We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't change a thing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Excellence Playa Mujeres to your Saves list
Excellence Playa Mujeres
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam | Lote Terrenos 001 MZ. 001 Sm. 003, Zona Continental, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% Off Room Rate
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wouldn't change a thing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We went for our honeymoon in May 2012 and had a fabulous time. It was so relaxing and beautiful! The Mile spa was amazing and the beaches were beautiful!! Our room was absolutely outstanding and cleaned everyday! We loved having the turn down service everynight when we came back to our room! There was always live music and entertainment and the food was beyond anything we imagined!!! The 24 hr room service was delicious and the restaurants were amazing!! The staff was so helpful and friendly!! We would not change a thing about our stay and hope to get back very soon!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,646
    1,020
    256
    99
    58
See reviews for
204
5,904
57
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,549)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

UK reviewer- late review, we stayed November 2012.

We stayed for 2 weeks which i think is standard for anyone from the UK due to flight time and jetlag.

We loved this hotel, we had no faults what soever. We want the best food and drinks when we go to a hotel and we certainly got that from this hotel.

My tip would be to get involved with the pool games especially the music and film quiz, UK teams always won over the USA and it was such a laugh, healthy competition! Prizes are a spa treatment for 2 which was to sample the spa, including water massages, steam room, and face/head/shoulder massage lasting approx 1.hour. Pretty good prize!

Little jacuzzis around the pool 5-6pm seem to be busy good place to sit and meet other people and have a laugh.

Food was excellent we did not get bored or have a bad meal. The only place we didnt bother with was the indian restaurant as cant imagine it would be anything like as good as uk food.

We enjoyed the thai restaurant and the sushi is amazing. You can book to sit in the private room with the tepanyaki table which is fantastic, there is a group of 6-8 of you and its a 3 course meal with cocktails, also including the food tricks.

Entertainment was great and highlights included the fire show and michael jackson who i was REALLY impressed with (big MJ fan so was sceptical at first but he did a great job).

We went in november and had 2 overcast days but we still caught the sun.

We had breakfast in bed twice but i wouldnt bother as the buffet is better or the restaurant over the pool for breakfast is just as good.

Normally approx £2000 per person, we booked in Jan/feb 2012 so got a good price and so recommend to book well in advance to get a couple hundred knocked off

BOOK THIS PLACE!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We got back yesterday from a 14 day honeymoon at the Excellence. I don't need to go into massive detail here as the hotel has so many good reviews, just a couple of special mentions. The staff are all outstanding, friendly and polite, from the immaculate bellhop s down to the groundsmen and women in the back areas keeping the hotel beautiful.
In particular Riccy from bar Cafe Cafe, and Raquel taking orders form the pool, and Donny, our mini bar man, thanks so very much folks, you are excellente!
We didn't get a bad meal, got very lucky with the weather and even went swimming with whale shares. It really was the honeymoon of our dreams, to everyone at the Excellence, thank you so very much and see you next year.
Mr & Mrs Green room 5007 x

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hedon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed 4th August 2013 for my 50th Birthday.
This hotel is excellent as the name, rooms perfect, and staff can not do enough for their guests. Managers walk around daily asking how your holiday is and if everything is ok and if they spot a problem they are on the walky talky and it is sorted in minutes.
Relaxing, comfortable and food is brilliant. Get booked and enjoy x

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I just returned from a 8-day/7-night stay for our honeymoon. I did a ton of research on TripAdvisor prior to booking so I had a good idea what I was getting in to. We got a standard junior-suite and did not opt for the upgrade to swim up, rooftop suite, or excellence club. More on that later.

The resort grounds: Ground were about as close to immaculate as it gets. Constantly being looked over, manicured, cleaned, etc. Towels laid out on beach chairs every morning. I don't know what cleaning products they use in the lobby, but I would buy them for my house...they smell soooo good. The few shops they have on the ground floor of the lobby are nice for picking up gifts and touristy items. A bit more pricey than the local markets for some trinkets, but you save the hassle of being pestered by pushy salesmen.

