We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Relax!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Carr Punta Sam Km 5.2, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Duncan, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Place to Relax!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Oct.7-14/12 ...I chose this place because I wanted to relax...and it was a perfect place to do this. It is located about a half hour from Cancun, so still close enough , but we chose not to go there. Other than a day trip to Isla Mujeres, we stayed at the resort.

Check-in was quick and it was explained to us that even though we were on the All-inclusive plan we would have to sign for all drinks and meals. This is for inventory control only. The resort is also sold as EP and those people can still eat at the restaurants, so they need some way to know what the consumption actually is.

The only buffet was for breakfast each morning. There was a great selection, but some of the hot items on the buffet were not as hot as they should have been. The omelets were made to order and were always delicious. We were greeted each morning by name by the hostess and our favourite waiter, Fidencio. Very attentive!! Our coffee was refilled before we had to ask for it. What a great way to start off each day!

The other restaurants were all a la carte. Davinos was Geek & Mediterranean, Zama's was authentic Mexican, La CAsona was the Steakhouse and Hiroshi's was Japanese and sushi.
The sushi was some of the best I have had anywhere and the Kobe tenderloin melted in my mouth.

The snack and drink service around the pool begins at 11:00 am and we never had a problem getting service. Carlos & Oscar took great care of us!

There is an excellent Animation team getting people involved in water aerobics, kayaking, karaoke, and even the limbo. Plenty going on during the day, if you wanted to participate.

The rooms were beautiful and very clean. The maids took care to keep them this way each day.
The mini-bars were re-stocked once a day with soft drinks, beer, bottled water and snacks.
The beds were the most comfortable I have ever slept on in Mexico, and a lot of other cities worldwide, to be quite honest.

The beach was not the best, but they are working on that and I think that it will be amazing once they have cleared the seaweed . No worries about vendors trying to sell you things all the time.

The resort does have a lot of time-share, but were not approached even once by them. So don't let that be a concern.

The pools were beautiful, and several hottubs were located around the resort to enjoy. They have also added firepits all around the resort. This seems to be a new thing that lots of places are adding.

Check-out was so easy since we were on the All-inclusive plan. Checked our bill, returned our room cards, cut our bracelets and we were done.

I wouldn't hesitate to go back to this place. I loved it! It suited my needs completely, but if you are looking for a party place ... this is not for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,232
    716
    259
    110
    82
See reviews for
745
1,061
17
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,039)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just returned from this resort and our vacation was unforgetable! WE like to take 3-4 vacations/year and go different places but in February we'll return here.
THe preoperty is new, excellent amenities and top of the line appliances (Frigidaire) and technologies. WE had 1 bedroom suite with 1 king bed, a queen wall bed and 1 sofa in the living area, full equipped kitchen, 2 bathrooms and 1 jacuzzi, washer and dryer. The grounds were manicured but what set this resort apart are the services which were second to none.
Many thanks to Victor, the tariner who took time to work with our daughter 2-3 hours/day as she will pl;ay a tennis turnament next week. He devised a specific plan for her and she was thrilled and looked forward to her workouts. Both myself and my husband worked individually with Victor and we found him very knowledgeable , kind and professional !!
Luiz and Araceli were in charge with entertainment and activities and did a fenomenal job: we had everything: dancing, water sports, fiestas, karaoke, aerobics, kids club, etc.
What really impressed me was the fact that they were able to make people join their activities and make new friends. I saw several people who were single and after 1-2 activities they made friends and spent the rest of their vacations in a larger group, really enjoying themselves. I saw people from 5 yo to 75 yo and everybody seemed to have a great time.
Many thanks to all the staff that worked in the restaurant, they knew us by name, our likes and dislikes, always had a smile and were very professional and helpful. The young man who cleaned our room was a gem too and did a great job.
We will come again and we hope to see the same staff in place. I cannot think of one negative thing to say about this resort!!!

