We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“has room to improve” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Racha

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Racha to your Saves list
The Racha
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   42/12-13 Moo 5 Rawai, Muang, Phuket 83130, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Early Bird Special Rate
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ko Racha Yai
Shanghai, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“has room to improve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

there's still space to improve as a five star resort. 1) there're many flies 2)housekeeping service is not so professional as sometimes forget to supplement the bath gel and tissues. However, it still gave me a memorable holiday all the same with its hospitality and beauty.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRacha, General Manager at The Racha, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Vickygewexiao,

I am pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay here at The Racha. The beauty of the island is unsurpassable and I am glad you have experienced the Thai hospitality.

Thank you for highlighting some of shortcomings; please do accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused. I have addressed the issues you brought up with our Team Members and have emphasized on the importance of regular trainings for our staff.

Hopefully we will be seeing you here again soon for more memorable holidays and with improvements made with your invaluable feedback.

Kind regards,

Devan Bhaskaran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    156
    40
    28
    11
See reviews for
98
436
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sanad, Kingdom of Bahrain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed in The Racha from 16th to 18th October but what a memorable stay. We, my wife, my son and his wife, my daughter and her husband and myself, reserved The Lighthouse which was like a dream-house rather an accommodation.
All of us enjoyed every second of our stay there. The cleanliness was perfect, the room service was without any delay, all the facilities were just like a dream. We thought that we were the only guests of the resort even though the resort was full.
Members of the staff were trained so nicely that before we ask they knew what we wanted and they were so polite with everyone who stayed in the resort.
One person who stood out among all was Mr. Gerard Tan, The General Manager, who was everywhere to look after everyone making everyone feel that he is the only guest of the resort.
I would like to thank him, Mr. Gerard Tan, for being such a gentleman and look after us in many ways and make us feel more than VIPs.
Mr. Tan, you made our short trip to the resort a very memorable one and we do hope that one day we will be back there and have more fun than we had this time.
THANK YOU MR.TAN AGAIN AND THANK YOUR STAFF FOR EVERYTHING YOU DID TO MAKE US FEEL SO HAPPY AND COMFORTABLE.

Room Tip: The Lighthouse was a perfect for us as we were six and it does suit the families of five to six.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Our villa had a superb sea view. The villas themselves are immaculate and the zen architecture breathes life into this fantastic hotel.
The staff are extremely attentive and are ambassadors of the famous Thai hospitality as they go out of their way to please.
The place oozes elegance and sophistication and luxury that is a hard act to follow and it's standards and excellence are infinitely higher than some of the five stars in London and Dubai.
The food was a joy to eat, tantalising every taste bud! Try the barbecued lobster with fresh thai lemon sauce! The Spa and its ambience is a wonderful experience in itself with stress relieving therapies. Tip: bring back some of the soothing hypoallergenic jasmine lotion if you can, it's great on flights and imparts a gorgeous fragrance.
One of my favourite places in Thailand which I will be travelling to again and again.
Thank you again to the Racha's excellent General Manager and staff.

Room Tip: Any room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I have a chance to stay at the Racha for a night.
The hotel is beautiful landscape with the beautiful view of beach.

European restaurant which face to swimming pool is great place for dinner.

The beach is very beautiful with turquoise water and white sand. This is the first time for me to go to Raya island by catamaran. I really recommend this transportation.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We're so lucky that have been arranged on the first row of the villas which is just on the beach. So we can just lay on bed overlookin the beach and Andaman sea. The sea is colorfuly depends on the whether. It became the beautiful crystal green when in big sunny day. But the waves are very strong which could become little bit dangerours when going too far. It's for our wedding anniversary so they have taken the heart-style bed decoration which is so sweat. And for the meal inside the hotel, I recommend the Sunset Restaraunt, the BBQ are in very fair rate and in big size. The breakfast have more choices and since most of the guests coming from China, so much more Chinese style meals provded.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I spent 2 nights in the racha resort, and I spent 3 days that I can never forget.
The resort architecture is amazing, people are very friendly, site seeing is awesome, the place is very clean, beautiful and relaxing but it is expensive as well.

Room Tip: - I recommend NOT to book the honeymooners package because you will not get any benefit from the act...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Racha is a very nice hotel and I had a very good holiday with my family during the 2 days in Racha. The beach is one of the best beach I have ever been with white sand and blue water. And the view outside the hotel is very beautiful too. The only regret is earlier October is still rain season and not suitable for swimming and have only a few chances to do snokeling.

Room Tip: If possible, I will try the room with pool access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Racha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Racha

Address: 42/12-13 Moo 5 Rawai, Muang, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Ko Racha Yai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ko Racha Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Racha 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 12 miles south of Phuket on Racha Yai island, The Racha is Thailand's premier deluxe island hideaway. Set on a pristine white-powdery beach and surrounded by the dazzling turquoise waters of the Andaman Sea, this five star resort features 70 stylish villas offering the ultimate in luxurious comfort, from private pool villas with underwater music, to a very unique 5-storey Lighthouse Pool Villa with an observation deck offering panoramic views around the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Racha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Racha Hotel Ko Racha Yai
Racha Hotel Yai Island
Racha Yai Island
Racha Phuket
The Racha Ko Racha Yai, Phuket, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Racha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.