We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just returned” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres

Save Saved
You added Excellence Playa Mujeres to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Excellence Playa Mujeres
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Playa Mujeres
Staten Island, New York
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just returned”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Came back 4 days ago. We had a very good time. Resort is very nice. Rooms are great, especially bad on a balcony. Only small inconvenience with a bathroom doors - no privacy.
Food is ok, restaurants are very good.
We were not very lucky at this time of the year - it was a lot of sea weed at the beach and a really bad smell.
Service is exceptional.
Special thank you to waiter Javier in Toscana. He was taking really good care of us every breakfast and lunch. Always smiling and very friendly Gloria, Oscar - waiter in Basmati.
And there is a very unique bartender at the Sol bar - Fabian. People you should go there at night and try his cocktails – like cucumber margarita for example.
Overall it was a great vacation. Thank you Excellence.

Room Tip: Do not get excellence club room overlooking pool. It was too loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,540 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4,389
    816
    205
    85
    45
See reviews for
142
4657
48
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,864)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I will just give you several bullet-points about our trip.

Highlights:
- Room was amazing. If you want a view of the ocean, you need to be on floors 3 or 4. We stayed in bldg 9 which was nice and quiet
- Beach/Pool service was very good
- Restaurants were good especially the French, Mexican and Asian. Tapas was ok, Breakfast as Tuscana is highly recommended
- Quiet areas if you want quiet. Party areas if you want to party. Nightlife is limited
- Amazingly clean facilities (rooms, pool, public areas)

Other notes:
Tipping - yes, tipping is included but the people working there, serving your needs, probably dont see a lot of the revenue the hotel generates. We gave tips all the time to those who deserved it. If service was not that good, we did not tip (which was limited)

Seaweed - there is seaweed on the beach and in the ocean. It is fine, like grass clippings from your lawn. At no time did it bother us nor was it an eyesore.

Room service - it takes a while for room service to be delivered. First day took an hour!! After that it was 40 mins

Check-in / Orientation - we were part of the Excellence Club which means you do not check-in at the front door. Instead, you have to walk through the resort to the Excellence Lounge. Check-in was not a good experience. The man helping us acted as if we were bothering him. Our room was not available for an hour (3PM). Our luggage was left out on the walkway until it was checkin time. There was no suggestions or orientation to the facility. He handed us a map and that was it. First impressions were not good and I advise Excellence to change this.

Excellence Club - is it worth the money? For us, yes. We had pools and a beach area that was much more quiet. Also, the included hydrotherapy was fantastic!!

Room Tip: Bldg 9 on floors 3 or 4 is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We have visited many 5* resorts and this the bast by far! Every member of staff is there to make your stay memorable nothing is to much trouble, we were there when the resort was at 98% occupancy AND still standards were surpassed. The food in every restaurant was fantastic, our favorites were Lobster House, Asian, Barcelona and French. We enjoyed the Martini Bar pre dinner drinks, and Ceasar the cocktail barman was just amazing it was a joy to sit and watch him. All drinks were named brands and not local (cheap buys).
We stayed in block 2 which was very quiet and overlooked the lazy river. Entertainment was also very good particularly Michael Jackson show is a must. The only area whcih did annoy me was that sun beds were reserved very early in the morning (6am) despite the hotel stating it was not acceptable to do so. We will definitely be going back it was fantastic.

Room Tip: If you want quiet choose block 1 or 2. we like 2nd floor better view of lazy river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

After the crazy cancun airport experience, this resort is unbelievable. The food is ridiculously good. Staff is incredible. I would recommend this place to everyone. Can't say enough good things. Well worth the $$. The only bad thing I have to say about this place is actually about the guests. I've never encountered so many rude people. Not to me but to the staff. We've been going out of our way to show appreciation to the staff. Truly are top notch. Fabian is the best bartender at The Sol bar after 6pm. Visit him.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sykesville, Maryland
1 review
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

My friends and I had a great time.
We were very disappointed with the Italian restaurant and the service was terrible. The Asian restaurant was very good along with the service. The French restaurant was outstanding and the service was outstanding. Our group ate there twice.
I was very disappointed with the Internet service. Each time we used the Internet we had to go outside of our rooms.
The pools were beautiful and very relaxing. The service at the pools was outstanding. We did not enjoy the beach because of the seaweed that constantly washed up on the beach. In saying this the hotel did their very best to keep this from happening but I believe that was an impossible job.
The soft ice cream machine was not open during advertised hours and most cases it was not open for several hours. There were a lot of vacationers at the pool that complained about this.
The check-in checkout procedures were excellent and everyone at the front desk when out of their way to make us feel comfortable. I had called the front desk a few times in their follow up was outstanding.
This review is only constructive criticism. I'm a very easy person to please and I would definitely go back. Anyone that would say they didn't have a good time would, it would be their own fault.

