We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it. Cannot wait to return.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Surin Phuket

Save Saved
You added The Surin Phuket to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Surin Phuket
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   118 Moo 3, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly The Chedi Phuket)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Downunder
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Loved it. Cannot wait to return.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We spent a fantastic week at The Surin. Perfect weather and location. The Great Bits: breakfast, beach, gym. The Good Bits: room, staff, pool. The Bad Bits: the stairs. Breakfast was great each day with an impressive range of local fruits. Few reviews commented on the stairs from the beach to the reception. Our cottage was level with breakfast area and reception. So you can walk easier out of the resort to nearby local restaurants but get you get a work out each time you go to the beach. But it's not that bad in fact it's perfect for burning off those wonderful curries. The beach was perfect and largely private for the 2 resorts on the beach. Yes the family which runs the "private" beach bar are fantastic. We will return.

We did a day trip with Phuket Sail Tours: Phang Nga Bay in a speed boat which was great and a thai cooking school with Phuket Thai Cookery which was excellent. You start with a wet market tour was very interesting.

Room Tip: If you want to spend all day at the beach/pool then choose beach front. If you want to leave the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMoreira, General Manager at The Surin Phuket, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Loved it. Cannot wait to return....

We all will be waiting your return, meanwhile thank you for such a positive review.

Thank you!
MHM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    176
    46
    26
    16
See reviews for
137
390
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Just came back from another great vacation at The Surin and had a wonderful stay.

->The staff were excellent as always (special Kudos to Lek, Tan, and Sara who made the stay that much better with their personal attention, smiles, and service!).

->Our room was great - spacious and clean - and the bed very comfortable.

->The food was excellent - love the breakfast with fresh fruits/juices, and eggs, waffles, pancakes etc made to order. Need to be sure the cappuccinos come out HOT (had a few that were barely warm).

->The beach area was fantastic as always and really one of the best beaches in all of Phuket. Wonderful white sand, emerald green water, and plenty of "water toys" for the more active and adventurous.

I think the combination of the great staff and outstanding beach make this the best bang for the buck on the planet.

My only concern: parking. We rented a car and consistently had to park far away up the hill from the entrance because the Surin's own vehicles were parked in the slots closest to the entrance. I would think the guests should have priority for the slots closer to the entrance for parking.Do hope this is addressed before our next visit.

Room Tip: Try to get a room closer to the beach if you don't like stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMoreira, General Manager at The Surin Phuket, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Another Day in Paradise - Fantastic Stay at The Surin!...

The Paradise will be waiting for your return!
Thank you to share with all your overall experience.
Suggestion for all the Guests who rent a car, please do not hesitate to ask the assistance of our Bellman at the door or Receptionists, they will be more than pleased to help you.

Thank You!
MHM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Beautiful hotel set on the beach, very private and relaxing, friendly staff and obviously beautiful setting. On of my best trips, probably best for couples but also family friendly. Only problem was that rooms smelt a little bit of humidity but I was there in December which is the end of the monsoon season so I guess that should have been expected. Other than that would highly recomend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMoreira, General Manager at The Surin Phuket, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Beautiful hotel set on the beach, very private and relaxing, friendly staff ....

Thank you for your so positive review, all the comments are important for us.
It has been a pleasure for us to receive you and we hope to have the same pleasure to receive you again in a near future.

Thank you
MHM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was our 5th visit to Thailand, 4th to Phuket. We were a bit hesitant about going back to Phuket, as our last visit was to Koh Samui. We were looking for an area away from Patong, but close enough to travel into there, if we wanted to. 15mins in taxi/tuk tuk.

Arrived late evening, after a full day of travel. Our greeting pleasant and very efficient, our room was ready and we felt the internet pictures were realistic. We were not dissapointed.
Everything was as we had hoped - fantastic!

