We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   323 Moo 2, Srisoonthorn Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Laguna Beach Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
BEST RATE-CLUB ROOM
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

For the most part I cant fault the hotel. The staff are very friendly & the rooms are large enough, very clean & comfortable. There is also a free shuttle bus to go between the other hotels & around Laguna. Breakfast is pretty good & pools are nice.

Negatives; Its a little out of the way to get to anything without grabbing a taxi. I was in a ground floor room which is great but when the people on the floor above are awake & walking around dropping things on the floor all night, you wont sleep well - & Im usually a heavy sleeper! Pools need to be vacuumed more regularly.

Id stay here again if I came back to the Laguna area, after checking out the other Laguna hotels in my opinion this was the best, followed closely by the angsana but the staff there seemed morose & unfriendly. If youre looking for a cheaper meal google "black cat restaurant & bar" they have a pick up & drop off service from laguna or they do takeaway/ delivery if the kids are too feral to take out.

Room Tip: Try to get a top floor ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    124
    30
    11
    7
See reviews for
233
154
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I capped off my 2 month stay in Thailand with a week at Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort. It was the perfect ending. Staff was waiting for me at the airport when I arrived and I was given two nice, wet towels to cool down with. Once I arrived at the resort I was greeted with flowers, a cold drink, and more towels. It was a very warm reception that was maintained throughout my stay.

The room was much larger than I expected and spotlessly clean and comfortable. I was especially impressed by housekeeping, their attention to detail. Not only coming in to clean the room on a daily basis, but also coming back in the early evening to turn down the bedding, bring more water, close the shades, ect. Very attentive and friendly.

I am not a picky eater and thought the food was very good, nice spread for breakfast. A little on the pricey side based on what I have seen in other parts of Thailand, but it's worth it.

As far as atmosphere, very relaxing and laid-back with still numerous options for activities. A great option for families or those wanting to stay away from the wilder side of Phuket. From what I could tell, all guests seemed to really enjoy themselves.

I thought the staff was awesome. Very friendly and attentive. Everyone from housekeepers/maintenance crew to manager always greeting folks. Really felt they had a genuine concern for guests. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Facts the real good ones :-)
1. Amazing views, fantastic family fun activities - waterproof, baby elephant, boat rides, etc, etc.
2. Duty or front office managers - eager to help and make sure that you enjoy your stay.
3. Rooms : very well furnished ( we stayed in deluxe sea view room).
4. Amazing choices on dinner, restaurants, activities within the premises. Shuttle & ferry service to commute within the estate is a big plus.

Things which should / can get better :-
1. Service attitude of staff ( normal reception team) : we inspite of advanced info on flights had to wait for 2 hours for our room to be ready for check in. After we didn't like the room offered, we had to wait for another two hours to get room we wanted. Sorry, but reception lady didn't think or CARE about our 16 hour journey, state of our 4 yr old son.
2. We had to cut short our trip because of personal emergency. Again reception staff would debate during billing of one cold drink can( which we never used) with my wife while checkout when they knew that every minute counted for us to take flight at short notice. Resort doesn't support any infrastructure on travel flights information.
3. Taxi costs, trip costs are almost 2 times the outside local ones without any great value offering.
4. Resort asks for a credit card advance while check- in. Really can't understand the logic as credit card copy I'd good enough security.

Overall, my family liked the resort but not impressed with service. Service attitude at higher levels hasn't got cascaded to lower staff at all.

Regards,
Varun

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Resort_Manager, Manager at Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Khun Varun_Gpt,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your vacation at our resort. It is nice to hear about the areas you liked and the areas we could do better. I am sorry to hear about your encounter with our reception staff at check-in. The hotel is running full occupancy at this time so guest arriving before check-in time of 3:00 pm may have to wait for guests to check-out of the room and have the room cleaned. We understand that our guests travel a long way to enjoy Phuket and try our best to accommodate guests as soon as the room is ready. But in cases where a particular room type is needed the wait could be until 3:00 pm. We can check flight times and print boarding passes at the front desk or at Activate. I apologize if this service was not offered to you. I understand your frustration with the price of taxis in Phuket. The rates are not under the hotels control and can be higher than people expect. Taking a pre-authorization on a credit card at check-in is standard practice in almost every hotel. I am sorry that this inconvenienced you.

I hope you have a chance to visit us again and enjoy your vacation in full.

TRAVELER’S TIP: We provide luggage storage and locker rooms for early arriving guests so they can start their vacation while their room is being prepared. If an early check-in is a must, and paying for an extra day is not an issue for you, reserve the room for the day before, indicate early arrival the following day so that we know you are coming the following day, and we will hold the room vacant for you for your early arrival.

Safe travels,

Jim Heather
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Spent 4 days at this resort end July/early August with husband and son and his girlfriend. We all had a great time. Rooms were fantastic ... Plenty of space. Good bathroom. Highly recommend upgrading to club room with club access. It may be a little more $$$ but sell worth it. The resort is rather large and thercore gets very busy, by choosing the Club access we had peaceful breakfast time and a place to go to chill during the day without the hustle and bustle. Pool area was great and the water slide was fun. Village shops at the beachfront added a bit of market life to the resort and we accessed it for snacks and beer. We took. Taxi ride into Patng for a shopping trip nd it was very reasonably priced, the taxi driver offered to pick us up afterwards. We told him we would be three to four hours and he waited, at no charge! He was like a tourist guide on our tri to and from. The resort, well worth the money. We spent one night eating out .. Lotus restaurant .. Excellent, hold highly recommend it, especially if it is good weather as it is right on the beach. The food was fantastic. Overall a great 4 nights .. Highly recommend it

