We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house, fabulous hosts, highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Almyra Waterfront Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Almyra Waterfront Lodge to your Saves list
Almyra Waterfront Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   193 Kina Peninsula Road, Tasman, Mapua 7173, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nottingham
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, fabulous hosts, highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Almyra is a large, spacious, modern single storey home with guest accommodation in one wing comprising 2 suites and an 'overflow' room for late bookings. We did not book late (4-5 months in advance) but due to a mix up with the booking system, found ourselves in the overflow room rather than one of the suites advertised on the website. The room was spacious enough and well appointed and the mix up in no way deterred from our enjoyment of the stay. The hosts, Fiona and Ron are lovely; very warm, very welcoming, very professional and very friendly. The house is stunning; the pool which guests have use of is the perfect temperature and the atmosphere at Almyra s very relaxed and welcoming; you really do feel like you are staying in your own perfect home in the sun, with water and mountains and beautiful gardens around you. The hosts cannot do enough to make the stay as enjoyable as possible; they put on evening drinks on the patio for any guests wanting to partake but there's no problem if you don't. Ron even played golf at his local club with my golf obsessed other half which was over and above the call of duty! The views are spectacular, the attractions (Able Tas National Park, Golden Bay, Nelson, wineries) easily accessible, the the nearby village has ample eating options. We were there for 3 nights and could easily have spent a week there, it's a great place to stay. Ron cooked us a yummy breakfast every morning but I think the suites as advertised on the website have a self catering option. There are quality washing facilities for $10 a load which was very welcome.

Room Tip: Book directly with the owners for the Tasman or Kina suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    3
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
82
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Murchison, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Almyra. Our room was extremely comfortable and really beautiful. The bathroom and shower were fabulous with lovely toiletries to use. The location is breath taking and there is the most glorious swimming pool which Fiona generously lets her guests use. My early morning swims were a real highlight. Good restaurants locally to enjoy as well a fabulous boat trip along the coast of the Abel Taman park. My only disappointment is that we could not stay longer.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent and to the same standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed in the Tasman suite for 2 nights and loved every second. What a place!
The house is immaculate throughout and everything (bathroom,TVs, gadgets, etc) are very high spec. We are extremely picky when it comes to cleanliness, but this exceeded even our expectations. The room was extremely comfortable and the bathroom has a very high quality designer sink and shower, with everything you would need. It's also the little things that seem to have been thought of. Our little kitchette area had everything - including a Nespresso Machine, with a selection of coffees, and all the utensils you could ever think of. The milk and drinks in the fridge were complimentary The room also has ipod/phone charger and player and directly outside is a patio, with chairs and table - set in stunning views over the lagoon. The hosts were superb, from providing helpful and insightful answers to any questions we had, to providing a top quality breakfast to suit anyone's needs or appetite.
The Almyra retreat is set in a superb location on the Kina penninsula, which makes it very quiet, yet 5 mins drive from Mapua or Moteuka and 20-30 mins drive to Nelson or the Abel Tasman National Park.
The reatreat, the location and our stay at the Almyra were faultless and we would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We loved the Tasman Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were two couples and decided to stay here at Almyra as we had booked the 3 day Abel Tasman National Park guided walk and wanted to be reasonably close to that. We had the Kina and Tasman Suites and booked in for 5 nights in total. The location is absolutely spectacular. Fiona and Ron, our hosts were really lovely and very helpful. The cooked breakfasts were delicious. And to come back in the evening to our wonderful deck and gas barbecue was a real treat. Thank you for looking after us so well! We had a ball!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed in the Kina Suite which has a brilliant view across the estuary to the mountains beyond. The rooms, complete with kitchen area in lounge and terrace, are very well decorated and maintained and have all you could need . It was also nice after the long journey from Wellington to be able to take a dip in the lovely pool. Fiona and Ron are great hosts and we enjoyed our chats with them. The house is very well located for access to route 6 and the Abel Tasman national park and Fiona and Ron have a good knowledge of the local area with great suggestions for things to do and routes to take.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stay at Almyra with family end of December 2012.

Location is very beautiful, at the top of the hill where you can see blue sea during high tide and mountain at the distance.

Rooms are very modern and very well equipped, all you need are available.
Nespresso machine, toaster, etc. Fresh supplies every morning.

The host Ron and Fiona are very nice couple, they cook excellent breakfast and dinner too.
Must stay here ..... highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We decided to book 3 nights with Almyra as it was only about 15 mins from Motueka where our friends were living and close to Nelson (35 mins) also not far from the Abel Tasman. When we arrived my husband was quite tired from driving so I was looking around the grounds and Ron and Fiona invited me for a glass of wine with them, they are such a lovely couple and made us feel very welcome. It was great having a small kitchen adjoined to our room, Fiona had stocked it with fresh bread, milk, juice etc and there were bars of fudge and little christmas mince pies, like a home away from home. Bathroom was great, very modern and good shower, the bed was also very comfortable and everything was spotless, also nice to have Wi-Fi. This is a fabulous place to get away from everything and relax, would have loved to spend more time there during the day but were busy seeing the Abel Tasman and catching up with friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Almyra Waterfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almyra Waterfront Lodge

Address: 193 Kina Peninsula Road, Tasman, Mapua 7173, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Mapua > Tasman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Tasman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Almyra Waterfront Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury premium boutique five star quality coastal retreat accommodation for couples. The two accommodation suites offer total privacy & comfortable super king (twin bed option on prior request) or king beds dressed with 600 thread count Egyptian linens and duvets; thick-pile carpets; plenty of storage and hanging space; large picture windows leading onto private decks; luxury en-suites with walk-in showers; underfloor heating with Italian tiles; demist vanity mirrors; vanity; toilet; dressing robes and slippers; fluffy white towels - beach/swimming towels are also provided. The Kina Suite also has a living room/kitchenette for guests to self cater with an outside deck and BBQ. The Tasman Suite is our luxurious bed & breakfast suite - with breakfast served to the Suite. Each Suite is beautifully equipped for discerning couples looking for peace, tranquility and privacy in an amazing setting of 3.5 Acres of grounds with water frontage. Free WIFI is offered to all guests. Guest laundry (small charge), DVD Library - guests welcome to borrow DVDs free of charge, Gourmet dinner platter to share (prior notice please). We have a hot spa for year round use and outdoor solar heated swimming pool that guests are welcome to use in summer. Enjoy amazing water and mountain views; incredible sunsets; ever changing tides and the opportunity for bird watching; photography; painting; kayaking; fishing; boating; golf; relaxing and chilling out and just enjoying a magical break. The Accommodation wing is accessed by a private guest driveway and entrance, with separate guest parking. Feel free to come and go as you please without interruption or disturbance. A world class experience in an idyllic setting. No wonder so many of our discerning international and domestic visitors are rating Almyra Waterfront Lodge their No.1 Destination in New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Almyra Waterfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Almyra Waterfront Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.