We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Superb Hideaway Resort in Phuket!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   168, Moo 6, Layan Beach Soi 4 | Cherngtalay, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Bundarika Villas & Suites, Phuket)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase 25% off
Ranked #3 of 16 hotels in Choeng Thale
Manama, Bahrain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Absolutely Superb Hideaway Resort in Phuket!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our recent stay at Anantara Layan in Phuket has been amazing. From the superb Pool Villa (an upgrade on behalf of Global Hotel Alliance), to the amazing resort facilities, and from the food and drinks in the restaurants to the always fantastic and personalized service… we couldn’t possibly flaw this brand new resort. A big thumbs up and an even bigger THANK YOU to Andy and his team!

Upon arrival we were escorted to an amazing pool villa. Everything had been considered with us as guests in mind. The lay-out of the villa, the private entrance, the furniture, the comfort of the beds, the separate him & her sinks in the very spacious bathroom, the sunken bath tub, the outdoor shower… everything just perfect.

The location of the Anantara Layan Resort is somewhat off the beaten track but relatively close to the airport. Situated right on the beach in a secluded bay on the west coast, north of Patong, the views are breathtaking. The infinity pool and the water sports equipment kept us all occupied. Our daughters got “hooked” on the Kids Club, where Miss Pecky came up with new exciting projects and adventures every day, leaving us grown-ups with plenty of “free time” to enjoy ourselves in other parts of the resort. A comfortable 4WD taxi would bring us to all major sites on the island within 15-30 minutes.

The service around the pool (and in the rest of the hotel!) was intuitive and only there when we needed it, leaving us otherwise to our own. At turn-down, the team surprised us time and again with thoughtful and creative creations, including some of the local tropical fruits and lots and lots of chocolate. Miss Boom and her colleagues at the reception were always available with great tips for things to do or to visit. The entire Anantara team went out of their way to provide us with excellent service, creating an amazing holiday experience.

Breakfast is served on a terrace overlooking the pool and the beach beyond. A selection of fresh fruits, home-made yoghurts, different cheeses, and – of course – our eggs cooked to perfection any way we wanted them. Fresh fruit juices and our morning coffee appeared at our table automatically from the 2nd day onwards. We sometimes ordered lunch at the pool side or back in our villa. The quality of the food not once let us down – very impressive. One evening it rained cats and dogs (Monsoon Season!) – nevertheless Room Service served us our dinner and it was perfect. Dinner in DeePlee – the authentic Thai restaurant with breathtaking views over the entire resort and the bay – was simply sensational. And just when we were wondering whether we would get bitten by the odd mosquito, a young waitress showed up with a special spray for our legs and arms. Again – Everything Considered.

Anantara Layan – Well Done – we are fans for life!

Room Tip: The Seaview Suites are very spacious and come with a stunning balcony, overlooking the resort. The l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
24
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The resort is simply beautiful. If you want a quiet get away, this place is highly recommended. We stayed in a Sala beach villa and was very surprise by the size of the villa and the pool. I thought the pool will be small but it was actually a very decent size pool. The breakfast is yummy especially the egg Benedict and pancake. Good kids menu.

If you have the time, do visit the spa which is located on a hillside cliff. The environment is super relaxing and the view from the spa rooms is simply amazing. The price is a little high though.

We took a meter taxi from the airport (cost about 400bhat) The hotel do provide pick up service but it will cost about 2000bhat. If you intend to take a meter taxi from the airport, do bring along the full address of the hotel as our taxi driver actually lost his way. I guess the resort is still fairly new and not many taxi drivers know the way.

I thought I should mention that the beach is not the highlight of this resort. If you want a beautiful beach, then it will be better to choose another resort. Overall we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Icedex,

Thank you for recommending Anantara Phuket Layan Resort &Spa for a quiet get away. The resort is indeed beautiful and our Sala Pool villas amongst others are very generous in size. Our Spa offers amazing views as well as a wide selection of treatments.
All our guests keep raving about our breakfast selection and all the yummy dishes.

Like every coastline in Thailand, our beach is considered the property of the King or in other words public property. In Phuket there are no private beaches. However the unique aspect of our location ensures a very private and quiet experience. Our sandy beach is quite shallow, therefore influenced by high and low tides but allows for year round swimming.

The entire team joins me to invite you to come and stay with us again, so we look forward to welome you back for an other wonderful time.

Sincerely,

Andy Kunz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a group trip at this resort for the last weekend, Quiet and relaxing at the resort. Very good breakfast. We had an incredible sea side dinner with a fire show, all of my colleague had a memorable time and we all wish to come back next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Ada T,

Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa is the perfect location for incredible sea side dinners, it was a delight to welcome you and your group and we are very happy that we were able to provide you with a memorable time.
We also wish you to come back next year.