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We booked 7 nights at Outrigger Laguna and 3 at Outrigger Phi Phi island through an Australian travel agent at a very special super-low price (for what we received). We felt like we were treated like royalty at Laguna. Our room was spotless, serviced every day and with a turn-down service in the evening ( a Thai orchid placed on the sheet). Special thanks to Nok. We were granted use of the Club facilities where the food and drink (complimentary for everything but alcohol) was outstanding, and there were complimentary cocktails in the evening along with super delicious canapes. Special thanks to Aey. We chose to breakfast at the Locavore (also included in the deal) where the range of dishes was huge: Western, Asian, fresh fruit, even cheeses and smoked salmon!, beautifully presented. The wait staff were great. Special thanks to Wei for the great service.
Facilities were excellent (it has been refurbished recently). Went down the giant water-slide heaps of time; not bad for an oldie! Very child friendly. We would bring our family, grandchildren, next time.
Enjoyed every minute and would return in a heart-beat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had a very disappointing start to our holiday at this hotel after returning to the room only to find approximately 200mm of raw sewage in the shower/sunken bath area. Our room was on the ground floor and the sunken bath/shower area (very slippery and dangerous) was a couple of steps down below ground level. When we telephoned reception to inform then about the problem they told us that every room on the ground floor had similar problems and that there was a problem with the main sewage system. There must be serious issues with the plumbing for raw sewage to back up into the shower/bath outlet (this should never happen). We had to wait over 4 hours before anyone came to our room to clean out the bathroom and the whole room stank. Our advice DO NOT BOOK OR ACCEPT A GROUND FLOOR ROOM.
We were also shocked at the exorbitant price of breakfast at this hotel when they told us that it was 960 Baht ++tax & service charges per person!!! This is way overpriced and quite ridiculous. Needless to say we didn't have breakfast at the hotel opting for cheaper alternatives outside the hotel.
We found the service around the pool (food and drink) to be lacking and basically non-existent. We followed other peoples advice by buying drinks at the local beachfront shops at a fraction of the hotel price. The hotel advertise a happy hour between 5pm to 7pm however when we attempted to buy drinks during this period we were told that it wasn't running happy hour due to bad weather!!! (a rip off).
We also found that the beachfront restaurant (not part of the hotel) served far better food and a much wider range (both Western and Thai) than the hotel at a fraction of the price and ended up eating most of our meals there.
If the hotel management were to pay attention to pitching their prices of food and drink at reasonable levels then more residents would use the facilities.
Another tip for potential users of this hotel is to make sure you rent a car since this hotel is about 3km from the main road and allows you to get outside to more reasonably priced restaurants and facilities.

Room Tip: Do not book a room on the ground floor, the plumbing is seriously flawed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Resort_Manager, Manager at Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Khun KLworker,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to share your experience with us. I am very sorry to hear about the sewer issue that happened during your stay. This is certainly something we do not want our guests to experience and I can understand it was an unsettling experience. I can assure future travelers that this is an uncommon occurrence. The ground floor rooms are actually our most popular for the ease of access to the pool, lagoon or sea directly from the balcony.

There appears to have been some miscommunication with our hosts during your stay. I would like to make a correction for the benefit of future travelers. The cost of our all-you-can-eat buffet breakfast is 750 Baht ++ as well as a la carte choices starting at 200 Baht. Most room packages include breakfast for a marginal price increase over a room only package so please check if breakfast is included before reserving. I can also ensure future travelers that if Happy Hour(s), from 17:00 until 19:00, is rained out at our pool side Edgewater Bar, we will honor the same specials at the Icon Bar located on the lobby level.

One more travelers’ tip, the Laguna Resort area has free shuttles, by both boat and trolley, that will take you between the other resorts in the Laguna area as well as drop you off a short walk away from the local shopping/restaurant district. In addition, many restaurants provide a free pick-up service for our guests as well. Our front desk staff will be happy to call them for you. I would not suggest reserving a rental car until you see if it is necessary for your travel needs.

Safe travels,

Jim Heather
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I booked a 1,500 baht airport pickup but on arrival the hotel representative was not there. I booked a premium club sea view room but could not get to sleep because of the noise that night. The next day I changed rooms with a 3000 baht + extra charge. This evening I went to the restaurant for the 'a la carte' buffet and waited 40 minutes for the food to arrive. When it was served it was stone cold.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort

Address: 323 Moo 2, Srisoonthorn Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Laguna Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Choeng Thale
#5 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#6 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#7 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between a tropical lagoon and the sparkling waters of the Andaman Sea, the property features the finest in accommodation – all completely renovated with modern interiors subtly blended with contemporary Thai touches.The resort occupies a prime position on the famed Bangtao beach where white sand and calm, clear waters combine to create an idyllic tropical setting. The absolute beachfront location provides easy access to beach activities for families and couples alike.For guests seeking a more personalized experience, the resort now boasts a dedicated Club floor (the only such facility in the area). Club floor guests will enjoy a private breakfast venue, snacks and drinks throughout the day and themed cocktail events in the evening.All guests also enjoy access to the Banyan Tree and Angsana Day Spas, championship 18 hole golf course, wedding chapel, and signing privileges at over 30 restaurants and bars that form part of the Laguna Destination Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Beach Hotel Thalang
Laguna Beach Thalang
Laguna Beach Phuket
Laguna Beach Resort Phuket
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.