We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres

Save Saved
You added Excellence Playa Mujeres to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Excellence Playa Mujeres
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Playa Mujeres
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Truly excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

I have visited many resorts in the Caribbean. I have to admit this resort is by far the best. The staff is a cut above the rest. Every staff member went out of their way to make our stay memorable. The property is maintained spotless, rooms are service twice a day. 8 restaurants that offer 5 star quality experience dining. Specially the French, Italian and Barcelona. There is no shortage of entertaining. Live music every night followed by shows and late, late acoustic live music.
U cannot be disappointed here.

Happy customers,

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,545 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4,394
    816
    205
    85
    45
See reviews for
142
4662
48
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,865)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just returned yesterday from the best vacation ever!! The husband surprised me with a combo birthday/10th anniversary trip here. How this place received 60 terrible reviews astounds me. From the moment we landed and were met by olympus tours we could tell this trip was going to be great. The driver, William Cruz, told us all about Cancun and where we could go for water sports/activities etc. Upon check in the door man met us with a cold towel, and opened the door to the best vacation experience. As we checked in we were served a refreshing champagne punch. We decided to up grade to the Excellence club at check in. Our room was ready immediately (we arrived about 12:30). We had suite 7151. The rooms were beautiful. Yes the bathroom doesnt really offer 100% privacy, but wasnt really that much of a problem. Shower was big enough for 5 lol. The room was immaculate. Super clean. Every single staff member from doormen to concierges, waitstaff, bartenders, housekeeping and landscapers were incredibly nice, every single staff member we had contact with, even in passing, always had a smile on their faces and a Bueno Dias. They couldnt do enough for you. The pools were clean, never crowded. Julian in the swim up bar, ask for a purple rain. Food was good. First night they had a mexican themed party, with authentic mexican food, delicious. We ate at the beach grill, the lobster house, chez isabele and toscana for breakfast, never dissapointed. Every restaurant asked if you wanted seconds or a different entree. Nightly shows were great. Beach was beautiful, reading the negative reviews about the seaweed made me laugh. First off its more like sea grass, secondly, the hotel has 0 responsibility about the seagrass.....its not like they can filter the caribbean sea!! Get over it, there are worse things in the sea than some sea grass. Honestly I couldnt find 1 thing wrong with this place. I wish I was still there, cant wait to get back

Room Tip: ask for building 7, close to all
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

After staying last year at a high end hotel in the hotel zone for the same week and reasons, we returned for a 3rd time to EPM to celebrate our anniversary and birthdays week. Excellent Excellence did not disappoint. We stayed in the EC building 9, 9300 level. The room was mas tranquila (very quiet) and greatly appreciated. The pool for the building was a quiet location to relax the days away and enjoy a true vacation. Watched 2 weddings at the Chapel and Beach, with lovely looking brides and grooms. Not to say that there wasn't fun and games around at the main pool and beach, but there is a choice in activities. The EC staff at Bldg 9 pool: Mariana and others were attentive and very professional. The EC lounge staff: Daniela and others were most happy to help with information or following through on any minor bumps or concerns. At the Martini Bar: Ceasar and Guz need a special shout out for their efficiency, creative and fun approach to looking after all of the guests. Food was good as expected, we especially like Toscano, Spice and Agave. For a diversion, we took the ferry over to Playa Mujeres, rented a golf cart and had a fun day with a little twist on the relaxation approach to each day. The suite was immaculate, decorated for our special occasion and always attended to. Used USA Transfers to and from the airport: timely, efficient and reasonably priced. So at the end of the day, both DH and I agree: we will be back. Thanks EPM EC for making our special week: Excellent!

Room Tip: EC Suites: have stayed in Bldgs 7-8-9 and really like 9 for quiet spot
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I decided to stay at the Excellence after reading reviews from tripadvisor and we couldn't have been more thankful for all of the fabulous reviews we read. The resort was everything we could ask for and more. I'm a pretty tough one to please when it comes to hotels so I was of course skeptical that all the reviews were too good to be true, but they were as true as anything. Although we only stayed for a short 5 days it was all we had wanted for our honeymoon.

I think the food is the one thing that stood out for us the most - it was absolutely AMAZING. We did the usual buffet breakfast each morning which served the usual breakfast fare as well as some very delicious additions. We now miss the omelets we got each morning :( For lunch we either did the buffet which offered a little bit of everything OR the handmade fire grilled pizzas which were made at the bar by the main pool. The resort also hosts special meals which they let you know about the day before. We partook in the Mexican lunch on the beach which was great. For dinner we stuck to our favourites - the Asian, Mexican and Tapas restaurants (and room service). The menu at all three had great selections and the food itself was delish! Also I have to mention that there is a soft serve ice cream machine that you can help yourself to at anytime.

Another standout for the resort was the nightly newsletters that were left in our room. They let you know about any special events for the following day as well as any restaurant closures, events and the most important thing ... the drinks of the day.

