We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penthouse Perfection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beloved Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Beloved Hotel to your Saves list
The Beloved Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Condominio Playa Mujeres, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly La Amada Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 20% Off room rate
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Toronto Ontario
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“Penthouse Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Just spent a wonderful week, July 15-22, at La Amada Hotel and things couldn’t have been more perfect.

We arrived in style, as always, thanks to our good friends at Lomas who provide us with our stretch limo private transfers and a bottle of bubbly to get our vacation off on the right foot. Lomas is tops when it comes to service and we use them on every trip we make to Mexico.

A short 30 minute drive and we arrive to the small but beautiful La Amada. A glass of champagne while we are quickly checked in then off to our huge Oceanfront Penthouse 241. We’ve stayed in many Presidential Suites around the world and were in the Presidential Suite at Iberostar Grand in January but we found La Amada’s Penthouse to be one of our favorites. As you enter the room there is the room service box on your left and a small storage unit against the wall. A large window on the right looks out onto the massive deck and the plunge pool/Jacuzzi where I spent many a relaxing morning waiting for SummerFunGirl to prepare for the beach. On the left you enter the bar area where you have a tray of snacks…chips and chocolate bars…and 4 bottle of liquor. You can ask for the 4 types you prefer and they’ll be replenished as they are used up. Underneath the bar are a coffee press and a stocked mini fridge. Behind you is a room with a full kitchen with induction burners…a microwave…sink…dishes…cutlery and a full size fridge. It has a small ice maker unit in the freezer…not the automatic kind…so I brought a couple plastic ice cube trays I got from the Dollar store and never had to order ice or wander to the ice machine which was on a lower floor. There is also a separate bathroom with toilet and sink that is great because like so many places nowadays…the bathrooms aren’t that private because a partly frosted glass door is all that separates you from the outside room. This feature seems to be a common design in many hotels but it really needs to be rethought and filed away under “Bad Ideas.” Fortunately the Penthouse has two bathrooms…this small one in the living area and a large one in the bedroom area so privacy isn’t really an issue here. The living area is very large and has a dining room table and chairs…a desk and chair to set up your computer on (WiFi is free and works great) a couch that folds out into a bed…another smaller couch and a 42” TV with DVD player. Two sets of glass sliding doors let you exit onto two parts of the balcony. To enter the bedroom area you walk through two wooden sliding doors to find another couch and chair…another TV and DVD player…a beautiful round Jacuzzi that opens to the balcony if desired…a dresser for clothes…and a large King size bed with a side end table holding a phone and an Ipod clock radio. There is a phone in the other room and in the bathrooms too. Behind the headboard of the bed is the master bathroom area with double sinks…separate toilet…a huge double shower and a walk in closet with safe and iron/board. High quality amenities like shampoo etc. are abundantly supplied and replenished daily.

Going out onto the wraparound balcony you have a panoramic view of the complex and ocean. Although it’s called oceanfront, in truth it really isn’t as it’s not directly on the beach but being on the top floor means you have a fantastic view so we’ll forgive that little transgression. On one side you have a raised wooden deck holding a very large Jacuzzi/plunge pool. A button activates the jets and two troughs that pour water in from above. The water was the perfect temperature for cooling off and there is a large bed with a slatted “ceiling” overhead so you can lie in partial shade if the sun is too hot. In the front corner is a round bed that is great for full sun exposure and we had perfect weather all week to find that out. Walking further you find a covered area with table and chairs and even further down is another bed to lounge in full shade if desired. Overall room and balcony is almost 3000 sq. feet so the Penthouse is not only roomy but functional as well. The Presidential Suite at the Grand is large too but the space isn’t as functional. Their entire balcony is in the shade whereas here you can be in total sun…part sun or total shade depending on your mood. The living room here we used almost every night…at the Grand…never. The décor at La Amada is modern, white and minimalistic and beautiful in its simplicity.

The grounds have lots of interesting vegetation and no grass…white sand blends in with the overall design perfectly. We never had one problem with mosquitoes but heard people in the casitas or lower floors did…I assume because they were right down where the plants were. A short walk to the beach and again…it was our favourite beach so far. White, soft sand…lots of quality wooden loungers and beds with pads…lots of palapas for shade and no need for towel games. We’d saunter down around noon and still be able to get loungers. Very little seaweed and you can go into the calm water and enjoy an ocean dip which you can’t at many resorts because of rough water. You can walk a fair ways in both directions with the marina one way and Excellence in the other direction. Excellence beach is longer, more crowded and has cheaper, plastic loungers. We didn’t see anything that impressed us or made us think it was a place we’d like to stay. La Amada beach service is very good as are the drinks. A nice menu of food can be ordered and brought to you and we tried everything and it was all delicious.

