We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property but beware the sales pitch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Carr Punta Sam Km 5.2, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Huntington, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful property but beware the sales pitch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here in June 2013. The resort is not in the hotel zone, which is a plus with this traveler. The property is beautiful and they have wonderful restaurants (we were on an all-inclusive plan). Manuel the bartender is the best bartender you could ask for. The only downside, we were here on a special deal and we had to attend a sales pitch for a time share. It started out nice but increasingly got worse as soon as we said, "no." After that it was awful and we felt like we'd never get out of the sales office. By the end they were being rude to us. Thankfully we had some free drinks awaiting us so we could get rid of the awful feeling we were left with. It's a very nice resort just beware the sales pitch.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Manager at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Greetings from the Villa del Palmar Cancun,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing with us your comments. We appreciate the time you took to let us know about your experience. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for recommending our hotel with future travelers. In regards to your comments about the sales meeting with the time share staff, we apologize if this was an inconvenience to you, we will make sure to pass your comments to their department to avoid any more issues in the future.

Thank you again and hopefully you will come back to our property.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,232
    717
    259
    110
    82
See reviews for
745
1,062
17
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,040)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Beautiful hotel in new area being developed north of Cancun hotel zone. The staff is really friendly and helpful, but the most outstanding thing is the food is incredible! WE JUST SPENT ONE WEEK THERE AND CHOOSE THE ALL INCLUSIVE OPTION AND the restaurants ARE ALL TABLE SERVICE AND FIRST RATE. our favorite is Hiroshi, Japanese. Lots of families with Children and singles and weddings, too. But not crazy like Cancun, more peaceful. Biggest downfall, is both times we were there the water does have seaweed, but plenty of beach loungers to enjoy the tropical breezes.

Room Tip: we chose a master suite with full kitchen, one bedroom, living area with murphy bed and second full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My partner and I stayed here in December of 2012. The weather was in the high 70's and low 80s - breezy but very sunny, not cold at all. The location is set back from Cancun (like way behind the major strip), about a 10-15min ride to the ferry and another 15-20 min ferry ride to Isla Mujeres. I ENCOURAGE VISITING ISLA MUJERES! The ferry ride is pretty cool and the water is beyond beautiful! We rented a "golf cart" while on Isla Mujeres, and you can drive around the entire island in about 40 mins. There's also restaurants, swimming with dolphins, a turtle zoo, and tourist shopping on the island. There was a different ferry that we took back to the resort at night. It carried cargo as well as people, but took about an hour! It was so slow, HOWEVER, the port was right at the resort. Our room was beautiful, we had a terrace with a hammock. Don't sleep with the terrace door open, we did I woke up with horrible mosquito bites on my neck. The room is very modern, and the hotel is clean even with the construction going on. There was a slight ant problem in the room. There's about 5 different restaurants on the resort which was great. The downfall was the "tour" which was really them selling us vacation packages aka fancy timeshares. Again the hotel is BEAUTIFUL, the packages were great, but we said NO! They held us for about 2 to 3 hours, after telling us it would only be 90mins. Every time we said no, they brought on a new person to sell. It was VERY annoying and REALLY pissed us off. It took up our entire morning and afternoon! If this happens to you, say no, and walk away - period! On a good note, I'd definitely come back, maybe with a bachelorette party and stay in their penthouse.

Room Tip: Our room was a regular room facing the garden and pools. However you could still see the ocean - it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My money was stolen, the food was ok, the manager was rude and insulting, and my security box was conveniently broken. The hotel knew my security box was broken and still did nothing about my money being stolen out of my suitcase. The drinks could have been stronger and the staff was unorganized.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

A beautiful holiday from start to finish. The resort is lovely. The staff exceptionally friendly and kind. We really wanted for nothing and were thrilled to return to Cancun with our kids. The resort is not in the hotel zone so definitely a shuttle ride to almost anything outside of the hotel. We liked the fact it was a bit secluded as we found it relaxing and peaceful.
We found the food to be wonderful and there is much variety. Did not have a poor meal in any of the restaurants and found it difficult to decide where to eat as all were appealing.
This holiday was reasonably priced and wonderful for a family. We have spent far more in other Mexican resorts and received far less. We would without a doubt return to Villa del Palmar in Cancun...hopefully soon!

Room Tip: We upgraded to a suite when we arrived and were given a beautiful room with a jacuzzi, full kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Just returned from the Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort and I have to say it exceeded our expectations immensely.
Having traveled to many hotels in the Caribbean and Mexico, this hotel made you feel at home along with service levels at hotel costing twice as much.
For our family we chose the 2BR suite oceanfront. Amazing views and very spacious, other hotels would have called this the Presidential Suite.
Although All Inclusive, all meals except for Breakfast are from Menus, great food ..and in many cases better that food that was had at restaurants outside the hotel.
Don’t think twice, you won’t be disappointed.

Room Tip: Splurge and upgrade to a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The best deal around for the price! Beautiful rooms and grounds. It's like a cruise without the ship and that's a good thing! Be sure to take advantage of the location and explore. If you are traveling with kids, this is the place to book!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Carr Punta Sam Km 5.2, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beachfront luxury resort is located in the pristine beaches of Playa Mujeres, about 25 minutes north hotel zone and 35 minutes from Cancun International Airport. The new Villa del Palmar Cancun offers a range of possibilities for fun and relaxation that will make your holiday truly unforgettable. The complex offers amazing 5-star service, extravagant amenities and plenty of activities to keep your adventurous side entertained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Cancun Hotel Playa Mujeres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.