We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not even consider this resort” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Anchan Resort and Spa

Anchan Resort and Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Anchan Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Anchan Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   325 Moo 2, T. Cherngthalae, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Tonsai Retreat)   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore
1 review
“Do not even consider this resort”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

we were rather disappointed when we arrived at the resort lobby which is definitely not impressive as suggested as a Luxury Villa...
We asked for motorbike rental at the resort as it seems to be way off any main roads. Good thing was the receptionist gave us a discount only after we asked for it. When we were ushered to the villa we were not impressed as what was seen on the website. I was hoping for a luxurious room to feel better about this. The room was spacious but not luxurious! I felt quite cheated for being brought all the way out of Kata/Karon area just for this low quality resort.
We tried to make the best out of this by staying out most of the times riding on the motorbike which brings us to everywhere. The road going back to the resort was really dark with no lights at all for certain parts..very scary for 2 person in foreign land actually. Breakfast was really bad!!!!!!!! Pls...do not consider this resort,waste time and money. My previous choice was very much better - Malissa Villa Suites at Karon. 5 star!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2008

This place is terrible.We booked for 3 weeks, arrived....was totally dissapointed,didnt look anything like on the websites we looked at.We looked at many websites and pictures of the Anchan.TRUST US, it is nothing like the web pictures.We walked straight out again !! Came across The Andaman Seaview Resort, in town run by Nathan and Sri Very nice couple, Great Hotel, Checkout the Andaman Review.The Beach from the Anchan is over 25 minutes walk NOT 5 mins as stated. The suite we booked was dark, smelly, dirty,the loo didnt work, the decking outside had weeds growing up it, the place is old and desperatley needs a lick of paint with a large makeover.The tiles around the pool were chipped badly.The restaurant / dining area was small, so many palms and plants around the tables it was mosquito heaven.
It is a long way from any town life, it would take 25 mins to walk to the nearest bar/cafe/restaurant.........and when its about 32 +degrees.......you dont want to be walking for that length of time. A taxi would cost you 100 to 150 baht, to get to the beach from here. The road leading to the hotel is not one to walk at night !!
We got a refund luckily, minus £200. This hotel is very OVERPRICED. Its really not worth paying any more than £20 per night. Its deffinately not a luxury hotel, and i would not reccomend it ever to anyone.
Unfortunately we didnt stay long enough to take pictures, it just goes to show, things are not always what they seem on the web. BEWARE !!!!!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The Room
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

We were totally disappointed by what we saw when we arrived at Anchan Resort as we took quite a long time to search for this hotel. It is hidden in a no-man land all the way into a small lane, with some buffalos roaming outside a small village.

The hotel photos on web were just too beautifully taken by a professional photographer, that makes our real experience a shock. Please do not be deceived by them, as the real thing ain't what it looks like. The place is quite run down and not as grand. We thought we arrived at the wrong place. We were very disappointed and left the hotel early next morning, without having the breakfast nor used any facitlites (we don't see any anyway, except the pool).

I guess our only satisfaction is the room space and cleanliness, but not the bathroom, as the basin was behind the door which made the usage very inconvenient.

  • Liked — Decoration and cleanliness inside our room
  • Disliked — Inconvenient location and deceiving pictures from the web
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

We booked this place for the last few days of our honeymoon in Phuket, looking for a secluded resort for romance. It sure was secluded, but not in the nice way! This resort was stuck in the middle of nowhere in some dingy neighbourhood. The only way to get back into town without a long hike was via taxi or hotel shuttle which is expensive, so we hired a motorbike. The rooms itself are clean, however not what we expected for the price we paid for the resort! The pool is nice though.
Make sure breakfast is included in your stay as breakfast and food in general there is completely overpriced. The staff are somewhat lazy and unprofessional and we felt like we were invisible. I do not recommend this 'resort' to anyone, it is a rip off and is in a bad location. Would be somewhat better if it was cheap, but if you pay a decent price for a resort you would expect quality to that value!

  • Liked — Quiet and poolside view
  • Disliked — Nieghbourhood
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sthlm
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2008

Booked 4 nights via latestays and got a good rate for a deluxe room on this beautiful boutique style resort. We liked the room and the calm surroundings so much we extended our stay with three more nights. We got the same rate as with the latestays site even though we went through the reception staff! Very nice gesture we think!

The resort was quite small with a couple of poolside bungs and a few deluxe rooms located in main building (which was a small building) A nice pool with just enough sunbeds, a very hot wodden floor around the pool (so dont forget your flipflops) a small beautiful garden with typical thai stuff, sculptures, flowers, fishponds, and some geckos..

A perfect sized restaurant..just big enough to serve all guests without loosing any of the feeling that your staying there almost by yourself..

