We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gorgeous resort,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   168, Moo 6, Layan Beach Soi 4 | Cherngtalay, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Bundarika Villas & Suites, Phuket)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, TN
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“gorgeous resort,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a room with our own private pool, it was lovely,secluded, breakfasts were included and were bountiful, we had several l dinners at the resort and had some of the best thai food we have had evening turn down service was very nice and usually included some type of treat
The hotel is a little far from town so if you stay here don't plan to venture off without a taxi which can be pricey we were visiting family and were lucky enough to have them pick us up when we wanted to go sight seeing. There are tours you can book at the hotel to James Bond Island for a price

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Cody62,

Thanks a lot for your kind comments on our resort. We hope to see you again next time you are visiting family in Phuket.

Kind regards,

Andy Kunz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    24
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
34
98
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We would Like to thank the General Manager Mr Andy Kunz for the quick and professional solution is a small inconvenience,encountered during our stay. It was very nice to be heard and to see the professionalism of management in the care of the guests.
Dear Umberto! Your risotto and ravioli were excellent,and made us happy like in italy!
It was a pleasure to be your guests at the dinner in Sala Layan restoraunt.
We wish the further development and prosperity of this hotel.
Sincerely your Mr. Kuznetsov and mrs. Gurban

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, today
Dear Mr. Kuznetsov and Mrs. Gurban,

It was a great pleasure to have you at Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa and I am please we were able to resolve your small inconvenience. Thanks for your message and I will convey this to Chef Umberto as well.

We look forward to welcome you again to Paradise in the future.

Kind regards,

Andy Kunz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had book a 14 nights at deluxe seaview suite. A very big plus of this hotel for us- is silence and soundproof in the room and really awesome location. We had room #51 - this is the best view i think of all hotels,thanks a lot to reservation team! Air conditioner in the room is the best -so silence,so comfort-just perfect!! The sea is a cristall clear-no garbage,no jellyfish,we love this.
For the first time in Thailand a Big disappointment we have caused the service and attention to guests.
No body know your name after 11 th nights, it is not interested.
Pool boys staff requires training to match the level of 5 stars hotel. After repeated jokes in Russian, we had to tell them to stop .
It upset us.

Generally hotel okay,but not luxury level.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Daria G,

Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read that you found our location awesome, that the room was just perfect and very comfortable and that you had the best view. Our rooms and villas are indeed all very quiet which allows our guests to relax and enjoy a peaceful rest.

On another hand I am sorry about the shortfalls of service an lack of attention to your privacy. Fortunately I had the chance to discuss this with you during your stay and resolve the problems. As you are aware we had discussions with our team at the pool to ensure all our guests can fully enjoy their time. I would like to use this opportunity to once again apologise for the disappointment caused and thank you for bringing this to my attention while still at the resort so I got the chance to rectify the experience.

I know that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and our services and facilities and I look forward to welcome you back to Paradise next time you choose Thailand for your vacation.

Sincerely,

Andy Kunz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My fiancé and I stayed at this resort for 8 nights. Great facilities, beautiful pool, very helpful staff. We have visited Thailand many times before and Anantara resorts have always been impressive. We felt utterly refreshed and rejuvinated.
The private beach is one of the very few that you can easily swim in and enjoy the surrounding spectacular views.
Special mention to chef Pitak at Dee plee restaurant who made amazing food for us every night. Wensday night drinks with the GM was also a nice touch.
Definitely a great place to get away from it all and relax and unwind.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Sabzehzar,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions from your recent stay with us. We are glad that you felt utterly refreshed and rejuvenated. Chef Pitak certainly deserved a special mention, he is a super star and prepares the best Thai food.

We look forward to welcome you again whenever you need to get away from it all and relaz and unwind.

