We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing long weekend in Phuket” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   168, Moo 6, Layan Beach Soi 4 | Cherngtalay, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Bundarika Villas & Suites, Phuket)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Long Stay Save up to 25%
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 stars 96 Reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Relaxing long weekend in Phuket”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful grounds located on Layan Beach about 30 mins. from the airport. Currently undergoing some construction of new high end units on the cliff side of the property. We weren't told initially and worried about the noise. Fortunately we were placed in a unit far from the construction, on the beach and didn't notice the construction at all. Room was large with lovely bath/shower, private pool and a separate living room. Beds are very comfortable and you can request the type of pillow that you prefer. Internet worked great and no need to keep entering your password daily. Spa is very nice and clean. Staff is outstanding. Cooking class with Chef Pitok is fabulous! Breakfast was included daily and included a variety of selections. Your never feel like you are getting a limited selection. The staff at this Anantara should be a model for all other hotels. They really get to know you and help you feel welcome from the start. The attention to detail is unbelievable. I would definitely love to return.

Room Tip: Rooms opposite the construction sight are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Kfromm,

Thank you for your kind review and for noticing the attention to detail. Our staff is fabulous and I will ensure to share you nice comments with them.

We would love to have you back.

Best regards,

Andy Kunz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    16
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
24
54
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Staymonth=11
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Amazing place, amazing and very warm people, very interesting culture, such awesome weather. All the employees were so kind. We loved Thai Massage, those girls on the Spa Area are awesome! We just loved it! And we hope that we will come back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear cris_antonie07,

Thank you for your amazing review, we are glad that you loved our resort and also hope to have you back as soon as possible.

Until then, stay well!

Andy Kunz
Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice place for the Weekend Gate away with average service, clean room, nice environment and view. The facilities are complete enough to just spend the time inside the premises. Try the Breakfast with fresh Juices served.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Hartanto_K_Winata,

We cannot agree more! Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa is the perfect place for a weekend gate away. With direct flight to several hubs in Asia it is easy.

Thanks for visiting and hope to see you again next time you need to escape to Paradise.

Best regards,

Andy Kunz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staymonth=11
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed 6 nights in Nov and had a wonderful time in our Front Beach Villa. The hotel only opened this year and everything is very new and "in very good shape". Because of this some staff is also quite "new" and everybody is really working as hard as possible to satisfy all guests.
Unfortunately very close /above the hotel is a construction site for Residences and you can hear the work while your stay at the pool or beach- but as soon as this is finished in a couple of months it will be a quiet hotel and a perfect place to spend your holidays.
The breakfast is simply amazing ! I would say the best I ever had !! We also spent 4 nights for Dinner at the Sala Layan and loved it. Look out for the lovingly small details everywhere - I really loved it !!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear F7409XUmichaelw,

Thanks for sharing your comments about your great vacation in Phuket, we are so glad you had a wonderful time in your Villa on the beach. Also thank you for rating our breakfast as the best one you ever had.
I am sorry if the construction caused any disturbance, luckily the heavy work should be finished early next year and we are actually shutting down the construction site from December 27 to January 5th.

It is all about the little details and we are glad you noticed and loved it.

We hope to see you again in Paradise.

Best regards,

Andy Kunz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna Region, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First of all, we love(d) the Anantara Hotels. Generally. We stayed at the Anantara Golden Triangle in Chiang Rai several years ago and it was magical. I am disappointed, however, in the approach of the Phuket Layan regarding construction on the neighbouring territory. The hotel provides absolutely no information about the construction during the booking process. It is only when the reservation is made and cash paid that the hotel informs the guest about the construction. The letters to the client suggest the construction is not overly intrusive; the letter to the travel agents says that the construction is out of their control. Reports from guests suggest that the construction may not be that noticeable, however, regardless of that, we do not believe that the hotel is being straightforward in how it deals with this situation. I will not be going to an Anantara again.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear ClaveninSouth,

Firstly I’d like to personally thank you for choosing Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa for your stay on the island. I sincerely regret that we were not able to repeat the magic you experienced at Anantara Golden Triangle.

As you rightly mentioned, there is indeed construction of residences above our resort, and we are ensuring we keep all our partners (tour operators and travel agents) informed on the progress of the work. Please rest assured that there is certainly no intention to hide this fact from our guests and we are doing everything possible to minimise disturbance. While the construction is going on, our team are doing a fabulous job to ensure all guests have an enjoyable and memorable stay within the resort, and luckily the vast majority of our guests have highlighted this in their reviews.
Again I do apologise that the situation has caused you great disappointment and I remain hopeful that you will reconsider your position of not revisiting us or any other Anantara, as we have a great collection of splendid hotels and resorts that can’t wait to enchant you with more magical moments.

Best regards,
Andy Kunz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was the little things that impressed our family at the Anantara Layan..... little 'gifts' left in the room, contagious, genuine smiles from ALL of the staff, complimentary drinks served throughout the day by the pool.....