My travel agent, Chrissy King, from Trip Guide recommended this facility to me and I'm glad she did. From the day I book the trip it was smooth sailing from beginning till end. The private transportation that She recommended was also outstanding. She's a very personable individual and I would booked through her in a minute regardless of where I'm traveling.

Tony Cinquegrani

Room Tip: We thoroughly enjoyed the swim up room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Had our honeymoon here from November 12-22 and it was absolutely outstanding. I would recommend this resort to anyone, as this was the perfect balance of romantic/quiet and fun/partying, depending on what you wanted. The only downfall was that there was a bit of seaweed, but they had a tractor out sweeping it to try and clean it up as much as they could. While all of the service was great, there were some who were truly exceptional. They were:

Alejandro, Baggage/Bell Boy-- Greeted us with a warm smile, and certainly made us feel welcomed.

Dalel, Excellence Club Concierge--Dalel was truly the best concierge we have ever come across. We paid a bit extra for the Excellence Club upgrade as it was our Honeymoon, and thus, we had Dalel. The 'Excellence' company should be proud to have her work for them, she was OUTSTANDING for every little thing we needed.

Luis, Server-- Luis works mainly at Agave, the Mexican restaurant. He was great and very knowledgeable for offering a variety of selections.

Job, Bartender-- Job is an excellent bartender who after meeting you for the very first time, knew exactly what you were drinking and your name.

Javier, Server-- Every time we would go into the buffet for breakfast or lunch, we would seek out Javier to sit with. He is a very friendly, caring young man who in talking with him, sincerely loves his job.

Armando, Manager of The Grill-- Our experience with Armando could not have gone any better. My wife is allergic to seafood, and when we wanted to try the Lobster House (all seafood) with friends, he made sure she could eat off of the Steak House menu. As it was also my birthday when we were down there, he brought over a small desert with a candle and had the staff sing to me. Small gestures go a long way, and he was great.

The Housekeepers were great, our room was always very clean and never any problems with leaving my wallet out if I forgot to use the safe.

Gladis, Outside Server-- Always a warm smile on her face, she is what every worker there should want to be. Never let you have an empty drink for long, extremely attentive.

and last but not least....... The Entertainment Staff!

Edwin, Elias, Fer and Addiel. This group certainly knows how to keep the party going, and smiles on everyone's faces. Lead by Adrian, they are extremely engaging and were a huge reason as to why we had so much fun!

Dalel, Edwin, Elias, Addiel, and all the others..... THANK YOU! you made our honeymoon everything we could have asked for, and more. We plan on coming back to see you soon!

Room Tip: Paying for the Excellence Club was worth it for us! We didn't go for the 2 story room, but were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Just returned from this fab hotel the rooms have definitely got the wow factor from the bed on the balcony, the range of bottle spirits the well stocked mini bar the snacks all replaced daily if you need any more just ring and someone will come along. The whirlpool bath that you can open the doors on to the balcony as some people have said about the height of the beds I did feel like the princess and the pea even so they were lovely and comfy. The staff are a credit to this hotel so friendly and they constantly ask if you want drinks, Cesar at the martini bar was like a whirl wind serving so May people at the same time never getting the drinks wrong amazing! Plenty of different pools although some times had to walk around a number of times to find sun beds. We eat in all of the restaurants the French was our favourite but all the others are excellent. We had room service a few times same quality of food and service. The beach not as good as Cancun but that's nature for you. We did the Isle of Mujeres trip our self easy to do taxi from hotel to marina $13 ferry $24 for 2 return trip golf buggy for day $40 there were 4 of us we went to the turtle sanctuary $3 each fee it is small but still nice to see and hold the turtles on that road we stopped at Zamar restaurant you can sit on the private beach have drinks and food swim in the sea or pay to use the pool great spot not expensive for drinks or food. We then went to the ruins fab views,places to eat and shop if you want to walk to the ruins there is a charge but you get the view for free any way. It was my birthday on this holiday and ended up with 3 small birthday cakes and the room decorated nice touch. Would recommend this hotel and the bike ride lucky enough to see some croc's close up.

Room Tip: We stayed in block 4 first floor quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Excellence Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Playa Mujeres

Address: Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Playa Mujeres 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury adults-only resort nestled among seven swimming pools on a powdery white sand beach, in a community that boasts a spectacular Greg Norman signature golf course. This jewel of Cancun sets a new standard of luxury for all-inclusives with finely tuned amenities such as one-of-a-kind accommodations including two-story rooftop terrace suites with a private Hydro-Spa pool, meticulous service, gourmet cuisine, an exquisite spa and the signature Excellence Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Excellence Group LLC, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Excellence Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Playa Mujeres Hotel Playa Mujeres
Excellence Hotel Playa Mujeres
Playa Mujeres Excellence Hotel
Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excellence Playa Mujeres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.