We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest Maid,Barman.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Excellence Playa Mujeres to your Saves list
Excellence Playa Mujeres
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam | Lote Terrenos 001 MZ. 001 Sm. 003, Zona Continental, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% Off Room Rate
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Croydon, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Honest Maid,Barman.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013
Pending review

I wrote a review a few days ago (Carlsberg don`t ...) .After reading Bob33b review and his negativity I feel I should mention at least one other now important thing.
Myself and my wife left the room about 8.45am one morning and did not return until 1.30pm.
During that time our room had been cleaned and the bar re-stocked.I immediately noticed that the safe was wide open with all our valuables inside !
My wife had diamond drop earings,Diamond stud earings,pearl neckless with drop earings,all our credit cards,cash,passports etc....nothing was touched.
We also never waited more than 20mins for a table in any of the restaurants and we had two weeks there !
I am sure if Bob33b went back he would have a better experience.
Once again a big thank you to every member of staff for a great holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,653
    1,022
    256
    99
    58
See reviews for
204
5,913
57
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,551)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Just returned from EPM for four day stay to celebrate 30th anniversary. Once again the reviews found here on TripAdvisor we right on. We stayed in EC rooftop terrace and were very pleased. They had met all of my requests. All the staff were great, especially Maria on the beach. After only one order she knew our names and what drinks we wanted(Mango tango is now our fav.) The spa was very nice and worth it for a special occasion. We ate at Spice, The Grill, Agave, and did the Caribbean beach dinner. No complaints anywhere. We have never revisited a property but this one will definitely receive consideration for future travels.

Room Tip: Bldg. 9 RTT very quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
overland park
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We traveled to this resort with high hopes and expectations and let me tell you we were blown away! We splurged and went with the excellence club rooftop terrace suite room #8159. The pictures did not online did not do the resort justice, this place is beautiful and very clean. View from our room was amazing! Food, staff and activities were perfect! The Michael Jackson show is a must see and don't miss Fiesta night at the common area near the mexican restaurant. Don't hesitate to order room service, the food was great! Take the ferry to the island of Mujeres, rent golf carts and go site seeing. This resort is 5 star all the way, we will be making a return trip!

Room Tip: This resort was pretty quiet for the most part. I would recommend Ocean View pool front room. The h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is by far the best hotel I have ever stayed in. We were celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary and this place was recommended to us. Accommodation, food, service, staff, facilities were fantastic.
Food was brilliant and such a varied choice, all restaurants were fantastic but we particularly enjoyed lunch on the Beach.. All the staff were so friendly and polite but very professional, from management through to housekeepers and gardeners. Activities team were great fun and Jesus never let you run out of a drink on the beach.
We sat at the bar waiting for our pick-up to leave but we could honestly have stayed for another month.
Absolutely superb! Just in case you hadn't noticed we really loved it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at EPM from June 15th - 22nd 2013. It's our second trip so we knew what we were getting ourselves into. We were surprised to find a different crowd and a few improvements; we also found a few things hadn't changed, both good and not so good.

We flew nonstop from Cincinnati on Delta in business class. Flight was very nice and we actually arrived in Cancun early. We were green lighted at the airport, grabbed a $6 beer at the tiki bar outside the airport and quickly found our on the white board with Cancun Transfers. Private transfer whisked us right to EPM. Through both security gates and right to the front doors of this gorgeous resort. We received the cool towel and sparkling wine fruit juice cocktail. Waited for just a few minutes and were checked in. We reserved a swim out non EC suite and were assigned a room in building 7. Our patio looked out to the lazy river and the Revive Bar. Our room was also very near the Theatre and Cafe Kafe. Noise was never an issue from either venue, as the shows and bands ended before we went to bed.

Our suite was just as we remembered from our first trip. Spacious and spotlessly cleaned. Improved from our last visit were the chairs on the patio that sit at the little dining table. We quickly unpacked, changed into our bathing suits at headed to the pool to check things out, cool off and grab a cold drink. Did I mention how hot it was? Humid? After the winter we've had, we were ready for hot and humid!