The resort is most definitely the perfect place for couples. It's quiet, relaxing and all around perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

What can we say? The service was incredible. We enjoyed every restaurant. We particularly loved the tapas and pan asian restaurants. The rooms were so beautiful. The hot tubs, showers and bathroom accommodated us with plenty of space, convenience and thoughtful design. The lazy river was fun, even in the rain. The hammocks and chairs on the swim up ledges a total bonus! Make sure to try the BBC drink for breakfast, Iceberg for lunch and don't leave before having many cadillac margaritas! Complimentary tennis racquets are available too!

Room Tip: If you like quiet areas, choose a room around the lazy river and spa. The bar there is a healthy jui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
828 helpful votes 828 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have recently returned from what was meant to be a 21 night multi-resort trip to Mexico but due to a mechanical failure with our aircraft the flight was delayed by 24 hours so we spent our first night in a hotel in central Manchester. Our multi-resort trip was split 2 nights at Paradisus La Perla, 3 nights at El Dorado Maroma, 3 nights at Excellence Riviera Cancun, 5 nights at The Beloved Hotel and 7 nights at Excellence Playa Mujeres

This was our 31st trip to the Caribbean and our 8th trip to Mexico having stayed previously at Occidental Grand Xcaret [Royal Club], El Dorado Royale Casitas, Zoetry Bonita, Secrets Silversands and Secrets Maroma Beach and on multiple occasions staying at Excellence Riviera Cancun, Excellence Playa Mujeres and The Beloved Hotel so we like to think that we have a fairly good well calibrated holiday measuring stick

Can I preface this review by saying that we have stayed at all three Excellence Resorts and The Beloved Hotel which Excellence Group also own and manage on multiple occasions and this was our 6th trip to EPM [18th – 25th June] and our first night was our 156th night at an Excellence Group Property

As many regular readers of TripAdvisor will know we are lucky enough to travel a lot and are very well treated by the resorts we stay at. In particular with Excellence it does genuinely feel as if we are returning home as we have built up a relationship with many of the management and staff at their three resorts, now four if you include The Beloved Hotel and we feel like part of the family

On arrival we were met by Virginia the GM and some members of her team and were shown to our room to be checked in which turned out to be a RTT in highrise Building #8a where we spent the first 3 nights of our stay before moving to Imperial Suite One for our last four nights – thank you Virginia for the very generous upgrade as it is one of our top three favourite suites of all time

As I have said on many previous occasions such generous upgrades do not influence what I write or comment upon as my integrity over the years on TripAdvisor has been built upon my being honest and unbiased and all resorts know this and appreciate it

As with previous trips we instantly felt at home back at EPM as having already spent 65 nights there we do not really need a resort map. It was great to see Edgar, Javiar, Vilma and Mariana and many others again and not to forget meeting the new GSM, Daniela who we have read so much about in comments on TripAdvisor

During our stay we had breakfast in the Toscana of four occasions with the other three mornings being in Lobster House, Excellence Club Lounge and Room Service. For lunch we had room service of three occasions, one of which went sadly wrong, Lobster House, Grill twice and the Toscana. We did find the food selection at the lunchtime buffet in the Toscana not to be as good as at ERC

Our evening meals were split – Basmati twice, Spice, Agave, Chez Isabelle, Toscana and on the beach on our last night for my birthday. Although the food at the Basmati at EPM is not quite as good as at ERC it is still our favourite restaurant at EPM

Overall we found the food to be a little better than last year and we loved the new menus in the Agave and Toscana and are looking forward to seeing what further changes the newish F&B Director, Jordi makes over the coming months. We found the food to be even better presented this time and even though some people mention the servings are small we found them more than adequate for us and anything that cuts down waste in our book is a good thing

As with ERC one of the many things we love about EPM is the number of options to have for all three meals of the day with all guests being able to enjoy either room service, an a la carte or buffet for breakfast. For lunch you now have so many options with differently themed food at Las Olas on the beach, a la carte at the Grill / Lobster House, the pizza oven at the Sol Bar as well at the buffet at the Toscana

Again in the evening you have a wide range of restaurants open on all but two evenings when they close three when they have the themed buffets on the beach or the main square

The beauty of EPM is that it can appeal to a wide range of guests – it can easily cater for all age groups and traveller types as if you want a lively holiday there is normally plenty going on around the main pool and swim up bar. In the evening before and after the show you have live music in the Café/Kafe Square and later on there is always the disco for those that want to bop away until 1AM. In addition some bars are open until one in the morning as well

If however, you just want to chill out and relax there are more than ample pools and quieter areas where you can do just that – overall it has something for everyone

As with previous years we found the service around all parts of the resort to be exceptional – nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Sad to see that a few of the people we have got to know very well over the years have moved on but that is what happens in the hospitality industry but their replacements are just as nice and it was good getting to know them

All the bars we went to had a good supply of top shelf alcohol and any time we asked for a Gordon’s Gin and tonic or a Johnnie Walker Black Label on the rocks, etc that was exactly what was poured or brought to us. None of the drinks we had were weak or low strength. The wine we had was also very drinkable and we particularly enjoyed the Mexican wine

On a few days the beach had more seaweed / grass on it than we have seen before and although they were trying to collect it up for a period they seemed to be more mixing some of it in with the sand. By the end of our stay things were getting more back to normal so perhaps there was a fault with the tractor drawn collector