We ate at La Isla, the outdoor restaurant, and had a fabulous Surf & Turf dinner one night. All the food at La Amada…including the best Room Service menu selection we’ve ever had (apart from a couple places where we could order Room Service from any restaurant…anytime…thanks El Dorado Presidential Villa and Seaside Presidential Suite!) was very good. The Spaghetti Bolognese from Room Service was so good it was a staple of mine almost every night. Again, comparing to Excellence, even their upgraded Room Service menu for the Excellence Club pales in comparison to La Amada’s. The breakfast selection is large and varied as are the lunch and dinner options. Portions are good and everything arrives in about 30 minutes. All the Room Service guys were friendly and great to deal with. Housekeeping is friendly and efficient too.

There is an outdoor lounge that serves sushi which we tried one day…very tasty. We also stopped by one night for a cocktail and they had a sax player there. Again, the atmosphere is very sophisticated and laid back everywhere. There are three large pools…one with a swim up bar…and they were all quiet and not crowded so if you like a calm, serene type of resort…La Amada is perfect for you. All pools also have Jacuzzis in the corner but the pool water was almost as hot as the Jacuzzis because we had such gorgeous weather that week.

We travel 2-3 times a year and always stay at 5 Star resorts in whatever their top room category is and La Amada has become one of our favourite resorts instantly with their combination of a beautiful, large room with every amenity possible...wonderful service... delicious food and an overall elegant and sophisticated environment to enjoy a well-earned vacation in. We will be back and soon!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,611
    275
    85
    28
    19
See reviews for
624
1,078
38
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, UT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Okay, the title has a little inside joke in there! :) My wife and I traveled with another couple and stayed from August 8th to the 13th. Our stay was excellent! I figure the best way to hit everything (and keep it as brief as possible) is to rate each part of the hotel....so here we go!

Arrival: Alejandro and Juan Carlos greeted us and got us settled. We were instantly impressed with the appearance of the hotel. The place is beautiful! Alejandro explained everything to us and Juan Carlos showed us to our casitas.

Concierge: Before our arrival I had arranged with Diego via e-mail for a special welcome drink for my wife since she had just graduated from grad school. The food and beverage guys also worked with us on this. I think Ruben was responsible, along with others. Needless to say, the plate full of sparklers and a delicious mojito went over great for the unsuspecting graduate! Imagine our surprise when a plate of sparkers also ended up being served with her drinks once we moved over to the Lupita Lounge! I guess they had some left? :) Great job guys! The theme of this place is, "just ask". If you ask for anything within reason, anyone at La Amada will accomodate you!! Juan Pablo is another concierge worth mentioning. Absolutely helpful the whole trip!

Rooms: We had requested Consentida One, which is a beachfront casita, because we heard it was one of the best and most secluded casitas on the property. What a room and what a view! It is on the end of the row of casitas and has a great view, good afternoon shade, and a wonderful breeze. Afternoon naps on the terrace lounge bed were priceless! It is also the closest to the beach and farthest from the pool bar. Very nice and private. The casitas are really nice and you won't be disappointed!

Housekeeping and Room Service: The rooms are cleaned twice a day. Once for "regular" cleaning and the turndown service at night. Again, any special requests for the minibar, turndown options, a new pillow from the pillow menu, etc. are all met with a "no problem", and then done quickly! We did room service for a huge lunch for us and the couple we were with, and also once for dinner. Those guys hauled food for 4 adults to the room, set up everything nicely, and were all very friendly and accomodating. The orders were always correct and arrived quickly.

Wait Staff: We met Jesehel the first night at Aroma and he served us again at Lupita the next night. What a guy! Very nice and had great recommendations. He told us about a dish on the Lupita menu called Cochinita Pibil. It's oustanding! And now you can get it too.....you're welcome! :) Spencer at the Isla Grill went way above and beyond. He arranged a special dinner off the Isla Grill menu for our friends on their casita patio and waited on us for more than one dinner at the restaurant. Great guy and an excellent waiter. We talked about brandy and cognac one night and he brought us a few different ones to try. He was great with conversation, etc. Yolanda was also very good over at Isla Grill. Everyone on the staff at the pool bar and the beach were great. They set us up with food, drink, and anything else we needed, such as extra towels. We never had to get anything for ourselves if we didn't want too. Everyone in those areas hustled all day long. Special thanks to "Apocalypto" (Fernando) and Alfredo (who I now call "Mentiroso" for his "stories" about Apocalypto!)

