We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new name for the resort ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Carr Punta Sam Km 5.2, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A new name for the resort ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

3 couples in all ... we stayed in the huge, great view, 3-bedroom master suite, with veranda hot tub on 5th floor of the 3rd tower & it was epic! The resort should be renamed to "How can I make your life better?" The staff was amazing & polite. Our butler (Margarito Zamora) was AWESOME and did a tremendous job with reservations, activities, lounge seats, airport transfers, & etc. I highly recommend the personal chef and their team in your room for one night of dinner! Only drawbacks: water was not hot enough in the room/suite showers, no music near pool lounges, reservations guy was a bit of tool and non-responsive at times, and fire was out in the star hot tub. Overall: Will be back! 5 star resort. Can't say enough good things about Margarito Zamora!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,232
    716
    259
    110
    82
See reviews for
745
1,061
17
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,039)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I had found a "deal" on the internet and signed up for my 26 y/o daughter and I. 4 days prior to our leaving, I get a call that the resort we had booked with wasn't available, but they have "another one" I can go do, or move my dates. We already had the airfare and time off work. I quickly tried to read reviews about Villa Del Palmar and was terrified. Everyone said what a timeshare trap it was. Then I found some good ones and relented to go. I'M SO THANKFUL WE DID!

The resort is beautiful. the grounds are meticulous and just about everyone I talked with had a 1 bedroom suite, including full kitchen.

The room for the "deal" was on the first floor - a garden view they called it. I asked to be moved to a higher floor but was told for my rate, it was garden level. I got a GREAT deal ($399 for 2 people in a 1BR suite, all inclusive for 6 days, 5 nights. I did have to agree to their "90" minute presentation). I was told they did have a room higher up, but it would be $49 a night additional. for what I paid, it was a no brainer and SO worth it. the views were just spectacular.

The resort "spiel" was ok - I didn't buy in to the whole program, but opted for a 'discovery' package (6 weeks in 3 years with an additional week at Villa del Palmar).

The food is very good. Not consistent, but very good. we ate at Zamas and Davinci's and had the buffet out by the pool.

Entertainment is at 8:15 nightly and done in conjuction with the buffet poolside. VERY NICE.

One note - the maid service is probably the best I've ever had. Their attention to detail is excellent and considering the size of units they need to clean - amazign. My daughter used the murphy bed in the living room. we'd put it up for the day and I figured housekeeping would 'overlook' it. No way. they pulled it open and made it every time. we eventually left it down so they wouldn't have to go thru the trouble.

We only used 1 of the 4 pools and never made it in to any of the 5 hot tubs. the beach was wonderful and never had a problem finding a chaise.

If you're looking for fast pace, party town - this isn't it. the VP is about 1/2 hour NORTH of Cancun. They do have activities to Cancun - my daughter went on one to CocoBongo's (and loved it). But it's not a hop skiip and a jump. Cab fare from the airport for the 2 of us was $40.00 one way.
Beautiful, beautiful place.

I will be back in the next month or so for my "week" and can't wait. you really won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We had a fabulous stay in late January. We were skeptical based on multiple negative reviews, but if you are anything like us and just looking for sun, sand, and relaxation, you will have a fabulous time. This resort was so much nicer and newer than any of the others that we were looking into for the same price, and ended up being an amazing value. We were upgraded to a 1BR suite without even asking (garden view on first floor, we liked this because it was an easy walk back from the beach). We enjoyed all of our meals and it was nice to have the variety of restaurants to choose from.

A few comments based on the negative points others are making: we avoided the time share speech altogether. When you complete your check in, the desk will tell you to wait until your private concierge is available to discuss the details of your stay. We avoided this by going to get our bags right away and we had no other communication on this topic for the duration of our stay.

Sure, the beach has some seaweed, but they do their best to rake it up and if it bothers you, there are 3 pools to take a dip in. The beach/pools were never over-crowded, we were always able to get chairs/beds where we wanted.

Lastly - we do admit that the tipping scenario is confusing. It was tough to determine when tipping was expected, but we made sure to always tip not because we felt like we had to, but because we enjoyed the service. Signing the bill at the end of every day on the beach or end of every meal was not a hassle, but as the week went on we grew nervous that we were signing these expensive dinner bills against our credit card on file, when we'd already paid for these meals via our all-inclusive trip fare. Rest assured, our check out process went smoothly and they had indeed only charged us for the tips we left.

We have already recommended this resort to family and friends and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trail, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

This place is amazing, the water is warm and the beach is nice and gradual and great for small children as well as everyone else.
A bit out of Cancun, but we found this nice to be away from the rush of cancun.
Walk onto the car ferry to Isla Mujeres for the day for only about $3.50 and you can rent golf carts for 4 people while on the island...so much fun.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayreville, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

The place is great ,the view is perfect, people are very frienfly ,since you step in the Villa you feel like you are special . The 5 days we had spend in the Villa del Palmar were great , we realy had very good dtime....
Thanks everyone...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

It rained 90% of the time we were there. The wind was always blowing very hard no matter what side of the building that you were on. It was very cold. We were there from 1/3/14 to 1/9/14. The weather way miserable. Now I have got all the negativity out of the way. The staff was wonderful. The food was outstanding. Never had a bad meal and I at everything because of the weather. I usually lose weight on vacation because I'm so active. Going to the restaurants was our favorite activity. The waiters were extremely polite and courtliest. The resort was beautiful and ground and pools our well keep. We stayed in a one bedroom deluxe. I would highly recommend that upgrade. It was our 23 anniversary We really want to go back again when the weather is great.

Room Tip: Most ground floor rooms you can exit in to the courtyards were the pools,resturants,bars and ocean i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Our stay at Villa del Palmer was more than expected. The Staff is exceptional and cannot seem to do enough for you from check in to check out. Jesus and Angel went out of their way to meet your every need. Food was fantastic. The buffets were different every night with a different show later in the evening. Beautiful resort , Four pools 2 family ,one adult and one for children. You can do all inclusive or not . Best all inclusive because you are not near town. You are directly across from the Isle of Murres. not correct spelling.
We did not go there but everyone we talked to said it was a nice side trip ferry just outside of resort

Room Tip: Better view from higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Carr Punta Sam Km 5.2, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beachfront luxury resort is located in the pristine beaches of Playa Mujeres, about 25 minutes north hotel zone and 35 minutes from Cancun International Airport. The new Villa del Palmar Cancun offers a range of possibilities for fun and relaxation that will make your holiday truly unforgettable. The complex offers amazing 5-star service, extravagant amenities and plenty of activities to keep your adventurous side entertained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Cancun Hotel Playa Mujeres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.