We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely lovely property” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Almyra Waterfront Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Almyra Waterfront Lodge to your Saves list
Almyra Waterfront Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   193 Kina Peninsula Road, Tasman, Mapua 7173, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely property”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This B&B has potential to be the perfect spot to relax for a day or longer. Superb position and views. Some traffic noise, especially early morning. There are not many choices for dinner without a long drive.

Room Tip: Select your room carefully and check your expectations -v- what's provided. our room was lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona O, Owner at Almyra Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for your review which doesn’t seem to accord with your comments made during your stay here! In our visitors book you wrote “lovely, lovely & very comfortable” and verbally, you told us how very much you enjoyed your stay and you even asked about the possibility of buying the property from us! I even wonder if you have posted this review to the wrong accommodation that you have stayed in, during your travels in New Zealand?

I am sorry if you were disappointed that your tariff was for breakfast provisions to be supplied, rather than for breakfast to be served in-house. This is one of the problems of booking remotely through an Agent, when we don’t have the one-on-one contact –which we pride ourselves so greatly on providing – in checking beforehand whether our guests are happy to be self contained. However, we do strive for high standards at Almyra in every respect and felt that we offered you our usual high standards of service. If you felt that we let you down in some way in this respect, I would be very pleased to hear from you to see if we can further improve in the future – without honest and specific feedback it is hard to know which of your expectations were not met.
We enjoyed your company over evening drinks and were pleased that you had such a wonderful day out in the Abel Tasman National park, which we helped you choose and booked for you.
We did ensure that every request you made regarding extra breakfast provisions was met, including additional Nespresso capsules, a jar of honey & other provisions.
As far as some road noise in the morning is concerned, sadly this is a fact of life when we live in such an idyllic and stunning location that at this time of year, there are many travellers and tourists in the region who come to share it with us, who are driving to/from the National Park at peak times. This limited road noise depends on the state of the tide and the prevailing wind but is very much daytime traffic and at night there cannot be many more peaceful places than here on the Kina Peninsula. Indeed many of our guests just love the night time here when they can go outside on their deck and view the amazing stars without any light pollution.

Given that we are located on such a beautiful Peninsula, surrounded by the sea, within one minute from the unspoilt beach at Kina and also looking out onto the mountains – Mt Arthur and the Kahurangi Mountain Ranges – it would be hard to enjoy such beauty and also be situated within very easy reach of restaurants for evening dining. Indeed, there are no beautiful accommodations around – out of the towns - where you could enjoy such beauty but also have an easy walk to a restaurant. Our guests who enjoy our self contained Kina Suite – as you did – mainly enjoy their evenings “at home”, with a BBQ or light dinner or one of the platters that we offer our guests and almost everyone is so pleased to have such a wonderful accommodation to spend a delightful evening watching the amazing sunsets and evening sun over a glass or two of wine but not have to think about going out to eat every night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
74
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had a great 2 night stay as a family of 5 occupying the Kina and Tasman Suites The setting is magical... spectacular views, close to the beach, beautifully furnished super clean rooms. This Lodge is a real gem and Fiona and Ron are wonderful hosts. Nothing was too much trouble. Fiona organised a fantastic boat trip for our family around the Abel Tasman National Park and was extremely helpful with restaurant choices and reservations. Our three daughters loved the pool and spa and were made to feel very welcome. We would love to return one day . Very highly recommended and one of the highlights of our South Island trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona O, Owner at Almyra Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you very much for your very positive review which we appreciate very much. It is so good to know that your stay at Almyra was a highlight of your South island holiday and that you all enjoyed your stay here at Almyra so much.
We hope that you will visit us again one day in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed here for a romantic couple of nights. The setting is absolutely gorgeous, with amazing views of the estuary and ranges. The house itself is very modern and the room had everything we needed. The pool out the front looked inviting and the garden was very quaint.

The hosts were reasonably friendly but we felt like the service was not worth the price we paid to stay there. On the final morning the hosts were asking us at breakfast how we were going to pay which we felt was inappropriate when we are trying to relax. They then knocked on our door straight afterwards, asking for our credit card. We began to feel as if they thought we weren't going to pay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona O, Owner at Almyra Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here at Almyra but sorry to hear that you felt our usual high standard of service had not been met. Indeed, when you asked for a very early check-in (before 1pm) we ensured that your room was ready for you and that we were here to meet and greet you; we also did our best to accommodate your request to leave your luggage here at the end of your stay - although in the event your plans were changed. I am sorry if you felt that we were hassling you regarding final payment - this was certainly not intended. However you had told us that you planned to leave here early to fit in some kayaking before your flight home, so we offered an earlier breakfast and assumed that you wouldn’t want to hang around and therefore I tried to ensure that you were not kept waiting while your credit card was being processed - this can sometimes take a bit of time and we are conscious of guests time schedules, particularly with some of the early timetables for water activities. It is disappointing that you felt that we spoilt your relaxation over your final breakfast but hope that this didn’t detract from your overall stay here and that you enjoyed your last day out kayaking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We spent 5 nights at Almyra and can't say enough wonderful adjectives to describe our time there. The room is perfectly appointed and the view is magnificent. One day we had pouring rain, enough to keep us from exploring the area like we had planned but we were completely happy staying in the room and watching the rain. The pool was wonderful for a dip after wine tasting at nearby wineries. Ron and Fiona are so gracious and a ton of fun! We feel we have made new friends and look forward to our return to Almyra!
Fred and Merri
Jackson Hole, WY

