We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence...we will return...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Excellence Playa Mujeres to your Saves list
Excellence Playa Mujeres
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam | Lote Terrenos 001 MZ. 001 Sm. 003, Zona Continental, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save Up to 10% !
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellence...we will return...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful one-week vacation at Excellence Playa Mujeres in June 2012. We have already stayed at Excellence Punta Cana twice in the past but this was our first visit to Playa Mujeres. Even though we did enjoy our vacations at EPC, we felt that EPM was newer and more modern and we really liked the feel of it.

We thoroughly enjoyed the food and ate twice at Spice, Agave & Chez Isabelle and once at The Grill (all for dinner). We either ate at the buffet or ordered room service for breakfast and both options were really good. We really enjoyed ordering food and being able to sit on our balcony with the amazing view of the ocean. We were in building 8b and enjoyed the location as we could easily walk down to get chairs by the Excellence Pool behind the building. Andrea, our Excellence Club attendant, treated us like a king & queen and always checked on us throughout the day to see if there was anything we needed. Adan, the bartender at Cielo, knew our drinks after the first day and continued to serve them to us, even when we were in the pool! He was always checking on us and making sure we were filled with alcohol!

Some notable waiters were Carlos at Agave. His timing was excellent and he was a very nice guy (along with refilling our chips & guacamole). We returned to Agave a second time and requested to sit in his section, and, again, enjoyed his service. We also really liked Orlando at The Grill. When we told him we were from the New York area, he kept singing New York, New York to us for the rest of the night. We had lots of laughs with him.

During the day, we stayed by the pool and did have some of the freshly-made pizzas by the main pool, which we thought were very good. Some days, we just ordered some light items from Adan at Cielo to hold us over to dinner after eating a late and big breakfast. At night, after dinner, we saw some of the shows...enjoyed the Michael Jackson and the fire show - we plan to try to see more shows next year. We then usually sat at the Martini bar and enjoyed the bartenders there.

We also had great service before we arrived as I had contacted Rubi from the concierge desk with some questions and she was so helpful to us before and during our stay. She was truly a pleasure to deal with. All in all, from housekeeping to drink service to meal service, everyone was EXCELLENT!

We got on the plane home and had already decided we would be coming back! We haven't changed our minds as we just booked 9 nights in May/June of next year! We can't wait to return!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,342
    1,083
    272
    104
    59
See reviews for
251
6,545
67
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,838)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Our stay at Excellence Playa Mujeres during September 2012 was even better than our previous 5 x 14 night stays at the resort. How the staff continue to find ways to maintain and improve upon excellence experience is well beyond our comprehension.

We were treated as VIP's from start to finish and were thrilled to be met on arrival by Mariana Lojero the guest service manager (now chief concierge). She is like a little whirlwind - and is constantly seen around the resort checking with guests that their experiences are what they desire and arranging special surprises to make trips more memorable! Virginia Amador, now General Manager, also remains very hands on and like Mariana is frequently seen around the resort interacting with the guests. What a great team!

We were delighted that many of the hotel staff remembered us and welcomed us back home again. This said, on this trip more than previous ones, we were aware of a number of staff changes but in spite of this all the staff we met were hard working and willing to please... and importantly we never during our 14 night trip heard the word "no". We never felt like a tip was expected and irrespective of tips we truely received great service- usually promptly and always with a smile.

The bar service and pool/beach service was great - top end liquors included. Service in the restaurants can be slow at busy times - but hey whats the rush when you are on holiday! The food in all of the restaurants we believe, was improved upon our previous trips with the exception of the dishes we chose for ourselves in the Toscana. These were average at best. The food in the Basmati was awesome!

We were gifted with a very nice room upgrade for which we remain very grateful. Our room was so lovely - well maintained and in a peaceful part of the resort. We re-visited the spa this trip and although prices were more expensive than we generally pay in the UK - the overall spa experience and quality of our massages was exemplary !

