We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want come home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beloved Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Beloved Hotel to your Saves list
The Beloved Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Condominio Playa Mujeres, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly La Amada Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 25% Off room rate
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Santa Monica, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Didn't want come home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

No matter how nice a hotel is you well feel like your in a hotel, that wasnt the case with La Amada, it felt like home. Dont get me wrong the room service was there (like a hotel should) in fact it was top notch. La Amada made you feel the comfort of home but service of a 5+ star. The service was friendly, the food was great and you didnt have to deal with the chaotic tourist crowd. It was peaceful. the beach was always quiet, except for the waves crushing. THIS Hotel is a MUST. best hotel i ve ever stayed and i have been to many fives in the major cities and they dont compare. The place is clean, furnitures are white so there is no way to hid any dirt. the food was great, breakfast was always something to look forward to. in the evening they had live band that was soothing. If you GOLF you will have fun at the course, beautiful greens, slope is not too bad.
Only negative thing that stood out was the lobby was smelled tooo "lemony" smelled like they sprayed a bit too much, but the scent is only in the lobby the rooms were fine..

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,495
    251
    79
    27
    19
See reviews for
562
1,019
38
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

Just got back and already booked for the fall. A wonderful place to relax and regroup. The rooms were beautiful and spacious. Ours was on the first floor right in front of one of the three pools. The food was good, especially the breakfast. The beach has comfy lounges and beds with lots of shade. There is an all inclusive hotel right down the beach where we went parasailing. The spa was spectacular and the treatments first class. We snoozed, read and swam. Lovely!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

Wow, is all that come to mind after my stay at the La Amada the last four days. Very few times does a holel match exactly the advertisement pictures on the internet. This holel is amazing, not only is it beautiful the staff will make you feel like a Queen and King. It is so relaxing, from the pool, beach and even your balacony with its amazing view!!! I have always used Tripadvisor for hotel research but this is the first time I write a review. This hotel is that good! If you go, Raul at dinner will bend over backward to make your dinner perfect. Cristian at breakfast will not only remember your name but have you mimosa on the table by the time you finish getting your breakfast. I just got back last night, and I am trying to see how I make it back by the end of the year.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

My wife and I decided to go to La Amada for a quick break and it could not have worked out better. Everything there is beautiful - the hotel, the spa, the food, the pools, the beach. We felt very safe too. The staff were extremely courteous and helpful. We were extremely lucky that upon arrival we were upgraded to one of the Casita's and it was simply a spectacular experience. I cannot recommend it highly enough. The only drawback was that we wanted to rent bicycles and these were not available at the hotel - they offered to arrange a rental from Cancun, but the place was charging $30 a day for a bike which was too much for us. Nevertheless we enjoyed taking long walks on the beach which just goes on forever. We had an incredible time and were sad to leave, but we will definitely consider going again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

The stay at La Amada was perfect: The staff - the front desk, concierge, spa staff, waiters and the cleaning staff - were extremely friendly and helpful (without being over-bearing); the rooms are huge (including a jacuzzi and terrace with sun-beds); there are 3 swimming pools (one with a bar); the continental breakfast (included in our rate through booking with Expedia) has something for everyone (both healthy and not-so-healthy choices); the restaurants are very nice (although a little pricey and close quite early - at 11pm during the week and 1am on the weekend)...the list just goes on and on.
We went with 2 other couples (and a tiny baby) - so we didn't really need outside entertainment, but you should know that the strong point of this resort - being a distance from the "girls gone wild" atmosphere of the hotel strip, also means that any activity outside the hotel is a 10 minute drive by car.
My only comment is the beach - the water was warm and calm, but as other travelers said - there is quite a lot of seaweed, so it's not the most beautiful beach you will ever see (which didn't really bother me).
A word about renting a car - as other people commented: no matter what price you get online, it will Not be the price you end up paying. Plan to spend an additional $10-$50 (depending on the size of the car, what kind of insurance, additional drivers, etc.) on top of that. For us, with the number of people that we were and the location of the resort, it was still well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

My husband and I spent only one night at this resort in mid July and were throughly impressed. The hotel is brand new and very stylishly done. If you go on a Wednesday night they have a chef's table party where they feature a selection of food (in our case chocolate!!) with cocktails on the house.

The food is amoung the best I had had in Mexico. Absolutely delicious. The location is a bit isolated, but this makes it less crowded. And it's true the sea is not the torquiose blue you might hope for, but this hotel is well worth spending a few nights in for pure indulgence. I wouldn't recommend it for children, as it's really an adult resort perfect for quiet relaxation and lounging by the pool.

I can't recommend this place highly enough. Do yourself a favour and stay here!

Be sure to go to the spa and use the coupons they give you during the turn down service. It is excellent value for money and the service is 5 star.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

What a fabulous place to spend a vacation with my family. We all had a great time. The room with the swim up pool was awesome. The staff at the breakfast buffet (Yolanda and Pablo) made us feel like family. The food was excellent (but expensive). Very tight security. The beach was cleaned (and fluffed) every day. Everything about this place was absolutely amazing. We relaxed, laughed, took walks on the beach. It is not on the hotel strip. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beloved Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beloved Hotel

Address: Condominio Playa Mujeres, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly La Amada Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Beloved Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beloved Hotel Playa Mujeres combines luxury and comfort with the convenience of the 'boutique style' all-inclusive, in the perfect family-friendly setting poised for pleasure and relaxation. Here you'll have a comfortable home base of contemporary luxury. Stylish hotel architecture and decor, generous suites, spotless service, deluxe facilities, and of course, our secluded beachfront setting, all enable you to let your days happen naturally. At this intimate beachfront community you'll enjoy personalized spa and wellness programs, fine dining, seaside golf, boating and fishing from our inland marina, and a host of other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Excellence Group, Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Beloved Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Amada Resort
La Amada Playa Mujeres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beloved Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.