We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel on a great island, however with some service gaps” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Racha

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Racha to your Saves list
The Racha
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   42/12-13 Moo 5 Rawai, Muang, Phuket 83130, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ko Racha Yai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Genf
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Nice hotel on a great island, however with some service gaps”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We are just enjoying our last 48 hours of our 5 day stay on the beautiful island of ko racha in the racha hotel. The hotel offers all you want from a 5 star resort (different pools, nice equipped villas, good restaurants etc). However, the service is not always up to the high aspiration of the hotel. Examples include missing pool towels as of around mid day at the pools and beach (it might take some time even after asking to get one), my table reservation for our anniversary and special table request with view on the sea ended in a view on a big bush also nothing was decorated etc., the offered activities were often not taking place in our case we tried to go snorkeling on the daily trip three times, but it never took place. Hence, overall this really took down the experience. Important to note that the hotel breakfast is great and the hotel even offers everyday some cocktail canapés at about 6 pm. The daily tourist didn't bother us, as the infinity pool overseeing the ocean is much nicer than beachfront. The island overall is great, in the middle is a small village with dive shop and restaurants, also you have another resort with restaurant spa on a separate bay which is much better for snorkeling. Many thanks to Canada for her excellent service at breakfast/pool.

Room Tip: For 2 the normal villa seems perfectly fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRacha, General Manager at The Racha, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear weltenbummler001,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us.

We were pleased to hear our property and facilities met your expectations. However, please accept our sincere apologies for the service shortfalls you experienced during your recent stay with us. Such lapses in service standards are not acceptable to us. Customer satisfaction is a huge focus at our hotel and please be advised that my team and I have taken the necessary corrective action to address the issues you have brought up.

On a positive note, we appreciate your kind compliments on our breakfast and one of our staff.
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your honest feedback. We look forward to serving you better in the future.

Kind regards,

Gerard Tan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    166
    44
    31
    12
See reviews for
104
469
17
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

After 2 Excellent stays at the Racha, it has become my favourite place in the world.
Set on its own Island with the most beautiful bay, the water is crystal clear and the sand pristine.
The room was very stylish and comfortable, with great design. The bathroom was huge, and everything looked very new and fresh.
They have 3 restaurants and after 1 week, I was still loving the food. Lunches by the pool were my favourite.
The service was perfect, and the staff were extremely kind, and could not of been more helpful. I went to the spa numerous times, (not as many as my girlfriend did) and would recommend it to any one, I would say they have the best massages in Thailand. My last stay has been one of best holidays ever, and I cant wait to return next year.

Room Tip: The Junior pool suite I last stayed in had excellent views of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRacha, General Manager at The Racha, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear DavidTexUk,

Thank you so much for writing us an incredible review.

We were happy to hear that you had an “excellent” stay with us again. We truly appreciate your wonderful comments and will share these great words of encouragement with our staff.

It has been our joy and privilege to serve you and your girlfriend and we look forward to being of service to you again when you next return to “your favourite place in the world”.

Kind regards,

Gerard Tan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

no words cant express how amazing the Racha is !! it's just perfect relaxing, happy and enjoyable place.
There you can feel a perfect divine connection with nature,sun and people.
Service is perfect, the people working there were joyful, smiling all the time and helpful also.
The best place you feel like home and i end up crying for leaving it :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRacha, General Manager at The Racha, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear mariamgeorge,

Thank you very much for leaving us an amazing review.

Taking good care of our guests is our top priority and making our guests happy is our absolute joy. We greatly appreciate your very kind comments and will share these words of encouragement with our staff.

It has been our privilege to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Racha soon.

Kind regards,

Gerard Tan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Racha is a beautiful island with stunning views from the hill. The Racha is right at the beach, so most of the villas have a great view. The beach itself is not that great with all the day trippers coming in, and The Racha only has a small section reserved for their guests.

The people working at the front desk were really rude on arrival, and several couples were complaining about their rooms. Not a nice start to your long-awaited holiday! The rooms near the beach are apparently small and not even close to 5 stars. So you need to book a bigger villa which is NOT cheap. We got a nice family villa with private pool, which was clean unlike the smaller ones, but not very homely.

The staff at the restaurant were super friendly and organised all sorts of activities for the kids so that the grown-ups could take their time with dinner. Food was to die for! Unfortunately also literally, because we all got a really bad food poisoning and needed to leave early. Several people got sick at the same time, not very good...

Room Tip: Bigger villas on the hill are the best. The smaller ones near the reception don't have a luxury...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The Racha is just a perfect option if you want to get away from the noisy Phuket for a couple of days - except there is day tripper everyday from 11 am to 4 pm. You better stay within the resort to enjoy the poolssss rather than playing around the beach.

The Racha itself is just ready for photo shoot, everything is well maintained and carefully design, you can just relax and doing nothing. Btw, the music is plug into the pool too, which impress me a lot.

However the ferry transportation is a bit inconvenience. You may purchase the ground + ferry to The Racha from travel agency but the timing is limited - outbound from Phuket around 7:30 am and 3 pm ferry for going back. Every agencies offer the same schedule as they are mainly for day tripper usage. If their itin doesnt fit, you may take the hotel speed boat which is 50% more expensive and you have to arrange the ground transportation; again the timing is limited, the hotel only offers 3 ferry per day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRacha, General Manager at The Racha, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear “HerbertLi”,

Thank you kindly for sharing your feedback.