The resort continues to retain the fresh appearance we loved on our first visit there (which was shortly after the resort opened). Our room and the public areas (including the pools) were clean and well maintained. The gardens are becoming increasingly more verdant each visit thanks to the love and attention provided to them by the hardworking groundsmen. The gym was well equipped with cross trainers/weights/bikes/treadmills etc. We did observe during our first week that the room was pretty hot even at 6am - however a quick conversation with Mariana rapidly resulted a call to maintenance & in the rectification of this issue.

On a strictly personal note: If there was one thing I would change if I could, this would be the cessation of inappropriate topless female sunbathing (including one female topless & in a VERY brief thong walking into the martini bar during the day) - I am not a prude but personally I believe this serves to lowers the tone of the resort.
Cover them up girls please - mystery is the key!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed at the excellence in April 2012.We have stayed in many 5 star all inclusive hotels across the caribbean including sandals and dreams. The excellence in playa Mujeres is the best of the best. We are a very fussy couple and when we go on holiday we expect perfection.The excellence is absolutely stunning, the grounds are beautiful and completely private. The food is of a really high standard, with a great range of restaurants. We don't normally return to hotels we have stayed at but will definatley be staying here again for another luxurious holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
119 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I had a suite with a little pool and a deck. Room was 8453. I recommend this room because of the nice view to the ocean and the privacy it offered.

Food in any restaurant is from very good to great. The room has a very quiet climate control system, and the spaces are very good. I would have prefered to have the restoroom area divided from the room, this is done only with a visual effect.

However, if you are into service, this is the place to be. Th hotel has an additional category, the "excellence category" take it, it has many perks, such as a private area on the beach (if you go do not miss the pizzas made to your pleasure and ask to meet Carolina, a nice very very kind guest service manager on the beach), a private club where people will serve your most extravagant indulgences.

As an all inclusive hotel, room service is also great. The drinks are filled twice every day. and everything works in perfect order, although I would have liked to have more outlets to charge my electronics.

The service in any of the restaurants is also incredible, although breakfas is slow, if you don´t want to wait 1 hour to end your breakfast go to the buffet which is of great quality and you eat at your own pace.

As a conclusion, you will have a great experience in this hotel. You will also enjoy the property, filled with details, such as a nice lazy river, statues all over the place and nice light effects at night on any garden.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the numbers starting with 8000. Everything is close and views are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boca raton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just got back from a wedding here. Overall it is a very nice place. Food is good not great. Service is spotty, sometime great, sometimes rough. They say tips are included but you definitely get better service if u give on the spot. It shouldn't be that way but the staff definitely plays that game.

Grounds are very nice, pools are awesome, plenty of huts and beds to chill under.

They lose on the expectation game. They had me thinking the rooms would be incredible and they call them suites. The standard room is nice but not as nice as I thought. They had me thinking food would be great, but it was just good.

Bottom shelf liquor is included. If u want good wine it'll cost more. Want to watch a movie on DVD, it'll cost u. Annoying, to say the least.

Overall, a very nice place that could be amazing, but it just misses on too many details.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is our second time to Excellence Playa Mujeres over the past year. The second time is even better than the first "wow" factor we experienced on our initial trip.
The location and the service level of the staff is outstanding. With this being our second trip, we had various hotel staff remember us and welcomed us back as if we were "good" family coming home for a visit. We have stayed with Excellence Club amenities for both of our visits and truly enjoyed the extra level of service at the Excellence Club Pool. This is a great resort for an adult getaway! We have already booked for next year!

Room Tip: Excellence Junior Oceanfront (which is actually) Ocean View. Request third floor or above for a gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

After a six-month break, we couldn’t take it anymore... we had to return to the EPM for our third visit! We usually stay for a week, but could only leave work for five days... our major complaint about this trip was wanting to stay at the EPM longer!

We were there in May; we usually visit in the winter, and were initially concerned about the weather being too hot, humid, or rainy. Luckily, like every other aspect of the EPM, the weather was practically perfect in every way. We did actually watch the weather forecasts and got those concerns that others have expressed here on the forums, but basically the forecast looks like it’s always a 60% chance of rain, but that really means rain somewhere in Cancun. We experienced a few rain showers, but not enough to ruin or disturb our plans.