The resort is fabulous. The main pool was very busy, but we passed many quiet areas without any crowd at all. I believe the resort was about 90% capacity while there, but it never felt like it. We spent a couple of days on the beach under a palapa, a couple quiet days at the lazy river and a couple days at the main pool. Wherever we were, the staff always found us to make sure we were taken care of. It rained one day for about 2 hours. Sitting on our patio in the rain, Julian stooped by to see if wanted anything from the bar while we waited the storm out. We ordered 2 Pacifico's. Julian brought us a bucket of them with a dish of limes! That's excellent service. One other bar staff member that deserves recognition is Fidel at the beach. He normally works the EC beach, but he was covering the main beach one day. He took care of us without asking ALL day! He is good! Yes, we tip every time, and he and Julian both deserve it and earned it.

FOOD: in 7 days, we had dinner at Basmati 3 times. It is Fabulous! Try the chicken tikka masala with the nan bread. OMG! Thank you to Jorge and Oscar...you both do a fantastic job and we appreciated the fine service and attention. Agave was simply ok. Too many fried foods and just not very authentic. The Tamarind Margueritas were just delicious, which made up for the meal. Don't miss the coconut icecream at Agave, yummm! Spice had a very good newyork strip with an Asian BBQ sauce, but the grouper was very fishy and inedible. Chez Isabelle was excellent, we had a filet with blue cheese and a wonderful salad with pear and goat cheese. Flavour Market also lived up to the hype. Everything we had was fabulous.

We never had to wait for a table at any of the restaurants, even the last night, when 6 of us wanted to dine together.

We had pizza for lunch one day and it was very good. The rest of the week we had lunch at the beach grill. The paella was very good!

Room service....we only ordered twice. Once for the heavenly French toast in the morning. They told us it would take 45 minutes, and it did. They did however forget to bring 2 items we ordered. We didn't bother calling as we decided we didnt need anymore food anyway. The second time we ordered some shrimp and some nachos one late afternoon. The food was brought to us very quickly, however, they forgot the shrimp. We called and they brought it right away.

Entertainment....the live music before and after dinner was always very good. Gustav is very talented and fun to listen after dinner with a cocktail. The fire show at Cafe Kafe was also very good and entertaining. The shows in the Theatre are pretty lame. Saw part of the Madonna show and part of Michael Jackson...left halfway through that one. Wish EPM would stick to live bands and just nix these cheesy shows.

We met some great people from the UK. Nat, Jim, Freddie, Theresa, Del and Sue....so nice to hang out with you at EPM! We had a blast with you all!

We will probably try a new room category next time....there will be a next time. Really need to start planning that next trip! Thank you EPM for a fabulous week!

Room Tip: Swim out room has Mosquitos on patio in June. Bldg 7 patio faces west, very hot and sunny in the aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Excellence Playa Mujeres was great in every way! The room was cozy, bed was comfortable, and we enjoyed the chaise lounge outside. When we decided to order room service we were able to enjoy it on our patio. TV had many American channels, including many new release movies. Maid service came and turned down the room twice a day. Room (in block 7) was convenient to all bars, restaurants, pools, and the theater.

Entertainment was also outstanding. Elias and Daniela, the entertainment team, led enthusiastic games of beach and pool volleyball daily. Elias was also very patient with us on our kayak tour. There are entertainment options for all interests -- sports, card and table games, theatrical shows at night, Michael Jackson, it doesn't end.

Service at all restaurants and bars was exemplary. Staff were very polite and eager to interact. David, a bartender at the Cafe Kafe, took time to explain to me what a tamarind was, show me an actual tamarind, and let me sample tamarind juice. Waiter and waitress service at the pool was prompt and convenient.

Food at all restaurants was tasty. Our favorite was Toscana, the Italian restaurant. We enjoyed the Habachi experience at the Asian restaurant, but make sure to go early at 6 to make a reservation for that. Room service breakfast was our favorite meal to order in, otherwise we preferred to go eat at the restaurants.

