We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Underwater World Pattaya

Underwater World Pattaya
22/22 Moo 11, Sukhumvit Rd., Bang Lamung 20260, Thailand
66 (0) 38 756 879
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 17 attractions in Bang Lamung
Type: Aquariums
Attraction Details
Bangalore, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

A must visit place. Do take the Underwater diving package where you swim, feed and hold various aquatic animals underwater.. The Marine life range comprise of Rays, Sharks, turtles and much more. An amazing 3 hour+ experience made even more memorable by the trainer, Mr. Steve, who made sure that we were absolutely comfortable underwater and got our money's worth. Totally worth postponing our bangkok trip by half a day.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    30
    37
    16
    19
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
“First underwater dive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My experience was very good. Trainer is very helpful and knowledgeable. He taught us well and made sure that we are comfortable under water.
We spent 3 hours and every single minute was enjoyable. Swimming with turtles, sharks, feeding them. It was awesome. Worth trying it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Super Amazing...It was Mezmerizing, Nirvana, Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Dear Reader
I am Rahul from Delhi, India

I read some mixed comments about underwaterworld before i actually went there and thought of experiencing it. Let me clarify one thing to all my friends. There are two parts to underwaterworld one is that you can just walk through the isle of aquarium where you can JUST see sharks, sting rays and other aquatic species (you may also feed some of them at few places) but the other part which I want to highlight here is the dive in with Sharks. This is a huge aquarium.
Wowww....Dive in with Sharks was an amazing amazing life time experience for me. Here, me along with my wife did dive in the water and swam with Sharks, Sting rays, Turtles, Tunas and many more. You woud not believe that i held the fin of sharks and that took me for a complete round of aquarium. We also fed the turtles. Beleive me you need not to be an expert swimmer or diver to do this, me and my wife did not know swimming. One day before visting this place i could not even get the Fish Spa done because i was afraid of touching fishes and next very day I was between big aquatic species all thanks to our trainer Steve. He trained us on the same and told us about all relevant things about divein including clothes, Oxygen cylinder, weights, fins, Dos and Donts etc. We get enough time to practice before getting into the real game. After half an hour of practise I found myself to be a part of aquatic life and it was such a beautiful experience. Guys this is one time experience of life and worth the money which you would spend trust me. I encourage you to experience this once and you will be amazed to be a part of this aquatic life. This is all very safe under the guidance of Steve and he will be around you to take care of you. Just dont miss it....Best of Luck

TIPS: Please go for 60 mins package as 30 mins would not be enough to actually enjoy as anyone who is doing this for the first time will take atleast 30 mins to 45 mins just be comfirtable and then the actual fun starts.
Please take an appointment one day before by calling Underwaterworld. You may also speak to Steve before buying tickets in case you have any queries.
The ticket for Dive in with Sharks is 3500 BHT for 60 mins (in promotional offer it was 3000 BHT) but you need not to pay the entry ticket (500 BHT) if you do this. At your exit you may visit the isle of aquarium as well....

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Overpriced, average experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Dual pricing (500 THB foreigners, 250 THB Thais) for the 30-40 minute walk is a bit steep. Visit early in the week day so you'll miss the crowds. Quite interesting, but so-so about being worth it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Appalling :(”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Murky tanks with sad looking marine life, especially the poor turtle in the foyer. Any coral had long died. The jelly fish were quite impressive at first, but could have done without the additional 10 tanks of them. Very few exhibits, all of them lackluster. There were plenty of visitors, so money should be reinvested into making drastic improvements. If it were the UK this tourist attraction would be shut down due to neglect. The usual inflated pricing for foreigner visitors. Don't waste your time our money. Our two year old boy (whom we had to pay a hefty entry price) hated it!
He claimed he was 'bored' (he has never used this expression before). Enough said.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Underwater World Pattaya also viewed

 
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 

Been to Underwater World Pattaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Underwater World Pattaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Underwater World Pattaya to your Saves list