We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont be scared by the reviews” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Carr Punta Sam Km 5.2, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Highlands Ranch, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Dont be scared by the reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I were nervous about going to this resort because it had several bad reviews but to our surprise this turned out to be a AMAZING resort. The resort itself and rooms are absolutely beautiful ! We upgraded to the garden 1 bedroom suite, and I would ask for as high up as possible so you have a good view. We stayed on level 6 and it was perfect and great view of the ocean. The restaurants are a little slow like we read in the reviews, but we just had a few drinks at the bar while we waited and never once noticed the time. Its Vacation after all, not sure why so many people get upset about that when you should be there to relax!
We had the all inclusive package but still choose to tip all the bartenders and waiters. A couple dollars , sometimes a $5 and we could not have asked for better service . They always remembered us, made our drinks stronger , and were very friendly.
De-vino was our favorite restaurant, hands down. This was a great resort for couples, we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    979
    606
    227
    99
    66
See reviews for
618
877
13
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (860)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a beautiful facility and very nicely laid out, smaller then many I've stayed on but that was a welcome break to walking. it is very private with no hotels on either side, i believe phase 2 & 3 are yet to be built. On the Ferry side it was often noisy during the day with alarms going off, so if you like to sleep during the day ask for the opposite side of the hotel. The auto ferry just to the left of the resort is a great deal at only $3.40 a person to the Isla Mujeres and only 20 minutes or so even though the front desk will try to direct you to the more expensive Ultra Mar ferry a taxi ride away, the Island is a great day trip for cheap if you just want a change of scenery, try a local restaurant or rent a golf cart for an afternoon. We went here twice found the weather warmer, less windy and it rained one day on the resort yet not there. bring a beach towel, massage here was also only $40/hr and was right on the beach and fabulous!! you can go over for just a few hours if you like. a great beach town. It was very windy at the resort when we were there, last week of March. Staff at hotel very nice, all restaurants food was wonderful, yet bring your patience as 20-30 minute waits for a table at breakfast. They need to open up the snack bar during the mornings just to serve coffee/juice and maybe fruit, as there is nowhere to go to just get a coffee unless you wait for a table. Or arrive before 8 am. I am not opposed to tipping for good service but in an all inclusive and with constant service I don't know how often and how much, but since you sign all the bills your bills have prices, so your steak dinner might read $120. us for that meal, and it's part of the all inclusive but does that mean you should tip 12-18 for that meal???? but again great variety and flavor of the food. Beach was rough and full of seaweed our whole week, but wonderful colors. Entertainment staff were fabulous & evening shows nice. NO NIGHT club, or entertainment after the show, one little lobby bar seats 20, it would be nice if there was a little piano bar till midnight?...but there isn't. Captain Hook show was great fun as was the Coba adventure tour we booked both through our tour operator when we arrived, AirTransat...

Room Tip: Away from the Ferry Side, sorry i don't know which direction that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Got back last night from 8 days atVilla del Palma. On Day 6 I was struck with "Montezuma's Revenge" and so sick for the next 3 days that we drove straight to an Urgent Care after getting off the plane. The doctor believes it was from ice in one of the few drinks I had. While this could happen anywhere, it certainly skewed my view of the vacation.
Facilities: A
Beautiful hotel, pools, beaches & restaurants.
Service: F
This was a circus. Everything was a hassle; nothing was easy. We had pre- booked reservations & still had to show printed confirmation numbers. Our dinner res were for 7 each night. It was easily 8:30 before we were served food. Our kids routinely fell asleep at the table. Until we just started ordering the 5 items that are offered for room service, which they enjoyed more anyway.
One day I went to a bar to order a drink. There were 6 employees behind the bar. There were 9 customers at the bar. It too 15 minutes to get that drink.
The employees/ servers were very nice but seemed poorly trained, and flustered, usually asking each other what the heck they were supposed to be doing.
Restaurants:
Hiroshi: excellent sushi. Outrageous wait time for food. No part of our 4 person order came out on time so we ate in shifts. We did not go back.

Zama: decent buffet for breakfast. The dinner buffet food was very poor but it was not waiter service so we brought the kids there for sake of sanity.

