We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tropical Delight.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Racha

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Racha to your Saves list
The Racha
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   42/12-13 Moo 5 Rawai, Muang, Phuket 83130, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ko Racha Yai
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Tropical Delight.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Whilst the Racha is not the cheapest hotel in Thailand, by a long way, it is without doubt, one of the nicest places we have ever stayed. The Racha does not have the normal hotel layout, but is a complex of detached and semi-detached chalets set amidst coconut trees, on the island of Ko Racha Yai, about 12 nautical miles from the main island of Phuket. Access to the Racha resort is by a 40ish minute speedboat ride from Chalong Pier at the southern end of Phuket Island, we chose to be met at the airport by the Racha limousine service, so our bags were loaded into the vehicles for us and we were reunited with them in our rooms at the resort. The service also provided us with water, juice drinks and cold towels, which made the journey from the airport to the pier very comfortable. The boat ride is fast and quite an exciting way to arrive at the island, our boat had 600hp of outboard motors bolted on to the back and they were wound fully open all of the way. The reception we received on the island by the Racha staff continued to be of a very high standard, with more fruit drinks, water and cold towels. Once checked in, we were escorted to or rooms and given an explanation of the services and amenities available, our luggage arrived shortly afterwards. The rooms are nicely laid out with everything you would expect from a top class hotel, the bathrooms are exceptional with a bath and shower and a door leading to a secluded walled garden with another shower outside. All rooms have private patios; ours (321) looked out over the garden pool, so we only had a few feet to walk for a swim. As for eating, during the day food and drink can be ordered from the pool side bars and delivered to your sun lounger, room service is also available and of course the restaurants are open. Breakfast is served in the “Earth” restaurant and consists of hot and cold European and Asian dishes; eggs are cooked on demand however you like them, with a dozen or so choices available for omelette fillings all cooked right in front of you. Dinner is available from the Earth restaurant or the beach restaurant, all types of food are served from lamb chops to squid, all perfectly cooked and beautifully presented. The whole place is really tranquil, a beautiful resort on a beautiful island.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRacha, General Manager at The Racha, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Rob_and_Trish,

Your lovely review made our day!

Our guests’ experience is the most important thing to us. Everyone works diligently to ensure everything is perfect and that each guest is well taken care of. We are so pleased that our efforts were successful and your holiday with us was outstanding.

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We look forward to your return.

Kind regards,

Gerard Tan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    156
    40
    28
    11
See reviews for
98
436
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The island is really gorgeous.
Our villa was great, it even had partly sea view.
What took our breath away was the color of the sea.
We can't imagine such a beautiful place even in dream.
Kid enjoyed very much.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRacha, General Manager at The Racha, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Yvonne C,

Thank you so much for your beautiful description of your stay with us. It is certainly nice to hear that you and your family had a great time.

It has been our joy to serve you. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Racha again soon.

Kind regards,

Gerard Tan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickham Bishops, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here we were advised for our 6th trip. We have never stayed for more than 4 days as upto now the lack of other things to do made us feel that it was about the right time but now believe that we could easily stay for 7 days.
We love the the style of all the various type of rooms we have used and the layout of the resort overall. Our only reservation is the Ice Bar and the outside of the earth cafe. There is also a great area at the Club del Mar which to us could be used to advantage for Breakfast and evening dining with outside live music.
The staff are attentive and turn down services are timed to coincide with when you are dining.
There have been adverse comments re the beach usage by day trippers. I find these hard to accept for a number of reasons. Beaches in Thailand are public therefor outside the Hotel's control. Also the Hotel itself has plenty of space and never feels crowded. The main benefit is that after 3pm when they go you realise how lucky you are to have the beach and the sunset view almost to yourself. Snorkeling in the bay is like swimming in a fish bowl and I never tire of snorkelling.
Next year will definately be our 7th and longer stay

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRacha, General Manager at The Racha, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear keithg1947,

We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us once again and that you still love the design and layout of our property. We appreciate your kind words about our attentive staff. They will certainly bring delight to all of them.

We have taken note on your comments regarding Ice Bar and Club Del Mar. Continued patronage and suggestions from valued guests like your good self are a vital part of our growth and prosperity, and for that, we are most grateful.

Thank you so much for writing us a great review. We look forward to your seventh visit.

Kind regards,

Gerard Tan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at the Racha in November 2012. It is the most beautiful hotel, well run and made for a fabulous holiday. From the moment we were transported to the island by speed boat, we were taken care of. I had booked a Deluxe Room in the knowledge that the room would be great, but we would not necessarily have a view. On arrival, our priorities changed and a room with a view became important to me. The hotel sorted out our upgrade within the hour at very little additional cost. We spent out time on the island resting and relaxing, the hotel is conducive to this, I was going to island hop, however as so many people visit this island during the day, I decided to stay put in paradise. As so many other people have reviewed the beach at the hotel is not private, it is a public beach which means a lot of day trippers, however it really is only between around 11am and 15.00pm. The beach is still never overcrowd so really its not a problem. I cant wait to go back to the Racha, thank you to all the staff who made our trip so special.

