We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good for lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Blanc Nez

Le Blanc Nez
2281 Rue Nationale, 62231 Sangatte, France
+33 3 21 82 00 53
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Sangatte
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Lancashire
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Really good for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were on a day trip to France, and this time I did some research on TA before we went so we wouldn't be stuck in Citie de Europe in an Irish Bar eating Moules!!
The Blanc Nez was delightful, we had the most expensive menu which was 34 Euros but we got our monies worth. We only had the house wine which was sensibly priced at 8 euro for 1/2 litre.
I had the Timbale of Lobster and husband had the scallops, we both had the duck and then cheese and then an enormous ice creat dish each.
It was good value for money and we would happily eat here again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    52
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury UK
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
“Good honest French cuisine, and 5 minutes from channel tunnel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

If you want a first or last meal in France this is a good place to go.

Lots of choice in Menu and Carte all served to good French standards. Lots of different Mussels, good steaks. Dogs allowed and even Kids. Good wine list with lots of choice from glass, carrafe, half and full bottles.

My favourite last port of call in France, this visit left restaurant at 13:05 booked dog in and was still at check in by 13:15

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfleet
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Sangatte restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

A little bit off the beaten track but worth travelling a few miles to avoid the dire Cite restaurants at Coquelles.This is a real French restaurant with some interesting dishes. Perfect for those seeking authentic French cuisine.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“A breath of fresh air after shopping in the Cité Europe.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I've eaten here over a dozen times in recent years and always found it very friendly and welcoming. It's handy as Cité Europe is only a mile up the road. When the illegal immigrant camp was nearby, one had to be careful with our well loaded car but could park directly in front of the restaurant where we could keep an eye on it from our table. The camp has now gone. Always an aperitif on the house and sometimes a free small gift at the end of the meal. The food is always pleasant too. It's a shame that trade has tapered off now that there is little to be gained in shopping to booze in France but we shall go again.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Le Blanc Nez is a wonderful restaurant that I discovered 18 years ago by pinking up a business card from a kiosk at City Europe, thank goodness I did !

That day, I took my 3 year old daughter who tried her first oyster and I have returned ever since, with my daughter, friends and work colleagues. An award at work saw 46 of us travel by coach to celebrate with a trip to France and a long relaxed meal in 2003 at the rear of the restaurant, everyone was impressed with the food and the service that we received.

The Fruit de Mer platters are wonderful, as are the Whisky Prawns and Fillet steaks. Did I mention teh cheese boards, or the sorbets !

Caroline and all the staff are wonderful hosts to us each year when 10-12 of us have returned each year ever since. I simply cannot recommend this highly enough.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Blanc Nez also viewed

Sangatte, Pas-de-Calais
Sangatte, Pas-de-Calais
 
Escalles, Pas-de-Calais
Bleriot-Plage, Calais
 

Been to Le Blanc Nez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Blanc Nez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.