We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beloved Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Beloved Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Beloved Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Condominio Playa Mujeres, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly La Amada Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 25% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Playa Mujeres
Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

First stay at the Beloved Hotel .Spent a wonderful week in the Casita Suite w/private pool! Every aspect of service was exceptional. Staff works around the clock keeping the grounds and pools clean. Grilled food prepared on the beach 2 nights a week is a must have. Golfed at Playa Mujeres Golf Course 2 days. It's very close, convenient and a fun course if you keep your ball out of the jungle! Would definitely make a repeat trip to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,646 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,311
    223
    73
    22
    17
See reviews for
469
918
34
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was my second time at this hotel. It is absolutely beautiful, and very secluded. The rooms are luxurious and the pools and restaraunts are great. My only complaint was how strict they were about bringing outside food in. I think when you pay the amount you do per room you should be able to bring snacks or some fast food. The Penthouse Suite I have stayed in before has a kitchen, so what are you supposed to use that for? Just a bit dramatic for an upscale hotel.

Room Tip: A swim up suite is worth it or if you can splurge on the Penthouse Suite you will not be disappointe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

What a wonderful break from the cold and snow. Golden sands ,palm trees and a beautiful blue sea, what else can anyone ask for? The hotel was perfect in every way the rooms, the service and the spa. We were all made to feel very special with all our needs catered for. The staff were welcoming and helpful in every way possible.
The grounds were impeccable and no luxury was spared. Our private trip was organised by the hotel and we had an excellent days excursion to the places of our choice.
Our holiday was all inclusive so we had our fill of excellent cocktails and food. A great choice of cuisines at the various restaurants , my favourite being the beach one in the evening. The sushi bar was fantastic and we started off our evenings with cocktails and sushi.
I fell in love with this place and my family and I will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed in an oceanview terrace suite with plunge pool (suite 130), from Feb 21-28 2013 and it was the best vacation ever! This was our 5th trip to Mexico and nothing can even come close!!!! The room was more than we could have ever imagined, the king bed, the liquor, the gigantic shower, the terrace (3 beds and a pool).....I could go on and on! The staff was phenominal right from the time you check in. They call you by name and are always making sure that they are doing everything to make your stay perfect! The swim up bar (Waldo was the bartender) was so much fun, and it was great to be able to have your choice of pools or the beach to relax on! There were always sun beds available (more around the pools than on the beach) and they were very comfortable. The Beloved works very hard to make your vacation as carefree as possible. No wristbands, no lineups/sign out cards to get towels, and they always make sure that you have a drink in your hand. The food was great (ignore those negative Nelly's that complain about the food) We went to the restaurants and used the 24 hour room service and were always happy!! The resort is kid friendly, but they did not seem to be a bother at all!! I just cannot say enough about the Beloved, and next time we are in Cancun, we are not even going to bother looking anywhere else.......this was top of the line! I would recommend taking USD instead of MXN for use in the hotel, they seem to appreciate that more! I have never been treated with such care and class as I have at the Beloved........the General Manager (Gabriel Garcias) even came to say good bye when we were leaving......they made us feel like royalty for a week! So thank you to all of the Beloved staff, I couldn't have asked for a more perfect vacation.......We'll see you next year :-)

Room Tip: We had room 130 in the main building. The front of the suite faced east (the ocean) and the terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My wife and I have several businesses and we lead a pretty fast paced life due to the demands from work. Some friends recommended The Beloved so we went in November. We went again in Febuary and we were able to stay for six days on the second visit and that is why it was better; just because we were able to stay longer. This time our suite was right on the beach and we had our own private pool. Wonderful service all around. The general manager Gabriel has guided his staff in such a way that they serve with such grace that you feel like family. We would highly recommend this resort to anyone. The staff frequently says "My pleasure" however it was truly our pleasure. Thank you. Great work Gabriel!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the suite on the beach that had a private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zepyrhills Florida
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

What a beautiful, relaxing Resort Hotel this is. I have had the good fortune to have stayed here numerous times. Each time was a total delight.
I highly recommend this for guests who seek tranquility and total enjoyment. Since this property is not big, one has the feeling of belonging to the hotel family.
Each member of this qualified staff makes one feel totally at home.
The food is also outstanding. With restaurants to choose from, the chef creates culinary delights
to numerous to mention.
Overall experience is SUPERB
.In addition to the above, the beach is a dream as well, gorgeous amenities and detailed service from the staff.

Room Tip: Every room in this lovely hotel is outstanding as each room is a Jr. Suite with many great features...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

It was a well deserved vacations away from the snow and the cold for the 3 of us. My husband, myself and our 14 month old little princess. And believe me, she was treated like one. All three of us we're treated like royalty. Everyone was kind, polite, helpfull and really seems to care about us and our needs. Keep in mind, this is a FAMILY resort, and that there's thousand of adult only good resorts to choose from... But there's only one Beloved for us families. It's not because we have children that we suddenly want to be in a big AI with loud music and splashing kids everywhere, eating only burgers or bland food.
Room service was quick, acurate and very good. All restaurants served excellent meals, something for everyone. Sushis and sashimis we're tasty and beautifully presented, steaks where trully amazing, specialties we're surely the best I've eaten in AI and it beats lots of restaurants. For people who don't like mexican food for breakfast (wich in Aroma was good and interesting) you can order omelet, pancakes, french toasts... But to be honest, if you like to have the best of it all, let the waiter choose for you! They know their foods and will surprise you.
Beach was really fun, calm someday, windy others and our daughter loved it. There was seaweed on one day, but the weather was trully bad that day and it happends almost everywhere with storms. Pools were never crowded, but we barely use them having a plunge pool on our terrace. So it leads me to the rooms. Amazing, huge, beautiful and that breathtaking terrace was perfect to have our sun and drinks when our baby was taking her naps.
We loved the ground, the rooms, the staff, the food. It was a perfect vacations. Already thinking about going back next year.

Room Tip: If you really want to be quiet as possible, avoid building 1. We were there for the first night and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Beloved Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beloved Hotel

Address: Condominio Playa Mujeres, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly La Amada Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Beloved Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beloved Hotel Playa Mujeres combines luxury and comfort with the convenience of the 'boutique style' all-inclusive, in the perfect family-friendly setting poised for pleasure and relaxation. Here you'll have a comfortable home base of contemporary luxury. Stylish hotel architecture and decor, generous suites, spotless service, deluxe facilities, and of course, our secluded beachfront setting, all enable you to let your days happen naturally. At this intimate beachfront community you'll enjoy personalized spa and wellness programs, fine dining, seaside golf, boating and fishing from our inland marina, and a host of other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Excellence Group LLC, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Amex and Venere so you can book your The Beloved Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Amada Resort
La Amada Playa Mujeres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beloved Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.