Room Tip: Room 207 has a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRacha, General Manager at The Racha, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear KateALondon,

Your review was an absolute pleasure to read! Thank you so much for graciously allowing us the opportunity to learn about your experience at The Racha. I have shared your wonderful comments with our entire team and they were very happy to hear that their hospitality enhanced your stay.

Again, thank you for your “gorgeous” description of your holiday with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Racha again soon.

Kind regards,

Gerard Tan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013


The location is spectacular; the Racha Island is amazing. The arriving, even being very tired because of the long travel and time change, was breathtaking. Our main objective during the 4 nights staying was to rest and enjoy the island, daily tours and similar programs was left to be done while we were in Krabi. The only hotel tour we made was to see the sunset from one of the hills after riding a ATV (couple of hours in the afternoon).
We were very well received by the staff. We were upgraded to the Junior pool suite (originally we had booked the grand delux pool villa) and the room was very beautiful, with a nice decoration. During all time we were in the resort the staff was very nice and proactive with us.
The hotel is prepared to receive mostly asians (mainly guests), so mattress and pillows are harder than what we are used to but you can ask for different types to the front desk. Unfortunately we found out about it on our last night. So, my suggestion to the hotel is to advise about it during the check in.
There are boats coming and going with tourists, specially around 10AM and then at 4PM, but it really didn't bother us, maybe because now there is a pier that keeps the boats far from the beach. The beach doesn't get too crowd but the number of people increases considerably. But again, it didn't bother us because we already had the beach to ourselves in the morning and in the afternoon.
The beach club is good, with a nice pool and drinks and it is located right in front of the beach. We were very comfortable there and the canadian lady that was preparing our drinks was very nice. I think the only bad thing in the beach club is that there isn't a menu of snacks and it was necessary to go to the other pool to eat. Restaurants are great! Breakfast, lunch and dinner, anything you choose was great and very tasteful.
Because of the amount of tourists, the beach gets dirty in the afternoon. Actually, I was expecting more after reading some of the reviews, but still dirty. As a person that lives in a city by the beach (Rio de Janeiro), see this kind of things upsets me and I tried to do my part by getting the trash I was seeing.
I think the hotel could make some of their staff available to clean the beach in the afternoon, besides I suggest to increase the amount of garbage cans at the beach. Not sure the hotel has any social program in the island, but it would be a good idea. People that lives there has to understand the future of the tourism in the island depends on how they maintain the place. Other small beaches were even dirtier and full of trash. Walking through the village I could see they are not taking good care of their "home", there were small channels full of trash, looking like a great place for diseases. I think this would be one of the reasons for the amount of flies! There is a serious environmental imbalance going on.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRacha, General Manager at The Racha, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Viviane_Carioca,

Thank you so much for providing valuable feedback on your recent stay at The Racha.

We are delighted to hear that our beautiful location, property, and food quality highlighted your stay and that you were well received by our friendly staff. I have shared your kind compliments with the entire team and your acknowledgment of their efforts has definitely brought a smile to their faces. Brianne (from Canada) in particular, was thrilled to hear from you.

The Racha desires to create an exceptional experience for each of our guests. In order to do that, we want to provide the best and most unique amenities we can. This includes the wonderful pillow menu that ensures each guest has the best night of sleep possible and a choice of more than the standard down pillow. The pillow menu, together with the good night note, is usually placed on the bed during nightly turndown service which is carried out in all of the villas except for those with the “don’t disturb” sign on the door. We apologize for the inconvenience caused. Rest assured we will make sure our staff members are more thorough in explaining matters like this during check-in.

Club Del Mar is an integral part of the resort. It is an ideal place to relax and bask in the sun. We are glad you enjoyed it and we have taken note on your comment regarding the menu.

As you rightly pointed out, the beach does need more care and attention. We are fully aware that the stunning beach in front of the resort is one of the reasons people visit the island. Our staff members spend hours cleaning it every morning as it is our pride and joy. Unfortunately, the beach gets dirty again in the afternoon following the arrival of day tourists. Please rest assured that we take this matter very seriously and we are doing our best to rectify this problem. We have been collaborating with the tour companies and local residents concerned to ensure proper care and cleanliness are strictly maintained around the island.

Again, thank you for your honest comments. It has been our privilege to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Racha again soon.

