We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family hotel if you don't want the regular Phuket hazzle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   323 Moo 2, Srisoonthorn Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Laguna Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Up to 30% off Best Rates
Ranked #3 of 16 hotels in Choeng Thale
HK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great family hotel if you don't want the regular Phuket hazzle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We choose Outrigger after travelling thru Thailand with our kids. All we (well, the kids) wanted was a hotel at the beach and a nice pool. Kids loved the water slide. Staff was very attentive and friendly. We traveld during low season and the pool was never crowded, just had a nice friendly feeling and we enjoyed our time. Room was ok for us four, but not too big (we hardly stayed at the room anyway). Keep in mind that Taxi service from the hotel is a rip off as Laguna is not very popular with Phuket taxi drivers (too far out).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    68
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
134
83
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family and I spent 11 nights at the Outrigger, together with another family. In total 5 children (aged 12 – 6) plus 5 adults.

Upon arrival the staff were attentive and greeted us with cold drinks and towels and after filling in the paper work for about 10 minutes we were escorted off to our rooms. Which was a great effort considering it was about 9.30 in the morning. Early check in and late checkouts were no hassle for these guys at all.

The rooms were relatively spacious, modern and very clean. Although having stayed in a Villa twelve months ago in Fiji not having the extra lounge room space to sit down and relax in the evening was really missed. Not the hotels fault but I’d definitely look at the Villa for a larger family on an extended stay.

Now the attraction for us to this resort was two fold. It’s proximity to the beach, it has it’s own private beach and the pools, one has it’s own water slide.

The kids loved the water slide and it kept them entertained for hours and I mean hours. The stand out here though was one of the hotels staff, a young guy called Golf. He worked around the pool but spent so much time playing with the kids it was incredible. He would literally let them ride him down the slide and play games with them in the pool nearly every day. I think they looked forward to playing with Golf more than playing in the pool or on the slide. Now I’m not sure if he has been placed there strategically to keep the kids entertained or if he is just an outstanding person. But when the kids were happy, the adults were happy and that resulted in increased bar profits. A message to the hotel management, this guy is a star.

Now the beach, if you have looked at the hotels web site you will see beautiful pictures of a lovely beach with pure white sand. It has deck chairs running the length of the resort and an expansive area of beach between the resort and the ocean. In reality it’s very different. There isn’t room to sit on the beach, the sand is far from the pure white as is depicted, and the erosion significant with a large drop off from the resort to the beach. Now I understand marketing, but seriously either this picture was taken many, many years ago or it has been touched up. Unfortunately it’s really misleading.

To keep the kids entertained there is also archery, tennis, golf driving range (net) basketball, pool table, video games, squash court and badminton courts. So there’s plenty to do. Don’t forget Candy the elephant the kids loved the visits, feeding her and the showers.

There are only two restaurants in my view, Locavore and Metzo's Bistro. The Edgewater was nice and easy for lunch by the pool. Locavore is the place to go for breakfast and dinner and the quality and service provided for both sittings was exceptional. Metzo’s to be a blunt was a disgrace. We had two serves of lasagne that we frozen and when returned to us they were popped into the microwave and brought back out, yes the same serve. We had incorrect orders and the service was just poor.

I’m not sure if it was coincidence or not but by 3.00am the next morning my wife was really ill. I phoned reception they had a car waiting for us and took us to the doctors (only 3 minutes drive from the hotel). A little over 24 hours later she was back to normal. Again the hotel staff were fantastic and couldn’t have been more helpful. The restraint manager also met us the next morning who could only really apologise for the Metzo’s experience. To his credit we didn’t end up paying for the experience.

There is a large lake that links the Laguna resorts and they run a free boat service every 20 minutes or so that will take you from resort to resort. It’s a fun way to travel for the kids; you can see other resorts in the Laguna complex or dine at other restaurants. The lake also offers water sports but you would be a braver man than I to jump in there.

Overall the staff really made the stay pleasurable but would I go back again???

