We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Choice; Not Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Beloved Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Beloved Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Beloved Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Condominio Playa Mujeres, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly La Amada Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 25% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Playa Mujeres
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very Good Choice; Not Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We booked this hotel for a quick weekend get-away from NYC's frigid winter weather. TripAdvisor ranked it the #3 all-inclusive resort in the world, which is ultimately why we chose this. With that in mind, we had high expectations. Unfortunately, we were somewhat underwhelmed. I had regrets not staying where we stayed last year, the LIVE AQUA.

PROS:
• Service was excellent. Everyone we encountered was extremely accommodating and pleasant. This hotel's logistics were also very well thought-out.
• Everywhere in the hotel is very well maintained and cleaned.
• Rooms were well-appointed: liquor, mixers, beer, wine and snacks available in the bar, luxurious robes and towels, BVLGARI amenities, hair dryer, large walk-in closet, coffee machine and french press, plenty of outlets, large flat-screen TV.
• Live music throughout our stay: piano at breakfast and a band/DJ each evening.
• Atmosphere is peaceful, quiet and relaxing for the most part.

CONS:
• Food was spotty. Some dishes were excellent as well as interesting with local influences. Others were unappetizing to the point where I ordered something else after being served. In general, the breakfast and dinner options were great. Lunch often left something to be desired.
• Airport was about 30-40 minutes away. If you're interested in the bar/restaurant scene of Cancun, this is not the place for you. However, if you're looking for a place to get away from it all, this is a great choice.
• Walls of the rooms were a bit thin. We could hear pronounced sounds of the shower and the band from the lounge.


GOOD TO KNOW:
• This is NOT an adults-only property. Please keep that in mind for your preferences.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 112, which had an AWESOME balcony where we had drinks each night, breakfast each m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,644 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,309
    223
    73
    22
    17
See reviews for
468
918
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
1 review
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Overall, we had an enjoyable holiday at The Beloved Hotel but there were a few things that didn't shout '5* hotel' at us. We previously visited Cancun and stayed at the Le Blanc Spa which we would have gone back to that hotel again but it was adult only and we now have a 5 month old baby so this wasn't an option. If we were asked to recommend a hotel in Cancun, we wouldn't recommend The Beloved unfortunately.

The main things that we found disappointing was the food. The restaurants were limited and pretty much only offered Mexican food or pizza and the room service menu was so limited. When we ordered food for room service it almost always turned up luke warm or cold and it was very inconsistent. For example, for breakfast sometimes you would get toast other times not, sometimes you would get maple syrup other times not.

There were a few stand out members of staff that improved our overall experience. We had one of the beach front casita rooms which was lovely and one of the pool waiters used to come and take our drink order from our terrace. That was great but when he was on a day off, no one would come round. There needs to be some consistency here.

Finally, the hotel needs to invest in some new baby cots as the one we had for our baby for the first couple of nights had definitely seen better days. We had to ask for a new one, which the hotel did provide but we should not have been given one in such a poor condition in the first place.

Overall I dont feel this was worth the money or that it was 5 Star.

Room Tip: Beach Front Casita;s are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at The Beloved Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share this review with us. We are disappointed to hear that your experience with us did not live up to your expectations, although many travelers find The Beloved Hotel to be a peaceful place, with excellent food options and outstanding service.

We are disappointed to read that we fell short on your culinary expectations. As a luxurious all inclusive hotel we personalize not only our service, but also our food and beverage offer. In an effort to reach this premise, we offer 4 restaurants, 3 bars, 1 sushi bar, a smoothies & crepes bar and 24 hr of room service.

We will forward all your comments and suggestions to the above mentioned departments as your feedback is very important to us since it helps us improve on a daily basis. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and to provide you the memorable and relaxing experience you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a destination wedding at The Beloved hotel. Everything about this property was as described. It was immaculate, smelled nice and all of the staff were very courteous and accommodating. Patricko (sp) and his staff took excellent care of the wedding guests and saw to it that we were enjoying ourselves. I just got back and I'm already starting to plan my next visit. I recommend it. The various food options were an added plus. We did the 8 course tasting for breakfast at El Mar - it was wonderful! The pools were beautiful. On the days we didn't feel like doing much we still had an amazing time visiting with family and friends and enjoying drinks and different food for snacks. The set up for the ceremony and reception were beautiful.
The suites are well laid out and breath-taking. It's quiet and has everything you need for your stay. I loved the turn down service at night with the next day's list of events and a daily weather report.
I don't think my review is doing this place justice - I think I'm missing some key points. Just know they've thought of everything and will try and accommodate you if they haven't. Can't wait to go back!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