Room was nice, clean, big and comfortable bed, tv and dvd, minibar and FREE WIFI in room all the time!!!(Bring your own laptop though)

Our room was on ground floor so no balcony, but with a sort of a patio instead..not a good view from there but we didnt mind that at all..

Staff dont speak more than a few phrases in english, so dont bother with any intricate questions, they understand the VERY basics but nothing else..Instead they tried really hard to help us out with free shuttle car to the beaches (Bang Tao Beach or Surin Beach) just make sure they understand the pickup time for going back. They never ditched us but we heard a couple of stories about waiting for going back shuttle in vain..

We even got a free ride to nearby Tesco Lotus (supermarket) and local thaimarket place, and they waited for us in car while we did some shopping. Maybe we were just lucky that they treated us so nice, cause we heard of two guests that wanted to go to Phuket town with hotel car and that the driver dropped them of at other places first were his associates tried to force jewellery on them, but we didnt experience any of those "Bangkok-treatments"

The small roads around the hotel is not to busy and dangerous if you like to rent a motorbike, we rented ours at the resort for 100baht more than at the beach area, but we felt it was good to be able to drive all the way back to room after dinners etc..Instead of having to return it at beach-area and then forced to walk the final way back..Its not that far but could be quite a treat in warm weather..

So..If you dont want the hustle in Patong like beach towns, but rather prefer smaller beaches, motorbike excursions and a romantic getaway, The Anchan Resort and Spa should be perfect for you..

Just make sure you get breakfast included in room rate since the restaurant at resort is really expensive..Eat all other meals in the surrounding areas. And yeah, the pool is a bit warm so go to beach if you need to cool off. We liked Surin best. The very nothern part of it, that is.

  • Liked — Room, location, staff service, breakfast.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2008

We have been in Anchan Resort over the last weekend. We really liked the hotel, as we got want we wanted and expected.

This is not a big busy hotel on the seaside full of package tourists and loads of activities, rather a place to go for people who want more peace and relaxation. A possible disadvantage of this is that you can get bored after a couple of days, but we only stayed 2 nights so this was not a problem.

The hotel is some 10 minutes walking from Bang Tao beach, and considerably further away from Surin. Do try both beaches, they are somewhat different, but both are nice and not so busy. Maybe Surin is better for families as it has shallower waters, and it is compact, while Bang Tao has the big vista and opportunity to walk on the beach for long. Surin has some very nice restaurants too on the seeaside, though Bang Tao also has some of them.

If you prefer not to walk (can be hot, and the way is the typical Thai roadside, ie shabby), then take the shuttle cars of the hotel. We got it free as we booked two nights, otherwise it's way too expensive (so make sure it's in the package). There is a timetable, but basically you can take them any time. Coming back from the beach can be more of a problem, as the car drivers tend not to turn up at the agreed time, but then either you just walk or take a taxi for some hundred baht (bargain before you pay).

The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are huge, and nicely decorated. We stayed in one of the poolside villas, and it was really at the poolside, about two meters far from it. We were afraid it would be too noisy, but the few people that can stay there (they cannot have more than a dozen rooms altogether) do not make a big noise, so don't worry.

The pool is nice and the water is surprisingly warm, and if you want the big water, you can go to the sea. The spa is luxurious (and a massage costs twice as much as on the beach), although I have had better thai massages before. But it's still very nice. You get all the towels and bedshhets that you don't get on the beach, so it's worth trying. We took the 30 min head and shoulder massage (part of the package) and the 90 minutes siam (ie thai) massage.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. Sometimes we felt they did not understand us, but they always arranged what we asked for.

Some tips:
- Try the beach restaurants if you are not too lazy. Better priced than the hotel's one and really nice atmosphere
- If you think the breakfast is too small (it was not for us), ask for more bread or fruits, they will bring
- If you find a big cockroach in the bathroom at night, don't panic. They really cannot close them completely out, as the hotel is in the middle of a field. Ask for an insect repellent spray at the reception, it works (or ignore it, and let it live).
- Bring you favourite DVDs as there is a DVD player in the room. You can also get discs from the reception (for free), but the choice is limited.

This was a very good value for money package for us (paid 3000 Baht per night lastminute), and can recommend it to everyone seeking relaxing long weekends.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2007

This is a great place to stay for some peace and quiet, and romance. The pool is awesome and quite often we were the only ones in there, we felt like it was our own private getaway. The rooms are nice and clean and new. The beach is a ten minute walk away or take the hotel shuttle. Bang Tao beach is a nice quiet beach with no roads unlike the others down south. We hired a motorbike and rode around phuket and had a great time. Also make sure you go to nearby Laem Singh beach - beautiful.

  • Liked — Quiet, great pool
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchan Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchan Resort and Spa

Address: 325 Moo 2, T. Cherngthalae, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Tonsai Retreat)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchan Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Anchan Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchan Hotel Phuket
Anchan Resort And Spa Phuket, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchan Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.