We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to unwind” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   323 Moo 2, Srisoonthorn Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Laguna Beach Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
BEST RATE-CLUB ROOM
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Greater Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great place to unwind”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

We have just returned from Outrigger Phuket and I highly recommend it for those in need of relaxation from the stresses of life. We hardly considered leaving the resort as everything is there. You can get a cheap massage for an hour on the beach and lunch is open all afternoon which was great for us as we didnt want to rush anything. The staff were delightful and very helpful. The food was great although if we had more time we would have tried the restaurants outside the resort for a bit of variety. Also a bit more information as in a phamplet about local activities and entertainment or markets nearby would have been helpful for the odd day out. The resort was very clean with lovely gardens and swimming pools. The beach was beautiful and sunsets divine. A great retreat for those wanting to unwind and not have to think about anything!

Room Tip: Ground level each front rooms are great, would ask for one closer to the beach next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    123
    30
    11
    7
See reviews for
228
153
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We swapped to this Hotel after being disappointed by our original booking, and we were so glad we did!

- the staff are absolutely lovely, very friendly and helpful
- the rooms are beautiful (however the lighting system is a bit weird and meant the room was mostly dark), we took the deluxe sea-view and my daughter had the most amazing view of the pool and beach from her bed
- the breakfast buffet is amazing, but get there early as it is not very spacious and some guests like to gorge themselves
- the pools were beautiful but could really do with some shade over the kids pool. we loved the waterslide!
- the grounds are immaculate and attention to detail over the entire resort is clear to see

I do however have one small grumble. there are no restaurants or shops nearby, you are basically forced to eat at the resort and we spent more on food than we did on the room itself. the buffets are not spectacular (thai night only had about 4 dishes, the beach bbq meat was of poor quality and while the pasta mania was great it didn't include dessert) and are expensive, so I would recommend just eating a la carte.

one thing to note, the laguna area is set up to be an exclusive community and with that in mind there are no thai style shops etc around. if you like to go out and explore and eat at different little restaurants and barter for random things in local shops, the whole area isn't for you.


overall we loved the resort and wouldn't hesitate to return

one last thing, I got some shirts made by the tailor at the beach shops that seem to be part of the resort, excellent service and quality at a fair price (after a bit of haggling)

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is the first time I have felt compelled to write a review. Our holiday was so perfect. We stayed at the Outrigger Laguna Hotel for a 2 week family holiday - my husband and I with three kids 11, 7 and 5years. It couldn't have been beaten! The hotel has so much space, a 5star feel to it, but such a comfortable and friendly hotel too. We have stayed in 5star hotels in the past that have simply lacked ANY atmosphere, but Outrigger oozes a comfortable and relaxed style - really it has everything - you will love it!

It embraces it's beach front location, which we loved. There is a restaurant bar that literally sits on the beach so you can enjoy a sea breeze, which was most welcome, and there is a happy hour at 6pm which nicely finishes off the day. It was strangely therapeutic to watch the sunset and see the fire torches light up around the bar area over the same time - lovely. The kids simply loved the slide - Whizzing down on mats. Each day offered activities in the kids club - our 5yr old daughter would often pop in to make flowers, paint an umbrella or just draw for half an hour. There was a full water sports menu of activities on offer too - free, included in the hotel stay.

The service was really good - discrete and friendly. Thank you all for being so wonderful. Always happy to help and do the extra. The kids all felt special. Bank who served around the pool area needs a special mention, also Inga who became our daughters favourite person!

The food was fabulous. We opted for the extra club membership which gave us access to both restaurants at breakfast - the kids loved the larger restaurant, my husband and I preferred the smaller more select clubhouse for breakfast. So it was always a hot debate each morning as to where we would go. The club food during the day and the chefs taster menu with wine in the early evening was all so beautifully presented and tasted wonderful. We found out that the bread is baked freshly on site each day - always a huge varied selection : walnut bread, onion bread, ciabatta, little cheese buns - the best breads I have ever tasted. Also we read an article in a magazine in the club about an award winning chef who used to cook for the Saudi Royal family had recently started at the hotel. It must have been his influence on the most incredible middle eastern food : meze, tabbouleh, houmous and lovely lamb chops etc. just delicious. We tasted some in the club but also not expensive when you order a la carte in the Matso's restaurant. One night we went to Matso's 'Pasta Mania' where the kids and adults choose from a buffet - loads of salad dishes ( all sorts of interesting salads) and bespoke pasta dishes that are cooked to order. The kids loved it.

