We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tried others and coming back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Excellence Playa Mujeres to your Saves list
Excellence Playa Mujeres
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam | Lote Terrenos 001 MZ. 001 Sm. 003, Zona Continental, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 25% Off room rate
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Tried others and coming back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Mid 30's, Caucasian, Texas, Married Couple.

My wife and I stayed at the resort in July 2012 for our 10 yr anniversary. It was our first trip to an all-inclusive, and our first trip to Mexico. We had no expectations and nothing to judge the resort by, so I did not write a review at that time. Now we have been all over the Caribbean, and back to Mexico at another resort, so I feel I have earned some credit to respond now.

This is the best place you can stay in Mexico, and for that matter better than any place in Jamaica or Costa Rica. It is just simply perfect.

We stayed in the Excellence club that is on the lower level and has a small pool directly in front of the main pool. Here is a disclaimer. I like to drink and have a good time on these trips. I am not the sit on the couch and read a book type, so understand the reason this area is so great, is you are always in the action. Water volleyball is directly out your sliding glass door at 10:00 a.m., so pop a beer and get the party started in the pool.

The scuba diving was great, the shows were good, the full bar in your room is unmatched, and always take in a spa day on the last day, if you are going to drink heavy, as it is cleansing and refreshing.

Others have talked about the food, and room service, so I will just say they are great for an all-inclusive, but don't expect 5 star quality. It is just not possible for a resort to do that.

We are going back in October of this year, so I should have another update then.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,019
    915
    232
    93
    50
See reviews for
169
5,280
49
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,233)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My Husband booked this as a special birthday for me as it was recommended to him. What can I say. We were both blown away...it is nearly to be good to be true.... But it is all true!!!! We are proven fact!!! From the moment you get off your transfer and arrive at the front doors and greeted with drinks and refreshing cool clothes to you leave. We were there for two weeks we tried all the restaurants and the food was amazing. Top quality food and service from the staff.... . The ribeye steaks, the duck dishes and the house wines were define, so many different dishes to pick from it was unbelievable... Nothing was never any bother to the staff and they where only to glad to help. It was very humbling. you were treated like royalty. From drinks at the pool or the martini bar or at the beach.
The rooms were so big, clean and your mini bar was full of what ever you wanted you just needed to ask if you wanted something particular. Every night your bed was turned down and the features for the next day were left and what the temperature and weather is going to be for the next day. I would recommend this place without hesitation. From Danielle the customers services manager going around making sure that all the guest are happy and that everything is fine. From Diago the concerge in block 9 who always went the extra mile. To Lida at the club excellence pool who always made sure that you were comfortable for the day and to the two Christians in the excellence club room, they always where one step ahead of you, having the coffee ready and organising the trips or transport for you and the waiter and waitress in the restaurants could not do enough for you (Roger in Spice -thank you) To this and all the team of the excellence hotel we are very greatful. Get your holiday booked you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Block 9 has a sea view gets the sun all day and this is a Club Junior Suite Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We just returned from our sixth trip to EPM. Every time we go to the resort it gets better. We truly enjoyed every minute of our stay from May 30 to June 10. What a spectacular place to celebrate our anniversary! We are still talking many times a day about all of the special things that make Excellence Playa Mujeres such a wonderful place to call our Mexican "home".

When we arrived at the resort we were greeted at the curb by Diego who welcomed us "home" with a cool cloth and champagne cocktail. We went to check in and were given a beeper because our room was not ready. We walked down the stairs to the Martini Bar and it really felt like we were "home" again. We decided to get lunch at the Grill while we waited for our room. It was so amazing to look out at the ocean while we enjoyed our first drinks with guacamole and chips.

We booked a non EC roof top terrace room for this trip. Our room was ready at 3:00 and we were pleased to be given a room on the ocean view side of the hotel in the 7B building. We had a view of the ocean from our room and it was a quiet location. Our room had all of the special features that we enjoy. The x box is great for morning coffee delivery. The mini bar had full size bottles of liquor and plenty of beer. We enjoyed our balcony daybed for relaxing outside. We did not get to use our rooftop terrace as much as we hoped due to rain, but it was a wonderful place to go to use the plunge pool during the day and watch the stars at night. At check-in we arranged a time for our room to be cleaned and a time for evening turndown. This was done every day, on time and we even received a few towel animals throughout the stay! A special thank you to the housekeeping staff, they work so hard and don't receive enough recognition.

