities such as one-of-a-kind accommodations including two-story rooftop terrace suites with a private Plunge pool, meticulous service, gourmet cuisine, an exquisite spa and the signature Excellence Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Amex, Orbitz, Excellence Group LLC, Otel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Excellence Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Playa Mujeres Hotel Playa Mujeres
Excellence Hotel Playa Mujeres
Playa Mujeres Excellence Hotel
Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excellence Playa Mujeres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.