Davino's: very good food . Decent service. Again there were many people turned away at the door who thought they had a reservation but did not bring it in writing.

Steakhouse:The best food & service, in my opinion. What I couldn't understand on our 2 nights there was that approx 8 of 20 tables were empty and they were turning people away. ?

For Kids: each day they had pottery painting and hair braiding- each at a cost-which is very popular. The kids club really catered to the under 5 kids and closed at 5, so no chance of getting dinner alone with your spouse.

Weather: apparently there is a good deal of wind at this part of the island. The wind howled 20-30 mph almost every day. I was it aware of that before we left.

Misc:
The shower water was warm, never hot, & had a peculiar odor.
There are no in-room movie rentals available, which meant many very early nights for us.
The market to buy incidentals was extremely limited.

Would I recommend Villa del Palmar? No.
Would I return? Not even to get out of this hospital bed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Administration, Lucy Ruiz at Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Nickyrichy,

First of all, we want to thank you for taking the time to write this review and at the same time we sorry to learn you got sick.

Villa del Palmar is committed to deliver the most higienic and safe enviroment to their guests, so its our main concern asking you for a copy of your analisis in order to find where the problem came. We are confident that this is an isolated case but still very important for us.

Please feel free to write or send any document to Juan Carlos González, he is our Quality Manager, jgonzalez@villagroup.com

