We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The location of the resort is a total mistake” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   168, Moo 6, Layan Beach Soi 4 | Cherngtalay, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Bundarika Villas & Suites, Phuket)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
50% Construction Special
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The location of the resort is a total mistake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have 2-night-stay in this hotel in Dec 2014. Part of this resort is still under construction, which has little bit noise during day time.

Hotel staffs are very friendly, very helpful. They help you with any kind of queries and advises. The room we stayed is pretty fine actually, but since the resort is built on the hill, we really need to think and plan thoughtfully about our day activities. If we forget anything in the room, then it will be a long walk and climbing the hill back to the room.

The sea in front of the hotel is generally wasted. You cannot do any sea activities, because it is dead, and smelly. The good part is they offer free bicycle rental, so we rode bikes to the public beach area, which actually we quite enjoyed.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear LilyChenTeli,

Thank you for your comments and for visiting our resort. I am glad that you found all our staff friendly and helpful.
I regret that you did not like the location of our resort, we typically get a lot of praise from our guests about being on a secluded beach away from the hustle and bustle of the Island as well as the great views from our rooms and suites.
Our beach gets affected by the tides however the waters are ideal for paddle boarding, kayaking, windsurfing or sailing on our Hobbycat. These are all part of our complimentary activities in addition to the bicycles.

We hope to see you again, if not in Layan, in any other of the many destinations Anantara counts in its collection, including some very unique properties in the United Arab Emirates.

Best regards,

Andy Kunz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    18
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
25
63
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
York, England
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We rarely return to the same place (so much world to see!) but when we stayed at this beautiful resort hotel earlier this year, my husband had an accident, which left him battered, bruised and on crutches (stay away from those mopeds!), the staff were so marvellous, going way above and beyond the call of duty, that it became a different holiday rather than a ruined one! Our return visit was equally lovely, from the moment we arrived to discover we had been upgraded to a beach villa till we were waved off by half the staff, clutching farewell orchid gifts! The setting is gorgeous, the villas spacious, well-equipped and spotlessly clean and tidy, and there are so many thoughtful touches, such as Panama hats for the men and sarongs for the ladies. The food in both restaurants is fantastic and chef Umberto is a wonderful host as well as an amazing cook! All,the staff are charming and helpful but we will always love Carla and Ploy for all their help on both trips. Cannot recommend this place highly enough - add a cosier bar and it would be perfection!

Room Tip: Go for beach villas if the budget stretches but all villas are gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear tancred1964,

Thank you for returning to Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa and for your amazing recommendation. We are delighted that this visit was as excellent as the first and we will continue working hard to reach perfection...

We agree that there is so much world to see but hope you are already considering your third visit, and if not, we have a lot of Anantaras in some of the great spots of the world. Just let us know we will be happy to assist you anywhere.

Warm regards,

Andy Kunz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staymonth=10
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Must try the Thai restaurant , great food with attentive service , the food quality of the breakfast was the main reason that made me book my next accommodation with Anantara again.

A part of Anantara Phuket was still under construction which didn't matter I reckon they might finish the construction by the time this comment posted.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest,

It gives me immense pleasure to read that the excellent service made your holiday unforgettable. It is great recognition for our associates who go the extra mile every single day to meet and exceed the expectations of our guests. Thanks you for choosing Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa.

We look forward to see you again very soon.

Best regards,

Andy Kunz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were originally booked in here for one night at the end of a week in a villa with friends. Once we arrived we did not want to leave so stayed for another 5 nights. The hotel is so beautiful, relaxed and well worth the money. There are so many little extras that make the experience so complete.

The staff are amazing. The food is excellent. We ate in the Thai restaurant every night! The selection of food for breakfast is excellent and great for health nuts. The Spa is also exceptional.

We had lots of plans to sight see but loved the hotel so much we didn't leave. It is so relaxing. We did the cooking class with Chef Petak and visited the food markets with him in the morning before the lessons and it was amazing. Highly recommended.

We were invited for sunset drinks with the GM also. Great guy.

Overall one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in and would definitely stay here again! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Kate M.

It was such a great pleasure to have you at Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa and we certainly did not want you to leave either. Now that you know where we are you will have to come back soon and often.

Thanks for sharing your experience and see you again in Paradise.

Sincerely,

Andy Kunz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Phuket Layan is a private place that you can hide away from a city life and spend a value time together with your love one. The room is stunning especially a bathroom :) excellent service from all staff there. (special thanks to K. Kaew at front desk who give us all information upon arrival). Don't forget to try their Spa, worth the price and you need to experience Thai food at Dee Plee, the price is quite high but you will not regret it. Both food and service is great. Recommend you to try this hotel and you will love this place like us do.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Manida-Ch,

Thanks for your recommendations and for loving our resort, our Spa and dee plee our Thai restaurant.

Let us know whenever you need another hide away from city life and we will get your room ready.

We look forward to welcome you again at Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa.

Regards,

Andy Kunz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollister,Ca
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent Christmas at the resort, it was very beautiful and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a Villa and the service was great. On Christmas Eve they had a buffet that was very delicious and had a fresh Pasta Bar!! Even the GM walked the hotel every day and made sure ALL guests were happy and had everything they needed. We really enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend! Take the cooking class at Spice Spoons Chef Patik is a wonderful Chef and instructor!

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms 1 villa with beach access and 1 deluxe near beach. Loved having beach access and Sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear dmtm1984,

Thank you for your recommendation and comments. We are glad that we were able to make your Christmas holiday special and hope to see you again next year at Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa.

Wishing you a Happy New Year.

Warm regards,

Andy Kunz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staymonth=12
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very luxurious hotel and very nice hospitality, special atmosphere to honeymooners, recommended for relaxation, elegant furnished, spectacular nature and landscape, charming sea-view breakfast and lunch area



  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear safaa_m_fathy,

Thanks for sharing your comments about our resort and hospitality at Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa. We hope to see you again soon in Paradise.

Warm regards,

Andy Kunz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa

Address: 168, Moo 6, Layan Beach Soi 4 | Cherngtalay, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Bundarika Villas & Suites, Phuket)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#5 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
#5 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a truly unique tropical hideaway, set prominently on the white sands of Layan beach. This quiet bay with crystal clear waters remains a hidden gem away from the developing beaches of Phuket. A wide range of accommodation options suit your every need; step off your private deck onto the warm sands, or take in a stunning sea view from the hillside. Swim in pristine waters and observe the vibrant sea life below the surface, or explore nearby attractions and nature, learning about local island life. Situated on Layan beach, one of Phuket's most picturesque bays, the resort enjoys a prime location away from busy island life, yet is still conveniently connected to a host of attractions. Just 20 minutes from Phuket International Airport, on the islands west coast, excursions to the Andaman's famed sights are readily available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Orbitz, Splendia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bundarika Villas And Suites, Phuket
Bundarika Villas & Suites, Phuket Hotel Layan Beach
Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.