We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect R&R for the whole family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   323 Moo 2, Srisoonthorn Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Laguna Beach Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
BEST RATE-CLUB ROOM
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect R&R for the whole family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We have just returned from 7 nights in this resort so the family could relax and recharge and it didn't disappoint. We stayed in a family room with lagoon view, which had a great little area outside for the kids to run around and was so peaceful and quiet. On arrival we were offered an upgrade to a bigger club room with pool/sea view but preferred to stay where we were in the family room.

The kids loved the pool and the slide and enjoyed kids club so much they went back every day. The beach was lovely and the water warm, there were a few jellyfish which put us off swimming out but we still enjoyed playing in the waves. But the best thing for the children was Candy the baby elephant, she is just beautiful and we all loved her.

Food in the hotel was good, breakfast has a good selection and the restaurants down on the beach were worth trying too. Wi-fi signal was good throughout the resort and we had several devices connected at once with no problems.

There are a few minor things worth mentioning that could be improved. Firstly, the corners of the steps into the pool were quite rough and I scraped my knees/shins/toes a few times climbing out. Also the toilet by the pool gets a lot of use, particularly by young wet children and the floor needed cleaning more frequently and thoroughly. Finally, it would add peace of mind if there was a lifeguard on duty as we noticed and helped several children left unattended at the pool throughout the week, even though there are signs clearly saying children under 12 must be supervised by an adult. A lifeguard would have been better to help these children and also deal with the adults who left them! As well as keeping watch over all swimmers of course as drowning is not easily recognised.

Generally though, this resort is near perfect all round and we are looking forward to returning again as soon as possible!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony P, General Manager at Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Bundles 74,

Thank-You for choosing to spend your family vacation with us at the Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort and for taking the time to post your feedback. I was delighted to read that your kids enjoyed the water slide, kids club and of course meeting Candy. It was great to see also that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet selection and had stable internet connection around the resort.

Many thanks for your helpful suggestions on where we can improve which are well received. We will soon be addressing one of your recommendations by opening additional restrooms near the dive shop which is located by the upper pool as I would agree it can get quite busy. To hopefully put your mind at ease also, I would like to mention that our activate team members who are located at the towel hut, pool and beachfront areas are trained and certified in emergency response. We do however recommend adult supervision of young children in the pool as an extra precaution.

I do look forward to welcoming you back to our resort when you next return to Phuket and until then

Thank-you again and very best regards


Tony Pedroni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    125
    30
    11
    7
See reviews for
234
154
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

We spent the last 12 nights in this wonderful resort and can only recommend it further. The only hotel with direct access to one of the longest beaches in Phuket. The service attitude of all the staff (bell boy to room maid and of course in all of the restaurants) were outstanding and we wish to congratulate the whole team of the resort for a fantastic job well done. It makes sense to book a room with seaview to enjoy the marvelous sunsets on your balcony.
Pitty that the Laguna Golf Club is under renovation but that has nothing to do with the Resort itself. We will come back !

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony P, General Manager at Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear rust88,

Many thanks for taking the time to submit a review describing your recent stay with us at the Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time at the resort and would like to thank-you for your kind comments regarding the service you received. I was happy to read also that you enjoyed the sea view and easy access to beautiful Bangtao Beach.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the future, when hopefully the renovation of the Laguna Golf Club will be complete.

Until then, thank-you again and very best regards

Tony Pedroni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I booked this resort for our family after finding so many positive reviews and we couldn't have agreed more! We have a 3 & 4 year old and we couldn't have asked for a more perfect holiday! We stayed in a Sea View room and LOVED the location, quiet surroundings, gorgeous beach, beautiful water and stunning resort! The staff were attentive and went out of their way to ensure our stay was great. Candy the Elephant, the kids club activities and the amazing breakfast were some favourites. The water slide was an amazing touch for family fun. Thank you to all of the staff who contributed to making our holiday exceed our expectations! We will return for sure!

Room Tip: Sea view is worth it but ask for a room close to the beach and you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony P, General Manager at Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear GreatfulMom,
Many thanks for choosing to spend your vacation with us at the Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed a great family holiday and that your 3 & 4 year olds had fun on the water slide, at the kids club and meeting Candy. We really appreciate also your kind comments about our staff, the beach and our breakfast and I will be sure to share your feedback with our team.

Thank-you again for the great feedback. I do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to our resort in the future and until then

With very best regards

Tony Pedroni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

we booked in for three nights and wound up staying nine ,we loved it .the staff are so superb they make the hotel ,they must be happy to work there because everyone of them is happy .we paid extra for the club and its well worth it .we loved the activity team especially golf they were all so professional ,teaching yoga ,water aerobics ,taking you out running ,and bike riding .
the best thing of all was candy the baby elephant visiting the hotel twice a day .and her mahout having so much patience with the children feeding and riding her .he obviously loves her as he fusses over her all the time .its lovely to see .all in all this is a perfect hotel.
and we will be back next year .thank you to all the staff for a wonderful stay

Room Tip: club room with club lounge .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony P, General Manager at Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear lindsey m,

Many thanks for choosing to stay with us at the Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach resort and for taking the time to post your feedback. I was happy that you enjoyed the club experience and the staff service you received and delighted to read that you extended your stay with us. I’m glad you enjoyed many of the activities offered at the resort and will be sure to pass on your kind comments to our resident superman Khun Golf and the rest of the recreation team. We do look forward to welcoming you back next year and until then

With very best regards

Tony Pedroni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed her for 11 nights and really enjoyed our time here. Definitely worth paying the extra to stay in a Club room to make the most of the lounge with views over the lagoon, afternoon tea & evening drinks with canapes. What really made our stay were the efficient and friendly staff - espcially in the Club lounge.
The beach is stunning which we walked along each morning for an hour.