Breakfast was more than adequate. We stayed for 10 nights and I was satisfied with the quality and variety. My son loved how the man who made the pancakes for him came up with a diferent animal shape each day. My wife was sick one day and the breakfast staff were concerned and only too helpful in sending some breakfast to our room for her. A nice and helpful touch.

The pool and beach area is gorgeous. After breakfast my son (9 yo) and I needed to burn some energy and the boathouse crew were only too happy to get involved in a game of beach soccer. This was a part of the day that we both really looked forward too. My son is a good footballer but Sam and the others were toying with us!

We too were a little surprised to find the gym not open or informed prior. Everyone has great intentions to use the gym, but really how often do you go to the gym on holidays? A swim or walk on the beach is much more pleasant. The renovation didn't annoy us greatly as we found they only worked about an hour a day on the jackhammers if that ,so we just moved to the beach lounges and you couldn't hear the noise.

The pizzas from the Beach Bar were delicious, and always a nice break from asian food.

We chose to stay in a Deluxe Cottage as we wanted to be close to the beach and not too far from the amenities. Yes there are some stairs but really they are good form of exercise, and there is plenty of flora and fauna to look at. I think the hillside cottages would be a little difficult for someone not good with stairs.

On the morning of our 5th day The Surin needed to do some maintenance near our cottage and we were asked if we would mind being upgraded to a Beach Suite - hard desision -Yes!. Rooms were of the same standard but larger and with more balcony space, closer to the beach. This room had an issue with the ceiling and after one night we were offered a further upgade to a Two Bedroom Beach Suite. A bit of a hassle having to pack twice but more than adequately made up for by the larger room. Well done Surin a great outcome for a minor problem.

We were sad to go and when the staff found out we were leaving they all made us feel special with their genuine goodbyes.

Marie (GM) Surin you have great staff.

Would gladly recommend this resort to my family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMoreira, General Manager at The Surin Phuket, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Everything was as we had hoped - fantastic!.

Thank you for your recommendation and so positive comments.
All the Team of the Surin Phuket is waiting for your return!
Please feel free to contact me I will be pleased to assist you during your reservation process.

Thank you!
MHM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at The Surin after spending 4 days at another hotel on the other side of the Island. It was a great contrast to the other hotel with its temple like reception & restaurant/pool areas and its neatly spaced & situated cottages on the hillside overlooking the beach. From the moment you arrive you are greeted by friendly staff & you immediately get a sense of peace & tranquility when you set foot in the lobby.

We stayed in a hillside cottage which was more than adequate for ourselves & our 7 yr old son. Good size room, beautifully presented in a very peaceful jungle setting.

The pool area is extremely relaxing & very close to the beach if you prefer. The day we arrived was beautiful & sunny which was welcome after several days of rain. We decided to spend the afternoon by the pool swimming & relaxing. Sadly, after the first hour, we had to leave, as they were renovating the gym using a jack hammer!!! Our peaceful relaxing afternoon was then spoilt. However, the hotel staff noted our displeasure & were very apologetic & offered us two free massages at their gorgeous peaceful spa at the top of the hill. This was a very nice gesture. The only thing I would say is that we were disappointed we were not notified of the renovations prior to our arrival. It would have been good to be able to make an informed choice as to whether to change hotel or not. The next three days it rained so we did not spend time by the pool, however, if the weather had been good it is very unlikely we would have been able to relax by the pool due to the ongoing renovations.

The beach bar staff were very friendly & made good cocktails. The restaurant by the pool was very nice for lunch with a great setting overlooking the pool & sea. The breakfast buffet was not the best we have had in Phuket and a little bit of work could be done in this area.

Overall in summary, great hotel, very friendly staff & somewhere we would return to relax (assuming renovations are finished!!!!). The Surin beach area is a nice quiet little village 15 mins only from the hustle bustle of Patong. Surin beach has some great little restaurants both down the main road outside hotel & along the beach.


Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMoreira, General Manager at The Surin Phuket, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
The pool area is extremely relaxing & very close to the beach if you prefer....


