We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   323 Moo 2, Srisoonthorn Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Laguna Beach Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
THB10,695 (THB)
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Choeng Thale
1 review
“Fabulous!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying at the outrigger beach resort and wow is it impressive! If you're looking for a family resort this is perfect, don't bother trying to find better! The resort had just reopened in april after a complete refurbishment so basically like brand new. We LOVE Candi the baby elephant who visits twice a day, the buffet breakfast must try the massaman chicken, the waterslide keeps our 7 and 12 year old entertained for hours, the beachfront location and the free ferries that transport you to other laguna resorts where you can dine and still put it on your room account. Lots of activities for the whole family. The family rooms are spacious and the day bed us the suze of a double bed so could easily fit two children or you can get a rollaway bed . The one and only negative we discovered is that the resort only had 3 DVD players that you have to book ahead for!!! We were hoping for some quiet time in the afternoons when the kids could relax in front of a movie. Otherwise the perfect family resort. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Resort_Manager, Manager at Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Khun Mon2670,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about our resort. I agree that Candi, the baby elephant, is the star of the show. Well I guess the Waterslide has its fans as well. Thank you as well for your constructive comments about our supply of DVD players. Rest assured future travelers we have purchased more!

We can’t wait to see you again.
Jim Heather
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    95
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
181
113
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were a family of 9 that visited the Laguna Phuket Beach Resort just last week. I must say - it is by far one of the most beautiful resorts i have seen. Well maintained, clean facilities with pleasing decor the resort is located perfectly between the lagoon and the beach front. The rooms are very comfortable and the housekeeping staff is always so very polite and willing to help.
The amenities available are top notch (except perhaps the variety of in house restaurants) and the activity list is superb! It makes for a fun family vacation spot. The pool, fitness center, spa etc is also very nice. Kayaking was great fun in the lagoon!
Unfortunately though it needs to ramp up urgently on how they understand and manage reservations and perhaps staff training. We were 9 of us - very clearly 3 couples and 3 children (had been specifically mentioned). We had asked for 3 rooms with double beds and the rest single depending on availability - however they seemed unable to manage a pre-specified request that has been confirmed from their end. At the restaurant too the staff while eager to please was battling a clear lack of experience - pity.
To their credit every person on the resort WANTED to make your stay enjoyable - the only reason I will forgive a 4 hour wait for our rooms on a hot summers day or an unimaginative and repetitive breakfast buffet.
I say they are not there yet because i'd give it a 8.5 on 10... a very good score but not a 100% ... but then that is me... the Laguna village is a lovely concept and this resort fits right in - actually its the best there is in the resort - buzzing with activity and full of life laced with a lovely sky blue and white that that adorns everything :)


If you are looking for a place to create memories - then you have it... they will hopefully be fun and beautiful :)

Room Tip: Don't forget to go to the 2 little restaurants at the far left end of the resort - they are not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed with my family including two children in July. We stayed in the Club rooms and it was worth it! The club rooms are bigger so well suited especially since we were with our 2 kids.
The location is great as it is right on the beach and in a very secure laguna area. You have the option of the sea or just watching the calm lagoon waters or doing water sports in the lagoon. There are shops outside the laguna where you can buy things and also good restaurants outside.
The pool is fantastic and the service near the pool bars is also very good. A very kid friendly atmosphere at this resort. The elephant in the morning and afternoon is really a good attraction for the kids as well as the adults.
But more than anything, I was most impressed by the excellent hospitality at the club. Ms. Hana and Ms. Kim were extraordinary and always made us and our family feel very special. They would go out of the way to accommodate our kids demands and they were doing this with every guest guest. It was truly service from the heart! I would definitely recommend to go with the club facilities as they truly make you feel welcome.
Overall, one of the best properties I have stayed in Phuket!