We can repeat all of the other raves you’ve already read 100 times over – they are all true, so let’s just focus on a few standouts. During the only downpour we experienced during the day (it lasted less than an hour) we were relaxing on the EC beach. As we were running for cover, we passed the EC Beach waitress Maria heading towards us, delivering drinks in the rain!! Talk about amazing outstanding service!!! More on Maria later. The weather should really only be a concern if you’re booking a wedding, in which case a backup plan for rain isn’t a bad idea. We were married on the beach at sunset in October, and the weather was perfect. Don’t let fears of a rainy forecast ruin your vacation – take advantage of the amazing room service and fantastic bars and your beautiful room!

We got in to Cancun early in the day and got in our private transfer to EPM after a very short wait getting bags and clearing security. A private transfer is the only way to go, well worth the money, the ride is about 30 minutes, provided the EPM is the only destination. There was actually a line at the gate of vans, but they quickly took us to the Excellence Club for our private check-in. We were disappointed that the room we had requested (that we had on our previous two visits) wasn’t available, but Dennys Martinez, Excellence Club Concierge, found us a room that was just as amazing. Dennys is the type of employee that wouldn’t settle for ‘acceptable’ - he did everything he could until we were not just happy, but absolutely thrilled!

Travel tip – upon arrival, immediately request a bed topper for a more soft slumber.

Due to the time of the year, the resort was very full; however, we never had a problem finding a great spot on the EC beach. In addition to Dennys, the real star of the trip was Maria, our waitress on the EC beach. She always went out of her way to make sure we were happy with everything, had everything we could possibly need or want, and was so friendly and personable. She quickly learned our preferences and would bring us things without asking, suggested new drinks she thought we’d enjoy, and was just so friendly and welcoming that we can’t say enough good things about her.

We always receive excellent service at the EPM – this place really does live up to its name – but after the above-and-beyond service from Dennys and Maria, we requested to speak with Virginia Amador to share our experiences. Virginia was also very nice, and is clearly a true professional who cares about the success of the resort and understands the importance of spectacular employees. We look forward to seeing Dennys and Maria on our next visit, hopefully in promoted positions, as their hard work and dedication shows.

We returned this trip to Chez Isabelle, and also went to Basmati for some good Indian fare, and of course we returned to Flavor Market for the great diversity of dishes available there. We also decided to give Spice another try, and we got GREAT service from a waiter whose name we neglected to jot down (blame the steady flow of drinks at the Martini Bar beforehand). He was happy to bring items off-menu, to accommodate our taste preferences. Great service is what sets the Excellence Playa Mujeres apart, and we have yet to be disappointed.

The food was great, the drinks were awesome, and of course the pools, lazy river, and especially the beach made this yet another amazing vacation that kills any thoughts of looking elsewhere for our accommodations.

You visit the EPM for a relaxing getaway and to enjoy time on the beach, but what makes it such a unique experience is the staff CARE about your experience being better than you could have imagined. Dennys Martinez and Maria made our trip extra special, which guarantees our return sooner than later. We feel so lucky to have found a place that not only lives up to, but exceeds its name. The Excellence Playa Mujeres is EXCELLENT!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.1 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 5 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 stars 736 reviews
8.8 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 178 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 stars 4,289 reviews
9.9 mi away
Live Aqua Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Beloved Hotel
The Beloved Hotel
#2 of 5 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 stars 2,246 reviews
1.6 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Playa Mujeres

Address: Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam | Lote Terrenos 001 MZ. 001 Sm. 003, Zona Continental, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Playa Mujeres 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury adults-only resort nestled among seven swimming pools on a powdery white sand beach, in a community that boasts a spectacular Greg Norman signature golf course. This jewel of Cancun sets a new standard of luxury for all-inclusives with finely tuned amenities such as one-of-a-kind accommodations including two-story rooftop terrace suites with a private Plunge pool, meticulous service, gourmet cuisine, an exquisite spa and the signature Excellence Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Amex, Excellence Group LLC, Orbitz, Otel, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Excellence Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Playa Mujeres Hotel Playa Mujeres
Excellence Hotel Playa Mujeres
Playa Mujeres Excellence Hotel
Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excellence Playa Mujeres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.