All of the people who work at EPM are so friendly, generous and caring. They are always smiling and go above and beyond to serve the guests. Many of them remembered us from previous visits and everyone made us feel welcome and like family. Virginia is doing a great job as the hotel manager.

We celebrated our anniversary during this vacation. We showed a copy of our wedding certificate at check in. We got a door banner, chilled champagne and the special swans and rose petals on our bed at arrival. We want say a special thank you to Carolina for arranging an amazing anniversary day we will never forget. We also want to thank Laura the concierge for helping with our anniversary evening.

The food quality and selection has improved since our last visit. We really enjoyed the breakfast buffet at Toscana. Gloria and Jacqueline greeted us every morning with a smile to start our day. The buffet had more fruit choices and more variety of breakfast food. The signs in English and Spanish on the buffet food items are always a great way to learn a few new words. Armando and Ismael gave us wonderful service at Toscana and the Grill.

The Las Olas beach buffet is new since our last visit and is a great addition to the resort. It is nice to have another option for eating at lunch when you just want something quick without going inside. Every day is a different type of food and they have set up tables and chairs on the beach or you can take food back to your chair. Do not miss Sunday for the rock music and burgers and the taco festival on Tuesday. We also had the pizza at the Sol Bar a couple days. Enrique works very hard next to a hot oven all day and makes delicious pizzas! We never had any problems with beach drink service. Raquel came by often and seemed to know what we wanted even before we asked.

The dinner menus at Agave and Toscana have changed since our last visit. We enjoyed trying different foods at Agave and highly recommend the Tamarind Margarita! Toscana now has more authentic Italian food and the meal presentation was stepped up. We went to dinner at 7:00-7:30 each night during our stay and never had to wait to be seated. All of our meals were wonderful. We like the no reservation system at EPM so we can be flexible with the time we eat and where we dine.

We enjoyed the night time entertainment in the theater and the Cafe Kafe. We saw the fire show on Saturday night and it was amazing. We also saw Claudia Trevino sing twice. She is very talented with an incredible voice. We went to the Martini bar before dinner each night. Cesar the bartender is so fun to watch and makes a great "mangolicious" martini! After a few days of our vacation, he would have our drinks ready by the time we sat down at the bar.

We had a number of days with rain during our vacation, including a tropical depression that seemed to sit over the resort from June 3-5. The resort has covered walkways so we were able to go from our room throughout the resort without getting wet. Each room also has an umbrella in the walkin closet to use for rain. It is not the resorts fault when it rains, and they do a great job of making a rainy day on vacation fun.

During the tropical storm days at turndown, we received an alternative rainy day excellence times schedule. We were impressed with all of the activities. The entertainment staff moved many of the scheduled activities to the theater and the martini bar. They played texas hold'em, black jack, and other games. They also had ping pong and other activities in the game area above the lobby in the main building. The entertainment team had the afternoon music quiz, bingo and dance lessons in the theater. They even showed movies in the nightclub. Great job Edwin and Addiel!

During the rain, the Grill and Lobster House were closed for lunch and the Los Olas beach lunch was moved to the theater. Toscana buffet and room service were very busy, but the servers kept smiling and made sure that the guests had great service. The bartenders worked inside at the martini and theater bars. They had the blender running nonstop to make drinks in the bars. Everyone worked so hard for the guests, and we were so impressed! We wondered how many of the staff had storm damage at their homes or difficult times getting to work and yet they were working to go above and beyond for the guests.

While the weather was not what we had hoped for a few days, this was a great vacation. We were able to spend time getting to know people who worked at the resort and met some wonderful fellow vacationers. Two of the days we went down to the beach when it was raining lightly and were able to spend a few hours in beach chairs with no one else around. We really enjoyed the peacefulness, and the sound of the waves on the beach and the rain on the palapas. A rainy day at Excellence Playa Mujeres beats a sunny day at home!

The sun came back our during our last few days of the vacation. We were so impressed with quick turnaround done by the groundkeepers and pool staff to get the resort looking immaculate once again. We enjoyed those last few days working on our tans, reading and walking on the beach.