My boyfriend and i just got back from our Mexican vacation at The Beloved Hotel. This was my first trip to an all inclusive resort, and I have to say that almost every aspect exceeded my expectations. From the second we stepped foot in the hotel, we were given the VIP treatment. My favorite parts of the resort include the sushi bar, swim up bar, and smoothie bar. One of the managers, Pablo, was also very accommodating to all of our needs. Whatever we wanted, he seemed happy to give to us. Really, all of the staff members were unbelievably helpful and pleasant. The small dinner portions would probably be one of my only complaints, however you can order as many appetizers/meals/dessert/room service/sushi as you want, so it really wasn't that big of an issue. Our room was also in immaculate condition and our ocean view was truly breathtaking. I would definitely recommend this to anyone willing to spend a little more money, for a lot more value. I would LOVE to go back again soon.

Room Tip: junior suite ocean front room seem to be the best value
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

As many other's have pointed out this hotel shines through on service above everything else.

That being said the rooms are nice and large, the hotel is well maintained, the food is very good & the spa is lovely. It is a small hotel, with just over 100 rooms and it means the staff get to know your name and every day someone from the management comes around to see if there is anything extra they can do for you. 24 hour room service is a nice treat in an all-inclusive and the bar comes stocked with 4 full bottles of spirits. The bed is huge and the rain shower is very nice.

Some people have complained about a smell and I think this comes from some stagnant water nearby as it becomes more pronounced when you leave the complex and head through a barren marshland area but I really didn't notice it very often. Others have complained about the leather furniture being slightly worn, which it is, but you have to be really looking for faults to let this bother you. They were going round painting the hotel to keep it fresh as we were there and they even have a machine to keep the seaweed at bay from the beach and I even saw someone sieving the sand to keep it looking nice. I had a steak several times and it was always cooked rare as requested, as was the tuna so those who have complained about this must've been unfortunate. There are a lot of families there so the hotel is quiet in the evening and somewhat remote from the hotel zone and the infamous Coco Bongo's, but I was quite glad of the peace after making a trip over there one night. If kids bother you look for an adult only hotel.

We went to the sister hotel, the Excellence and found the food there to a far less impressive standard with a plethora or Frat/ Sorority types screaming at the top of their lungs at some dice based game in in a Cocktail bar. If this is more your scene, avoid the Beloved. I was all too happy to leave!

Anyway back to the Beloved, my wife had a birthday whilst we were there and the concierge sorted out flowers and a Cabana for us (which seemed expensive and somewhat unnecessary - until you used it - it was worth every penny as the service becomes even more VIP!). The pool area is lovely and even though a swim up bar is only feet away the serving staff still brought us drinks quite happily. The breakfasts are fantastic with the buffet/ a la carte offering a wonderful selection. The cocktails are brilliant but going back to the start it's all about the staff. They are brilliant from the moment you arrive to the moment you depart, they can't do enough for you. "Is there anything more I can do for you?" seems to be the hotel moto, which as a Brit, takes you a while to get used to but we loved it.

Thanks you Beloved, we hope we can come back very soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Having been to the Excellence Playa Mujeres for the past 5 times, which we regard as our home from home, we wanted to try the Beloved hotel so we booked 6 nights at the Beloved and 8 nights at the EPM with Blue Bay travel. We travelled by the new Thomson Dreamliner which we were very impressed with.

After a swift check in, we were allocated a room in building 2. The rooms are very nice and well proportioned being a little wider and longer than the EPM format, but the layout is very similar and there is a Nespresso coffee machine and bar area. The hotel is very boutique like and has a really classy feel to it with a nice ambience. The only reservation we had about coming to the Beloved was that it is not adult only but to be fair at 70% occupancy you wouldn’t know there were many here at all and those that are very well behaved. Most I would describe as being in the toddler age group.

On Sunday morning we had breakfast at the Aroma restaurant where you have a choice of off the menu or a buffet option . We had both and they made us eggs Benedict which wasn’t even on the menu, but they obliged and they were absolutely perfect. In fact we went on to have these made for us every day an each time they were exceptional. The quality of the food in the buffet was very good and varied, some things of which I had not seen before in Mexico.

