We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Family Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beloved Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Beloved Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Beloved Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Condominio Playa Mujeres, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly La Amada Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 25% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Playa Mujeres
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Family Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My husband, eleven month old daughter and I were guests of the Beloved for two weeks over the Christmas Holiday season from December 14 - 28, 2012. We stayed in a beachfront, two-storey casita with a roof-top plunge pool. This was a great option and I would highly recommend the two-storey for additional privacy and great ocean views.

We also rented one of the beach VIP cabanas for the duration of our trip. The service on the beach was great regardless of whether or not you have a beach cabana, but we really enjoyed the additional comfort and shade it provided (especially with a baby).

We took advantage of the on-site babysitter 3 - 4 nights out of our stay, and the quality of care for our daughter was excellent.

The spa and gym were also outstanding.

Coupled with the excellent service and great food, I believe taking advantage of these particular resort features really made our stay great, and would highly recommened them!

Overall, this was a great resort for our family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,642 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,307
    223
    73
    22
    17
See reviews for
467
917
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queretaro, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My wife and baby girl were so happy to be here in this spectacular hotel. All people were nice and facilities more than excellent. It is a lovely place if you don´t want to find a messy and noisy place near Cancun.

Room Tip: There are different types of rooms, however, the main difference is that some have a private pool wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Our first visit was in November 2012 and we were in awe at the superb service, the staff was so welcoming, friendly and everything was "my pleasure" or "you're on vacation". We were very pleased and so much that we returned in May 2013. There was a feeling that some things have changed...not all staff was friendly and one that stands out is Alberto, a waiter at Aroma. Staff that was awesome was Christian at the Lupita Lounge bar and Luis and Alex from the beach and Noe at Isla Grill. I understand that this hotel is family friendly but they really need more lively entertainment near Lupita grill at night, they play very slow, boring music that makes you want to go to sleep rather than hang out at the bar. The concierge and staff in the lobby are very nice as well. The desserts are not very good.
This second visit was nothing compared to our first and although this a beautiful place to stay we may try somewhere different next time.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed at The Beloved for a wedding in early May 2013. The service and overall experience was excellent. The staff is very attentive to everyone's needs. If you are looking for a quiet and relaxing vacation this is where you would find it. Don't expect the typical binge-drinking and loudly obnoxious experience like most other all-inclusive resorts. This is a classy and elegant resort. We would highly recommend this resort and would certainly come back for a 2nd visit.

Room Tip: This is about a 35 minute taxi ride from the airport. When we landed at the airport, taxi services c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The property is excellently manicured and maintained. The staff was there for you over and above the call of duty. Have to say that for our anniversary Noa at the Isla Grill treated us with the best of everything and made it the special day it was meant to be. Jose at the lobby bar kept us in stitches with his humor, he's so funny. The bed in our Casitas room was hugh, the beach was extremely clean all the time. This is a boutique hotel that is very quiet and romantic...was surprised to see many small children. Will definitely return but I will make sure that school is in so that the kids won't hinder my relaxation. Have to also include in the excellent service "Tino" and Marcela.....you guys were amazing

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

From the start to the finish it couldn't have gotten better. I have worked in the hospitality business for years including a number of years at a 5 star resort, the St. Regis. I have taken the time to write this review because they deserve it. You deserve to know that a stay here will be everything you want and more as far as relaxing, eating, drinking, and obtaining top-notch service. I could go on and on but no need. If you are going to cancun, please consider this place as opposed to the hotel zone that is just a touristy mess. If you feel the need to go and hangout there it is only a 25 minute cab ride from the beloved.

Room Tip: Casita's were awesome. Ocean view and your own private pool! very private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed at The Beloved Hotel from May 5 through May 9. The staff and property was outstanding. Very friendly, helpful and attentive. The property is excellent if you want peace, quiet and great service. I would assume that during the summer months there would be more families there, but it was very quiet during my stay. I would reccomend this property for honeymooners and couples for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Beloved Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beloved Hotel

Address: Condominio Playa Mujeres, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly La Amada Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Beloved Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beloved Hotel Playa Mujeres combines luxury and comfort with the convenience of the 'boutique style' all-inclusive, in the perfect family-friendly setting poised for pleasure and relaxation. Here you'll have a comfortable home base of contemporary luxury. Stylish hotel architecture and decor, generous suites, spotless service, deluxe facilities, and of course, our secluded beachfront setting, all enable you to let your days happen naturally. At this intimate beachfront community you'll enjoy personalized spa and wellness programs, fine dining, seaside golf, boating and fishing from our inland marina, and a host of other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Excellence Group LLC, Tingo, Travelocity, Amex, Jetsetter, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Beloved Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Amada Resort
La Amada Playa Mujeres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beloved Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.