We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence ....Bottoms Up!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres

Save Saved
You added Excellence Playa Mujeres to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Excellence Playa Mujeres
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam, Playa Mujeres, Cancun 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellence ....Bottoms Up!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We arrived on August 31 for a seven days stay. Everything was just perfect, from the airport pickup to the nicest and smooth checking where Ruvicella oriented us and satisfied all our needs, The dinning experience was wonderfull. The Mexican Rest, Agave is the best, Juan, Claudio and Felix, guys you are a good team, you make us feel at home. Our respect to Excecuttive Chef Rafael Cervantes, thank you for a memorable 30th Anniversary Dinner. Excellence Club guys Mariana and Paul thank you for pampering us, we allready found the Clorofila water in Puerto Rico!!!. Excellence Club at beach its well attended by a young lady that its always running, but very oriented to details, Thank you María for keep us hydrated in the sun! Mr. Erick Cervantes, your are awesome, keep sharing time and listening to your guests,Bottoms Up... this is what makes the difference and what the Tourisim Industry need. Mexico lo hace mejor!!! See you in our next visit, Mr. & Mrs. Montalvo, Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4,113
    766
    192
    74
    40
See reviews for
127
4368
46
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,704)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
N. Attleboro, MA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We just returned on October 6 from our 3rd trip to Excellence Playa Mujeres, also our 5th trip to an Excellence resort. We have been to several other adults only all-inclusives, but Excellence keeps us coming back.

We booked once again with Jennifer Byrnes at The Tropical Travelers. Per usual, we received great service and a great deal! Thank you, Jennifer.

Instead of noting some of the same things that are in most other reviews, I will focus on the things we noticed have changed since our last trip in 2011.

The resort still looks great, so clean and well maintained. If anything, the grounds are more lush than ever. The one downside is that the beach is noticeably smaller, there must have been some erosion since our last trip. We continue to be amazed at how clean everything is kept. Weather was fabulous, only had some rain on one day, which we sent at the sa (FABULOUS!) and watching a movie in our room. Beach was really nice, water was very clear 8 days out of 9. Only on the rainy day did we notice a significant amount of seagrass.

The food and service have definitely improved. During a whole week of 3 meals a day there was only 2 appetizers we weren't crazy about. The large majority of food was amazing!!! Our favorites this time were Chez Isabelle (French), Basmati (Indian) and Agave (Mexican). We went to the Grill for the first time this trip, and were impressed with the steaks. For breakfast this time, we went to the Lobster House almost as much as the buffet, as it was nice to sit outside and be waited on. Our favorite waiter, whose name I know I will misspell, is Tika-Tivuh. He was always smiling and singing, even when very busy. He even went to get French Toast for us even though it wasn't on the menu. Nancy, the omelette chef in the buffet was also amazing - she made me my first huevos rancheros, which is a new favorite.

Service, as I said has just gotten better. They really try not to say no to any request if at all possible. The hostesses at all the restaurants are amazing and so friendly, but I have to mention Jessica at Basmati, who remembered our names, how long we were staying, and was just a sweetheart. Oscar at Basmati made our first visit so special, we went back to sit in his section 2 days later. He is really special and we hope to see him again on our next visit. Let him order for you - he knows what's good! Miguel at the Grill at dinner and who also worked Las Olas on the beach at lunch was constantly asking us what he could do or bring for us. Santiago on the beach worked so hard bringing food and drinks to everyone, even when the beach was packed on a few days.

I also have to mention the bartenders who work so hard and are always friendly. Eduardo at the swim up bar, Hugo at the martini bar, Julio and Julian at Cafe Kafe are just amazing and really want you to enjoy yourself. I can not say we had one negative service experience.

I also have to mention Daniela Parra, the guest services manager. She greeted us at check-in and then made a point of seeking us out when she saw us to see if we needed anything or if there was anything she could do. She even sought us out on our last night to hug us and say goodbye. We have never felt so appreciated as return guests during any of our previous visits. Daniela is a gem.

Other amazing service - on our last night we made a call for an early wake up call to leave for the airport. The young lady who answered asked us what time we wanted our luggage picked up, whether we wanted to receive room service for breakfast as we were leaving early in the morning, and if there was anything else we needed. I have never seen that level of service at any other hotel or resort.

