We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Reef Sports Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

Sugar Reef Sports Bar & Restaurant
100/35 Srisoonthorn Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
+66 87 898 9160
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Fish & Chips, Hamburgers, English, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: All sports shown on Large screens in HD,European and Thai Food.All food home made and freshly cooked,specials menu changed weekly.We are OPPOSITE Tesco Lotus in Cherntalay near to Blue Bank.If you are using GPS it is incorrect . Please note we are CLOSED Monday during the day and open at 4.40 Pm.
Phuket, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Value for Money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I guess we have become regulars at Sugar Reef. The beer and the food represents excellent value for money any day of the week, but the Friday night fish and chips is better than I have had in some chippies in the UK. Look out for the curry sauce. The homemade pies are delicious too. Portions are good to generous and the service excellent. The proprietors certainly go out of their way to make customers feel welcome. An establishment that goes the extra mile.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie T, Owner at Sugar Reef Sports Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank You very much for taking the time to review " The Reef" As regulars to our bar we value your custom and your comments.. As owners we love to see familiar faces and I must say your children are delightful and very well behaved ,they are a credit to you and your wife We look forward to serving you for a long time to come and hope you continue to enjoy our food,service and our bar.

Tropical Regards

Alan & Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    13
    2
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Top notch establishment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Great food, excellent service, fantastic atmosphere. The owner and manager are class acts who know how to make their customers feel both welcome and appreciated. Would recommend to anyone looking to unwind after a day out and about on Phuket. Thanks for the hospitality gentlemen, hope to be back again..

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie T, Owner at Sugar Reef Sports Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank You Guys for taking the time to Review " The Reef " We do our best to make all of our customers welcome and its very nice when its noticed and appreciated although if all of our customers were like yourselves we would enjoy every day.Our staff love it when they get such positive comments on our food thank you.We look forward to seeing you again if you return to Sunny Phuket.

Tropical Regards.
Jamie & Alan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good value Lunch meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This place, on the main road, has very good quality lunch specials for 100baht.
Beers are good price too- Heineken on tap.
Large screens project most international sports- especially EPL soccer.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie T, Owner at Sugar Reef Sports Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Sugar Reef we are very pleased you enjoyed our lunch menu and found it to be good value.We look forward to seeing u again if you visit our Lovely Island of Phuket.

Tropical Regards

Jamie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food and company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had a great afternoon here watching the afl and NRL. Cabbed it down there and got a bit lost (thanks to Jamie's Mum for guiding us there on his mobile he left at home:-)
Jamie the owner is a good guy and his Mum makes a great meat pie AND she's not even an Aussie...go figure;-) ...Thanks Mum! The hamburger and hand cut chips is a great bar meal too but every dish that came out of the kitchen looked a winner. Thanks for looking after us Jamie! Oh and the Pina Colada made by the bar manager Alan? was a great effort.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie T, Owner at Sugar Reef Sports Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to review " Sugar Reef ".It gives us a great feeling of satisfaction when all our staffs hard work is recognised.Mum was also very pleased especially as she's not an Aussie..praise indeed for the pies.If you ever come back to our lovely island we would be very happy to see you again @ " The Reef "

Tropical Regards

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
temora, australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good old fashioned Comfort Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Reef is a great little Sports Bar & Restaurant! Tonight was our last in Phuket and we wanted some good ole fashioned western food.I found this place on Tripadvisor and decided to give it a go! Well we were not dissapointed! From the Bangers and Mash to the NZ Lamb and Gammon! It was all perfectly cooked and tasted great! But the Apple crumble and custard was superb! ( the only way it could have been better was if I was sitting in front of an open fire on a cold winters night in Oz!) The host (Jamie) his manager(?) mum Carol and staff were great hosts! Even had a yarn with one of the regulars and was made most welcome! Thanks all, we had a great night out!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie T, Owner at Sugar Reef Sports Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review of "Sugar Reef ".It gives us and our staff so much pleasure when we get such positive praise for our food.Thank You.We hope to see you again when you visit our lovely island of Phuket once again.

Tropical Regards

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Reef Sports Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Choeng Thale, Thalang District
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
 
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Reef Sports Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.