We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   323 Moo 2, Srisoonthorn Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Laguna Beach Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
THB10,695 (THB)
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Choeng Thale
1 review
“Disappointing ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Arrived on the night of 14th of December for a 20 day holiday. We were shown to our room and straight away we thought this is not like what we booked and paid for on the net. The room was not dressed up in the way it was in the pictures and a balcony so small it was not usable. Asked for a room change and was told they are busy and would have to check on availability. Woke up next morning to find that our lagoon view was actually a view of a building site. We did not sleep well that night as our room was situated in the middle of the hallways with lots of traffic and loud voices and slamming door. On top of the hallways all being concreted and very loud to walk on.

We spoke to another member of staff the next morning who struggled to accommodate us. We were shown a room further up the end of the hall so less traffic would pass by, but we still have a minuscule, and utterly pointless, balcony that faces a building site. So we do not use it at all. They also showed us a suite that didn't face a building site but told us it would be an additional charge of £200 per night, on top of the £300+ per night we are already paying. We declined!

However we do not see any difference between a standard and club room.

We are halfway through our stay and half of those days our shower has been freezing or fluctuating wildly. We have not enjoyed the shower as we try to get in and out before it goes wrong. It has been attempted to be fixed on a couple of occasions. We have also had a/c issues.

We had paid for club room facilities which we always do. In this hotel it cost us 50% more than standard. But we prefer to have things a little quieter at breakfast and pre dinner drinks etc. However here it is like feeding time at the zoo!!! We do not actually see the benefits of paying extra for these facilities. We have paid over £6000 just for the club room at this hotel, not including flights. If we had taken a standard room we would have paid around £4000. I can't see that we have benefited at all. A standard room would not be able to have a worse view or a smaller balcony.

The standard buffet breakfast actually looks far superior to the club lounge.

There seems to be no dress code or etiquette required to use these facilities. No tops, no shoes, unattended children raiding the food areas. No coffee cups, waiting 20 mins for a drink in the evening then to be told get another order in as they are shutting. Generally there is not enough food or drink for those in the club lounge because I believe they offer it to everyone that stays for an additional fee. It is not exclusive at all.

Having said all this the staff are very nice.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    95
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
181
113
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

stayed 4 nights
all staff providing good and friendly service
we came for the water slide, baby elephant, and the beach
water slide impeccable, great fun
baby elephant extremely lovable, 2 visits daily
beach nice sand, a bit steep though, just a few steps out and water is quite deep (during high tide, was told during low tide not so bad)

room ok, clean and tidy, a bit dark, took a while to work out how the lights work
problem is quite noisy, sound proofing is quite poor, people walking and talking out in the corridor can all be heard, people walking upstairs can also be heard
amenities ok, but things like toothbrush only available on request
wifi signal varies in the room

breakfast disappointed, no freshly brewed coffee, variety of buffet breakfast less than Marriott and Shangri La, also not tasting as good as the other 2
dinner menu ok, but in the end has to go out because ran out of choices
room service essentially the same menu as dine in

kids centre prepares quite a few activities to keep the kids entertained

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Me and my friend stayed their for 3 nights in December , our room was ocean view ( which was spacious , clean and the view was breathtaking ) .

The resort will designed with many free facilities ( like windsurfing , boats shuttle a round the lakes surrounding the resort and car shuttle to any area in laguna you want )

Wifi covering all resort , free and internet is very fast .

Staff are very helpful .

At the end .... If I come back to phuket definitely this resort will be my first choice .

Go their , you will not regret it .

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony P, General Manager at Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Eliraq,

Thank-you for your very kind feedback. It was great to read that you and your friend enjoyed your recent stay with us and were able to enjoy the resort activities and facilities. I was delighted to read that should you choose to return to Phuket, you will stay with us again and we do look forward to welcoming you back if you do.

