We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service, quiet location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket to your Saves list
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   390 Moo 1, Srisoonthorn Road | Cherngtalay, Talang, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 stars 942 Reviews
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great service, quiet location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I'll caveat my review by disclosing this is my first trip to Thailand/Phuket.

I echo many of the reviews of this property. the hotel is very nice but a little on the older side. the pool is great, and it's right on the beach. not close to the party part of Phuket or Phuket town but renting a car is affordable. They're rental service at the hotel was 1500 THB for a day. (a little sketch cause they don't take my Canadian credit card which I wanted to use for extra insurance. but they didn't even ask for my license or passport, just my money. it all turned out okay in the end)

The service was fantastic and great. The breakfast buffet was decent but was expecting a little more.

As with many concierges, they push their own recommendation list but if they are prodded and given very clear parameters, they recommended some great off the beaten path places to eat.

Room Tip: you can definitely splurge and get a room with a view but if you don't need the extras, the basi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket guests,

Thank you for recently rating your stay on Trip Advisor. Glad to know that you enjoyed yourselves on this visit and I hope that those who read this appreciate your rental car information.

Wishing you all the best in the future.

Best regards,


Mr. Peter Komposch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    272
    108
    35
    19
See reviews for
277
415
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in May and had a great stay. The whole resort is lovely and the room we had was also spacious (laguna view), with great views. As off season, we resort was quieter, as was the beach. We could not swim in the sea as had red flags all week, but had some lovely walks along the water front and the pool was massive to enjoy when wanted a swim. Breakfast had a massive selection, from the more traditions pancakes, cereals to full on meals like noodle dishes, sushi etc.. We only had dinner the first night in the hotel, at the Thai restaurant which was amazing, but being 5* resort was expensive for Thailand.

There are plenty of restaurants and bars along the beach in either direction from the resort where we had lunch most days. Also if you go in to town, there is a free shuttle from the hotel entrance that takes you to the Laguna entrance, from there you can walk to other restaurants which are more reasonable than the resort. In particular we were recommended Sunset restaurant, were we paid £6 for the both of us, both had curry, rice plus drinks! amazing value and tasty food. Its about 15mins walk from the drop off point (keep right at 2 junctions, but be careful as there are not many walking paths!). There are others that are closer, but then also slightly more expensive so depends how far you feel like walking. The only thing we noted was that our room in the morning, when opened the balcony door would get very damp, you could see the damp on the walls and floor. Not sure if this was due to facing the lagune, we assumed it was just due to the humid weather in Thailand and the room kept cool with the AC, so notice the difference when let the outside air in. Things would feel lightly damp in the room, but not sure that is something that the resort can avoid and didn't affect our stay.

We had tour of Phuket island and got the opportunity to see other resorts and beaches and realised we were staying in one of the best ones, so glad we avoided Patong, that was just so busy, full of tourists, English brands and people trying to sell you something, never mind the sea water was actually brown, not sure if just due to how busy it was and all the water sports pollution, but definitely was not the paradise getaway you get everywhere else on the island, so I guess depends what you are going for. Would definitely recommend the location and the resort, would definitely go back!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket Guests,

Sawadee krup and greetings from Phuket. Nice to know that you enjoyed your stay at Dusit Thani Laguna Phukut last May. The season of summer does mean that sea conditions change which prevents swimmers from swimming in the ocean and and island wide humidity rises to a peak. Laguna and the neighbouring area does provide one with many options for dining, glad to know you got time to explore.

Wishing you all the best for the rest of 2013.

Best regards,


Mr. Peter Komposch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Hotel is in a poor location. There is nothing around it. ended up renting a car to explore other parts of the island. It's like a ghost town outside at night.

The price of food in the hotel is far too expensive. They are obviously taking advantage of the fact people do not have a lot of choice. The price of the spa/massages are far too high also.

We ended up eating nothing, buying no drinks, getting no massages at this hotel due to the price.