Room Tip: Ocean facing is excellent as also closer to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here in June as my husband was running in the Phuket marathon and it was the nearest to the start! We were unsure of what to expect as it has undergone a complete renovation programme this year and only opened again in April. We organised a collection by the hotel from the airport and while we waited at the appointed Outrigger office for the driver to bring the car around we were offered drinks and cool towels. The check in was friendly and efficient. We were greeted with a lovely garland each and more cool towels. On first entering the room it did smell quite musty, but nothing was damp and after a few hours airing was fine. The day before the marathon we took a walk to the registration point to pick up the pack and enjoyed lounging by the pool. There is a hotel shop on site as well as local shops by the beach, which sell everything you need. The pool is interesting with a waterslide and shallow areas for children. Although in total it's big it's not really a serious swimmer's pool. The hotel is right on the beach, but when we were there the water was too rough to swim in the sea, but that's been my experience in other parts of Phuket too. The buffet breakfast offers a wide selection but the menu for the bar and beach side bar was the same, so if you're there for any length of time you might find it limiting, although I think there are other restaurants that weren't open when we visited. The Angsana spa is in the grounds of the hotel and is within walking distance - unless it's pouring with rain, in which case staff will take you there and back in a golf buggy. At the time we visited they were offering discounted prices to Outrigger guests and a post-race massage was much appreciated by my marathon running husband. Staff were friendly and efficient and we won't hesitate to stay there again for the Laguna marathon (which was also really well run and a pleasure to take part in/spectate).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We just got back to Australia after a week of absolute luxury and relaxation at this beautiful location.
We cannot rave enough about this place, the staff treat you like family and are the most polite , friendly and happiest group we have ever met.
We were members of the club and we would like to send a special thanks to San and his helpers!
It's the first time we have had the experience of the manager coming around to greet the customers. top marks to Jim Heather the manager for his happy cheerful approach to all, you can see this is reflected through his staff. It really was a great week and we cannot wait to go back again. A special surprise was the baby elephant "Candy" walking around the pool area every day and putting a smile on everybody's faces young and old.
Great! Great! Great! Thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Go the club rooms it's the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We visited Outrigger laguna beach resort in Phuket from June 13 till June 19th our party included myeslf, my husband and two kids 10 & 12. I had arranged for the airport transfer with the hotel. As soon as we got out we were met by a smiling driver holding our name card , he swiftly took care of our luugage and offered us cold towels and water. When we were closing into the hotel he called the staff there and as we arrived we were warmly welcomed by San who was warm, welcoming and smiling. We were given garlands and a refreshing welcome drink.San took us to our room which was a gorgeous two bedroom villa over looking the laguna. The next morning we were met by the club manager Hana who was equally warm and always willing to help and please. The breakfast was lovely with a good spread, the club had drinks and snacks for free the entire day with warm menu and cocktails in the evening. The activities around the hotel were fun we did archery,kayaking,sailing and batik painting. The staff taking care of these activities was equally caring and warm. The kids lloved the pools and water slide. The eating options within outrigger were limited but food was amazing specially the margrita pizza that our kids had every evening as a late night snack:-) We ate in hotels inside the laguna where you can commute by a free shuttle bus or boat.
The spa is beautifully located and the service was awesome.
All in all I'd say that the entire outrigger satff welcomes you like family and makes you feel at home. when we checked out three staff member were out there to see us off.And we were actually sad to leave and wished we could stay longer.
I'd like to thank San & Hana from the bottom of my heart for making this holiday such an enjoyable and memorable one for me n my family.
We will definitely return soon!
Three cheers for Outrigger!!

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the laguna have a serene beutiful view. Siam Royal Villa is a great choice for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wangaratta, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our My Thailand holiday at the Outrigger Laguna Resort, Phuket was the first time my husband and I had travelled overseas together. It was a wonderful experience particulary as we were supported during our travels through assistance in airport transfers and planning our activities once we arrived at our destination. The staff at the resort were excellent and the accomodation was by our standards, luxurious. I think next time we will be a little more adventurous by trying more of the local food at the markets but this holiday was a great introduction to Thailand and opened our eyes to the many experiences the country has to offer. We finished our holiday with a 3night stay at the Outrigger Phi phi Island which was a very relaxing end to our vacation. The accomodation was a beautiful garden Bungalow of equal standard to the Laguna resort. I would definitely plan a future holiday with My Holiday Centre as they were extremely helpful in organising our trip and would highly recommend a My Thailand trip to any wishing to experience Thailand for the first time or just wishing to have a relaxing holiday. Thanks to the team at My Holiday Centre.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lagoon had good view and were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort

Address: 323 Moo 2, Srisoonthorn Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Laguna Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
#2 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Choeng Thale
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#4 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
#4 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between a tropical lagoon and the sparkling waters of the Andaman Sea, the property features the finest in accommodation – all completely renovated with modern interiors subtly blended with contemporary Thai touches.The resort occupies a prime position on the famed Bangtao beach where white sand and calm, clear waters combine to create an idyllic tropical setting. The absolute beachfront location provides easy access to beach activities for families and couples alike.For guests seeking a more personalized experience, the resort now boasts a dedicated Club floor (the only such facility in the area). Club floor guests will enjoy a private breakfast venue, snacks and drinks throughout the day and themed cocktail events in the evening.All guests also enjoy access to the Banyan Tree and Angsana Day Spas, championship 18 hole golf course, wedding chapel, and signing privileges at over 30 restaurants and bars that form part of the Laguna Destination Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Beach Hotel Thalang
Laguna Beach Thalang
Laguna Beach Phuket
Laguna Beach Resort Phuket
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.