Sincerely
Lucy Ruiz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We booked an all inclusive week at VDP Cancun due to the fact that the price was right and it is a relatively new property. We are an older middle-aged couple, parents, grandparents and great grand- parents so don't get me wrong, we do love children. However, we were unprepared for the enormous number of very young children at this resort. Not older kids (of which there were hundreds) but the huge number of babies, toddles and preschoolers. For the most part it wasn't too bad but we did not have one relaxing meal due to the sheer number of kids running around the restaurants and the noise of crying babies and jabbering children.
We booked via Transat Holidays but Transat subbed it out to CanJet. The 737 planes are cramped and uncomfortable and the flight was the roughest for turbulence we have ever experienced in over 45 years of travelling. Upon arrival in Cancun we were whisked to the main terminal via bus. The customs and immigration process is like being in a cattle car. Thousands of travelers pushing and shoving their way through the lines. Very annoying. After picking up your luggage you have to put it through another X Ray detection device before exiting the building. The Transit rep was nowhere to be seen and when we finally located him, he made us stand and wait for over an hour in the hot sun until our transportation was available. Two cervesas from the little bar set us back $13 US. The trip to this resort took over an hour in a hot cab, with hardly a breath of AC, over some bumpy roads. The driver was "loco" and dodged in and out of traffic. One passenger got ill between the turbulent flight, the cab ride etc. We had to let off several passengers before we got underway to VDP.
We were impressed by the exterior as we drove up but I felt the length of time we were stopped at the security gate was a bit excessive. We entered the lobby to absolute chaos. Children running around, screaming, people shouting and a very long line at reception. We waited an hour and twenty minutes to get to the desk. Once there the young man who began to serve us then excused himself and began to assist a colleague to find the lost reservations of a couple with several little children. We were left to stand there for another 15 or so minutes. By then we were exhausted. It had been an early departure and we had been up since 2 AM AST. Cancun is on CST. Once checked in, we were asked to swipe our credit card. This made us a little nervous as we were on an all inclusive, but other folks on TripAdvisor mentioned this fact and we didn't let it bother us. Then were were told our room wasn't ready, to return at 3 PM. After being in the line for nearly 2 hours at this point we were tired but decided not to let it bother us and went to have lunch. We went to Zamas and were waited on by the charming and kind Isidro. From then on, every time we went to Zama's we requested to sit in Isidro's section. He is a wonderful waiter, suggesting menu selections and always ready with a joke. At 3 PM we returned to the desk, waited ANOTHER 20-25 minutes to be told that our room would be ready in "maybe" half an hour. We then met with our "concierge" (translation: time-share flogger) However, we just said we were really tired and would see what our room was like before making a commitment to do a time share presentation. We were never asked again about time shares. At nearly 4 PM we again approached the desk to be told rather snottily by one person that "check in time is 4 PM" My husband was very tired and asked if there was another room. There was and we took it even though it was on the ground floor. We were not disappointed in our room as the ground floor rooms have a little gate on the balcony so you can easily go back and forth to your room from the pool if you want to. I then started to make restaurant reservations. The first two evenings were late ones around 8:30, however we went a little early and always got in a bit earlier than that. The rest of the reservations I made all at once and got 6:30 every night. The restaurants and the food are all A-1 in our opinion. The tenderloin at Casona was the best steak we have ever had outside of Canada or the USA. The tempura shrimp at Hiroshi were delicious, the Angus steak at Hiroshi was wonderful. The dinners at Davino's were very nice ( our waiter was Adriano- wonderful!) and the lunches at Zamas and the Bite bar were all great. Our biggest complaint about the restaurants is that there are not enough of them for the sheer numbers of guests in this resort. Making people with little preschool kids wait until 8 or 9 at night for supper creates a restaurant full of tired,cranky kids and the noise level was deafening. Lovely restaurants but NOT relaxing as there were so many children running around. Davino's was extremely loud, Casona not as loud but still not relaxing. We had room service once and it was quick and the food was great. Also pool side service was good, servers not always there but they worked hard and were around often enough.
Another kid related complaint is that this resort does nothing to enforce the age restrictions around the pools and hot tubs. Hot tubs state users need to be 16 to use them but while having lunch in Zamas we got to watch 7 and 8 year old kids cannon balling into the hot tub right beside our table. Obviously, we never got to enjoy the hot tubs. We used the large hot pool one day but again, a ten year old was swimming around in it with a mask and snorkel. Very annoying.There is one pool that is supposed to be the adult pool ( elliptical shaped one) but it always had kids in it. Most of the kids were fine and presented no problem ( they had the good parents) but there were enough really noisy and annoying ones to take this place off a repeat visit list. That, and the excessively long time waiting at check in and the long wait to get our room.
Our room was a beautiful one bedroom suite. Quite the nicest room in any all inclusive we have stayed in. However, the washer and dryer were positioned side-on in the laundry closet, the dishwasher was not screwed to the underside of the counter. We didn't use any of the appliances but I would be nervous to as they weren't installed properly. The mini bar was restocked most days with pop, water and beer and snacks. One day it wasn't serviced but we called and they showed up quickly. The other thing we had to ask for nearly daily was wash cloths. ( "Toalittas") Never a problem to get them but we had to ask. The water in the shower has a heavy sulfurous smell. It is not a sewage smell as some people have reported, but is quite strong and smelly. The beach is not nice, narrow and covered in seaweed. They do try to clear it but this beach is too heavily covered in weed. At one end the smell of rotting seaweed is nauseating. We did not enjoy walks on the beach like we do in the DR. Disappointing.
We were also disappointed in the weather. We know the hotel can not help the weather but this part of Mexico is in an area where bad weather seems to stall. The weather was nice on the first day there and then it was overcast, rainy and COLD for three days. There is also a strong wind at all times here. We didn't mind it much as wind keeps bugs away. Never saw one bug the whole time we were there. Saw lots of little lizards, but no bugs! We went to the Mall of the Americas one day. We found it to be very Americanized with high prices. The next day we went to the Market 28. Got all our souvenirs and had fun. The hotel runs a shuttle. They will pick you up 3 hrs after they drop you off. Book via the concierge desk. One day we went to Chichen Itza. This is a longer trip ( about 2.5 hrs each way) but well worth it. The weather in-land was very hot and sunny and we had a great time there. Big comfy bus and a tour guide made it an interesting day.You book tours via the resort's travel agency located behind Casona. There looked to be lots of interesting things to do off resort. Check out was quick and easy ( probably because it was 6 AM and there were not many people around!) Transportation to the airport was quick and easy but be careful of the scales once you get there! We got scammed for 30 bucks as they claimed our luggage was 2 kg overweight. We have a travel scale and made sure our luggage was at least 2 kg UNDER. I think they have all the scales set up to read higher, so we will remember that if we ever go back to Mexico! All in all, VDP was a nice newer property, very clean,very comfortable beds,nice big suites.They have great staff, everyone was nice ( we only encountered the one rather rude guy at the desk on arrival) and we tried to greet everyone with a HOLA and tipped generously. If you have little kids and you want to be around lots of other families with little kids this is the place for you. If you crave more peace and tranquility this may not be it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I recently traveled to Cancun for our 35th anniversary, and had a fantastic time at VDP. We have travelled rather extensively throughout Mexico and the Caribbean, and our stay at VDP Cancun was one of the very best we have experienced. Our 1 bdr suite was gorgeous, perhaps the nicest room we have ever had. I had the best nap of my life in that hammock on the balcony the first day! The food in the restaurants was excellent, with a wide variety of choices from authentic Mexican to sushi. The grounds, pool, hot tubs, and beach were fantastic. Above all, the staff was superb! Ismael and Elberto at the Tiki Bar were the highlight of our trip - they not only provided excellent service, but were genuinely fun to be with. I wish every resort had employees as good as these guys! We are looking forward to our next trip back to VDP Cancun, where we can hang out at the Tiki Bar with our toes in the sand, meeting new friends, and enjoying a cool drink handed to us by the best pair of bartenders in Mexico!