P.S If your into your golf Red Canyon is a must, but take plenty of balls.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is by far the best! Me, my girlfriend and my son 3 years old stayed here for 6 night. Staff is really kind and every morning they greet us by name.
Room is large and clean. Swimming pool suitable for small children's even has a water slide.
Cannot find something to complain about this hotel.
I really recommend the club.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stay here for 2 nights and we really had a wonderfull time. The room is quite spacious, with a beautifull lake view and big sofa bed. The pool is ok, my son enjoy the slide very much. We really enjoy the boat ride from the hotel going to other hotels in the lagoon, it was so relaxing. The only complain that we have is we have to wait for around 15 minutes to get our seat during breakfast. (This is supposed to be a low season?) We will definitely come back again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here with a friend for one night after a long haul flight from the UK. I wish we had stayed longer. The hotel is exceptionally clean and the staff couldn't be nicer. We were greeted with flowers, juice and wet towels on check in and were offered a sea view room for a additional small price. The bathrooms are great and spacious with a high pressure large shower.

The breakfast was lovely with a large choice for all. We also had room services when we arrived and it was also lovely. The cocktails are also some of the best iv ever tasted and are reasonable. The pool area was relatively busy when we were there but we got a lounger no problem. There was an baby elephant which was taken to the hotel between 9-10 and 3- 4 in the afternoon. She was gorgeous and you could have photos with her and cuddle her. She looked so well cared for healthy.

There is not a great deal around the hotel so if your someone who gets restless lying by the pool I wouldn't recommend this hotel for long than a few nights.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selina C, Director of Sales at Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Lisa79057,

Thank-you for choosing to stay with us at the Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort and it was great to read you enjoyed your stay with us. I was particularly happy that you found our service and facilities of a high standard, especially the quality of our cocktails! I look forward to welcoming you back in the future and I hope your next stay can be for a little longer than a day!

Thank you again for the feedback.

Kind regards,

Rory Campbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice hotel with great staff. Located on bang Tao beach which is a long and fairly narrow beach. When we visited the sea was rough and not suitable for bathing. I would not recommend the beach for small children as the waves and current were constantly strong.

The hotel has good dining options. We added access to "The Club". This was good value as the evening cocktails and snacks were good. Daytime snacks were more limited

Pool and poolside areas are well maintained with lots of staff available to help.

My main issue is the location. The hotel is one of many in the man-made "Laguna" area. Once a tin-mine, the area has been recovered and is very pretty with excellent landscaping. However, there are only very limited facilities within walking distance.

I would alos recommend that you do not use the hotel's transport service to/from the airport - it is expensive.

Room Tip: ocean view rooms are worth the premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at this hotel for 4D3N in June with my husband and 6 yrs old son.
I must say this is the best hotel stay till date.
The staffs are very friendly & helpful. The food is great as well.
The rooms are simply amazing. Although we did not upgrade to the club rooms, we were already very satisfied with our stay. My room faced the lagoon which gives us a peaceful morning view. The bed is super comfortable , the shower area is cool as well. I really can't find fault with this hotel. They even have a bag for your pool use. It's very useful for us cos my son placed his beach toys, goggles, water bottle in it. There's a touch light & iron in the wardrobe !
There's game room, pool table, tennis court and even squash court. Too many activities and you don't even need to get out of this resort. It's not too far from airport too.
From airport to hotel is around 25 mins.
We will definitely be back very soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selina C, Manager at Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Poonie17,

Many thanks for your fantastic feedback on the Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort. I was thrilled you and your family had a great stay with us and was particularly happy to read that you enjoyed the convenience of our location as well as the many services and facilities.

I will be sure to pass on the feedback to our team and we all look forward to having you stay again soon.

Warm regards,

Rory Campbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort

Address: 323 Moo 2, Srisoonthorn Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Laguna Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
#1 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Choeng Thale
#2 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#2 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between a tropical lagoon and the sparkling waters of the Andaman Sea, the property features the finest in accommodation – all completely renovated with modern interiors subtly blended with contemporary Thai touches.The resort occupies a prime position on the famed Bangtao beach where white sand and calm, clear waters combine to create an idyllic tropical setting. The absolute beachfront location provides easy access to beach activities for families and couples alike.For guests seeking a more personalized experience, the resort now boasts a dedicated Club floor (the only such facility in the area). Club floor guests will enjoy a private breakfast venue, snacks and drinks throughout the day and themed cocktail events in the evening.All guests also enjoy access to the Banyan Tree and Angsana Day Spas, championship 18 hole golf course, wedding chapel, and signing privileges at over 30 restaurants and bars that form part of the Laguna Destination Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Beach Hotel Thalang
Laguna Beach Thalang
Laguna Beach Phuket
Laguna Beach Resort Phuket
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.