The room: The junior suite was great. Much like Vegas, we didn't anticipate spending A TON of time in the room. We went there for the beach and pool! Aside from sleeping, we spent about 3 hours in the room each day. The junior suite was great and totally fine. The swim up gives you the bonus of having two private and often shaded lounge chairs, which is a bonus, but puts you possibly in a high-traffic area outside of your door. A definite trade off. I can't comment on the Excellence club since I was not in there, but aside from the specially reserved beach area (with more covered huts "palapas" for relaxing, it seemed most of the Excellence club members came over to the regular side during the day to enjoy the pool with us mere mortals. :)

The restaurants: As mentioned by others - THEY DO ENFORCE THE DRESS CODE. Bring long pants. (not jeans, though they will let you in with jeans but you'll look foolish) Contrary to other reviewers, this is nice. You paid for a nice vacation, what 5-star restaurant would allow people in shorts? Probably not many.

Dinner Reviews:
1. Chez Isabelle - the French place. Regarded as the best among staff and guests alike.
2. Basmati - Indian food. Our second favorite. She hates Indian and I converted her here, it was very good.
3. Agave - Mexican. Traditional style Mexican. If you are looking for American mex, Tex Mex, Cal-Mex, etc. you will be sorely disappointed.
4. Flavor Market - Tapas. Hot Tapas>Cold Tapas both times we went.
5. Barcelona - Mediterranean. Eh. Hit or miss depending on dish ordered. Paella was TERRIBLE.

Lunch:
1. The Grill - outdoor, seated eating
2. Sol Bar - pizzas made-to-order right in front of you. Enrique hooks it up. Our favorite lunch spot.
3. Las Olas - the grill on the beach. They have a different themed lunch daily. I ate here twice and both themes were good. (Mexican and Burgers)

Breakfast:
We only ate at the morning breakfast buffet. The omelets, as others have said, were very good. The rest was a standard blend of your Continental-style offernings (juice, fruit, baked goods, etc.) and dishes that most likely re-used leftovers from the previous day.

Restaurant Tips: Put blind-faith in your waiters and let them order for you, soup to nuts. We did this several times and were always VERY pleased with the results. At the very least, ask them for their top 3 suggestions for each course and listen to them. Prepare to suffer if you deviate. It seems that each restaurant has a few exceptional dishes, and then the rest are just ok, or worse. The steak at each place seemed to be consistently good.

They will try to upsell you non-included wine. Go for it if you are so inclined, but if you aren't, just tell them you'd like the house whatever (Chard, Sauv. Blanc, Merlot, etc.) and that should stop the sales pitch.

Entertainment/Nightlife: The have different entertainers and shows each night. I only saw two of them and they were definitely entertaining. As others have said, the place pretty much dies around 11pm, so if you are looking to get crazy or go out late night, either take a cab to the hotel zone or find another hotel. The music/entertainment can be heard in most rooms from the balcony, but as I said, it dies around 11pm so other reviewers who complain about noise are being a bit ridiculous. It's a vacation resort, not a library. Besides, get a few drinks in you and you'll fall asleep no problem.

Other tips: Use the concierge to book any excursions. The cost and the quality are excellent. we went on two trips and they seemed to be much better than competitive offerings from the other agencies available in the hotel lobby.

The early bird gets the palapa (shaded beach hut). You have to get up somewhat early to get a shaded spot at the beach, a little bit less competitive at the pool. Go to breakfast ready to roll to the beach and you'll be set.

The martini bar in the hotel lobby gets packed around 7pm as people prepare for dinner. If you get to the restaurants around 6-7pm, you won't have to wait too long. After 7pm and you are probably looking at a 1 hr. wait at the more popular places. Bring long pants. Again, bring long pants. Don't be that guy.

Bring bug spray. Apply liberally. The mosquitoes are bad if the breeze dies down. Bug spray is needed when dining at Agave as the seating is open air.

The fitness center is adequate. The towels are eucalyptus scented, so that's pretty awesome. Weights go up to 50 lb. dumbbells. You should have enough to get a half decent workout in, if you are so inclined.

The spa is crazy overpriced. If you stay more than 7 nights you apparently get a free couples massage.

Our cons:
Room service - 24/7 room service available. Service was good, food was not

Housekeeping - we were not thrilled with our housekeeping experience. We asked several times to have our glasses restocked since we used them to have drinks in the room and they were carted away during cleaning. They were not replaced even after a note to housekeeping and two calls with the housekeeping/at your service staff.

