We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Surin Phuket

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Surin Phuket to your Saves list
The Surin Phuket
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   118 Moo 3, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 stars 761 Reviews
derbyshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“the best!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

We travelled to thailand sept 08 and can honestly say it was the best holiday we have had so far. We paid a little extra for beach side villas but this was well worth the money. The hotel consists of individual villas which we thought was really nice as it feels very private and exclusive. The beach is incredible and breathtaking and having done a bit of travelling to nearby places we definately had the best beach. The holiday was totally relaxing and we lived at our own pace. The hotel is quiet and the only people that are around the hotel and on the direct beach is either the chedi's hotel guests, the hotel next doors guests or staff which makes is special.
We booked ourselves on to several trips, visiting phiphi islands and 'The Beach' from the film.

I cannot make a single even slightly demeaning comment about the hotel, surrounding areas or trips we took part in. We have spent this kind of money on other holidays such as to cape verde islands and they do not even compare! If your interested - go for it!!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    192
    48
    27
    16
See reviews for
151
424
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

We enjoyed very much our 6 days stay at the Chedi, especially because of the location : a wonderful beach, white sand and clear water, lovely bungalows under coconut trees, a very natural site, not like in most places in phuket were concreet dominates in a sometimes horrible manner!! So, if we were to retun to Phuket, which I doubt we will, because there are so many unspoiled beaches to discover, we would definitely return to the Chedi. We have beeen visiting different beaches ans hotels and most often either the hotel is not ON the beach (Twinpalm) or the beach is not very clean and difficult to swim (Indigo Pearl). So we were very happy with our choice. Swimming pool is large and very well situated. The bungalows themselves are nice but not especially well designed (like for exemple the Zazen in Samui) and they are getting old... Breakfast is very good but lunch or dinner at restaurant is under average and expensive !

Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minsk
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

The best of the hotel is its private beach. But if the hotel is fully booked, there are not enough chairs for everyone. The swimming pool is close to the beach and is also very ok. Its not 5 stars deluxe as Amanpuri, but there is something that makes you want to come back there!
The hotel provides free shuttle bus to Patong (20-25 min) everyday and it’s very comfortable. There are also some good restaurants 10 min walking distance from the hotel.
Would like to thank to the people writing the reviews, they have been very useful in choosing the place to stay during 2 weeks of our holidays!!! In Patong we found the restaurant named Sea Hug and it was really great!! Thanks a lot)))

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

The Chedi shares a great beach with the Aman resort. It is one of the best beaches in Phuket and quite private. The Chedi takes advantage of it and does some amazingevenings on the beach. A room on hte sand, costs a little more but is well worth the money. The biggest problem of the Chedi, like many other hotels on thecliffs, is the number of stairs you need to climb to go to the reception and the spa. But at least if you are staying on the seafront you are taking full advantage of the sea and the pool.

The food is cery good and the service too.

Recommended for couples, like us, who need to be on less crowded beaches. Avoid the time of the year we went , October, as weather still very windy, not ideal.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

We arrived at the resort and felt immediately welcome. The resort is built on a sloping hill heading down to a private beach. There beach was lovely and quiet (but there were still locals providing massages / beverages if you wanted them). We had a hut two rows back from the beach which was great because the sloping hill means that nearly all the huts have a good view.
Food was good at the restaurants, entertainment was good (there was a "traditional Thai" evening which we thought was great. We also hired a moped and drove down to Patong which was a fun drive and a good distance for a ride. (15 - 20 mins). There are local establishments in walking distance and plenty within a short moped.

-ve's: With three typhoons in Philippines during our honeymoon there was not much opportunity to swim in the ocean.
There are a lot of stairs at the resort which would be hard for less mobile people but meant that most villas had a good view and some privacy.
The bed was squeaky. Not so good for a honeymoon!

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

The Chedi has been on our minds since our stay there in April 08, it was a total WOW.
It is a very nice treat, not as high-end as the Amanpuri next door but it is more authentic in its design, the decor and the huts and the spa are very thai, gives you the real exotic touch which I personally love. The spa is really exceptional, it's like a temple in the middle of the tropical rainforest. the swimming pool is perfect. the beach is great and the hotel provides snorkkling / even windsurfing materials for guests so that's really great. Service is perfect, very genuine people and they are so kind and sincere from the heart. For their level I was surprised there was no bathtub, it was only a shower.
Some might find the stair from the hill to the beach a problem but it did not disturb us at all.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

The hotel, comprised of a main buildings and guest bungalows, has a spectacular setting along a hillside with sea facing views. Wow. It's such a delight after a very long series of flights from the States to arrive to a beautiful location and be welcomed by such a lovely staff. The weather was perfect and lended itself to a marvel of a vacation. The hotel breakfast is varied, fresh, delicious, and plentiful, and can be enjoyed in the open air dining rooms or outside overlooking the sea. The restaurant along the beach is fantastic and such a treat for lunch. Were it not for the length flights, I would go back every year.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Surin Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surin Phuket

Address: 118 Moo 3, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Choeng Thale
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#3 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#3 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
#5 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#5 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Surin Phuket 4.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surin Phuket is an exclusive beach retreat for discerning travelers, families and couples seeking relaxation and indulgence in a serene beachfront setting. A member of Design Hotels™ and located on the tranquil Pansea Beach on the west coast of Phuket Island, Thailand.Offering a total of 103 hillside and beachfront cottages and suites all discreetly built into a carefully conserved landscape amidst coconut trees and gently sloping down to meet a small coral reef. The Surin, Phuket offers a contemporary Thai experience in timeless simplicity and modern sophistication. Shaded by a canopy of coconut trees and joined together by a network of jungle walkways the Hillside Cottages are just the things for guests who wish to experience a tropical rustic experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Surin Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surin Phuket Hotel Thalang
Chedi Phuket Hotel Thalang
Chedi Phuket Thalang
Chedi Hotel Phuket
The Surin Phuket Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Surin Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.