Other guests at the resort were friendly and interacted a lot. We made friends with some other couples and met up for drinks. All in all, this is the ideal place for vacation. I would also recommend Best Day Travel transportation to and from Cancun airport. The service was prompt and it was worth it to pay for the private ride so we could leave when it was convenient for us.

Room Tip: Most of the blocks were centrally located. We had a junior suite. Many people who had the swim-up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I guess I should start by saying that this is our second time to the Excellence Playa Mujeres. The first time was about 4 years ago, and it was simply amazing. When we had the opportunity to get away this summer, we looked at a number of different options, and decided to go back to the Excellence. Of course, the fear is that it will never live up to what it was the first time, but that was not the case for us. As for the title of the review, "It's My Pleasure" is something you will hear over and over and over again if you go to this resort. And you will believe them. More on that when i get to the service.

General Review
Simply put, this resort is awesome. The grounds are extremely well taken care of. It's a good sized property so even though there were a lot of people there, it never felt cramped. There are always a lot of chairs either on the beach or poolside. For those that are interested, there is a fitness facility, its not huge but is well equipped to keep your general work-out routine. (few elliptical machines, few treadmills, dumbbells up to 50 lbs, and a number of different machines for upper and lower body workouts) Better than most hotel gyms. It was a bit humid in there, but it is Mexico. :-)

For transportation to the resort, we decided to hire a private car which we booked through the hotel, and it was well worth it. It isn't cheap, (about $145 USD) but was a great way to start and end our time in Mexico.

Beds are not very soft...we got a topper for it, but we really like a soft bed, so that just wasn't the case here. Not a big deal, just good to set your expectation for a firm mattress.

Food / Drinks
The food is very good. We live in Dallas and love really good food and wine. At the risk of sounding overly picky, the quality of the food is good, but not like what you are going to see in a high end restaurant. Again, it wouldn't keep me from going back...everything was very tasty, and well prepared. Lots of great options too. So you wont be disappointed here. The drinks are a bit tricky. Beach blended drinks are great, and they supply top end liquor which is very nice if you drink it. I mainly enjoy beer and wine, so the options are pretty thin. (Bud, Bud Lite, Corona, Corona Lite and Pacifico) Best bet is to get some in a bucket of ice to get it cold. The stock wines are average...they do the trick but again, don't set the expectation to be a Napa wine tasting.

Service
Ok, this is where it gets amazing. I work in customer service and love a great service experience, and the Excellence resort has that down. I heard from our driver that there are approximately 400 rooms at this resort, and they have about that many staff on site everyday. You are never short having someone smile and help you or get you something. Raul (provided beach service) was AMAZING. Always there smiling, making suggestions, bringing extra water, etc. It was the same with all the wait staff, they love what they do, they want you to be happy and it is truly their pleasure to provide service. Very Fun. Little side note, we took a couple hundred dollars to tip with. I saw some people didn't tip, but I always left something, and know that it helped these people out, so would recommend it.

Last, the Excellence Club. We did that our first trip, didn't our second trip, and won't on future trips. It didn't seem like it was worth it, and proved to be the case. We didn't miss a thing without it.

I would say that if you are on the fence about going here, jump on over. It is an outstanding experience, you wont regret it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Excellence Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Playa Mujeres

Address: Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam | Lote Terrenos 001 MZ. 001 Sm. 003, Zona Continental, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Playa Mujeres 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury adults-only resort nestled among seven swimming pools on a powdery white sand beach, in a community that boasts a spectacular Greg Norman signature golf course. This jewel of Cancun sets a new standard of luxury for all-inclusives with finely tuned amenities such as one-of-a-kind accommodations including two-story rooftop terrace suites with a private Hydro-Spa pool, meticulous service, gourmet cuisine, an exquisite spa and the signature Excellence Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Excellence Group LLC, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Amex, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Excellence Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Playa Mujeres Hotel Playa Mujeres
Excellence Hotel Playa Mujeres
Playa Mujeres Excellence Hotel
Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excellence Playa Mujeres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.