The pool scene remained quiet for all our stay

The majority of people we saw in the evening were very nicely turned out and the dress code rules were being enforced

All the public areas and pools were spotless

We cannot stress enough how good the staff are and there were no language barriers

There were wait times at some of the restaurants as occupancy was around 70% - 80%

There were ample shades, cabanas & loungers on the beach and around the pool areas even mid-morning and although some people were treating the pool floats as their personal possession there were still sufficient available for use

As reported in my live from thread they really need to do something with the X Lounge to get it back to what it was when the resort first opened and Virginia knows my feelings about this and it looks like they have similar views and things will hopefully change later in the year

Daniela the new GSM is wonderful as is Eric the new AGM

As I have said many times it is certainly not essential to stay in the Excellence Club to have a great time – yes the added perks are a bonus but the Excellence Club is more about the beachfront accommodation and location and is really just the icing on the cake. Many of the people we talked with were not in the Excellence Club and were having just as great a time as we were

Finally, having visited all of Excellence Group Resorts many times I must explain that they are all very similar but different if that makes any sense. Each has plus and minus points and the dream resort would be a mixture of all of them. Because you love one it may not be necessarily so that you like the other which is why research is so important

As always we had a fabulous time and everyone we talked with were also doing so as well. A couple of people had had minor glitches which had been sorted out ASAP. Virginia and her team are very proactive and are always seem to be out and about chatting with staff and guests to see if everything is OK and if not taking note of any issues and putting things right

Excellence Playa Mujeres is still our overall favourite resort and is always the “cherry on the cake” on our multiple resort trips to Mexico. Thank you to all for looking after us so well and giving me a birthday to remember

On the flipflop_man 360 holiday scoring matrix which measures 14 different parameters which are important to us Excellence Playa Mujeres scored an impressive 336 which is 3 points lower than our last stay in 2012

Should you be interested in seeing some photos of the resort please click on the link below to my online photo sharing website - SlickPic:

http://www.slickpic.com/u/flipflopman/ExcellencePlayaMujeresJune2013/photo?play&viewer#4934165

which is best viewed in full screen slideshow format as this way you will be able to see the title labels. Please note that some of the room shot photos may include some items that are either only applicable to that particular room type and/or were given to us as we were loyal repeat guests and are not part of the standard package

For photos and videos of other trips we have made feel free to check out

http://www.slickpic.com/u/flipflopman

Please note that any time you enter the happy world of flipflop_man’s magic moments and memories it is always wise to have a drink in hand as there are always a lot of them to see – we are very lucky people.

As always I am happy to answer any questions

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I were staying in the excellence playa mujeres for three weeks, june 12th to july 3rd.it was the second time we stayed at this resort and we were just as overwhelmed as the first time. For us, the Excellence Playa Mujeres is truly paradise. This time we also decided to renew our vowels on the beach. Nayeli, the wedding coordinator made our ceremony truly special for us. We would always recommend the Excellence Playa Mujeres for special occasions. Thanks to Mario from the front desk team we were able to get the same swim up suite as the year before. We highly recommend the swim up suite. It is so convenient.
Every single employee is well trained and excellent at what they do but a few of them really made this trip special for my husband an I; the server Claudio, the Maitre D' Juan and the chef Alfredo from the Mexican Agave Restaurant truly made our dining experience more than special. What a wonderful team that created so many special memories for us. If you get a chance you should try the French restaurant, Chez Isabel. Outstanding food quality, ambience and service. Our servers Christian an Jorge truly delivered impeccable service that we will never forget. The Italian restaurant Toscana was also great. Delicious food and great service by Marco, our server. Don't miss out on the amazing experience you will have in the tapas restaurant Flavor Market. The food was exquisite and the knowledge and kindness of our server Gerardo truly impressive. The beverage service was always quick and friendly at each of the beautiful bar locations. Our favorite beverage servers were Gloria, Jesus, Julian, Andy and Willian. Great drinks at all locations but you have to try the Martinis at the Martini bar in the lobby. With all the great food that is available all the time, my husband and I used the gym daily. The gym is very nice and bottled water, fresh fruit and cold towels are always provided. The housekeeping team was amazing in always keeping the beautiful suite nice and clean, during day and turndown service. The spa is beautiful as well and well worth trying.
My husband and I work in customer service field and it never ceases to amaze us what outstanding customer service the team at the Excellence Playa Mujeres provides, again and again. That is why we will be back, again and again.

Room Tip: Swim up suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Excellence Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Playa Mujeres

Address: Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Playa Mujeres 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury adults-only resort nestled among seven swimming pools on a powdery white sand beach, in a community that boasts a spectacular Greg Norman signature golf course. This jewel of Cancun sets a new standard of luxury for all-inclusives with finely tuned amenities such as one-of-a-kind accommodations including two-story rooftop terrace suites with a private Hydro-Spa pool, meticulous service, gourmet cuisine, an exquisite spa and the signature Excellence Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Excellence Group LLC, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Excellence Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Playa Mujeres Hotel Playa Mujeres
Excellence Hotel Playa Mujeres
Playa Mujeres Excellence Hotel
Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excellence Playa Mujeres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.