Room Tip: All rooms looked to have a nice view - either beach or lagoon. Pay the extra for a Club room which a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony P, General Manager at Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear CarolTLondon

Many thanks for choosing to spend your vacation at our beachfront resort and for taking the time to post your feedback. I was very happy to read that you enjoyed the personalized service and amenities of our club lounge and delighted to see you experienced efficient and friendly service throughout your stay.
I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our resort in the future

Thank-you again and very best regards

Tony Pedroni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

For its age, it was in not bad condition overall. We stayed in the ground floor deluxe seaview. It was taken over by Outrigger about a year ago and although repainted, the rooms need revamping. Probably not the type of resort we would normally stay at, it didn't have any wow, just your everyday run of the mill family resort.

Pros:
- room was clean, had a climate control air con so was only on when required
- resort facilities were comparable to other large resort style hotels
- good functional gym with a rower
- service and staff were great and a real asset to the resort
- Chang the elephant was really adorable, as far as we can tell, she was well cared for
- local restaurants and shops including massage places just to the left of beach, very convenient

Cons:
- main pool got really dirty due to volume of people, needs attention, we saw/stepped on cupcake wrapper and other rubbish in the water
- although staff were attentive, breakfast buffet was pretty basic with few options considering the size of the resort
- deluxe rooms needs a reno to brighten and lift from current dark brown interior
- expensive and limited taxi service as it was contracted by one group, no independent service avail making this a very expensive option to get around
- room service food was just okay
- very thin walls, we had to bang on neighboring wall as we were trying to sleep and could hear everything going on in room next door
- there was a constant ticking/scratching noise coming from bathroom wall, kept us awake all night
- advertised as new, this is a stretch, it has new owners but definitely not new

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony P, General Manager at Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear bernardjenkins,

Thank-you for choosing to spend your vacation with us at the Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort. Thank-you also for taking the time to post your feedback.

I was happy to read that you experienced great service during your stay, but do take on board your experiences related to consistency of cleanliness around the pool and the variety at the breakfast buffet and will certainly address these points with my colleagues.

I was sorry to read that you felt the resort and guest rooms needed revamping. While I certainly respect your comments, I would just like to mention for the benefit of other readers, that the property was closed for a period of ten months in 2012 / 2013 as it underwent an extensive renovation of public areas, recreation facilities, restaurants and guest rooms. That being said I will investigate fully your feedback related to the noise in the bathroom as this should certainly not happen.

Thank-you again for your feedback and I do hope you enjoyed your time in Phuket
With best regards

Tony Pedroni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We chose to stay with outrigger beach resort purely because of its location and previous great reviews and we were not disappointed!
The resort has got beautiful grounds,3 fantastic and clean pools to choose from and very attentive and friendly staff. We've never had a problem finding anyone to help so I don't understand the complaints of the hotel being understaffed.

FOOD
The breakfast was so delicious it was my kids' favourite meal of the day.The selection was incredible. As for lunch and dinner it was definitely on the pricey side and not necessarily better than in a nearby restaurant on the beach so that's where we were mainly having lunches.

ROOM
Very spacious and clean, the housekeeping was doing an incredible job, also responded very quick to a couple of our phone calls. The day bed that was massive and both our children slept in it very comfortably. There was no need for an extra bed.

The resort is quite remote however just a short ride in a cab from surin beach and other places if you wanted to venture out. We were mostly using a tuk tuk service which our kids loved. We found a couple of fantastic restaurants too, SUNSET , which was just couple of minutes ride in a cab, which cost 150bht booked via hotel. This restaurant was our absolute favourite, very busy though, which only shows how great the food was. Other place we ate at was called SOM and they offered a complimentary pick up and drop off to and from the hotel. Again amazing.

Just by the pools there were some shops where we were buying ice cream and drinks and booked few trips too. All very reasonably priced.
There was plenty of sun beds, unless you wanted the ones by kids pool or the beach, then you had to be fast,but we weren't bothered and always chose the beds as far of the kids pool as possible.

If I had to be really picky I'd have to say how rude some of the Russian tourist were. Kids had no manners whatsoever, at breakfast the adults were pushy and stuffing their plates as if the hotel was running out of food! Someone has told me that Russians get a special rate with the resort hence they make out about 40% of the hotel guest.

All in all we really did feel we were in paradise and would highly recommend the place. The only reason we won't be back it's because there's too many others places we'd like to visit.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony P, General Manager at Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear KasiaRoss
Many thanks for choosing to spend your vacation with us at the Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable family holiday and would like to thank-you for sharing your positive feedback about the resort and the service you received. It was great to read also that your kids loved the breakfast and were able to sleep comfortably on the daybed.
I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to our resort in the future and until then

With very best regards
Tony Pedroni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort

Address: 323 Moo 2, Srisoonthorn Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Laguna Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Choeng Thale
#5 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#6 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#7 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between a tropical lagoon and the sparkling waters of the Andaman Sea, the property features the finest in accommodation – all completely renovated with modern interiors subtly blended with contemporary Thai touches.The resort occupies a prime position on the famed Bangtao beach where white sand and calm, clear waters combine to create an idyllic tropical setting. The absolute beachfront location provides easy access to beach activities for families and couples alike.For guests seeking a more personalized experience, the resort now boasts a dedicated Club floor (the only such facility in the area). Club floor guests will enjoy a private breakfast venue, snacks and drinks throughout the day and themed cocktail events in the evening.All guests also enjoy access to the Banyan Tree and Angsana Day Spas, championship 18 hole golf course, wedding chapel, and signing privileges at over 30 restaurants and bars that form part of the Laguna Destination Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Beach Hotel Thalang
Laguna Beach Thalang
Laguna Beach Phuket
Laguna Beach Resort Phuket
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.