The wi-fi in the internet worked for ten minutes only of the whole time I was there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTLPthailand, General Manager at Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket Guests,

Sawadee krup and greetings from Phuket. I am sorry to learn that the hotels services were too expensive for your travel budget, and that you didn't make use of the outlets and services because of this. Despite this we hope you enjoyed your Phuket visit when out and about.

We wish you all the best for the rest of 2013.

Best regards,


Mr. Peter Komposch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I got a last minute deal at the hotel and don't regret staying there as I feel it was good value, however I agree with others that the rooms are in need of an update.

The common areas, the reception, the pool, beach, restaurants are all nice and typical of a big resort in the Laguna area. The service was good at all times and I got some great recommendations from the concierge. However the rooms are dated and suffer from humidity issues. I arrived at my room which was freezing cold and changed the A/C to a higher temperature and then water started forming on the floors and walls as it was so humid. I live in Hong Kong, in high humidity next to the sea so know the issues it causes but this hotel is not normal. On turning the A/C down again, it returns to normal so I just had to wrap up in the room to keep in dry.

I was in the hotel for the marathon and was please with the services they put on for the runners and took an interest in the event. I only stayed for 2 nights around the event before moving south as the Laguna area does not have much to offer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Overall the hotel is very nice, it's spacious and clean, with a beautiful beach and good restaurants on site. The negative is that the hotel could use some renovations and updates. Upon opening our balcony door, it immediately fell off the hinges and had to be fixed. The electricity also went off and on throughout our stay in the rooms and restaurants, until the backup generator kicked in. Also, for some reason the staff (cleaning and maintenance) would never fully close the doors to our rooms, so mosquitos and bugs would get in.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My husband and i stayed for 3 nights. We got upgraded upon arrival to a small villa right on the beach. The hotel team was very nice. The restaurants served excellent food. The hotel is located on a beautiful private sandy beach. Definitely highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My partner and myself stayed at the Dusit Thani for 8 nights from 25th May 2013. The hotel was perfect, with beautiful surroundings and a very authentic feel. On arrival we were greeted with drinks, cold towels and flowers. Our room was a deluxe ocean view and it was beautiful, clean and exactly what we expected when we looked outside.
We were bought complementary wine and cake within 10 minutes of being shown to our room and the bed was scattered with beautiful orchids. Every evening we returned to our room and they had turned down the bed and scattered the corners with Thai orchids and lit a lemon grass burner, these little touches made you feel very relaxed and spoilt!!
The staff were friendly and the use of the surrounding 7 hotels included in our stay was a bonus! There was a lovely cafe/bar called the Albatross on the lagoona that we went to several times for lunch, very friendly and reasonable. We had no money on us the first time we went as we used our room key on the resort but they told us to eat, drink and bring our money back later! Lovely, friendly and trusting!! From the back of the hotel turn left and walk 5 minutes down the beach for lovely Thai food overlooking the sea, again independently owned and very reasonable.
Taxis were readily available and would fix the price before you left and then wait for you, sometimes for many hours and bring you back to the resort without any extra charge and no payment until your return!
The hotel is far enough from the madness of Patong for you to completely wind down and relax but near enough (Around £35.00 return) for you to enjoy shopping and crazy night life if you wanted to!
Elephants can be seen around the resort and ridden for around £10.00.
Massages in the spa were expensive but on the beach the massage ladies were brilliant and charged around £10.00 for an hours massage, we had them every other day!
I would recommend this hotel to everyone as we had a wonderful holiday and are planning to return next year :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket

Address: 390 Moo 1, Srisoonthorn Road | Cherngtalay, Talang, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Choeng Thale
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
#6 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket 4.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly striking beachfront location resort with excellent facilities and charming Thai service and hospitality, add up to a unique holiday experience. It is about 20km or a 30-minutes drive south of Phuket International Airport, half an hour north of Patong Beach and half an hour east of Phuket city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket Hotel Thalang
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket Cherngtalay
Dusit Laguna Phuket
Dusit Phuket
Phuket Dusit
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.