We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gainsborough Old Hall

Gainsborough Old Hall
Parnell St, Gainsborough UK DN21 2NB , England
01522 782040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 attractions in Gainsborough
Type: Architectural Buildings
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Regularly described as a “hidden gem in Lincolnshire” this exciting visitor attraction offers a variety of events and exhibitions and an award – winning schools’ education programme. Owned by English Heritage the Hall is operated by Lincolnshire County Council. Gainsborough Old Hall is a large, late- medieval manor house built by the noble Burgh family around 1460. The house boasts an impressive Great Hall; original medieval kitchen; East and West ranges containing a myriad of rooms and a haunted ghost corridor.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Interesting history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Fascinating old hall with many rooms and exhibits. Dating from medieval times, it has a great deal of history to explore, friendly staff and a nice cafe along with the4 inevitable gift shop. Great family day out.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    15
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Back In Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Havent been here for years, visited as in area and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. EH member so got in free, lots of rooms open to view, well presented and interpreted. used the audio guide which was also v good. it was lovely and quiet when we visited (a school had just left) so we had the place to ourselves. The kitchen areas are very interesting, including the stuffed boar! Views from top of building excellent, the surrounding gardens will be very nice in spring/summer with herbs and roses. Photography exhibition was very good.
Shop was good, has a nice looking cafe inside, we didn't eat as had a picnic. Parked right outside, plenty of on street parking. Well worth a visit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We visited last summer, and were surprised at how many rooms there were to see, and how interesting it was. We used the audio guide, and it was the best we have ever experienced. I usually avoid them, as I prefer to browse in peace, but in this case the offering was really good, and massively enhanced the visit. The videos were very well done, and we particularly enjoyed the kitchen area. I shall return, bringing other family members.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great View and Reasonably Priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great, atmospheric and steeped in history. The gift shop is very reasonably priced too which is not often the case with such places. We had a lovely sit down outside in the sunshine afterwards with a book we had bought.

The sights, sounds and smells of the Old Hall remind me of visits as a child and stir up some wonderful memories. Not from first time round mind, I'm not that old!

Would take you 3 hours or so to visit properly, a great place to visit as a family. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
102 attraction reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
306 helpful votes 306 helpful votes
“A place you must visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Gainsborough Old Hall is one of the oldest manor houses in the country.
We visited on our way through to York as it was an English Heritage property.
I must admit we were surprised when we saw where it was situated,we expected it to be more in the countryside but it was surrounded by houses in the middle of Gainsborough.
Parking was a bit difficult,i chose to park in one of the side roads but you could park in one of the pay and display car parks.
The building is very traditional,made of brick and timber with white plaster and it was amazing to look at.
Once inside,we collected a digital interactive guide which explains every room of the house and its history,it was a very informative hand piece and easy to use.
There was a school party when we were there and they were all in traditional dress alongside tour guides who were also dressed up.
Each room was set up as it would have been years ago which gave us an insight to what life must have been like to live at the hall.
You could take as many pictures as you liked and did not feel like you had to hurry to look around.The staff were very friendly and helpful and only too happy to help if needed.
There are toilets and also a cafe for refreshments as well as a gift shop.
If you enjoy history you will love to visit this lovely manor house and i would highly recommend it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gainsborough Old Hall also viewed

 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Gainsborough Old Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gainsborough Old Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gainsborough Old Hall to your Saves list