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room in the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona O, Owner at Almyra Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review which we very much appreciate. It was our pleasure to host you both and to get to know you a bit more. It was a shame that the weather wasnt always favourable for you, but good to know that you enjoyed your time here at Almyra even on our wet days!
I hope we shall see you here again before too long!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We decided to stay two nights in Kina Peninsula, better than Nelson city, nearer the Kaiteriteri Beach, very recomendable.
We were expecting a small hotel, but what we found was a comfortable designed house, been warmly received by his owners Fiona and Ron, bedroom and bathroom full equiped, wifi in the room, clean and tidy, with an amazing view. We realy felt as if we were at home!
The perfect breakfast, nicely served and prepared as required by each guest. The hole place seemed to be taken from a beautiful picture. Hope we could go back some day, and enjoy the peaceful environment again.

Room Tip: There are only three suites, all of them nice and cozy, and sharing the same view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona O, Owner at Almyra Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
It was our pleasure to host you both and to make your stay here a memorable and enjoyable one. I know that it was a different experience from the hotel type experience you were expecting and we are delighted that your first experience of a bed and breakfast type environment in a homely atmosphere exceeded your expectations. We hope you have enjoyed the rest of your holiday in New Zealand too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

After a three week vacation filled with busy activities, we spent our final nights at the Almyra. My husband and I loved the location - 30 min driving distance to Abel Tasman and Nelson proper, and most of all, Fiona and Ron are simply wonderful people. They genuinely enjoy meeting the guests and preparing lovely meals. The views from the resort are the best in the area, and the accommodations are just perfect. We hope to make it back very soon.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona O, Owner at Almyra Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your kind review and we are delighted that your stay at Almyra for the last three days of your New Zealand holiday was so memorable and such a happy end to your holiday. It was our pleasure to meet you both and host you and hopefully one day you will make a return visit to New Zealand and to Almyra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Whilst most sponsored itinerary's have you dashing round New Zealand stopping no more than one or two nights in each location Almyra is a perfect example of why ideally one should linger. The area has much to yield beyond the typical winery tour. I spent 3 days alone in the Able Tasman National Park and another day in Nelson a delightful Cathedral City with a Maritime feel to it. But most importantly I was able to really take advantage of this superb location. The Kina suite is a serviced apartment with a separate living space for making breakfasts and light meals. There are deck areas in front of the spacious bedroom and living area where you can eat, rest and read looking over the estuary to the foothills beyond.

Ron and Fiona are on hand but not obtrusive and will respond and give shape to ideas that you might want to achieve whilst in the region.

There is a pool and hot tub to relax in, and with a maximum of three sets of guests at any one time more than enough space to accommodate every one.

You can provide your own hospitality in the evening or avail yourself of a wonderful platter provided by Fiona. The aesthetic of the building is contemporary and harmonious with just the right amount of ambient detail to give it character.

The setting the accommodation and the options in the locality are such that a proper investment of time on the Peninsula is a must.

Room Tip: If you want independence mixed with the right level of support take the KIna Suite the most independ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona O, Owner at Almyra Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
It was a pleasure to meet you and host you during your stay here. As you mentioned in your review - which we appreciate very much - Almyra is the ideal location for a good chill out and time of relaxation, with the stunning views around and the swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. I am glad that we met your expectations and hope that you will visit us again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Almyra Waterfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almyra Waterfront Lodge

Address: 193 Kina Peninsula Road, Tasman, Mapua 7173, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Mapua > Tasman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Tasman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Almyra Waterfront Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury premium boutique five star quality coastal retreat accommodation for couples. The two accommodation suites offer total privacy & comfortable super king (twin bed option on prior request) or king beds dressed with 600 thread count Egyptian linens and duvets; thick-pile carpets; plenty of storage and hanging space; large picture windows leading onto private decks; luxury en-suites with walk-in showers; underfloor heating with Italian tiles; demist vanity mirrors; vanity; toilet; dressing robes and slippers; fluffy white towels - beach/swimming towels are also provided. The Kina Suite also has a living room/kitchenette for guests to self cater with an outside deck and BBQ. The Tasman Suite is our luxurious bed & breakfast suite - with breakfast served to the Suite. Each Suite is beautifully equipped for discerning couples looking for peace, tranquility and privacy in an amazing setting of 3.5 Acres of grounds with water frontage. Free WIFI is offered to all guests. Guest laundry (small charge), DVD Library - guests welcome to borrow DVDs free of charge, Gourmet dinner platter to share (prior notice please). We have a hot spa for year round use and outdoor solar heated swimming pool that guests are welcome to use in summer. Enjoy amazing water and mountain views; incredible sunsets; ever changing tides and the opportunity for bird watching; photography; painting; kayaking; fishing; boating; golf; relaxing and chilling out and just enjoying a magical break. The Accommodation wing is accessed by a private guest driveway and entrance, with separate guest parking. Feel free to come and go as you please without interruption or disturbance. A world class experience in an idyllic setting. No wonder so many of our discerning international and domestic visitors are rating Almyra Waterfront Lodge their No.1 Destination in New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Almyra Waterfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Almyra Waterfront Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.