Restaurants: As mentioned in other reviews, the restaurants are open on alternate nights in the "off-season". This wasn't a problem for us as there are many good things on the menus to try. The Isla Grill was our favorite because it's outside and, well, you can get lobster and a surf and turf every night if you want! :) On that note, go all-inclusive! It's more than worth it and the food is gourmet and served to order

Everyone at this resort works hard! From all the people I mentioned, to the grounds crew that was trimming the greenery by hand in the hot sun with machetes. The attitude here is one where the customer is ALWAYS put first. I know I probably missed someone, and for that I'm sorry. The point to the post and for listing the various good deeds is to stress the service level and demonstrate to anyone viewing this that La Amada and their staff are first class and made our stay great. I'm sure they'll do the same for you! Do the Agua Viva at the spa. VERY relaxing! I'd also like to mention that nearly all of the La Amada staff speak English very well. I mention this because I have seen various reviews complaining about a language barrier. Having stated that, a lot of the housekeeping and maintenance staff, etc do not speak English. Look at it this way, you're in Mexico. Just as it is easier to get around in America if you speak English, it's easier to get around in Mexico if you speak Spanish! :) Have fun and try to learn some. But if you don't, don't then write a review about a language barrier! :) Okay, so this ended up a lot longer than I thought it would! Sorry about that, but it's a great place worth mentioning. Take a vacation here! You will not be disappointed!

Chris and Chris

.

Room Tip: Call or e-mail ahead and ask for Consentida 1. Ground floor, great view, closest to the beach! The t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Live at the Amada, it just keeps getting better. GM Jean Francois a true asset to this great organization. Our 3rd time here in 21months, Looks like our permanent place to stay when visiting Cancun.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

I went to La Amada In Jan. 2011 with my mom and sister to see if it was the right hotel to get married at. We loved it so much that i'm set to get married there in Dec. 2011! The hotel itself is beautiful and well maintained. The staff was incredible - friendly, fun and always looking to make your stay as enjoyable as possible! I was not that impressed with the food but for $80/day for all-inclusive, i wasn't really expecting it to be up to par with my New York City standards. The hotel is geared towards couples, so if you're looking to mingle or have a Mexico vacation filled with dancing and late nights, this isn't your place. All in all i love La Amada and am counting down to my return trip in December when i get married and get to share this little piece of paradise with my friends and family!!

Room Tip: swim up suites and one floor casitas offer very little privacy. go with either the junior suite or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We have just returned from our 1 week holiday in Mexico staying at La Amada hotel . It was a very enjoyable, relaxing holiday and the service received was amazing . Our favourite restaurant has to be the Isla Grill with the Lobster and Surf and Turf being a must !! Room service and cleanliness was excellent especially liked the touch of the turn down service with the little gift, message and weather forecast for the next day . The only downside i would say was the amount of bites we received on the first couple of nights..............................something i wish i had been aware of before we travelled so that we could have been more prepared as even spraying before going out did not seem to deter them, although we did seem to suffer more in Lupita Sushi bar than anywhere else , Would definitely recommend this hotel for a relaxing holiday with excellent food, beverages and service !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

My boyfriend and I spent a relaxing week-long all-inclusive getaway at La Amada and had the most amazing time. Where to start! The service was so friendly and prompt. The food was delicious at every restaurant and every night we were able to try a new one. The room was enormous - It had a huge shower 'room', huge balcony with double chaise, a jacuzzi with walk-out onto the balcony and a walk-in closet and sitting area. The mini-bar was always stocked with beer, water, juice, etc... It was the epitome of relaxation. The grounds were immaculately kept with great beach loungers and umbrellas. We did the all-inclusive and felt that this resort was an amazing value for what you get. Note that it is very much off the beaten path in comparison to resorts in the hotel zone. We always felt safe here. We were able to arrange our tours from the hotel and we overall felt completely taken care of and relaxed. Our only complaint is that the food is so good, we really should have taken advantage of the fitness center to lose the sloth feeling from indulging at every meal :-). Would highly recommend this resort to anyone thinking of vacationing in Cancun. I will never forget our trip here!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed at La Amada from July 27 to August 3, 2011 and we were very very satisfied with everything. WE HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PLACE for everyone, but especially for people with food allergies.