Housekeeping also routinely failed to do a thorough job on the room. There was a thick film of dust on top of our flat screen TV upon arrival and a previous guests' toenail hanging out at the base of the bed. Gross.

The beds are very hard and the pillows are terrible. We requested a pillow topper for the mattress, as suggested by other reviewers, but the difference was almost imperceptible. The bedding comfort was disappointing to say the least.

The room comes stocked with 4 bottles of liquor to make mixed drinks: Vodka, Gin, Rum, Tequila. I'm a Bourbon/Scotch drinker, so I requested to instead have a bottle of bourbon or scotch. Even though both are served in several varieties at all of the bars for no upcharge, I could not get a bottle in the room. Staff told me to ask a bartender and maybe they would be able to help. The bartended told me, "Of course, at Excellence, anything is possible! Just ask your concierge." I asked my concierge, threw him a tip, and he told me the bottle would be in my room when I got back that night. Never happened and I got frustrated trying so I gave up. Not a huge deal, but it was annoying, and it didn't make any sense to me.

All in all, we both agreed we'd go again, but we'd probably visit a different Excellence resort to compare. Neither of us thought it was 5-star, but it was very good. If you are looking for an upscale party/college/spring break experience, go somewhere else. If you want an all-inclusive trip that's great for couples, no kids to bother you, very good food, and relaxation with some evening entertainment, you'll be very happy.

Room Tip: Get a room at the end of the block to avoid foot traffic. Higher floors are better. We were in blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Playa Mujeres, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time to share with all of us this review, your feedback is very important for us and it is our regret that we were not able to exceed your expectations. Although many travelers find Excellence Playa Mujeres to be a great place for romantic and relaxing getaway, with excellent food options and specially outstanding service.

Thank you for adding very generous remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us and mentioning the services that made your stay more comfortable. We also appreciate your detailed feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and provide you the memorable and relaxing experience you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon in March of this year and were very sad we didn't stay longer. Since its been a good amount of time, I feel like I can give a more fair review since the high of being married/sadness from the end of a lovely vacation has subsided. We decided on a beachfront excellence suite for our 5 nights here and although the view is wonderful, if we were to return we wouldn't waste our money on the excellence club. The room and the view we had were both beautiful but i do question who on earth thought that bathroom door was a good idea. Private check in and everything was great but food from room service was hardly any faster and we found ourselves at the regular pool/beach area anyway. We attempted the club beach once and I can't even say the service was lousy bc we never got any. We laid on a beach bed for about an hour and watched the waitress pretend she didnt see us until we got thirsty enough to just go get something ourselves. The main pool area was more fun and lively anyway. Other than that, everything else was amazing and probably will return 1 day and just pass on the club level and stay longer.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta,GA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This weekend my girlfriends -six of us- stayed at this resort and had the best time ever! The accommodations were beautiful and clean and the resort was so quiet. Like TinyTX said, it is not a party resort and is very far from the city center. I would not recommend it for young singles looking for a good time, but it is perfect for honeymooners and couples celebrating anniversaries. That said, we loved it because it was peaceful and not crowded. There is a vast array of food to choose from and the liquor was overflowing. If you are looking for a chill vacation where your hardest decision is choosing between laying out at the beach or the pool, this is it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Excellence Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Playa Mujeres

Address: Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam | Lote Terrenos 001 MZ. 001 Sm. 003, Zona Continental, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Playa Mujeres 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury adults-only resort nestled among seven swimming pools on a powdery white sand beach, in a community that boasts a spectacular Greg Norman signature golf course. This jewel of Cancun sets a new standard of luxury for all-inclusives with finely tuned amenities such as one-of-a-kind accommodations including two-story rooftop terrace suites with a private Hydro-Spa pool, meticulous service, gourmet cuisine, an exquisite spa and the signature Excellence Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Excellence Group LLC, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Amex, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Excellence Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Playa Mujeres Hotel Playa Mujeres
Excellence Hotel Playa Mujeres
Playa Mujeres Excellence Hotel
Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excellence Playa Mujeres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.