We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed is comfortable and breakfast pretty good too” 4 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Rafters

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added B&B Rafters to your Saves list
B&B Rafters
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Abingdon Rd, Marcham OX13 6NU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Marcham B&B and Inns
London
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Bed is comfortable and breakfast pretty good too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

You turn off the main road and there's a house, an ordinary house with a gravel parking area. Inside there is a greeting from Sigrid and up in your room there are lots of printed signs: about what not to put down the toilet (blockages infuriate the neighbours); about keeping the world cost of cleaning towels down; and about porridge. Porridge? It seems that regular guests believe that the best porridge is Quaker Oats, soaked overnight in a mixture of 1/2 milk and 1/2 water and then cooked. Hmmm.

Sigrid is a very obliging host. In our room were all sorts of useful things. An iPod dock, a notebook, torch, ear-plugs (not needed), hair-dryer, tea and coffee-making facilities, toffees. Bottles of water are free. Outside the room there are videos, books and games to borrow. As you look out the back window over the small garden, you see a small swimming pool for goldfish and beyond that the local rugby team were practising on the playing fields. There is wi-fi but the signal was not strong enough in our bedroom and I didn't try it downstairs.

We slept well in comfortable beds and the shower was excellent. Breakfast was fine. Guests sit around a communal table with the eccentric fountain bubbling away in the background. Good bread to toast yourself; cut fruit with its skin left on; a fry up if you want it; and porridge. Sigrid will serve you porridge any way you want it. I am sure future Scottish visitors would enjoy their stay and Sigrid would not mind another discussion about the best way to make porridge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulip1602, Owner at B&B Rafters, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
We would like to thank ANT42 for taking the time to write this review, the content of which we have been considering very carefully. We always do appreciate constructive criticism.
For the convenience of our guests we have now installed a WiFi range extender to improve signal strength on the first floor and we are in the process of reviewing the amount/content of in-room information.
ANT42 stayed on a special offer rate and their short notice request for both early check-in and late check-out was fulfilled – without any surcharge. 3/5 for value? Hmmm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    12
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
31
13
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Im a little late writing this review but thought i must as the service here was wonderful! We came here for valentines weekend to venture around nearby Oxford. We booked the superior room which has a stunning bathroom with a large free standing bath! The room was lovely, and Sigrid's breakfast making skills wonderful! All in all i would definitly recommend this to all who want that five star experience with a bit more of a personal touch.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Yorkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

In my experience, both Oxford & Cambridge suffer from over-priced, mediocre hotels that trade heavily on overseas visitors with money to spend and little discrimination. I have therefore always sought B&B accommodation in both cities to counter this and, having stayed at Rafters this week (Sun-Wed, 3-6 March), think I have enountered the best so far. I can vouch for all the positive and glowing comments posted here - Sigrid has high standards and works hard to deliver a superior experience. Her home is marked by modern but muted decor,comfortable beds and an excellent breakfast. Sour dough bread with cranberries (!) and home-made preserves, the tinkle of a water fountain at breakfast and a relaxed atmosphere made for an exceptional stay. Heartily recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking to stay in Oxford....Rafters is the place to stay! Stayed at Rafters on 14th Feb. Everything was better than expected, I would defiantly stay again and recommend it. Everything was faultless and breakfast was just incredible.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed with my partner for a night in January, the place was spotlessly clean, really warm, welcoming and beautifully styled. I was met by Sigrid, who was friendly and accommodating (she even went to some lengths to return a hat we left behind after we left)
The bathroom was a real treat, with a lovely powerful shower and some really cute and stylish touches. the bedroom was large and luxurious.
Breakfast was exceptional, freshly cooked, even down to the bread and jam! Homemade touches like this are the cream on top of a great B&B. I've traveled a lot and this is one of the best I've stayed in.
Stay here whenever you can!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is a lovely B and B, we had the grand room with the free standing bath which is big enough for many people, a large walk in shower, a gigantic bed and a balcony. The breakfast was freshly cooked, with homemade breads and jams and freshly squeezed juice. Would recommend strongly, after experiences of mediocore B and Bs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Good food, we really enjoyed the breakfast. Very clean from the moment we walked in. The decor is ultra modern so don't take the name Rafters too literally. Owner very friendly but gave us our space. Would recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Rafters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Rafters

Address: Abingdon Rd, Marcham OX13 6NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Marcham
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Marcham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — B&B Rafters 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Rafters. Join us and discover a place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your B&B Rafters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Rafters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.