Until then we send you our smiles from Paradise.

Cordially,

Andy Kunz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 5 nights at one of the pool villas and it was absolutely lovely. We got the complimentary fast track at immigration which was a breeze,no standing in long ques at the air port. Breakfast spread was vast so you don't get bored with the same menu all the time,especially if your staying for more that 2-3 days. Quality of service was excellent from all staff be it front desk, restaurants, poolside, kids club and the spa. The beach is very quiet and the hotel is not central to most of the touristy spots of Phuket, although that didn't bother us as we enjoyed the private pool, beach and the spa. Wife and I had a couple of relaxing massages at the spa while our 6 year old was at the kids club. Really relaxing and chilled out place. Unfortunately, we couldn't try the Thai restaurant at the hotel as it was closed most days. Overall it was a relaxing and amazing place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Rajeev R,

We are pleased to read that you had a relaxing stay in our amazing place. Thank you for staying with is and for rating our service as excellent. We are looking forward to welcome you again to Paradise.

Regards,

Andy Kunz
Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful property, amazing villas and lovely staff all around. Service was excellent and the staff are very attentive. Planned a few trips through concierge and they were great.

A bit far from what Phuket has to offer but the resort has great value for money and their Thai restaurant is one of the best I've been to, you have be there around the weekend to try it as it's not open 7 days a week due to some construction works on their residence. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Tee_S_80,

Thank you for choosing Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa for your stay in beautiful Phuket. we are delighted t read that you found the property beautiful, the staff attentive and the service excellent. Deeplee our Thai restaurant serves amazing dishes from all over Thailand, thank you for rating it as one of the best you have been to.

We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to see you again soon in Paradise.

Kind regards,

Andy Kunz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nizwa, Oman
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this resort for 10days in April. The quality of the service was incredible. Nothing was an issue. The breakfast buffet was by far the best we have ever had. The pool was very nice and the villa was incredible.
This hotel is located in a very secluded bay far from everything, so if you want peace and quiet this is the place for you.
The beach itself is not nice at all, the tide is in only a few hours a day and the sand feels like mud; however, about 200m away there is an excellent beach that is great to swim on. We used the paddle boards to reach there and swim for a while every day.
We had a special dinner included in our package, and although the booking/setting up was quite confusing for the staff (we had to talk to them 3-4 times for it to happen) the end result was an incredible and delicious beach romantic evening.
We would definitely go back to this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Sofia D.

Thank you for your testimony. It was a delight to serve you for your honeymoon and we look forward to see you again in Paradise. Maybe for an anniversary?

Best regards,

Andy Kunz
Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

My wife and I took a trip to Phuket in April and decided to try all of the Anantara resorts in Phuket. It was our first chance to stay at Anantara Phuket Layan. The resort is the ideal getaway and is removed from the busy over crowded areas in the south of Phuket. The private beach front was a real highlight and also the pool was perfect for relaxing. The accommodation was a high standard. We stayed in a Deluxe Pool Villa, however I would recommend to spend the extra money and book one of their beach front villas. The services at the resort were also of a high standard. From the attention to detail shown by the room maids to the amazing breakfast prepared by the kitchen staff, all aspects of the stay were impressive. Management also were present and interacting with guests around the resort. A special thanks to Chef Umberto and the Resort Manager Carla for making our stay memorable. Overall we can highly recommend Anantara Phuket Layan.

Room Tip: Beach Front Layan Pool Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy K, General Manager at Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Dylan C,

An excellent review for an excellent stay! Thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcome you and your wife back to Paradise.

Best regards,

Andy Kunz
Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa

Address: 168, Moo 6, Layan Beach Soi 4 | Cherngtalay, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Bundarika Villas & Suites, Phuket)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#2 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a truly unique tropical hideaway, set prominently on the white sands of Layan beach. This quiet bay with crystal clear waters remains a hidden gem away from the developing beaches of Phuket. A wide range of accommodation options suit your every need; step off your private deck onto the warm sands, or take in a stunning sea view from the hillside. Swim in pristine waters and observe the vibrant sea life below the surface, or explore nearby attractions and nature, learning about local island life. Situated on Layan beach, one of Phuket's most picturesque bays, the resort enjoys a prime location away from busy island life, yet is still conveniently connected to a host of attractions. Just 20 minutes from Phuket International Airport, on the islands west coast, excursions to the Andaman's famed sights are readily available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bundarika Villas & Suites, Phuket Hotel Layan Beach
Bundarika Villas And Suites, Phuket
Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Phuket Layan Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.