This was a special vacation we will always remember. Thanks to everyone at EPM, we are looking forward to going back to our Mexican home again soon!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I haven't had time to write this review since we have been back. We were there the first week of May.

My husband and I stayed at the EPM when it first opened, it was our last trip together before we had kids. This trip was our first trip without kids, and we did lots of shopping and agreed that a trip back to the EPM would be a good idea.

This was our sixth trip to Mexico and we have also stayed in Punta Cana DR and Cuba. EPM, is by far the best resort we have stayed at. It doesn't have the best everything, but in terms of the overall experience, and the small touches, it has been the best for us.

We decided to stay in a non excellence club roof top room, we sent a request for a specific room knowing it would be tough to accommodate, and we were hopeful to just have a room in that block. We got the exact room we requested, we were so stoked.

Would we do the roof top room again? Probably not. There was nothing wrong with it, the views were amazing and it was nice to have the extra space, but we spend such little time in the room that I don't think it was worth it for us. My husband loved going up there to read in the mornings, have some before dinner drinks etc... but more often than not, we were always out using the facilities around the resort.

We felt the food was really good, we have had better at maybe one other resort, but all in all, it was fantastic. Our favourite restaurant, which surprised us cause the first time it was our least favourite, was Toscana and Chez Isabelle. Our least favourite was probably the lobster grill, but we never really had a good reason it just wasn't for us. We didn't end up trying Basmati, which was too bad, we heard such great things.

In a way, there is too much choice there. We always wanted to try everything, they have different themes on the beach that we wanted to partake in for lunch, the pizza oven is so good, in the two times we have been there, we had never had the buffet before at lunch time, so we checked it out and it was unreal.

I'm not sure what else to say, everything was just great; nightly entertainment, service, staff, beach was great and virtually seaweed free, the grounds are great for walking, rooms are probably the best we have ever stayed in, my husband brought red bull from home and it was great to fix your own red bulls and vodka in the room.

All in all, from when we set foot in the resort to when we left, we had nothing but a wonderful time. You can really see the commitment they make to ensure ALL guests have a great experience. I'm sitting here six weeks later and I can't think of one negative thing. We do want to continue trying other places, but I know we will be back, it has been the best experiences for us so far, so why mess with that?

Room Tip: Block 7B has what we consider the best views for non EC rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and I were joined by three couples to celebrate birthdays and anniversaries. We spent 5 nights at the resort. The evening entertainment was non stop. They had some great live music before and after the main show (which was a bit cheesy but very entertaining). The beach was incredible and included sailing, kayaking, beach volleyball, and even a mechanical bull. The food was consistently good at all restaurants and the service was excellent. The wine list was a bit weak. We brought our own wine in "jet bags" (see bed, bath, & beyond) and were able to drink what we really liked for a corking fee of $25 per bottle. The pools were never overcrowded and the lazy river was very relaxing. There were plenty of rafts to go around. The pool side service was also very good. The guest rooms were nice and room service menu was expansive. The staff was consistently friendly and helpful. Overall a great experience.

Room Tip: The standard room was very nice but didn't have a view which really did not matter to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta,GA
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We returned only 6 months after our first visit. This is the best all inclusive couple resort I've been too .... To be able to review all areas of a resort w 5 stars is highly unlikely and this resort is the only one that has qualified. From accommodations to customer service to resort extras to cleanliness to food & beverage, EPM exceeds all expectations!

We stayed in the two-story oceanfront suite w the excellence club level. The main thing to know about this level is:

1. These rooms are the highest rooms physically, meaning the best privacy w no one looking down on your upstairs terrace w plunge pool and beds. Should you book this room w/out the club level, although you're still on the roof, you will have the excellence club level rooms looking down on your upstairs terrace.
2. ANYTHING you request for your minibar is granted from top shelf liquor to sodas to snacks.
3. You have an additional room service menu only available for club members. Also, room service is speedy for this level too.
4. You have access to private club pools as well as private beach where you are waited on like royalty from drinks w top shelf liquor to meals served to you right on the beach/pool; you won't even have to leave your spot. Maria on the beach is a treasure! She is a long term employee and is fabulous! However, ALL the employees are wonderful!