We sometimes walked out of the hotel to eat some local dishes in local places a short walk down the beach. ( beautiful white powdery sand on beach). In the evening we went to Bang Tao a few times (5mins in taxi) which was full of character and a few lovely restaurants. We went 'Nok and Joes' one evening - a family friendly Ladyboy show on a stage which you eat. It was excellent. Really you must go it was a cracking evening of entertainment. Any time of day or night you can get the free hotel tuk tuk which will take you up to various locations. We went to The Black Cat restaurant. It was always relatively busy, owned by a French man and good food, including lots of Thai dishes, at good prices.

The rooms were clean, spacious and our room was somehow always cleaned whilst we were at breakfast so when we returned to the room to brush our teeth etc to be ready for the day, it felt good because the room was clean and tidy too. Lots of space and never noise to stop the kids sleeping. Our rooms were lagoon facing so we got sun in the morning. Our view was green and lush.

I am trying to think of something to criticise and it's very, very hard. One thing perhaps is the toilet next to the swimming pool, it could perhaps be put on a higher cleaning rotation. The floor was often wet and the towels to dry hands had often dried up. But honestly this is a minor thing - overall a wonderful stay and the first place that has compelled me to write a review!

Room Tip: Rooms are huge. The double bed can easily sleep 3 and there is an area in the room which can be conv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Thai hospitality at its best. We found this hotel very child-friendly and comfortable. The staff are super attentive, the amenities are great, the food choices are decent and the little market area is a bonus. Not to mention the baby elephant that visits the resort twice a day! The pools are in direct sunlight all day so bear in mind especially with kids (but there are many sun umbrellas by the side of the pool). Our only complaint were the super loud fireworks every night during our stay that threatened to wake up small children (not a genuine complaint if you have older children or none at all!). It is perfectly ok to spend your entire stay without leaving the resort, and it is also close enough to Kamala beach (about 10-15 minute drive).

Room Tip: The club option is not worth it with small children (if you are schedule bound, like early nights, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have just returned home following our fantastic holiday at the Outrigger. We found this hotel to be our perfect home from home, and really glad we decided to spend our 12 night Phuket holiday here.

The Outrigger just oozes class yet retains a homely friendly feel.....how do they it?? Before we arrived must admit we were a little anxious about the Outriggers's supposedly out of the way location. We needn't have been because this fantastic resort was perfect for (what we needed) rest and relaxation, after a long and cold Scottish winter.

So we would like to thank all staff especially Nuna and all the club lounge team special thanks for helping make our stay extra special..... Thankyou all so

Finally would we come back again?? You bet!!!

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had dinner in mezo, the Mediterranean restaurant of outrigger Laguna beach resort and the food was amazing. We shared an assortment of appetizers, I believe they were all Lebanese/ Arabian and it was so good, just the right amount of spices used, simply delicious. The children used the pasta themed buffet and enjoyed it. The head chef passed by, very tall, what a nice man and so knowledgeable., we followed his menu recommendations and he was spot on.The next day we also used the restaurant at the beach, enjoyed this also. We highly recommend to eat at this resort, specially at mezo.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for one night on a stopover. The room was nice & clean, the bed comfortable, but there was a lot of noise from the clubs across the lake - thankfully not till very late.
The dinner in the restaurant was average, the breakfast selection was quite good. Very long wait at lunch at the beachfront, and food was also average. It's a family resort, so understandably it was very crowded and noisy.
Despite this - very nice beach and clean water, this is probably the best thing about the resort.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort

Address: 323 Moo 2, Srisoonthorn Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Laguna Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Choeng Thale
#3 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
#4 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#6 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#7 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between a tropical lagoon and the sparkling waters of the Andaman Sea, the property features the finest in accommodation – all completely renovated with modern interiors subtly blended with contemporary Thai touches.The resort occupies a prime position on the famed Bangtao beach where white sand and calm, clear waters combine to create an idyllic tropical setting. The absolute beachfront location provides easy access to beach activities for families and couples alike.For guests seeking a more personalized experience, the resort now boasts a dedicated Club floor (the only such facility in the area). Club floor guests will enjoy a private breakfast venue, snacks and drinks throughout the day and themed cocktail events in the evening.All guests also enjoy access to the Banyan Tree and Angsana Day Spas, championship 18 hole golf course, wedding chapel, and signing privileges at over 30 restaurants and bars that form part of the Laguna Destination Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Otel, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Beach Hotel Thalang
Laguna Beach Thalang
Laguna Beach Phuket
Laguna Beach Resort Phuket
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.