The location is beautiful, set in a bay, nestled in the hills. For avid beach goers, they may be disappointed as the sea is not as clear as much of the islands' best beaches, and the tide moves a fair distance, leaving low tide a shallow rock pool. However, for my family it was perfect. From the pool and restaurant the views were spectacular. The high tide made good and safe play for the kids; the low tide allowed us to go crabbing and coral collecting. We rented a car and headed out to other beaches to get the full day at the beach experience.

The food was superb. The chef is one of the best I've come across, with breakfast nothing short of spectacular and the evening dining delicious and reasonably priced.

The room, although not huge, was welcoming and cosy, with a great bath and views.

At present, there is construction on the hills above. This didn't cause any disruption in the rooms, but it did take a little of the magic away from floating in the sea - a non-intrusive but ever-present backdrop of construction sounds as oppose to the gentle sound of the sea lapping the shore.

The service was second-to-none. It appears all staff members are happy in their jobs and genuinely want visitors to the resort to have a great time.

In all, a fantastic and memorable experience. We'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear johnrcotton,

It was a great pleasure to have you and your family and we are delighted that you had a fantastic and memorable experience, enjoyed the amazing service and great food. Our breakfast always becomes a topic of conversation at the resort and gets highlighted in most of guest reviews as well, it certainly sets up every day for a great day. And what better day than enjoying the beach with the kids running after crabs or just lazing in the warm waters of the Andaman Sea.

Thank you for visiting and we certainly look forward to welcome you back soon on your next trip to beautiful Phuket.

Best regards,

Andy Kunz
Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is my third stay in a Anantara Resort and we were very happy. I stayed there for 4 nights with my wife and 4 year old son in Nov 2014.

We booked a 'Van' and as we booked a pool villa, we had VIP service at the airport and was met by a rep before baggage claim and did not need to queue up at the immigration. This was nice as there was a long line.

As we arrive early in the morning, the villa was not ready. We were ushered to the library where there is air conditioning and we can sort of get away from the heat. I walked to the spa and told the staff there of our situation. I was thinking of booking a spa treatment for either my wife and I while waiting. The spa people were nice enough to offer their 'relaxation room' for my family. The relaxation room has snacks, water, comfortable couches for us to rest. It was perfect.

In total we had a total of 5 treatments (one of them a couple treatment) during our 4 night stay at the spa. We are very happy with the spa's staff. The therapists' welcome and poise are also very warm and professional. The treatment is also faultless.

When we were at the villa, the found that the pool is quite 'small' compared to our previous stay at Anantara Phuket Villa. But it was adequate enough. There is an 'opening' which faces a 'river' and there are boats which will go pass so it is not completely 'private'.

The room is of an adequate size. We did not make use of the outdoor shower at all. somehow it does not look nice. The bath tub is in a nice little niche and looks very romantic.

The bed is comfortable and is big enough for all three of us. No complaints on the room/villa.

The breakfast was pretty good. The 'juice' is not good at all. However, there is a wide enough selection. The staff at the restaurent ais very nice.

We also had room service as well as ate at the Thai Restaurent at the hill side. The Thai place is a little more 'posh'. The presentation of the food and the service was top notch. However, the taste is only so-so IMHO.

We spent time playing at the main pool as well. it is next to the bar and although well used during the peak late morning early afternoon hours, has enough space for everyone.

My son had two stays at the kids club. The kids club is small and both times, he seemed to be the only kid there. But he was fine. The first time, the staff brought him back to the villa after the 2 hour that we said we need is up. We told the kids club staff that we are at the villa when we drop him off.

The 2nd time at the kids club, my wife and I walk over to the spa to enjoy a couple treatment.

What I really like is the very friendly service from the staff. We feel so welcome and so taken care of. I will definitely recommend this resort to anyone travelling to Phuket.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Woon T,

I am very glad to read that we were able to meet your expectations and appreciate your positive feedback. As a valued guest of our brand we thank you for choosing Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa and hope you will soon have a fourth enjoyable stay in one of our wonderful hotels.

I will certainly share your comments with our staff, they will appreciate hearing that you enjoyed their friendly service.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance for any of your future bookings in a MINOR hotel or resort.

Best regards,

Andy Kunz
akunz@anantara.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa

Address: 168, Moo 6, Layan Beach Soi 4 | Cherngtalay, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Bundarika Villas & Suites, Phuket)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#5 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
#5 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a truly unique tropical hideaway, set prominently on the white sands of Layan beach. This quiet bay with crystal clear waters remains a hidden gem away from the developing beaches of Phuket. A wide range of accommodation options suit your every need; step off your private deck onto the warm sands, or take in a stunning sea view from the hillside. Swim in pristine waters and observe the vibrant sea life below the surface, or explore nearby attractions and nature, learning about local island life. Situated on Layan beach, one of Phuket's most picturesque bays, the resort enjoys a prime location away from busy island life, yet is still conveniently connected to a host of attractions. Just 20 minutes from Phuket International Airport, on the islands west coast, excursions to the Andaman's famed sights are readily available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bundarika Villas And Suites, Phuket
Bundarika Villas & Suites, Phuket Hotel Layan Beach
Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.