Every meal was wonderful. Our favorite this trip was The Lobster House; however, they all are magnificent w amazing service. (Just remember that in some of the restaurants, there will be a charge for bottles of wine)

The only downside was actually getting to the hotel. Before we took the shuttle that Travelocity gave as an option. This time that was not a choice; so we booked private transportation through EPM's concierge..... when we arrived and went to the location for this limo, no one was there. For 30 min there was a search for our transportation; however, the airport transportation personnel, which included the manager, were absolutely fabulous w helping us and not being bothered by any other transportation trying to sell us their service. When our limo did get there, all was well. I don't know exactly where the miscommunication happened, whether it was the concierge or the limo company, however, it did all work out. My advice would be just to triple verify your transportation so you're not overwhelmed the min you walk out of the airport.

(Also, do NOT let anyone on the inside of the airport corner you by saying they are working w transportation... they are ALL selling timeshares but through the veil of trying to say they are interconnected and booking excursions. Just walk straight thru them to the outside....all legitimate transportation is OUTSIDE the airport NOT inside)

The min you arrive you are treated wonderful no matter what level room you have. If you are club level, you will be taken to the club level registration where you can revisit for their bar and food. Margaritas here were the best we had in the resort.

BOOK NOW! Due to my background, including my degree in Hotel and Restaurant Mgmt, I am scrupulous when it comes to researching resorts for our private vacations. You will NOT be disappointed here as you will feel the stress peel off the min you enter the lobby.

Room Tip: Bldg 9000 is the most secluded and quiet as it looks out over the wedding chapel and beach. Plus, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I visited this resort begining of June. We were very lucky as we arrived just after a week of bad weather and had fantastic weather for the whole week. The hotel is about half hour drive from Cancun airport. We were greeted with Champagne and cool towels which was nice and check in was very quick. Our room was in block 1 which was perfect, it was overlooking the lazy river, but very quiet and only a short walk to main complex. As previously stated the rooms are fantastic, we found the beds very comfy and did not have an issue with the pillows (as some have mentioned) When we arrived we enquired about an upgrade to a rooftop terrace and it was $180 per night extra so we decided not to bother, but if I could get a bit better price by booking it thro the agent an upgrade would be worth it. I will try to cover things not previously reported on! We ordered room service each morning and it took approx 30 minutes which is what we expected. The room service food was hot and although good, not quite as nice as in the restaurants. On the first morning it appeared that all the sunbeds had been reserved, however we found that the rolled up towels are placed on the sunbeds for guests and only the towels which had been layed out were on reserved beds, so we never had a problemgetting a bed round the pool or on the beach. There is waiter service for drinks on the beach which was good. The food was excellent, our favourite restaurant was basmati it was amazing, we went to The Grill twice and both times it was great, we also had really good lobster in the Lobster House. The sea bass in the french restaurant is also worth trying. Lunch times I loved the sushi bar. There is a self serve ice-cream machine outside Cafe Kafe, which had amazing 'Mr Whippy' style ice-cream! The Michael Jackson show and Madonna shows were really good and the fire show was amazing, not to be missed. The Circus show was rubbish, a really annoying 'clown' that kept whistling to communicate and a girl who tried to fire a bow and arrow with her foot onto a balloon but kept missing! The Mexican and carribean shows were OK. We went to Sandals in The Bahamas last year and would compare the food and drink standards as on a par, the bedrooms and bathrooms were better at The Excellence, the entertainment was better at Sandals. There were more groups of people here, rather than Sandals was couples only. However we paid about half the price for this holiday than the Sandals one! All in all we loved it and will definately be back. Highly recommend anyone to visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Excellence Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Playa Mujeres

Address: Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam | Lote Terrenos 001 MZ. 001 Sm. 003, Zona Continental, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Playa Mujeres 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury adults-only resort nestled among seven swimming pools on a powdery white sand beach, in a community that boasts a spectacular Greg Norman signature golf course. This jewel of Cancun sets a new standard of luxury for all-inclusives with finely tuned amenities such as one-of-a-kind accommodations including two-story rooftop terrace suites with a private Hydro-Spa pool, meticulous service, gourmet cuisine, an exquisite spa and the signature Excellence Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Excellence Group LLC, Expedia, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Excellence Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Playa Mujeres Hotel Playa Mujeres
Excellence Hotel Playa Mujeres
Playa Mujeres Excellence Hotel
Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excellence Playa Mujeres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.