We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small friendly hotel, great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hickman Hill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hickman Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Hickman Hill Hotel
Cox's Hill, Gainsborough DN21 1HH, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gainsborough
Bolton
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Small friendly hotel, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights as a weekend break. Despite preparing for a wedding the next day the hosts were very welcoming and didn't mind our late check-in, even allowing us to eat when we arrived. For a small hotel bar the wine list was very impressive and the white riojca superb. Food was delicious and freshly prepared, local cheese board perfect way to end the evening.

Our room was tastefully done and very clean - nice large walk in shower. The little touches like the robes and chocolate bars alongside the usual tea and coffee making facilities were a lovely touch.

Breakfast was something to look forward to and the kippers must. The hosts are extremely friendly and helpful and I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HickmanHill, Owner at Hickman Hill Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Sarah,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your return to Gainsborough and the Beer festival too. Lincolnshire has many great cheeses, many of which are not known that well and we are glad you both appreciated them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    13
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
26
13
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed at Hickman Hill Hotel for a recently and had a great stay . This is how a B&B should be run .The owners were great a nice combination of friendly front of house and great dinner from the kitchen .Big rooms and then followed by a lovely breakfast.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HickmanHill, Owner at Hickman Hill Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for the great comments. We are pleased you had a pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Booked the hotel as we had a wedding in Gainsborough. Owners of hotel very friendly, there to refill glass when relaxing in the garden, answer any questions, but not intrusive. Food - gorgeous, duck with blackberry's from the garden! Scollops with bacon excellent, vegetables cooked with care. Breakfast excellent also. The bedroom was large "The Music Room" on the ground floor. Large wet room (huge towels). The room was very quiet/dark with the shutters and the curtains. Some rooms have been refurbished.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HickmanHill, Owner at Hickman Hill Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Our blackberry bushes are producing very well this year. We have already made 2kg of Blackberry jelly; some of which goes into the duck dish with fresh blackberries. The smoked bacon comes from the Multi award winning Redhill Farm and they supply most of our Pork products. Thank you also for all your kind comments which are gratefully received.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at the Hickman Hill Hotel as we were going to a wedding nearby, we didn't arrive until early evening but received a very warm welcome. Our room was beautiful, extremely large and very clean. The bed was extremely comfortable and we really liked the little touches of the Twix bars with the tea & coffee, they went down extremely well when we got back from the wedding! We were a little disappointed that the bar was closed when we got back but that probably did us a favor! For breakfast I had the poached eggs which were exceptional, my husband and mum and dad each had the full English which they said was also delicious, attentive service also. I most definitely would recommend and will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HickmanHill, Owner at Hickman Hill Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We are happy you appreciated the chocolates which are feature in every room. As part of our membership to Select Lincolnshire we source many of our products locally. The eggs you enjoyed come from a Gainsborough supplier whom sources free range eggs from surrounding farms. Your comments with regards service and food are much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We ended up in the "Music" room with a shower the size of a large closet and plush towels the size of bed sheets. The owners were first class. Breakfast was served on a white table cloth and the menu had a great variety; everything from Full English Breakfast, Kippers, eggs, cereal, etc. The fresh fruit salad every morning tasted like it came straight from the garden. Great visual style and the gardens had a Koi pond and small waterfall. Beautiful. I hope we get to go back. The train is walking distance but never bothered us at night.

Room Tip: If you can get the Music room you'll get the huge shower and have the only room on the first flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HickmanHill, Owner at Hickman Hill Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. We make a huge effort with our food and accommodation. Our large towels are much admired! Currently we have some home made jams on our breakfast menu consisting of: Strawberry, Raspberry, Gooseberry and Blackberry Jelly. The blackberries are picked from our garden whick gives the jelly a fresh and vibrant taste. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We booked via the internet for a wedding we were invited to. We got to the hotel at 4pm as the wedding was at noon,We got a very warm welcome,we signed in & they took us to our room.
It was beautiful,The room was huge,the bed was huge & so comfortable,fully stocked up with tea & coffee making facilities & chocolate bars.We had a huge wet room & separate toilet facilities.The breakfast was excellent too,nothing was too much trouble.Michelle the proprietor was a superb host. Well worth the visit. EXCELLENT. 5 STAR.......

Room Tip: Our room was on same level as reception,Thru the doors last one one the left hand side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HickmanHill, Owner at Hickman Hill Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
We are pleased you had an excellent stay and thank you for your lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed overnight at the Hickman Hill Hotel on our way south for a holiday. The proprietors were wonderfully friendly and welcoming...nothing at all was a bother to them. Our room was spotlessly clean and very well accessorised with fluffy towels, crisp cotton bedding and nice toiletries.
Breakfast was lovely, the full breakfast being very substantial. Breakfast was cooked to order, instead of the horrible trend of hot buffets which I loathe.
My only minor complaint would be that the décor in our room was a little old fashioned and tired. An update would make it very stylish. But that's a very minor thing.
I don't think you could find anywhere with such nice people and such kind attention anywhere else in this area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HickmanHill, Owner at Hickman Hill Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, especially about our breakfast which we take pride in sourcing ingredients as locally as possible. Our housekeeper does a marvellous job in keeping the whole hotel clean and tidy. Also she puts together some excellent flower arrangements using flowers from our garden which is in full bloom at the moment. We have duly noted your comments about the decor in the room are will be addressing this in the very near future. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay and hope to see you again if you are travelling in this part of the country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hickman Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hickman Hill Hotel

Address: Cox's Hill, Gainsborough DN21 1HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Gainsborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gainsborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over the last 25 years the Grade II listed Hickman Hill Hotel has charmed guests with its unique character, hospitality and intimate surroundings. Previously Gainsborough's Grammar School and built in 1795 the Hotel has nine spacious rooms named after former Head Teachers. Each room is en-suite with TV, Freeview box, Telephone & Tea/Coffee making facilities. There is ample free parking and it is situated only 1km from the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hickman Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hickman Hill Hotel Gainsborough, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hickman Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.