Many thanks again for your recommendation

With very best regards
Tony Pedroni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

I stayed here after a trip to Phi Phi, I didn't think they could surpass Phi Phi but the staff alone certainly managed to. We stayed in an ocean view club room and to wake up to the sound of crashing waves was even better than the view. I would certainly recommend the club room/service, so many extras and such friendly staff. Numa and Grace were extremely nice and nothing too much, Numa especially (I hope I am spelling her name right, a club supervisor). She always greeted us with a great smile and very helpful for things to do around the hotel, resort and Phuket.

The pool area was great, the water slide was great fun - for adults too!! Lots of space along side any of the many pools or along the oceanfront.

I have recommended this hotel to everyone since my return and would really hope to come back to this hotel again.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony P, General Manager at Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Tara G,
Thank-you for your very kind feedback. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to also thank-you for highlighting the resort facilities and the friendly service you received during your stay, particularly from Grace and Nuna in our club.
We are very grateful for your recommendation and do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Phuket in the near future.

Many thanks again and best regards

Tony Pedroni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great resort facilities for family holidays. A lot of activities availible on beach. Beautiful rooms. Value add with room is average. Got more value and comfort from similar resorts at cheaper rates in same area. Very busy this time of year as all pool chairs is in use by noon. Will opt for Villa next time.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony P, General Manager at Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear fantrade,

Thank-you for choosing to spend your recent Phuket vacation with us at the Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach resort and for taking the time to post your recommendation.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and were able to spend time on the beach and take part in the resort activities.
I note that you will likely opt for a villa style accommodation on your next visit to Phuket, but do hope we will have the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.

Many thanks again and best regards

Tony Pedroni

Note for readers: In response to increased demand over the festive period, we have recently added more lounge chairs to our Marine center beach front area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I don't why people write bad reviews, we're in room 361 got in last night and the room is beautiful, the staff and food are amazing and very friendly. Keep up the excellent service. The resort is faultless and stunning grounds and facilities , couldn't have stayed at a nicer resort. Perfect getaway, highly recommended. Lindsay.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had an amazing time on the beautiful sandy beaches, turquoise clear blue oceans, pools and receiving baby elephant hugs and kisses (True, the elephant came and walked around giving hugs,kisses and massages) My children were amazed!
However, the thing I remembered the most, was when my daughter was sick (fever) and sleeping in hotel room, I came home to find a card written from the staff for her well being, a bouquet of beautifully organised flowers and some fresh fruits that she enjoyed. This hotel is wonderful but the staff is so kind and so understanding its incredible.

Room Tip: If you join "the club" , which is a place near the beach where (if you join) can get free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony P, General Manager at Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Coco S,

Many thanks for your very kind feedback. I was delighted to read that you had a great family holiday and were able to enjoy the beach and resort amenities. Thank-you also for highlighting the friendly service you experienced during your stay and the kindness shown to your daughter when she felt unwell.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you all back to Phuket in the near future and until then.

Many thanks again and best regards
Tony Pedroni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort

Address: 323 Moo 2, Srisoonthorn Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Laguna Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Choeng Thale
#2 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#4 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
#4 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between a tropical lagoon and the sparkling waters of the Andaman Sea, the property features the finest in accommodation – all completely renovated with modern interiors subtly blended with contemporary Thai touches.The resort occupies a prime position on the famed Bangtao beach where white sand and calm, clear waters combine to create an idyllic tropical setting. The absolute beachfront location provides easy access to beach activities for families and couples alike.For guests seeking a more personalized experience, the resort now boasts a dedicated Club floor (the only such facility in the area). Club floor guests will enjoy a private breakfast venue, snacks and drinks throughout the day and themed cocktail events in the evening.All guests also enjoy access to the Banyan Tree and Angsana Day Spas, championship 18 hole golf course, wedding chapel, and signing privileges at over 30 restaurants and bars that form part of the Laguna Destination Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Beach Hotel Thalang
Laguna Beach Thalang
Laguna Beach Phuket
Laguna Beach Resort Phuket
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.