We spent the first full day on the beach in one of the beautiful and comfortable cabanas which are great for privacy and protection from the midday sun. The cabanas are charged at $45 US for a regular cabana and $60 for a family one. This comes with a cooling aerosol containing water to cool you down if things get too hot and two smaller pump type dispensers of a mosquito repellent containing citronella, and one with some after sun gel. Alex was our beach waiter who couldn’t have been more attentive, offering to get us lunch as well as drinks. Patricio the guest service manager was very much in attendance checking to see that customers were happy and that everything met their expectations.

We ate at the El Mar on the first day for lunch and tried the special of the day; a folded seafood calzione, accompanied with beef ribs which were very nice. On our first evening we visited the Lupita Mexican restaurant which is very contemporary and puts a nice twist on Mexican cuisine. We had scallops starter and shrimp and grouper main course. Delicious!We had the all inclusive house Sauvignon Blanc which was nice. The service in here was impeccable with Hernan being our server with Audrey the quality control supervisor making sure everything was to a high standard, which it most certainly was. The cuisine in here is some of the best I have tasted in Mexico and is at least in comparison with the EPM Chez Isabelle. A nice place to relax after is the Lupita lounge outside where a saxophonist played until 10 followed by chill out music under the stars. The cocktails are great here too with lots of variety and imagination.

The next day we visited La Aroma for another excellent breakfast with completely different items on the hot servers from the day before which was good. We were served by the lovely Susanah. The weather was fantastic again with just one episode of spitting rain in the afternoon, but it was gone in a second. Lunch was at Isla Grill for the first time and we had the much talked about fried fish tacos, shrimp fajitas followed by banana split all washed down by a carafe of sangria. We met some of the management for the first time who were walking around the resort checking all was well namely Gabriel Garcias the general manager, Alexjandro the F&B manager and Carlos the drinks manager. In the evening there was the Mexican themed night similar to the EPM but of course on a smaller scale with a six piece mariachi band. We ate at the Grill and had the coconut prawns and a surf and turf lobster-steak which was cooked to perfection. Paulo was our very attentive server.

On Tuesday we were given the honour of dining at El Mar by the ocean front to assist in the final private tasting of a new and exciting breakfast concept, as they valued our opinion as loyal guests to the Excellence brand. Present were a number of heads of department from the Beloved and for Excellence hotels and it was nice to see Jordi again. It's a tasting menu consisting of nine courses and each day the menu will represent different regions of Mexico our tasting focussing on the Yucatan area. Each course is meticulously presented, each portion being small, but you most definitely don't come away feeling hungry. Our waiter was Alberto who was very knowledgeable on the origins of each type of food. The ambience was amazing with nice background music looking out over the blue sea. Everything seems to have been well thought out from unusual design of the crockery and the style of the shot type glasses. I have to say that it honestly was one of the best breakfasts we have ever tasted anywhere in all my travels. The concept oozes sophistication. One should set aside at least an hour for this breakfast. Highly recommended. I understand that this service is now well under way.

Wednesday. After the usual fantastic breakfast at Aroma restaurant we had another cabana but the weather turned for the worst and there followed at least four hours of rain on an off . In the evening there was something similar to the managers cocktail evening listed as The Beloved experience where the manager Gabriel Garcia was in attendance in the Lupita lounge with members of his management team . There were various canapés and mini back massage , hand ex-foliation, and a welcome themed drink. After a number of excellent chocolate Martinis (hick!) we visited the Lupita restaurant which is still one of our favourites. That night they again they excelled in terms of service and quality of food and wine. Thank you to Audrey, Freddy and Luis.

Thursday was a bit of a wash out and had room service in the evening which only took around 15 minutes which is quick. Friday - we checked out and said goodbye to Gabriel Garcia General manager who very kindly laid on transport to the Excellence Playa Mujeres next door via a golf type buggy.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Beloved hotel and were very impressed indeed at the standard of food ,service, cleanliness and attentive staff. The Beloved offers the seasoned traveller a taste of decadence with beautiful surroundings, great cuisine and attentive staff. It also of course offers families the chance to go beyond the normal all inclusive family type resort and offers the parents a chance to have both luxury and a resort that takes children. The best of both worlds. It is of course somewhat quieter than say the EPM and has 3 main restaurants instead of EPMs eight and this may not suit all tastes. All those I spoke to at The Beloved were very impressed and said they would be returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at The Beloved Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
First of all, allow us to thank you for giving us the opportunity to welcome you this time at The Beloved Hotel Playa Mujeres.