Thank you for taking your time to share with all Travelers your comments.
All comments are very important for us to improve our service.
If you allow me, I would like to explain that the works you mentioned were not renovations, but an emergency work, we had to do due to an unexpected and unfortunate flood which has completely damaged our gym. To make sure that our guests could re use this area in a reasonable delay we had to proceed. I do apologize if it has caused an inconvenient to our guests during this period.
All the Team of the Surin Phuket will be waiting for your return.
Regards to your family and once again thank you !

MHM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had our wedding at The Surin during end of Sep and it was an amazing experience. The beach & setting was just absolutely beautiful. Our wedding coordinator, Khun Bat, was extremely helpful by doing everything she could to accommodate many of our request- including ordering a different flowers color at the very last minute so the photos of me walking down the isle would look amazing, proposing different types of drink package to fit our needs/budget, arranging the most conveniently located room for my elderly parents and finally answering all our inquiries with detail and professionalism. The service of the other staffs at the Surin was also excellent. They always greet you wholeheartedly and be as helpful as possible. Man of our guests told us that the wedding is one of the most romantic & beautiful destination wedding they have ever been to. Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMoreira, General Manager at The Surin Phuket, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
a memorable wedding...

Congratulations once again! It has been also a great pleasure to share this Memorable Moment with you!
Thank you for choosing The Surin Phuket and we hope to have the pleasure to celebrate with you your first anniversary! Who knows...Khun Bat is ready!

Thank You ! ขอขอบคุณ!
MHM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We arrived in Phuket without any booking on accommodation. Surin was our last minute choice and it was a heavenly experience didn't regret at all although its very pricey but worth every penny. If you in Phuket and want to stay on the beach, wants a perfect beach and nice hotel, Surin is your best choice. Why?
1. Hotel located right on the best beach in Phuket (clean white sands & private thats Surin beach)
2. Hotel landscape so huge & amazing as the area consist of a greener forest, hills & beach
3. The area is very relaxing, quite & just nice
4. Hotel room was great too nice modern contemporary
design & clean (the view is majestic you can see the ocean & wave 24-7!)
5. Restaurants are 5 minutes walk (buffet breakfast in the hotel was served in a restaurant facing seaview)
6. Almost 100% perfect - check in was delayed we arrived at 7pm, room wasn't ready, Surin is one if the last two hotel at the end of Phuket beach so it was quite far from famous Patong beach, the service was ok, room service stop at 10pm! And no bathtub in the room unless u stay at the beach front bungalow.

I will definitely recommend The Surin Phuket!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHMoreira, General Manager at The Surin Phuket, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
The Surin Phuket is WOW!!!...

Is always a pleasure to count on our Guests to promote us, we can only be motivated to improve.
We all will be waiting for your return, until the day Thank you for sharing with us your experience.

Thank You ! ขอขอบคุณ!
MHM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Surin Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surin Phuket

Address: 118 Moo 3, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly The Chedi Phuket)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Choeng Thale
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#4 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
#4 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#5 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#5 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Surin Phuket 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surin Phuket is an exclusive beach retreat for discerning travelers, families and couples seeking relaxation and indulgence in a serene beachfront setting. A member of Design Hotels™ and located on the tranquil Pansea Beach on the west coast of Phuket Island, Thailand.Offering a total of 103 hillside and beachfront cottages and suites all discreetly built into a carefully conserved landscape amidst coconut trees and gently sloping down to meet a small coral reef. The Surin, Phuket offers a contemporary Thai experience in timeless simplicity and modern sophistication. Shaded by a canopy of coconut trees and joined together by a network of jungle walkways the Hillside Cottages are just the things for guests who wish to experience a tropical rustic experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Surin Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surin Phuket Hotel Thalang
Chedi Phuket Hotel Thalang
Chedi Phuket Thalang
Chedi Hotel Phuket
The Surin Phuket Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Surin Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;