Entertainment also seems to have improved. There was more live music in the evenings, and even live music on the beach or at the pool a couple of times during the week. The reggae band at the swim up bar was particularly good. We went to the fire show for the first time which was good, but otherwise the shows are pretty typical of resorts in Mexico or the Caribbean.

Excellence Playa Mujeres is the place to go if you want pampering and relaxation. We will definitely be back for trip #4.

Feel free to message me if you have any questions. I will be happy to answer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Playa Mujeres, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review, and for recommending us with all Trip Advisor readers. It feels very rewarding to hear that our services have gone beyond our clients expectations.

Moreover, we are glad to know that every time you have stayed with us, you have been able to enjoy of many unique and memorable experiences due to the courteous attention of our staff and our Resort facilities. It is also a delight to read that your perception of our food and beverage department has improved.

At our hotel we strive to make every stay, as close to perfection as possible and we will continue working hard in this direction.

We all look forward to welcome you on your sixth visit, and to provide you with another memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Me and my wife booked our honeymoon here in a club level two story room with the pool on top. Everything was great. just as we wanted. Only thin we would do differently is not get the roof top pool room. We found ourselves not using it very often as we just went to the pool or the beach where the people made you drinks. Besides that everything was amazing.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

September 26 - October 3 was our 4th trip to Excellence Playa Mujeres and the staff has never failed to impress. From Virgina (General Manager), Daniella (Guest Services Manager) Claudia, Ernesto and all of the Excellence Club hosts, Jamie (Excellence Club Bartender), Cesear (Martini Bartender) Marianna (Excellence Beach Hostess) Fidel (Excellence Beach Waiter) and Alexander (Food and Drink) everyone is gracious. From the moment you arrive at Excellence you feel welcome.

My wife and I have traveled to Cancun 7 or 8 times in the last 5 years and have stayed at other "5 star" and “boutique” resorts in the Hotel Zone and just south of Cancun. None of them compare to the Excellence. We are already booked to return next year.

What we like best are the people at Excellence. There are plenty of beautiful locations and resorts to select from in Mexico. However, none of the places that we have stayed have a staff that comes close to those at Excellence. We have stayed in 4 different rooms in the “Excellence Club” building 8 and all have been well appointed. There is even a queen size bed on the balcony and a jacuzzi tub which overlooks the ocean and opens to the balcony. Softer pillows would be a nice option though.

We enjoy the rooms on the 3rd and 4th floors of building 8 because in our opinion they offer the best views of the ocean. Speaking of the ocean, the waves lap at the shore and it is very comfortable and easy to "wade" or swim. The waves do not pound or beat you up. The beach is private and there is no need to ward off vendors trying to sell you something. You can walk on the beach and not be hassled by anyone. The cabanas on the beach are, as the say, EXCELLENT!!!

Jonathan, the tennis pro is a great asset to the resort. Over the last 4 years he has been able to adjust his schedule and accommodate us to make sure we got lessons at times that suited our schedule. His is both knowledgeable and patient.

The variety of choices for breakfast lunch and dinner are more than enough to satisfy even the most discriminating taste buds. Don't forget the very much improved work out facilities to work off the calories followed by hydrotherapy and massages to further help you relax.

We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a view of the ocean request rooms on the 3rd or 4th floors of building 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Good Day! My wife and I just returned from our third trip at Excellence Playa Mujeres. As this being our third trip, we started smiling as we landed in Cancun (even though Tropical Storm Karen was threatening the Yucatan). I still expect to see Mr. Rourke and Tattoo as we arrive to hear "Welcome to Fantasy Island" as we enter the gates of the resort.

As usual we were greeted with cool (scented towels) and local sparkling wine!

We have always booked an Excellence Club Oceanfront Room. I do need to emphasize that the term "Oceanfront" does not mean you are on the Ocean. The resort should truly label the rooms as OceanView. With that said, if you book an Oceanfront room, you can request (but not guaranteed) a room that is on the third floor or above. This will get you above the treetop level and guarantee you an OceanView! I had several e-mail exchanges with Matthew (The Concierge) at the resort specifically requesting a room in either Building 8 or 9 (both Excellence Club buildings) on the third floor or above. Upon our check-in, I noticed our room number assigned was 8167 which is on the second floor. We didn't even leave the Excellence Club Lounge as we knew the room as it was in the same building from our first trip three years ago. It has a nice view of the Excellence Club pool, but you have to stand up on the balcony and try to look through the trees just to "see" the Ocean. As typical, they advised that the resort was at 98% capacity and there were no other rooms to move to that day. We were advised that we could move the next day to a higher floor, which we did.

