We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to visit in Maharshtra” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tarkarli Beach

Tarkarli Beach
Malvan, India
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Malvan
Attraction details
Pune
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to visit in Maharshtra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had been to Tarkarli with my friends on 12 May 2013 and stayed there till 14 May 2013. An excellent place to visit, surprisingly the climate was good, not humid (although the temprature in afternoon was 34 C). We took Kudal road to reach Tarkarli as we first went to my native place (Ajra, near Amboli). The road was good and scenary was brilliant.
At Sindhudurg we did Scuba Diving..an unforgatable experience as all three of us did not had any experience of swimming..the staff was good and confident..equipments used were clean..and for 1000/- it was value for money. Although the water was too sandy and we were not able to see much of the flora & fauna. We visited the fort as well which was as good as Murud Janjira.
We stayed near Tarkarli beach (sea view resort, just 2 mins walk from the beach). The rooms were clean and big..however food was a disappointment. Well, that encouraged us to find other restaurants who could serve us better food and found a small restaurant, Swati, on Tarkarli road (4 KM before the beach). The food was good and couple preparing the food were very co-operative.
Also found a good restaurant, Only Fish, on Sindhudurg Beach. They only serve sea food and the taste was awsum!!
Tarkarli beach is clean with clean water...the boat ride to Nevati beach was an amazing experience. Other beautiful attraction was Rock Garden in Malvan. A place to vist in evening whaen cool breeze is flowing continously and the water splashing after hitting on the rocks.
Its a wonderful place to vist..planning to go there again in November...which will be the best period to visit..specially for scuba diving and snorkelling.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    59
    15
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Sindhudurg Guide - The Savior”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Sindhudurg Experience: The Sindhudurg district is a part of Konkan, the coastal region by the Arabian Sea. I was surprised to know it has around 122 km of coast. And all I thought was there is just Tarkarli there. Jabki, Tarkarli is not even 2% of the existing sea shore. It has beaches, a lot of them. Hill stations, wildlife, temples, waterfalls, history, forts and what not. And not to forget, food. Especially seafood. But there's a other side to this coin. The roads are confusing. No proper information available on net. Localites, at times, sound so unfriendly. Due to all this day one of our trip we were absolutely freaky. We couldnt site a single place. But thankfully, we found a young energetic Sindhudurg Guide at Malvan Jetty who assured to take care of us for next five days. And he actually did it. All in all, Sindhudurg is a perfect holiday destination. But believe me, you must hire a guide, like we did to show you around this paradise.
Food, sight-seeing and shopping: The guide sat with us on day 1 to draft an itinerary as per our interest. Same evening he took us to Tondavli Beach. The drive was lovely and the beach was amazing. We could see lot of dolphins from the beach. Lovely site. Day 2 was full of water sports activities. Water sports on the island, scuba diving at Malvan and then rain showers in mid of a thickly wooded spice farm. Day 3 an island hospitality program awaited us. Traditional meals, backwater boating trips, swimming, Maadi sampling and spending the whole day on a backwater island was just out of the world experience. Day 4 we went for a full day sightseeing trip of Vengurla. Lovely beaches this place has. The best was sunset at Kondura. We sat there for hours. Day 5 we visited lot of sites in Devgad. This place is a unsung tourist destination. Khazana of exotic beaches, lunch at a Mango farm and a evening boat cruise on backwaters. Can't forget participating in a fish auction. For just Rs 2000 we bought almost Rs 6-7000 worth of a fish (Bombay prices). Last night we went on a night jeep safari organized by Sindhudurg Guide. We sighted few foxes and a bison (was quite far). A stay on a riverside machan was a hair raising experience for sure. All this could be possible just because of guidance we had. The Sindhudurg Guide.
Activities & things to do: Tsunami Island: Water Sports Malvan Jetty: Scuba Diving followed by boat trip to Sindhudurg Fort Backwater Trip from Tarkarli to Bhowe beach. Island hospitality organized by Sindhudurg Guide. Mango farm lunch. Spice Farm trip (ran showers, spice plantation trip and lunch) Backwater boating in Devgad Fish auction at Devgad beach Night jeep safari organized by Sindhudurg Guide.
Travel tips, How to reach, travel warnings etc: We traveled from Bombay. You can take a road drive on NH17. Or travel on Konkan Railway. The roads in the district could be confusing. So hiring a guide would help. Costs almost nothing considering the attention and service you get in return.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
146 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“A Visit to Tarkarli beach at Sunset.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Had been on a "Scuba Diving/Snorkeling" tour of Malvan with "Trek Mates India" tour group from Mumbai. On Friday(10-5-2013) at approx 1730 hrs we reached Tarkarli beach and quickly undressed into swimming costumes and waded into the clean sea.The waves lashing the coast were larger than normal, an indication of the approaching monsoon season."Parasailing" was a tourist attraction on this clean and long stretch of beach sand and most of the tour group took turns on a "Parasail Ride"."Parasailing" on Tarkarli beach consisted of a jeep car dragging a parachute with a tourist high up in the air by means of a long length of rope against excellent sea-wind conditions.Watching the sunset from the beach was awesome.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A good experience turned into nightmare”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Just been from Malvan last month. The place as such is very beautiful and the water sports facilities are excellent. However this experience turned into an horrible nightmare when we actually stayed at this place call MoonStar Cruise Resort. The owner charged 7000 per day/room for a couple and had promised so many things on sightseeing, food etc that we just thought that it is best deal. However when we went there we came to know that the rooms are extremely small, theACs were no fully functional ( we literally had to wait for two hours until it got repaired). The worst was when they served us food which had kingfish slice and small prawns ( not tasting well at all) and this was repeated for next three days. When we enquired the owner was harsh and told us that this is the only thing they have as non veg food.Further, he had promised her dolphin tour, water sports activity tour , etc, however he said that this required extra payments. It was only when we had put our foot down he agreed to take us for the water sports activities. The rooms were not cleaned for 3 days inspite of reminding the staff. Most importantly this boat is infested with mosquitoes since it is just standing on the bank of the creek and they do not take us anywhere. So if you have kids please be aware. The hotel staff and owner are extremely rude and just dont listen to you. All we were thugged by this guy...so be aware

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good beach...fine sand.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

during my stay in Malvan I visited Tarkarli in the evening. It was a good beach with very fine sand. Unfortunate, not to see in daylight. I did found that it is far from city and for good food and travel you do have to visit Malvan. Also snorkeling / scuba diving is done near fort Sindhudurg which is close from Malvan as compared to tarkarli. Yeah the hoteling is cheap.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarkarli Beach also viewed

 
Malvan, Maharashtra
Malvan, Maharashtra
 

Been to Tarkarli Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tarkarli Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.