We were pleased to hear you found our property and facilities “impressive”. We greatly appreciate your noticing how our villas were carefully designed. Striving to be recognized as a leader in responsible and environmentally sustainable tourism happens to be The Racha’s philosophy.

However, I apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced caused by the number of our boat trips in a day. Being located on a deserted island, we do our very best to ensure our boat transfers and logistics run as smoothly and as efficiently as possible.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to being of service to you again when you next return to Phuket.

Kind regards,

Gerard Tan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Magnificent resort! Fantastic views of the Andaman Sea with pristine white sand and clear turquoise waters, right at our door step. There was amazing attention to details in the construction of the resort, to achieve an Eco-friendly environment, while providing 6-star amenities. We stayed at the newest Spa Pool Suite and it was fabulous! the spa pool is large enough to do a mini swim and the room was very spacious. The walls are doubly thick to block out noise and to keep the villa cool. You really do experience a great sense of privacy.
The staff were very friendly, professional and attentive to our needs. When my husband wanted to go fishing with the locals, they were most accommodating and managed to arrange fora local long tail boat totaled us fishing, within 2 hours of our arrival. The restaurant was happy to cook the fish we caught to our desired choice. The next day, we went scuba diving with their PADI dive master, and it was all very exclusive, with no other guests but us. They really make you feel special and that their service is exclusive to you only. Anumba spa services were excellent! I had a wonderful facial and 2 sessions of maasage treatment! We will definitely be back for more pampering!

Room Tip: Splurge on the room as they are certainly well worth the money you pay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRacha, General Manager at The Racha, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Fantasia99,

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback. I have already passed your compliments to the respective teams.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort again soon.

Kind regards,

Gerard Tan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki - Finland
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Racha is an exclusive resort about 30-40 minutes boat ride from Phuket harbour. Facilities are beautiful, the Spa splendid, gorgeous island with several water sport activities available and all you could think of to unwind. Some minor issues though to be aware of and some "good to know" stuff as well.

To get to the resort one usually can book a boat ride from the hotel and there is a lounge for hotel guests on Phuket harbour side. The trip from Phuket international airport takes about 30-50 minutes (depends on the traffic) and costs anything between 650-900 Bath. The resort takes great pride in safe sea fares and they do not transport people to or from the island is the weather conditions are not safe and pleasant, which is not always the case with some of the entrepeneurs in Thailand.

The hotel itself is very beautiful, providing great beaches, several restaurants, a few private bars for hotel guests only, three bigger pools, many private pools included in the villas, a small library, award winning spa, dive centre (and one by Raya divers as well) and a great gym.

But the island itself has a few other hotels, more economical restaurants and hotels as well and all within an easy walking distance. You just need to take yourself by the neck and start walking. You cannot get lost on the island.

But not all is 100% perfect, some minor bumps on the road, but nothing major. People coming to the island for a day trip wondered into the private resort are as well, and unfortunately behaved in a way that caused some issues. Many of the services were intended for hotel guests alone, but the visitors on the island quite unshamefully used the same facilities as well (like showers, towels, toilets etc.) Sometimes during our 4 night stay our room was not cleaned by afternoon, sometimes the staff did not have enough language skills to to understand what we were trying to say (or perhaps it was our lack of skills in Thai language that failed us) and things that in the end, made the experience a four star visit instead of a five star visit. The prices were decent, food was excellent (in all of the restaurants on the island) and the minor problems were indeed minor ones.

The Racha suits couples, honeymooners and families all alike. The only group that might have some problems would be senior citizens due to the fact that you end up walking a great deal during your stay and there are hills within the resort are as well so unless you have managed to get a bungalow near the reception and the restaurants, you might have some issues with the walks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRacha, General Manager at The Racha, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Totti K,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We highly appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are extremely vital for us to continue improving our services and accommodations.

We were pleased to read our property and facilities met your expectations. However, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced caused by the misbehavior of some of the day trippers. Indeed the island attracts a lot of day tourists because of its beauty and what it has to offer. In Thailand, all beaches are public by law so there is really not much we can do to stop them from visiting the island. Rest assured we have taken your feedback very seriously and we will do our best to rectify this problem. Additionally, I apologize for the miscommunication you had with some of our staff. Please be informed that we conduct daily English classes to continually improve the English language skills of our people.

Again, thank you for your honest comments and we look forward to welcoming you to The Racha again soon, assuring you the best of our hospitality.

Kind regards,

Gerard Tan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Racha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Racha

Address: 42/12-13 Moo 5 Rawai, Muang, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Ko Racha Yai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ko Racha Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Racha 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 12 miles south of Phuket on Racha Yai island, The Racha is Thailand's premier deluxe island hideaway. Set on a pristine white-powdery beach and surrounded by the dazzling turquoise waters of the Andaman Sea, this five star resort features 70 stylish villas offering the ultimate in luxurious comfort, from private pool villas with underwater music, to a very unique 5-storey Lighthouse Pool Villa with an observation deck offering panoramic views around the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Racha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Racha Hotel Ko Racha Yai
Racha Hotel Yai Island
Racha Yai Island
Racha Phuket
The Racha Ko Racha Yai, Phuket, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Racha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.