With the inconvenience of the move, Alfonso made arrangements for a private room dinner at the French restaurant the following night which was great and appreciated. We were also greeted with a nice surprise to our room with the jacuzzi filled and ready to go with rose petals/candles and Champagne - nice touch!!

In planning, I had made an advanced reservation at the Spa for a couples ritual - body scrub, milk bath and full body massages! My wife says that was her highlight of the trip - and perfect timing as tropical storm Karen provided rainfall all day - so a day in the Spa was awesome!

The following three days were perfect weather!

As a note, when we moved to our new room, there was a problem with the sink draining. We called maintenance and they were at the room within five minutes to fix - great service.

Overall, Excellence Playa Mujeres is a great resort. As noted in other reviews, the staff appears to know your name upon your return visit and also knows your preferences. If you like a drink prepared a certain way, they will do it. One day, we were having lunch at the Lobster House and I ordered a Coke in a bottle. The waiter advised they didn't stock the bottle coke at the Lobster House and asked if I would like anything else. I advised water would be fine - within five minutes I had a bottled coke in front of me - Service - with a Smile!!

We truly enjoy ordering room service to "the box" and starting our day on the patio/balcony. After that, we typically venture to the Excellence Club Pool and enjoy Mimosa's and read the paper. The service in the Excellence Club Facilities is great!

In summary, this is an excellent resort that pays attention to detail. As soon as our transportation was taking us to the airport, my wife and I looked at each other and said - we need to get back "soon"!

We would highly recommend Excellence Playa Mujeres!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We have just returned from a stay at the Excellence Playa Mujeres. This is our first time to this hotel and second time to Cancun itself. The hotel, food, setting and entertainment is first class. The staff are so genuine and friendly - the food at all of the restaurants was wonderful and our stay has made us want to return there again next year regardless of all of the travelling time coming from Northern Ireland. We especially would like to make mention of the tennis pro Jonathan who was exceptional - if you have an interest in the game, pay him a visit every morning for an hours free tuition and you will come back a better tennis player. His teaching style is quite technical and if like us you are impressed - have a private lesson with him. You wont regret it. :-)

Room Tip: We had an excellence club room which was lovely and is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Arrived on the 24th September, the arrival was very good at the hotel, champagne always welcome, check in very good, room excellent.
Overall restauants good except the waiter in the grill (thick rimmed glasses) he was very slow, very offhand and seemed like he wanted to be anywhere but there. After finally getting our dinner we asked for the desert menu, to which he just brought three deserts and plonked them down in front of us and when I asked for a spoon he told me there was a fork and walked away,(no tip for him).
But inthe lobster house the waiter Rigoberto was by far the best waiter we've had, he's also a good photographer.
The entertainment is very amateurish , when compaired to the excellence in the Dominican no contest.

Room Tip: Not the swim up room no sun at all First floor rooms seem the nicest
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Excellence Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Playa Mujeres

Also Known As:
Excellence Playa Mujeres Hotel Playa Mujeres
Excellence Playa Mujeres Hotel
Excellence Hotel Playa Mujeres
Playa Mujeres Excellence Hotel
Playa Mujeres
Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun
Address: Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam, Playa Mujeres, Cancun 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Playa Mujeres 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury adults-only resort nestled among seven swimming pools on a powdery white sand beach, in a community that boasts a spectacular Greg Norman signature golf course. This jewel of Cancun sets a new standard of luxury for all-inclusives with finely tuned amenities such as one-of-a-kind accommodations including two-story rooftop terrace suites with a private Hydro-Spa pool, meticulous service, gourmet cuisine, an exquisite spa and the signature Excellence Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Excellence Group LLC, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Amex, HotelsClick, Venere, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Otel so you can book your Excellence Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excellence Playa Mujeres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.