For us, the only downside is the timeshare sales pitch. I understand that it's part of the deal, and the salespeople are very nice, but I just tire of spending time out of my vacation going through the presentation. All in all, it is worth it though. A little inconvenience to an otherwise wonderful experience. If you don't mind taking an hour or two for a sales pitch, I would highly recommend a trip to VDP Cancun.

Room Tip: All the rooms have an ocean view, so no worries. Upgrade to a 1br/2bath suite if you can. Plenty o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

we have stayed at properties in Nuevo Vallarta, La Estancia much nicer.
Overall nice resort, lots of pools and hot tubs, beachfront OK, minor issue with seaweed accumulation and limited as far being able to take long walks on beach, but water is beautiful and great for swimming.
As to rooms, had problems with maintaining the AC at a comfortable temp, but beds were very comfortable.We had a two bedroom, very spacious, but did not like balcony seperation from the second bedroom.
The food was good, buffet breakfast at Davino's the best as is dinner. We had a very bad experience at steak place, La Casona. The waiter was very somber, not very attentive. I order ed a steak medium, came basically raw, no apologies...lesson learned, avoid steaks in Mexico and stick with fish. The japanese restaurant quite good, excellent sushi and very attentive staff.
TIP: reserve any of the restaurants early, I believe you can book 2-3 days starting at 8am or face late night dinning or wait list.
Pool bar and food service was hit and miss depending on your server, sometimes they just plain forgot your order. At times I found it quicker to simply walk up to one the bars and order a drink. Although all inclusive includes gratuities, still find tipping gets more attention which I don't mind if service deserves it.
One of the staff that I thought stood out was Suzanna, head waitress who always seemed to be checking on you and making sure all was good...need more staff like her.
We would probably not stay at this Villa del palmar again.

Room Tip: higher floor, side building complexes for at least a glimpse of ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I went for 6 nights with another couple. Everything was great; the rooms, staff, service, food, view. We had a wonderful time.This is definitely not a party resort. It is much more geared towards family. If you have kids, this is the resort for you. They have 2 pools for adults only but they do not enforce it so there's kids everywhere. This is honestly the only downside to this resort. Otherwise the staff is very friendly and the resort is beautiful. Also, I'm an extremely picky eater and I had no problem finding something to eat at each of the 4 restaurants. I'm more partial to adults only resorts since I don't have kids, but all in all, I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Carr Punta Sam Km 5.2, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beachfront luxury resort is located in the pristine beaches of Playa Mujeres, about 25 minutes north hotel zone and 35 minutes from Cancun International Airport. The new Villa del Palmar Cancun offers a range of possibilities for fun and relaxation that will make your holiday truly unforgettable. The complex offers amazing 5-star service, extravagant amenities and plenty of activities to keep your adventurous side entertained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Cancun Hotel Playa Mujeres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.