Kind regards,

Gerard Tan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Our stay at the Racha was just perfect. We decided we would splurge on this holiday so we opted for a Grand Pool Suite (villa 102) which we booked for 7 nights. The suite was enormous - we had 2 bathrooms, a separate entry/living area, a huge bedroom with lounge area, the most amazing main bathroom with double shower and spa bath which had a spectacular view, and an outdoor rain shower. All the rooms had fabulous views of the bay. But the piece de resistance was our own infinity pool which also had amazing views of the bay and the resort. The best thing about having your own pool is you can swim in it at any time of the day and although the water was quite warm it was still refreshing to swim in. Breakfasts were excellent with many choices of both Western and Eastern foods - sushi, pad thai, eggs any way you like, bacon, cold cuts, cheeses, smoked salmon. We found all the dining choices for an evening meal were quite good, but in particular the one that opens out onto the resort's main pool was excellent - a bit pricey but well worth it. The day trippers did not bother us at all - in fact we were pleased other people had the chance to share such a beautiful place. We spent most days lazing on the sunbenches on the edge of the resort overlooking the beach watching the world go by or exploring some of the other lovely places on the island (everything is easily accessible by walking). Swimming in the bay was wonderful - the water is so clean and clear and the sand is fine and white. The staff were very helpful and the only issues we had were when some of the staff didn't speak English too well - but then we don't speak Thai! They did their best to help us nevertheless. we are very likely to go back.

Room Tip: Villa 102 is wonderful with the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRacha, General Manager at The Racha, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear CandTSydney,

Thank you for your kind words and feedback! It is certainly wonderful to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. It was my pleasure to share your positive experience with our entire team.

It has been our privilege to serve you and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Gerard Tan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olten
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We looked for silence and what we found was nothing but noise! Really a bad experience!!! We used to travel to the Maldives because we like the sea, the beach and the silence! Our Travel Agency recommended us to try something new - something similar, but somewhere else. So we went to Thailand to The Racha. Nice pictures with a large, empty, white beach - so far the advertisement from the Racha...

Unfortunately that was nothing but photoshop - the public (!) beach is filled with approx. 500 umbrellas and deck chairs. Every day, hundreds of day tourists are brought with the boats to exactly this beach. So until 11 a.m. the whole beach was overcrowded with shouting people - and the sea is plenty of motor boats. Party sound around, noise from powerful motorboats - a nightmare! You wanna go and have a bath? Forget it - go to the pool!! It's safer (in the sea you are in danger of being killed by a boat) and the pool in the back part of the resort is much more quiet!!!

The Spa although is great, a really wonderful experience. Food is ok! The bungalows are nicely built and kept well cleaned. But all in all - the Racha lacks of any style or flair, unfortunately...

Our conclusion: We would not recommend anybody to go there! For less money you can go to Mallorca or Dom. Republic and it will be much more quiet there and less crowded.

Our learning: So there is nothing but really nothing to be compared with the Maldives.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRacha, General Manager at The Racha, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Daniel K,

It is indeed disappointing that your stay with us has not been outstanding. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the presence of day-trippers. It obviously has affected your general experience with us. Unfortunately, there is not much we can do to stop them from visiting such a beautiful island as all beaches in Thailand are by law public. We wish to emphasize that it is in fact mentioned on our website and brochures that the bay and beach in front of the resort are public areas and used by other boats and tourists from November to April. That said we are fully aware that many of our guests expect a serene holiday environment and it is our goal to ensure our guests’ stay is as relaxing and pleasant as it should be. There are exclusive areas within our property for our guests to enjoy during the busy beach hours and you might be interested to know that there are other secluded beaches on the island. Our staffs are happy to assist with maps and directions and we also provide complimentary use of mountain bikes for easier navigation around the island.

On a more positive note, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our spa treatments, food, and accommodations.

Once again, we are sincerely sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us for the reasons mentioned. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We wish you the best of luck on your future travels.

Kind regards,

Gerard Tan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Racha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Racha

Address: 42/12-13 Moo 5 Rawai, Muang, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Ko Racha Yai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ko Racha Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Racha 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 12 miles south of Phuket on Racha Yai island, The Racha is Thailand's premier deluxe island hideaway. Set on a pristine white-powdery beach and surrounded by the dazzling turquoise waters of the Andaman Sea, this five star resort features 70 stylish villas offering the ultimate in luxurious comfort, from private pool villas with underwater music, to a very unique 5-storey Lighthouse Pool Villa with an observation deck offering panoramic views around the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Racha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Racha Hotel Ko Racha Yai
Racha Hotel Yai Island
Racha Yai Island
Racha Phuket
The Racha Ko Racha Yai, Phuket, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Racha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.