Best regards,

Andy Kunz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My fiance and I stayed for 3 nights in a Premier Room. There's a lot of work still being done in the resort area, though it seems to be for the Anantara Residences rather than for the hotel. Layan is located far from anything else, so all guests have to take expensive/rip-off taxi service wherever you go. It's at least an hour to Kata beach and the busy tourist areas. The best part of our stay is the breakfast every morning and the F&B staff. There's a strong selection of breakfast foods and they make eggs/bacon/sausages fresh. The downside of breakfast is when the cooking gets busy, orders get forgotten/lost (this happened on the Sunday morning we were there). We had lunch at the resort on the first day. It took 1 hour for us to get our food and because it took so long, the staff waived the drinks from our bills. Although that was a nice gesture, we would have been happier if the food just arrived sooner. The reception service was hit-and-miss depending on which receptionist was helping you. Some receptionists were stellar and a couple completely forgot about our requests (booking cars, spas etc). The biggest disappointment about the hotel and Phuket in general is the private taxi scam. Each hotel has a list of taxi companies that they call. However, the charge for the same distance is different every time and non-negotiable (though we did negotiate once we got into the taxi and some drivers were willing to lower the prices.) We noticed that because Anantara Layan is farther away and considered a higher-end hotel, the taxi fare quoted leaving the hotel was always more expensive than getting a taxi back to the hotel. We've complained to the reception about this issue and they've acknowledged that they receive this complaint frequently, but they just blame the taxi companies. It's a disappointment about traveling in Phuket and makes staying in Layan a less than optimal choice. The resort is well-maintained and the rooms were fine.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear JocelynT852,

First of all thank you for choosing Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa for your stay in Phuket. I am glad that you appreciated our breakfast and the F&B staff, that you found our resort well maintained and that your room was fine.

I am sorry to read that you have encountered several inconsistencies with service, especially with forgotten orders at breakfast and the long wait you had on the first day. This is certainly very disappointing and I would like to apologise once again. I will review this with the team to ensure it will not happen again.

As you highlighted, our resort is located on a quiet area of Phuket and therefore going to town requires transportation. The Laguna area which has small restaurants and shops is about 10 minutes away, whereas Phuket Town or Patong are about 45 minutes away.

Transportation on the island is one of the biggest complaints by tourists in Phuket, The taxi and tuk tuk “collectives” have long had an iron grip on the island’s transport services. Unfortunately the hotel has no control over this and we are obliged to apply the rates which have been set. I fully understand that this can tarnish the overall experience as it causes a lot of frustration not just for our guests but also for us at the resort. To our regret this seems unlikely to change any time soon.

We appreciate all your comments and we hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,

Andy Kunz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponangstaymonth=5
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Because of Anantara layan i'd like to visit phuket again. it's one of the precious and hided place. if you step on your foot in this place, you will fall in love with this place. Pool villa, picturesque landscape, and healthy breakfast make your body and mentality healed.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear jihyeont,

Creating memorable experience is our daily goal and it always gives us great pleasure to read the testimonies of our valued guests. Thanks for choosing Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa for your stay in Phuket and we look forward to next time.

Warm regards,

Andy Kunz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BKK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed here for 2 nights. After checked in, we got the invitation from management team to join them the cocktail party at beach side. That was really fantastic. I just knew that was lucky us to staying here on Wednesday. There're have this kind of party just once a week. They served some of canape food with free flow of cocktail drink or wine. Thank you Andy Kunz, general manager. We are really appreciated. During our stay at Anantara Layan, we tried to have dinner at DEE PLEE, the Thai restaurant in the resort. They served all good Thai food, good taste. Also the most impression for us in Anantara Layan is the breakfast. They have the awesome presentation for breakfast. You will feel different definitely. No more boring breakfast! Thank you all the Anantara Layan team, you are professional.

Room Tip: hosted cocktail party by GM on Wednesday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Thanawut GoOd S,

It was a pleasure to have you at Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our services brilliant.

Thanks you for your kind feedback. We hope to see you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Andy Kunz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa

Address: 168, Moo 6, Layan Beach Soi 4 | Cherngtalay, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Bundarika Villas & Suites, Phuket)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#5 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a truly unique tropical hideaway, set prominently on the white sands of Layan beach. This quiet bay with crystal clear waters remains a hidden gem away from the developing beaches of Phuket. A wide range of accommodation options suit your every need; step off your private deck onto the warm sands, or take in a stunning sea view from the hillside. Swim in pristine waters and observe the vibrant sea life below the surface, or explore nearby attractions and nature, learning about local island life. Situated on Layan beach, one of Phuket's most picturesque bays, the resort enjoys a prime location away from busy island life, yet is still conveniently connected to a host of attractions. Just 20 minutes from Phuket International Airport, on the islands west coast, excursions to the Andaman's famed sights are readily available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bundarika Villas And Suites, Phuket
Bundarika Villas & Suites, Phuket Hotel Layan Beach
Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.