The food at all the restaurants is tasteful, beautiful and haute cuisine and it's the best hotel in Mexico for people with FOOD ALLERGIES. I am allergic to peanuts, nuts, soy and legumes and as soon as we checked in, they took a list of my allergies and gave it to all the staff and managers of all the restaurant, associated with my room number and picture. I was very very well taken care of, I felt SAFE at all times, and the managers always modified the dishes for me without taking away the flavors.

For the morning it's a buffet, which I was a bit worried about... but I spoke with the manager of Aroma (Raphael) and he told me that the chef (Marcos Gracia) would make something especially for me. Every morning Rapahel would come to greet us and would ask me what I felt like eating !!!! Also, we had the same waiter every day, Jorge, which made this easier because he knew us. I asked for omelettes, then crepes, then I asked for a suggestion and he served me a typical dish of stuffed zucchinnis it was delicious! On our last morning, Raphael had arranged with the chef to serve us a special goodbye surprise breakfast, we felt so spoiled and priviledge. Believe it or not, we had a 3 course breakfast made just for us!!! Mmmm that chicken terrine was not even on any menu!

Nonetheless, the service is amazing at all times, by all staff. Special thanks to Fernando aka Apocalypto, Pedro aka la Tucca, Carlos aka Tigre, Alfredo aka Don Tigre and Jorge at Aroma. Also our very sweet maids Angelica and Wilma. The staff is very happy to work there, there is a nice ambiance and they like to get to know the guest, talk with them.

The spa is amazing, Adrian and Theresa and wonderful massage therapists. We took the 50 min massage and it comes with hydrotherapy which is quite an amazing experience. I go to the spa all the times here in Montreal for hydrotherapy, but this experience was top notch! I would suggest going on your first day, to start to relax right away. The prices are good, they often have specials.

The beach is very private, not crowded, no music blasting, very quiet, very clean. There is always a nice lounger waiting for you at any time of the day, under the shade of not. Fresh towels are always available at any time of the day. The best thing is there are waiters on the beach who serve whatever you want to eat or drink. You don,t even need to get up (how spoiled!). There is a pizzeria open only for the beach and swim up bar and they are delicious, and made on a wood fire.

The swim up bar is very nice too. All the pools are super warm, super clean, not crowded at all with fountains with keep any noise down.

The rooms are superb. They come at night to open your bed, close the curtains and light, they put your slippers next to your bed and they spray a different scent everyday (chocolate, tea, cinnamon) and put spa music. So when you come back from dinner, you are ready to just go to bed and rest... Did I mention there is a pillow menu?

The all inclusive is a must, prices are high otherwise. For 80$ per day, per person it's totally worth it!

La Amada is a heaven to relax. A lot of honeymooners, couples, a few families with very well behaved kids. If you want to party like it's 1999, this is NOT your place. it is a very secluded resort with nothing much around which is just fine with us. That means no solicitation on the beach, no crowd, no noise. Its also very safe. The resort's design is also amazing. Its new (2 1/2 years) and very well though. All the maintenance is made manually (no vaccum, loud cutters, etc.) to keep the noise down. The whole resort was design to respect at all times privacy, intimacy and quietness. Strategically placed fountains, vegetations, etc. It's a smart resort.

We really love our experience and we will be back for sure! We miss it already!

Lidia & Dimitri

Room Tip: Get building 3, pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beloved Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beloved Hotel

Address: Condominio Playa Mujeres, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly La Amada Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Beloved Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beloved Hotel Playa Mujeres combines luxury and comfort with the convenience of the 'boutique style' all-inclusive, in the perfect family-friendly setting poised for pleasure and relaxation. Here you'll have a comfortable home base of contemporary luxury. Stylish hotel architecture and decor, generous suites, spotless service, deluxe facilities, and of course, our secluded beachfront setting, all enable you to let your days happen naturally. At this intimate beachfront community you'll enjoy personalized spa and wellness programs, fine dining, seaside golf, boating and fishing from our inland marina, and a host of other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Excellence Group, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotwire, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Beloved Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Amada Resort
La Amada Playa Mujeres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beloved Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.