Room Tip: for a family of 4, a 1 bedroom suite is absolutely perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We just came back form our stay a week ago. I was really worried when I booked this hotel after reading the reviews, but in the end had nothing to worry about at all. The resort is stunning!! We had a large group with us, 11 total. We all did the all inclusive, which is the only way to go here, unless you really want to spend some money. Check in went off without a hitch for us and total time might have been 15 mins, it was also 7 at night so it wasn't busy. The room was just like the pictures, very clean and new. We did have to call a couple times to restock the mini bar, but it wasn't a big deal. We ordered room service a couple times and didn't experience the long wait some people talk about. Beware the cheese cake...is not cheese cake! More like a sponge cake with a strawberry on top. We ate all the restaurants there. I will start with this, expect to be at dinner for a couple hours, very slow service. It didn't bother us so much cause we had a big group to chat with all the time. The steak house was very good the 1st time and not so great the 2nd. Davinos the greek place was really good both times we ate there. This is also where the breakfast buffet is every am, never had a problem there. The Mexican restaurant in the middle of the resort was ok, not bad not great. I ordered their fondue thing and it was great. Everyone else said their meals were good. We sat on the beach a few days and don't have one compliant there. The beach is small, for now, but never had a problem getting chairs. It is clean and the staff were great. I will tell you this, our group tipped and tipped good so that probably helped with the prompt service we had all week. We had the same great service by the pool. You can order lunch right on the beach or by the pool. We never had bad food from the snack bar! All in all we had a great time and good service. Yes it was slow at times, but hey your on vacation relax sit back and have a cocktail:) I would have no problem staying here again! One more thing it is no where near anything so if your looking for shopping and nightlife this is not the place. They do have stuff on site til 11pm every night (vendors and music) and the front bar by the sushi place is open til 1am. Oh the sushi place I forgot that...Not Good!!! Almost everything there is an up charge on the all inclusive plan, we did a tasting menu since we were a large group and I was not impressed with anything. Ok done, 1 complaint for a week not bad in my books.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful, restful vacation at Villa del Palmar. We were there for the timeshare presentation, which we were able to get a great deal via eBay. Our presentation did last almost 2 hours, but we kept saying no and we were back to our vacation. Our room was beautiful with an excellent view. We do not have any complaints at all about the service etc... We did feel that you should plan for at least 90 minutes for dinner. We loved Juan at Devino's!!
You could order omelettes, pancakes etc...at the breakfast buffet.

The resort was beautiful. We were out in the ocean every day and spent a great deal of time on the beach. Plenty of places to lay out at beach and pools. We were often the only ones in the large pool.

We went on the ferry that is right next to VDP to Isla Mujeres. We had the best time...rented a golf cart, drove all over the island, went to the turtle farm, ate at the incredible restaurant at punta sur, then drove back and hung out at North Beach. We spent $75.00 total for the day trip.

I would return to VDP in a heartbeat. Just an amazing time!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at the VDP Cancun 10/13-10/20/12. The resort is just absolutely gorgeous. It is a new resort and still is working out some kinks, but I would recommend it to everyone. Every employee at the resort was friendly and welcoming. About the only real complaint we would have is that the morning Buffet needs stronger warmers underneath the food. The omelet station was our solution. Sitting at their beautiful pool, any complaint is minor. Make sure you do not miss a day trip to Isla Mujeres. Eat at the point on the island. The view is unbelievable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corolla, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We just returned from Villa Del Palmar in Cancun. It's a beautiful resort, was only 30% full. Food was excellent, but would not eat in the steak house again. The steaks were all extremely salty,tough and the service was very poor. It took hours to get out and the restaurant was less then half full.
The other restaurants had excellent food and choosing all inclusive is the way to go (at least for 3 to 4 days. The Head Chef in DeVinos was from Greece, he had the place under control and the food was so delicious. Definitely would get a massage from Freddy or Milca, heavenly!
Our friends were members and were told that you can up grade your suite on arrival, however we've been to 3 Villa Del Palmar and was never able to upgrade. The excuse was it was booked, but staff quoted only 30% filled. Plenty of space and no problem getting a beach chair at the pool. Still prefer The Royal Resorts, they have the resort business down pat!

Room Tip: Get all inclusive for a few days, there is not much in the area. Confining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmerville, Louisiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We traveled as a family of 4 adults and 2 children (11 and 12). One was the special where you get the 11/2 hour tour and offer to buy into the property---ours was a $1500 plus air trip. We got to the hotel at 9pm and NOTHING was right from dates to rooms. However, the next day we straightened them out on reservations and all-inclusive. FINALLY they moved us to a lovely suite and all was well. Things I did not like were that EVERY DAY I had to call for our all-inclusive items for the room. EVERY DAY. We usually got the items at 9 to 10 at night. The children's activities and pool were closed for some reason. Our boys could take part in the adult activities. Things I liked: The grounds and restaurants are fabulous---all restaurants are not included in the all-inclusive. For 5 nights and 6 days we made it fine with the food selections. Breakfast was by far the BEST. It is the only buffet offered---but---fabulous. The waiters at the open air bars, tiki hut, swings were wonderful and usually happy and fun. The young people who did bingo, water aerobics, and fun activities around the pool and beach were so good. They made it fun and entertaining all the time---such energy. The spa was a grand experience for sure. I had 2 and loved the time spent there. Far from town and fun. Will be better when area has more to offer. Probably would not go back unless offered free to compensate for the trouble and inconvenience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Carr Punta Sam Km 5.2, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beachfront luxury resort is located in the pristine beaches of Playa Mujeres, about 25 minutes north hotel zone and 35 minutes from Cancun International Airport. The new Villa del Palmar Cancun offers a range of possibilities for fun and relaxation that will make your holiday truly unforgettable. The complex offers amazing 5-star service, extravagant amenities and plenty of activities to keep your adventurous side entertained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Palmar Cancun Hotel Playa Mujeres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.