Thank you for letting us know how memorable and special was your stay, due to our resort facilities and atmosphere, the food & drinks quality encountered, and the outstanding service provided by our staff members, who always attended to your needs.

We all look forward to welcome you once again, and to provide you with another memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We just returned from a three night stay at The Beloved in Playa Mujeres. I chose this hotel for it's size (around 100 rooms), 5-star rating, room size, being away from the Hotel Zone, and the kid amenities. I invited lots of friends to join us and 15 of them took us up on our offer. It was simply a nice place for all of us to enjoy hanging out, letting our kids play, and also having our space when needed.

We loved our experience at The Beloved. The staff is amazing and so helpful. Patricio and the front desk/concierge folks are great.

Our room was very nice and spacious and we enjoyed the location of the swim-up suites. We were so close to two pools and hot tubs, the crepe/smoothie bar and the kid club/playground, which is what we needed. I must mention the rain shower in the room, too! Wow!

Things for kids:
My two children 4 & 6 loved the kids' club. Africa and Wendy were wonderful, and they babysat at night as well. The play ground and the kids' pool was perfect, as were the crafts and movies they got to do/watch in the club. My daughter made some very sweet things to bring home that we are very proud of and are the best souvenirs from our trip!

The kids enjoyed the zen garden and using the rakes, the warm pool down by the beach, the popsicle cart, El Mar restaurant right on the sand, the smoothie & crepe bar, the breakfast buffet, room service, and the hot tubs. And all the staff were sweet to them. There were lots of activities to meet up for, but we were too busy hanging out and swimming that my kids didn't get to do everything, which was fine by them.

Adult goodies:
Tequila tasting, sushi/ceviche lounge, the little treats placed around the hotel and the yummy departing sweets left in our room on our last night and more as we left the next morning. The drinks were all good, and the amount of alcohol provided in our room and minibar was crazy!

The spa was amazing! I loved the hydrotherapy treatment and my massage, and the space is so pleasing to the eye - it's serene and beautiful. I would say this about all of the grounds, gathering areas, and buildings on the property.

Restaurants:
We enjoyed most of the food, but as with any restaurant, there were some misses. My kids found plenty that they liked, and I loved the selection of ceviches, the sushi, the breakfast buffet, smoothies, crepes, and the tapas.
Some of the best offerings were hors de v'ors and drinks with the "coffee" theme presented by the head chef at Lupita Lounge. The theme changes weekly, so definitely check that out!

Other cool experiences:
The GM of the hotel does the bike tour on Wednesdays and they had all the equipment our family needed to go. It seemed like a special treat to be riding with Gabriel. I appreciate that he takes the time to do this with guests. We loved the ride, the crocodile and the parrots we saw.

Playing ping pong and chess on the large chess board with my husband was fun also.

My only concern before arriving was that no one contacted me. The last 5-star resort I stayed in sent me an email immediately regarding the kinds of things I wanted provided in our room for my kids, like a crib, diapers, wipes, organic baby soaps, etc., and also several emails months in advance about transportation and spa specials. I was expecting the same from here, but in the end it didn't matter. The Beloved treated us very well and I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We had a swim-up room which was centrally located, but I didn't like having rooms above ours. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Beloved Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beloved Hotel

Address: Condominio Playa Mujeres, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly La Amada Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Beloved Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beloved Hotel Playa Mujeres combines luxury and comfort with the convenience of the 'boutique style' all-inclusive, in the perfect family-friendly setting poised for pleasure and relaxation. Here you'll have a comfortable home base of contemporary luxury. Stylish hotel architecture and decor, generous suites, spotless service, deluxe facilities, and of course, our secluded beachfront setting, all enable you to let your days happen naturally. At this intimate beachfront community you'll enjoy personalized spa and wellness programs, fine dining, seaside golf, boating and fishing from our inland marina, and a host of other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Excellence Group LLC, Tingo, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Amex, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Beloved Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Amada Resort
La Amada Playa Mujeres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beloved Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.